Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16326 – 16350
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  653  654  655  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Refret Saw
Refret Saw
5 4-13-2011
Seems good.

For what I have used it for it seems ok but I dont know about durability yet. So take this review as you like. Bob from Illinois seems to think its good.....

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
3 4-13-2011
Works great

Could be smaller though. I don't like having a 7/16 deep route. Doesn't work to good for super thin necks. Other than that this truss rod works perfectly, no rattles and smooth accurate adjustment.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
5 4-13-2011
Great, sharp, fast.

The title says it all. Thanks again Stewmac!

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
5 4-13-2011
Perfect for making your own

These templates are a pain because they are so thin. BUT, I use them to make my own out of thicker material, thus, making the job easier. Buy these because they are a perfect fit and great template.....templates. After you make your own be sure to save these to make replacements if you need.

The reason I gave 5 stars is because for making your own templates they work great. After all, if they were 3/4 inch plexi, they would be too expensive. You have to compromise somewhere.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
3 4-13-2011
Sanding block

They work good if you know how to use them. Just make sure you check that they're not warped before you start. Like anything made of wood, they can warp in different directions on a weekly basis due to temperature and humidity fluctuation. Just check before use and you're set.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
Neck Support Caul
Neck Support Caul
5 4-13-2011
Neck Caul

Its a neck caul, does the job. The cork lining slides on the wood though during some clamping applications. Maybe it was the heat that day IDK.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit
Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit
5 4-13-2011
Cant beat dremels price

Dremels are great little tools at a great price. These are accurate enough for most jobs but if you MUST have extreme accuracy (crazy inlays) then Foredom is the way to go. I can use my dremel for everything I will ever need (fingers crossed now). Make sure you give your dremel a brake every few minutes so she doesn't crap out on ya, especially with the flex shaft!

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
Black Pickguard Material
Black Pickguard Material
5 4-13-2011
Great for covers, guards, and more!

This stuff is good for a lot of guitar related things. I use it for pickguards (duh) and also for trem and control covers. This material is also great for jack plates. Just break out the heat gun and you can shape it easily for many different applications.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
Radius Gauges
Radius Gauges
3 4-13-2011
Needs slots.

These are Ok but they really need slots. Go for the slotted type instead....I ended up slotting my own within 10 minutes of opening the package.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 4-13-2011
Good slot cutter

Love these nut files but in my opinion you also need some of the abrasive cord to smooth out the slots after filing. Also in my opinion, you have to do that with any slotting files. These cut fairly quick so that's a plus.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
5 4-13-2011
Does the job

I like these but you have to be sure that your fretboard area is indeed level before relying on this straightedge. Good solid construction and I like the convenience of the long and short scale notches.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
5 4-13-2011
Great bits!

Not only do they work great for inlaying, but I use them for detail carving... best I've found!

Marvin Walker

BanjoMaker  Kinston, NC Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
ToneRite for Guitar
ToneRite for Guitar
5 4-13-2011
5 Star Product

I bought the ToneRite to see if I could get more out of my Taylor 814CE. This particular Taylor is designed for finger picking and light strumming. For my taste it just wasn't projecting much when strummed. I used the ToneRite on it for 144 hrs. When done I had a completely new guitar. Regardless of what I do finger pick, flat pick or just strum, the Taylor sings like never before. I feel like the guitar is 20 years old and has been played everyday. Great product. Next I think I will try it on my mandolin!
Frank Moore, Lacey, WA

Franklin  Lacey, WA
Ebony Bridge Pins
Ebony Bridge Pins
5 4-13-2011
Improved my tone

Replaced the stock bridge pins on an old Ibanez PF-10 acoustic. They keep the strings snug. Tone seems fuller than with the stock plastic pins.

Buck  Archdale, NC Read my reviews (7)
Grover Midsize Rotomatics
Grover Midsize Rotomatics 3L/3R
5 4-13-2011
Great Tuners

Replaced the stock tuners on an old Ibanez PF-10 acoustic after one of the buttons fell off. Grovers were easy to install. I get finer tuning with the 18:1 ratio than with the old tuners. It also seems that they've improved the tone a bit--more mass on the headstock for greater resonance maybe?

Buck  Archdale, NC Read my reviews (7)
String Retainer Bar for Floyd Rose
String Retainer Bar for Floyd Rose
5 4-13-2011
Great fit!

I like black hardware, and Lakland 5-string basses use this same string retainer bar. I ordered this after checking the dimensions on the StewMac site and it's a perfect fit!

The Customizer  Austin, TX
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 4-13-2011
Gorgeous colors

My 15 year-old daughter built her own guitar. She painted it with ColorTone Vintage Amber and Cherry Red. It looks great.

pmccombs  Orem, UT
Customer supplied image for review
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
5 4-13-2011
Very Nice

Lovely bridge pins.

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
Endpin Jack Reamer
Endpin Jack Reamer
5 4-13-2011
Good Reamer

A well made tool. Good for endpins and endpin jacks as well. I would recommend this tool

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 4-13-2011
Amazing tool!

When I saw the pictures I thought it was just silk screened onto the steel, but when I got it I saw that it's actually sunk into the steel! amazing detail and extremely accurate, will last a lifetime

Heinrich de Beer  Polokwane, South Africa Read my reviews (4)
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 4-13-2011
Excellent Quality

I was expecting these gauges to be of high quality, but was blown away by how solid they are! Real time saver and takes the guess work out of setting up a guitar bridge

Heinrich de Beer  Polokwane, South Africa Read my reviews (4)
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
5 4-13-2011
meets expectations.

I didn't actually wind up using this, as I also ordered a b/w/b-plate that fit my projects better. But I'm guessing this one's as good as the b/w/b, so I'm giving five stars. Good quality, good flex, easy to cut.

MortenHolm  Lillehammer, Norway Read my reviews (4)
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
5 4-13-2011
meets expectations.

good flex, easy to cut, nice looking, good quality. not much more to say. after all, it's "only" three plastic sheets of various colors and thicknesses laminated together. wouldn't order anywhere else..

MortenHolm  Lillehammer, Norway Read my reviews (4)
Metric Toggle Switch
Metric Toggle Switch
1 4-13-2011
Fast shipping, though.

It's hard for me to write this, as I love StewMac. But this was really disappointing. Like other reviewers have written; it hops over to the middle position and refuses to stay on either end. Wound up ordering some switchcrafts instead.

MortenHolm  Lillehammer, Norway Read my reviews (4)
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
5 4-13-2011
No more noise!

I've always been a huge fan of the P90 pickup, but a problem with single coils obviously is that they're quite noisy.. No more. Easy to install, sticks perfectly, everything's simply awesome.

MortenHolm  Lillehammer, Norway Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 16326 – 16350
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  653  654  655  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce