Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16301 – 16325
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  652  653  654  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Bell Knob
Bell Knob
4 4-14-2011
good but

very hard to get off of the pot's shaft, and they are pretty slippery to the touch.

Julius  Canada Read my reviews (20)
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
5 4-14-2011
Accurate

just too thin,but copying it and making my own template from this with wood solved that.

Julius  Canada Read my reviews (20)
Schaller Non-Tremolo Roller Bridge
Schaller Non-Tremolo Roller Bridge
5 4-14-2011
Simply the best non-tremolo bridge

This bridge has so many possibilities! It can be set to the widest string spacing of any bridge I've found or to very narrow. Various radii are no problem with the easy height adjustments. All string changes, height, spacing and intonation can be done easily on the front of the guitar. It is heavy, solid and sounds very crisp and clear with a ton of sustain. If you don't use a tremolo, there is no reason to look any further. Get this bridge!

Gregory C. Wolff  Hampton, VA Read my reviews (2)
Knob Position Indicator
Knob Position Indicator
5 4-14-2011
Nice Touch

I like a reference point when dialing in the volume and tones. Plus they look smart.

Larry Burdette  Peachtree City, GA
Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set
Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set
5 4-14-2011
Perfect as usual!

Dear stewmac, thank you once again for being so efficient, polite and professional! The shipment was quick and the tuner set is great!
Greeting from southern Italy!!!

ALB57  Italy
Oak Grigsby Super Switch
Oak Grigsby Super Switch
5 4-14-2011
Add "Tele" pickup combinations to your Strat

I have used these Super switches in a number of my guitars together with the push-pull pots to add "Gibson" style pickup combinations to a Strat or Tele. Further, in 2-pickup mode you can simulate the use of the dual volume controls to get all of one and some of the other.

Bucky Duster  Baltimore, MD Read my reviews (2)
Alpha Push-pull Pots
Alpha Push-pull Pots
5 4-14-2011
Using Push-Pull pots to add more tonal colors

I have used these push-pull pots in a number of my guitars together with the Super switch to add "Gibson" style pickup combinations to a Strat or Tele.
Further, in 2-pickup mode you can simulate the use of the dual volume controls to get all of one and some of the other.

Bucky Duster  Baltimore, MD Read my reviews (2)
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 4-14-2011
Amazing!!!

I love 150's!!!!!!! My favorite fretwire!

Flavio Petruy  Brazil Read my reviews (8)
Cam Clamps
Cam Clamps
2 4-14-2011
A bit disappointed...

Okay, so here are a few reasons I am disappointed with this product:

1) The sliding wooden brace slides too easily on the metal shaft and it is difficult to get positive pressure (without the sliding brace slipping) while clamping.

2) Some corners/edges are smoothed (rounded) but the corner edge inside each wooden brace is pretty sharp 90 degrees, and hence easier to damage guitar wood and finish if using inside the sound hole.

3) The levers are tight and difficult to tighten one-handed without risking losing the positioning on the metal shaft hence losing the clamping strength.

4) The bottom (or top) corner of the stationary brace (the one that doesn't slide on the metal shaft) could be cut on an angle to make it easier to insert into sound holes without getting hung up on or bumping the bottom struts. This is especially important for guitars with small sound holes (classicals and small-body acoustics) and thin body guitars.

I have used hand-made clamps of the same type that are night-and-day different from these clamps.

I didn't make my own clamps yet because I don't have my machines yet, but once I get my machines I'll probably make some myself, even though it will take a bit of time.

I'd return the clamps but 1) cost of shipping to return makes it not worth it, and 2) I need them, even though they don't work great. (I'll probably recondition the ones I bought.)

MGR  Halifax, Nova Scotia, CANADA
Black Plastic Binding
Black Plastic Binding
5 4-14-2011
Good product

Easy to work with. Just as I hoped

DagS  Norway Read my reviews (10)
Guitar Trim Blanks
Guitar Trim Blanks
5 4-14-2011
Good value

Just what I needed

DagS  Norway Read my reviews (10)
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
5 4-14-2011
Great sandpaper

I like this paper a lot.

DagS  Norway Read my reviews (10)
Hipshot Tremsetter
Hipshot Tremsetter
5 4-14-2011
Works well

It added stability to the trem on my guitar. It is especially noticeable with string bends.

DagS  Norway Read my reviews (10)
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
5 4-14-2011
KIT Deadnought Mahagony

La guitare est finie. Elles est superbe. Le son est magique. C'est une guitare qui en commerce vaut dans les 2000 €. Great guitar, the sound is really amazing. It sounds like a 2000 € Guitar. I need to buy another one. Thank You. Benma

BENMA  Lyon France Read my reviews (2)
Conductive Shielding Paint
Conductive Shielding Paint
5 4-14-2011
shielding paint

i love this stuff eazy to use in pick ups cavity,s and everywhere the tape wont if you want a quiet guitar with zero hum you need this and the copper tape i have 30 guitars all with both of these

santos  calif Read my reviews (2)
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
5 4-13-2011
Cherry

I used the chrome pickup rings on a gold top LP that I built. They're awesome and look so much better than plastic ones.

JeffJones  Bay Area, CA
Pickup/Control Cavity Routing Template Set
Pickup/Control Cavity Routing Template Set
3 4-13-2011
Too thin...

The material is just too thin so you'll want to transfer the pattern to some ply or MDF or similar. Also the Minibucker template doesn't fit any of the P90s I have.

Andi  UK Read my reviews (2)
Tremolo Routing Templates
Tremolo Routing Templates
3 4-13-2011
Could be so much better

Firstly, as many reviewers have said, the material is too thin - I transferred the patterns to some 12mm ply straight away. Secondly it is, indeed, a pain to have to scribe centrelines on when they could easily be done at manufacture.

Still, they seem accurate - just an unnecessary pain to work with.

Andi  UK Read my reviews (2)
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 4-13-2011
a small tool indispensable

It is amazing how useful this little tool, I think that should be present in a maintenance team of guitars and amps, I recommend

jose luis galiana baños  tres cantos, madrid, españa
Kluson Waffleback Guitar Machines
Kluson Waffleback Guitar Machines
5 4-13-2011
Kluson Waffebacks

The service and promptness of delivery of the product from Stew-Mac is wonderful, although the shipping is a little high...
I have a 1968 Les Paul Custom that came with the Wafflebacks back in the 60's. When I saw that Kluson had started making them again, I immediately bought 3 sets. On my Les Paul Model, I had to ream the holes out a little bit, (not a problem). I pressed the bushings in and they fit great. On my new Les Paul Custom ('54 reissue), and SG Custom, the holes were actually too large, so I had to glue the bushings in. I was not about doing the "dowel stick" treatment, and then redrilling. However, once the glue set up, all was fine. Get those cheesey Gibson tuners off of those guitars. I will also recommend using a 7 mm mechanical pencil and put an ample amount of pencil lead in the nut to allow the string to move freely. Gibson nuts are good for strings hanging up. I plan to take the gold off of those Gibson tuners and see if my dentist can use it to replace the porcelain crown that I just broke. Life is hell...

Tele-Larry  Gloucester, VA
Customer supplied image for review
Strat Pickguard with Humbucker
Strat Pickguard with Humbucker
5 4-13-2011
Strat Pickguard

Good quality pickguard!

Marco Rosignoli (Liuteria ROX)  Mantova, Italy Read my reviews (7)
Fretting Hammer
Fretting Hammer
5 4-13-2011
Fantastic Hammer!!!!!!!

Fantastic!!! It´s very comfortable. "OBRIGADO" guys!!!!!

Flavio Petruy  Brazil Read my reviews (8)
Schaller Locking Tremolo System
Schaller Locking Tremolo System
5 4-13-2011
Amazing!

In my opinion the best floyd rose in the world!

Marco Rosignoli (Liuteria ROX)  Mantova, Italy Read my reviews (7)
Tenor Ukulele Kit
Tenor Ukulele Kit
4 4-13-2011
Tenor Ukulele Kit

I have built a half-dozen of these kits and have used them to teach first time builders. The quality of the materials make a nice instrument. For more advanced builders, you can use kerfed linings (not included) and add bindings. I am impressed with the quality of the tuners, bridge and bone nut & saddle.

Mike Franks

MJ Franks  Rochester Hills, MI Read my reviews (8)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 4-13-2011
Excellent quality and even better service!

I just completed my first guitar, finishing it with Colortone Dyes, Grain Filler, Polishing Compounds and Clear Gloss Lacquer. I was amazed at the results I was able to achieve by hand! The results speak for themselves, and I have received dozens of complements from our local Blues Jam group on the finish quality.
Easy to work with, and one can I received was a dud- no aerosol-Stew Mac replaced it immediately. I was pleasantly surprised how quickly I received the replacement, and I was able to stay on schedule. I have another build in process, and you can bet I'll be using Colortone Lacquers on it as well!

Kevin Scruggs  Charlotte, NC Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 16301 – 16325
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  652  653  654  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce