Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16401 – 16425
of 20991 reviews
< 1  ...  656  657  658  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Neck Joint Steamer
Neck Joint Steamer
4 4-09-2011
STEAMER NEEDLE

I purchased the hose and needle combo, wish I had just got the needle since i had the same fuel line hose in my shop. I went with a pressure cooker for steam source, tried it on gas burner and also electric hot plate trying to regulate heat to reduce the excess water.I was working on a disposable guitar at the time, so the water was not a huge concern. I did go an buy a clothes steamer from target $25, same thing but not quite as bad, so I decided to use the hose that came with the steamer 3/4" OD and just use 15" of the fuel hose with the needle, this really reduced the amount of water spurts, not as flexable as the 3/8" hose but the 15" of 3/8" is enough to get around.

Overall I rate the item 4 stars as with most stew mac items a little pricey but i keep coming back. But I will say that i do learn a lot from you guys that i don't really pay for so maybe that makes us square on the deal. I keep wanting to purchase some DVD's but they have really low reviews on quality, maybe you guys could work on that.

GUITARMIKIE  MIDLAND TEXAS Read my reviews (2)
Abalone Top Dome Knob
Abalone Top Dome Knob
5 4-09-2011
Abalone Dome Knob

I just wanted to add a little more custom detail look to my already beautiful Schecter C-1 Classic, which has the vine of life abalone inlays on the fretboard. These look very nice like they were made for it. I looked around and found the same or similar knobs elsewhere, but Stewmac had the best price, and I'm happy with the quality.

ziggyplato  WI
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 4-09-2011
Stew-mac fretwire

I've always used either Dunlop or German made wire. I had a refret for a customer - and felt that the sizes available to me were not right...the customers 62 reissue tele needed a vintage size wire with a little more height and width. This wire worked out perfectly. The wire is very good value and nice that it is packaged airtight - especially as here in Melbourne the salt air tends to corrode metal quicker than other cities I've lived in.

Soxymusic  Melbourne, Australia
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 6-in-line
5 4-09-2011
Sperzel Locking Tuners

I had heard a lot about these, and they've certainly lived up to their press. They are, in a word, fantastic. The template used to drill new holes in the headstock is kind of useless, and be warned that the low E string will be difficult to get through the hole, however I installed these several weeks ago, tuned each string as I installed it, and haven't touched the strings since.

My first project was a Squier Thinline. Now... to get all my other guitars done...

Joe MacLeod

Joemac  Anola, MB, CA Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
1 4-09-2011
Humbucking mounting screws.

The screws were too short. I saw another reviewer say the same thing. I figured Stewmac would have rectified this. I was surprised to find that they didn't fit, but Stewmac's rep said they didn't have the right ones. He said to send them back for a refund. Hardly worth the effort. Very diss appointed. Have spent tons of money on Stew-mac's site thought the years and feel this is wrong.

VIctor  New London, CT
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 4-09-2011
EXCELENTE!!!

El sonido es impecable. Nada que envidiar a una gibson.
Estoy muy contento con los microfonos.
Saludos.
Juan

juan manuel  Córdoba, Argentina
Tortoloid Acoustic Dreadnought Pickguard
Tortoloid Acoustic Dreadnought Pickguard
5 4-09-2011
Tortoloid Pickguard

Wow. Really cool. Just the thing for my Gibson L4A. It looked bare without the pickguard. Very easy to work with, I had to trim the sound hole diameter but it was not hard to have it look like a bought one.

rolfm5  Joshua Tx Read my reviews (5)
Pickguard Adhesive Sheet
Pickguard Adhesive Sheet
5 4-09-2011
Pickguard adhesive sheet.

Needed a some adhesive for the Tortaloid pickguard I got from stewmac. It was for my Gibson L4A.
This did and excellent job. doesn't even look like coming apart.Good stuff.

rolfm5  Joshua Tx Read my reviews (5)
TUSQ Saddles
TUSQ Saddles
5 4-09-2011
rolfm5

Very easy to work with. Has improved the sound. Would recommend getting one.

rolfm5  Joshua Tx Read my reviews (5)
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
5 4-09-2011
Great on my Firebird

What's not to like? Relatively easy installation, less weight, and improved tuning stability - just as advertised!

Lebo  Atlanta, GA
Tuner Bushing Press
Tuner Bushing Press
5 4-09-2011
only a word

Only a word:perfect

Beppe  Spain Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
4 4-09-2011
A touch of mud

At first, I found them to be slightly muddy, especially in the neck position, But that was with the traditional .02 cap. After switching to a .01 cap, they brightened up quite nicely. I wouldn't hesitate to pull the trigger on another set, but would definitely go with a .01 or less cap. Overall, a really good choice foe the money.

DzCustom Shop  USA
Customer supplied image for review
TonePros Locking Studs
TonePros Locking Studs
4 4-09-2011
suggestion

is a fantastic idea, but all the stuff should be made of steel, not brass!

giovanni gaglio  riano, rome, italy
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 4-09-2011
Epiphone FT-160N restoration

Replaced early Japanese factory 12 string top and back that had been destroyed. In order to match the replacement mahogany back to the original sides and neck tone, I stripped the finish from all remaining wood except for the ebony headstock veneer and used this lacquer as the first coat. The tone color did not replicate the original Epiphone color exactly but was too close for the untrained eye to notice.

Bonneur  South Bend, IN Read my reviews (6)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
5 4-09-2011
Washburn bass repair

Easy swap on noisy tone and volume pots.

Bonneur  South Bend, IN Read my reviews (6)
Switchcraft Output Jack
Switchcraft Output Jack
5 4-09-2011
Washburn bass repair

Easy swap for an old worn out jack.

Bonneur  South Bend, IN Read my reviews (6)
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
4 4-09-2011
Narrow fretwire

This is the first fretwire I have ever used. I built a custom acoustic guitar with 24 frets on an ebony fingerboard and it feels great with these mandolin frets. The only aspect that I did not like was its capacity for correcting the bend radius after cutting to working length. Attribute that to my beginner status which I have learned from and will not repeat. Beginners should not be afraid of this. Just ensure the bend radius matches the fingerboard before cutting to length and these go into the slot easily. The accompanying picture is the unfinished guitar.

Bonneur  South Bend, IN Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Benedetto Archtop Plans
Benedetto Archtop Plans
5 4-09-2011
Beautiful plans

These are so nice, I went and had them professionally backed and mounted at a hobby store. Now using plexiglass to trace and make perfect templates. A-1.

scottdes  michigan Read my reviews (4)
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
5 4-09-2011
Handy tool

Great product. Gets used a lot. Adhesive backed sandpaper goes on and comes off effortlessly.

scottdes  michigan Read my reviews (4)
Plastic Side Dot Material
Plastic Side Dot Material
5 4-09-2011
Easy as pie

Great little item. Lasts forever, quality part.

scottdes  michigan Read my reviews (4)
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
2 4-09-2011
Blunt nipper

I was dissappointed today when I went to do a re fret job on a bound fretboard (Can't be more than the 6th re fret that i've done with this tool)today and found my fret tang nipper had gone completely blunt. To the point where the cutting part has squashed down and bent into a curve. I tried to sharpen it but, after half a re fret job, i found that the same thing happened again. I think that this would be a better tool if the cutting part was made of stronger stuff. To be fair, the tool has already payed for itself but it would be so easy to make it better.

Andy Keeling  Dublin, Ireland Read my reviews (3)
StewMac responds

Andy,
We apologize for the issues you're having with our nippers. We're sending a replacement set out immediately.

Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
5 4-09-2011
Favorite Shop Tool!

The Guitar Repair Vise is a very versatile tool in my shop! From holding guitars by the neck or body, to clamping a sanding station up off the workbench!
A way to raise and hold a small assembly table that you can easily clamp and work around! The list goes on.
The Guitar Repair Vise is well made and set up with enough extras to make it a valuable shop tool.
But the best part of this vise is, when mine had a problem (that I hadn't noticed when I first ordered it) StewMac was right there for me! They stood 100 percent behind their product and sent out a new replacement vise right away! They even included the return shipping label!
How great is that!
Perfect product! Perfect company!

Archtop  USA Read my reviews (9)
Guitar String Retainers
Guitar String Retainers
1 4-08-2011
WORST SCREWS EVER

I drilled pilots and screwed them in, not even snug. I put the strings under the trees with light string tension and snappo! Broken screws in my headstock! The rest of the parts are fine. The screws are a JOKE! DO NOT USE THE SCREWS... StewMac, PLEASE discontinue till they fix this.

Whodatpat  College Park MD Read my reviews (6)
StewMac responds

Whodatpat,
We are so sorry to hear you had problems with these screws, and hope that you were able to remove the broken screw from the headstock. We certainly understand your frustration as we've all broken tuner or retainer screws before. You and some of the other reviewers have made a good point: without extra care these small screws are sometimes outmatched by hard maple. In our shops we've had best results using a 5/64" bit for the pilot hole (1/16" is too small). Also, we’ve found it helps to lubricate the threads with wax to help these guys thread properly.

We'll improve the product copy to give better guidance. Hope you'll try these tips, and please don't hesitate to contact us for a full refund or replacement if you run into this sort of trouble again.

Customer supplied image for review
Mandolin Fingerboard
Mandolin Fingerboard
4 4-08-2011
compound radius fingerboard

Very nice fingerboard,accurate compound radius centered well on the board. I have made a few myself and this is a real time saver, well worth it in labor savings.

Michael Wygmans  Grand Rapids, MI
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
4 4-08-2011
Setup stuff

Str8 edge and gauge card are invaluable. Still can't figure out what to do with the radius gauge. Maybe if I ever replace a saddle it could be handy.

Rizinrico  NY NY
Displaying 16401 – 16425
of 20991 reviews
< 1  ...  656  657  658  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce