Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16226 – 16250
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  649  650  651  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
4 4-18-2011
Crowning Files

These files do a very good job of shaping the frets. Not very aggressive, so you will have to work the frets pretty good. Better in the long run, avoids additional dressing after the fact.

Tim S.  Raymertown, NY
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 4-18-2011
Interresante Einsichten.

Gutes Buch!

conrad  Germany Read my reviews (4)
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
5 4-18-2011
Leider notwendig!

Tja, mit dem Alter machens die Augen nicht so. Jetz gehts wieder. Sehr Guts Produkt.

conrad  Germany Read my reviews (4)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 4-18-2011
Praktisch und schnell

Muss man im Gitarrenkoffer haben!
Zum Prüfen und einstellen. keine Probleme. Gut ablesbar.

conrad  Germany Read my reviews (4)
Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
5 4-18-2011
Sehr gutes Lineal

Das Lineal ist sehr Gut verarbeitet und hat mir sehr Gut geholfen.

conrad  Germany Read my reviews (4)
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
5 4-18-2011
Really complete

I appreciated this book because it gives you all the theoretical information you need to understand the painting process. Highly recommended

Capu  Switzerland Read my reviews (33)
Customer supplied image for review
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks
5 4-18-2011
Fantastic

I bought twice the curly maple one and I really liked them. Highly recommended

Capu  Switzerland Read my reviews (33)
Customer supplied image for review
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
5 4-18-2011
Great buy

Really good tool that will last for life. Forget saving a little money on a wooden one.

Ed Hall  England Read my reviews (3)
The Intonator
The Intonator
2 4-18-2011
Slipping thread

This could be a great tool however one of the threads on mine slips so have to set five strings then remove one nut and use it for the last. It also has a tendency to rise above the bridge pins so I had to turn some square topped ones to seat it against. It does work but we fell out a few times and I'm not sure I've forgiven it yet!

Ed Hall  England Read my reviews (3)
Tuner Drill Jigs
Tuner Drill Jigs
5 4-18-2011
Time saver

Works perfect, worth all the money!

J. Hay  Denmark
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 4-18-2011
good shielding job without spraying

I've been modifying guitar's and bass's electronics for 5 years and this tape helps to do the shielding job without spraying on any imaginable guitar. It's inexpensive and reliable. But keep your fingers protected because it has really sharp edges.

Vasiliy Karpov  Russia, Saratov Read my reviews (3)
Hipshot Hardtail Bridge
Hipshot Hardtail Bridge
5 4-18-2011
This is a nice bridge.

Good quality unit.

Oldy-r-goody  Canada Read my reviews (9)
Tune-o-Medic Bridge and Tailpiece Tools
Tune-o-Medic Bridge and Tailpiece Tools
2 4-18-2011
Tailpeice tool welded on an angle

These tools work. But the build quality is pretty cheap. Think dollar store screwdriver. My stop tailpeice wrench is welded at an angle. Makes it a little weird in use. I suspect it will break. Specialty tools have their place and can be worth the cost but stewmac - you are going way to cheap on materials and build quality. The tunomatic jack bent immediately. Very very soft.

Oldy-r-goody  Canada Read my reviews (9)
Tuner Bushing Press
Tuner Bushing Press
1 4-17-2011
Clumsy and useless

Yet another tool stewmac cheaps out on. The vice grip is too small to start. The rubber overlay that "protects" the peg head ripped on the first use and the plastic that tore thru dented the neck. This tool is just as clumsy as trying to catch the bushing lip with a punch etc. Its a terrible, poorly made, finnicky tool made in the cheapest possible way. I'm getting a little tired of this from stewmac. To many times these tools have been so cheaply done as it worse than trash. Your better off using a punch and a mallet as at least you wont end up with a huge ring on the peghead from this "tool".

Oldy-r-goody  Canada Read my reviews (9)
Binding Router Bearings
Binding Router Bearings
5 4-17-2011
Work As Designed / Advertised

When they say .070", they mean .070"! Great and easy to use/install.

Tidewater Guitars  Granbury, TX Read my reviews (2)
White Plastic Binding
White Plastic Binding
5 4-17-2011
Good Stuff!

Amazingly easy to use. This was my first time working with binding. I have great confidence now for future builds.

Tidewater Guitars  Granbury, TX Read my reviews (2)
Switchcraft Output Jack
Switchcraft Output Jack
5 4-17-2011
Output jacks

Plug in, unplug, over and over, output jacks get a lot of use and abuse and can stop the show when they don't work. Switchcraft input jacks are the best, reliable, dependable, and last forever. Great connection and sound. That's what it's all about, plug in and play.

Tom Vicson  Anaheim, Ca.
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
5 4-17-2011
Amazing Tuner

I've been playing, repairing and setting up guitars for 20 years now. I still can't believe how much better any guitar sounds after tuning up with the sweetened tuning. My guitars sing like never before, get yourself one of these.

Ricks Guitars  Australia Read my reviews (2)
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
4 4-17-2011
Good idea, but needs refining

They are a good idea but I had to customize them in order to make them work. Generally anything medium and above fretwire, in my case, didn't fit, also 20th fret and above they were too wide to really fit between the frets (in some cases actually marking the neighbouring frets, so... I can suggest to enlarge the slot by 1mm and make the side narrower by at least 1mm, and the thing is since there are 6 in the set you can make the sides narrower only on one or two, sides work ok on hi lower frets. I do find them easier to use than taping when doing just quick fixes on marks on the frets.

Tim Gospodinov  NYC Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Tenor Ukulele Kit
Tenor Ukulele Kit
4 4-17-2011
Tenor Ukulele kit

STOP. Why do you want to build a kit? For the price of this kit and the time you will take - you could simply buy any ukulele at a local music shop for under $400 and be ahead of the game. If you want to learn to build and enjoy the act of building then this kit may be for you.

I was a little disappointed in the wood for the front and back of the ukulele - the grain was not straight (some twisted grain on the front near the soundhole, and curved on the lower bout AND badly on the back and it took some rearranging and re-orienting of the stock to get it looking OK). Because you don't see the back the impact is less, but I know its there. The kit had been opened and probably returned by someone else because I found pencil marks where someone had tried to mark on the positions of the braces etc, and had given up because of the grain.

There are many places where you can mess up as a novice builder - my worst spot was seating the frets. The other tricky spot is gluing on the neck and getting it aligned/fitted properly especially since I decided to carve back the fretboard to match the soundhole so it did not protrude over the soundhole. I am just at the point after 3 weeks of finishing the build and stringing it up. The strings are awful and you will replace them - so another little added cost.

Overall, I liked the kit and the learning - but did lean on the web for others experiences in some of the tricky bits. As the VISA commercial says though, the act of playing something that you built is priceless.

BruceS  Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Customer supplied image for review
Waverly Banjo Tuning Pegs
Waverly Banjo Tuning Pegs
5 4-17-2011
Waverly tuners

These are very sweet. They're installed on an Epiphone (Chinese) MB 250. The banjo itself is quite nice but like offshore guitars, lacking in good hardware. These made a real difference in intonation and holding power. Great product.

The captain  Simi Valley, Ca. Read my reviews (2)
Erlewine Neck Jig
Erlewine Neck Jig
4 4-17-2011
So many benefits!

If you are considering getting this jig and are still unsure, my advice is to go for it... you won't be sorry.

Many of the previous comments are accurate: It does require some getting used to in order to be comfortable using it and to get the most benefit out of it. And, I agree that the dial mounting bolts are a bit crude. However, they work well and this is a minor point. I may even work on my own mounting system for them. I am (with hesitation) taking one star off of a five-star tool because of the bolts.

The beauty of this jig is the increased accuracy that it brings to fretboard leveling and fret work. Duplicating string tension is a great plus and the dial indicators allow hair-splitting accuracy. I feel so much more in control of all the variables when using this tool.

My school had a couple of jigs that were based on this one but without the dials... more or less just a work platform with supports under the neck. I had considered making my own, but after watching Dan's videos I decided to get the full blown version and learn to use it... I am glad that I did.

As also mentioned, the jig makes a most impressive visual for customers in my shop. They assume (correctly) that I must know what I am doing to have a tool like the neck jig in use.

Dogwood Guitars  Kansas City, MO Read my reviews (26)
Customer supplied image for review
Switch Knobs for Strat
Switch Knobs for Strat
3 4-17-2011
Not for use with all switches

Be careful when buying switch nobs. You need to measure the width of your switch. These only fit switches with 4mm width or smaller. If you have a 5 mm width with something like an Oak Grigsby switch, you need a different knob.

Terence  Missouri Read my reviews (15)
P-90/Mini Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
P-90/Mini Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
5 4-17-2011
P90 template review

Great product. Very precise. There are laser etched center lines running north to south and east to west, making perfect alignment a breeze. Fit my P90 perfectly.

chris h  folsom ca
Saddlematic
Saddlematic
5 4-17-2011
I love this thing!

The saddlematic is a great tool that can be used to set the intonation quickly and easily. I especially like using it to check the intonation on guitars in the shop for repair and to duplicate the intonation from a great guitar.

Dogwood Guitars  Kansas City, MO Read my reviews (26)
Displaying 16226 – 16250
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  649  650  651  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce