Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16351 – 16375
of 21001 reviews
< 1  ...  654  655  656  ...  841 >
Sort reviews by

Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
5 4-13-2011
meets expectations.

good flex, easy to cut, nice looking, good quality. not much more to say. after all, it's "only" three plastic sheets of various colors and thicknesses laminated together. wouldn't order anywhere else..

MortenHolm  Lillehammer, Norway Read my reviews (4)
Metric Toggle Switch
Metric Toggle Switch
1 4-13-2011
Fast shipping, though.

It's hard for me to write this, as I love StewMac. But this was really disappointing. Like other reviewers have written; it hops over to the middle position and refuses to stay on either end. Wound up ordering some switchcrafts instead.

MortenHolm  Lillehammer, Norway Read my reviews (4)
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
5 4-13-2011
No more noise!

I've always been a huge fan of the P90 pickup, but a problem with single coils obviously is that they're quite noisy.. No more. Easy to install, sticks perfectly, everything's simply awesome.

MortenHolm  Lillehammer, Norway Read my reviews (4)
Pre-wired Pickguard Assembly
Pre-wired Pickguard Assembly
4 4-13-2011
You guys rock

I purchased the pre-wired pickguard to save me time, (and money) for the re-build I'm doing for my old strat. I could not be happier, goods came in about a week, now its loaded, and looks great. I will definitely be coming back to Stew-Mac for any other projects I've got.

Sozza  Melbourne, Australia
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
5 4-13-2011
use this to charge my pickup magnets

Have wound over 200 pickups and have used these magnets to charge all of them..works great!!!

Eastgrove pickups  St. Louis, Mo Read my reviews (35)
Customer supplied image for review
Pickup Coil Tape
Pickup Coil Tape
5 4-13-2011
use this a lot!

I use this to protect the winding on my p90s, my humbucker coils, and on my tele bridge pickups. Has a great look after the pickup is potted. This is a picture with this tape, StewMac bobbins and copper base plate. Get a lot of comments on my pups, thanks StewMac!

Eastgrove pickups  St. Louis, Mo Read my reviews (35)
Customer supplied image for review
Strat Pickup Flatwork
Strat Pickup Flatwork
5 4-12-2011
best quality

This is the best quality bobbins I can get. And the price is virtually the same as most of the others that are available. The brass eyelets provide a nice touch, most available by other companies have aluminum eyelets. These are my favorite to work with, also

Eastgrove pickups  St. Louis, Mo Read my reviews (35)
Customer supplied image for review
Eyelet Setting Tool and Bit
Eyelet Setting Tool and Bit
5 4-12-2011
good to have on hand

Most of the bobbins I buy have the eyelets already set. However, some of the kits do not have the eyelets installed. When I do need this tool, it installs the eyelets with a nice finished professional look.
Pete

Eastgrove pickups  St. Louis, Mo Read my reviews (35)
Schaller Locking Tremolo System
Schaller Locking Tremolo System
3 4-12-2011
Better

Used the schallers Licensed Floyd Rose and the cheaper version. You get what you pay for. The knife edge will become dull and will not reset back to tune again. I got the real lo-pro floyd and the difference is immediate. Better metals better designed no stripping of threads best of all it stays in tune much better. My floyd was made in germany and 2x as much in price. If your a pro get it.

OZZY  Ohio
Ibex Bridge Clamp
Ibex Bridge Clamp
4 4-12-2011
Very good clamp

excellent for clamping all acoustic bridges. Couldn't do it without one. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because the clamps seem to be badly finished nowadays. A little sanding after casting might be a good idea! Very light clamp with good reach. Buy Three!

Steve Bell  Normandy France Read my reviews (3)
Soundhole Truss Rod Wrenches
Soundhole Truss Rod Wrenches
5 4-12-2011
Martin clarification

I just wanted to clarify the product description. My Martin HD16-RLSH was made in 2006 and the 6114 wrench is what I needed.

slugworth  USA Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set
Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set
5 4-12-2011
Still prefer these over Hip Shot

I like the looks of these over the more popular and vastly more expensive competitor. Smooth and clean, just goes with the style of bass I make. And Stew Mac has great service.

RLowVaughn  Boise, Id. Read my reviews (19)
Customer supplied image for review
Essential Pearl Cutting Tool Kit
Essential Pearl Cutting Tool Kit
5 4-12-2011
New beauty to my instruments

Since i have bought this product I've never looked back. My first guitar featured coat buttons as fret markers because i hadn't a clue how to go about inlaying pearl. Now, it's a completely different ball game. No instrument comes out of my shop without some custom inlay.

Andy Keeling  Dublin, Ireland Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Dual-grit Diamond Fret File
Dual-grit Diamond Fret File
5 4-12-2011
My little workhorse

I have used this on so many jobs and it still cuts excellently. I wouldn't be able to work without it.

Andy Keeling  Dublin, Ireland Read my reviews (3)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 4-12-2011
Outstanding Tone!

I don't have 40 years of experience, like some of the reviewers, but I was looking to upgrade the sound in my 2007 Epi LP Standard. After doing some research, I decided to try the AII's. What a difference from the generic stock Epi pickups. I saw one reviewer describe them as articulate, and I have to agree. They really respond to your picking and sound great clean or dirty. I am super satisfied with my choice. I guess there is a reason you don't see these on ebay. If you are considering a pickup change, look no further. I would definitely buy these again.

Mark Hunt  Benicia, CA Read my reviews (2)
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
5 4-12-2011
Great kit

The radius gauges are invaluable as it the string height gauge. I was able to dial in the pickup polepieces and pickup heights and really improve the sound on my Les Paul.

Mark Hunt  Benicia, CA Read my reviews (2)
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
5 4-12-2011
Perfect Tool

Personally had worked without these tools, I took a long time dividing the space between a String another, and never were perfect until I got the Essential Nut Making Tool Kit.
The kit is perfect and very easy to use.

Georgie  Arecibo P.R. Read my reviews (2)
Essential Fretting Kit
Essential Fretting Kit
5 4-12-2011
Full and Easy.

Very good kit very simple and the work is easier.

Georgie  Arecibo P.R. Read my reviews (2)
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
5 4-11-2011
Excelente

Recebi da Stewmac muito rápido. O produto é leve, prático e muito preciso. Muito fácil de usar. Gostei. Recomendo.

Excelente  Eunapolis, BA, Brasil
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
4 4-11-2011
It helps

I haven't used this in every place that I will, but checking the string height or the neck straightness on the 8th fret is still more difficult than reading one of the digital caliper.

useful tools  Springfield, Il Read my reviews (3)
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 4-11-2011
What I didn't know did hurt me!

The first thing I noticed was that my frets are not flush. The worst thing is on the B-string, the D# note "that fret - the fourh fret" is high on every guitar I own? I don't know if it's because I have pushed the third fret down so much, since we play the D chord a lot or the fourth fret is high for some other reason? That D# note is were I get more buzz than any place on my guitars....

useful tools  Springfield, Il Read my reviews (3)
Luthiers Digital Caliper
Luthier's Digital Caliper
5 4-11-2011
useful tool

Haven't used a caliper for many years and reading those little lines did effect the accuracy and ease of measuring: with digital read out accurate readings are much easier. Not sure why instructions say to take out the battery: I never take out my watch battery and I don't wear it for months at a time; if it prolongs the life of the battery or will cause harm to the digital readout?

useful tools  Springfield, Il Read my reviews (3)
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Bleached White Bone Saddles
3 4-11-2011
disappointing

These are of good quality material but the size doesn't work. The saddle blanks are meant to fit Martin bridge slots but are barely .093 thick, which is 3/32, the nominal Martin saddle slot width. In fact, many Martin slots are .100 or more, making these unusable about half the time. they should be taller, too, as Martin has been making their bridges thicker and the slots deeper for the last 10 years or so. I'll use these blanks up eventually, but they should be resized to fit a Martin bridge.

gtarfixr  NC Read my reviews (2)
Individual Inlay Blanks
Individual Inlay Blanks
5 4-11-2011
good stuff

i'm really new to the art of inlay but i love this stuff. bought some of each and went back to buy another ounce of white pearl. consistent width and beautiful "grain". i would suggest it to anyone.

Bryce Didericksen  kansas city, MO Read my reviews (24)
Customer supplied image for review
Shaped Violin Fingerboard
Shaped Violin Fingerboard
5 4-11-2011
LOL

Flat "bottom" surface twisted. Top square? What a pain. Will make do.

Bugs Wisely  Maine Read my reviews (4)
StewMac responds

If any item fails to meet your expectations, you may return it, unaltered, for a refund or exchange.

Displaying 16351 – 16375
of 21001 reviews
< 1  ...  654  655  656  ...  841 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce