Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16226 – 16250
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  649  650  651  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Radius Gauges
Radius Gauges
5 4-20-2011
Radius Gauges

These are perfectly designed. A MUST for accurately creating and reproducing nuts and saddles.

Custom Saddles by Bob Colosi  St. Marys, GA
Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
5 4-20-2011
Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners

I used these to replace the machine heads on my CG151-S Yamaha Classical Guitar. They fit perfectly and dressed up the head. A improvement over the originals. Prompt shipping

Dondesmo  Federal Way, WA
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
4 4-20-2011
Simply great!

Just installed in Epi 335. (both alnico 2)

This pickup breaks up beautifully and naturally like 57'classic pickups do.

Love it.

youlsa  Seoul, Republic of Korea
Weatherking Banjo Head
Weatherking Banjo Head
5 4-19-2011
Banjo parts

Making the banjo was a cinch with parts supplied and service from StewMac. Only the pot was made by me from Australian Eucalypt kiln dried hard wood. Pals and even banjo teacher have remarked on the finish and the tone. Proud to play banjo with The Tanjil River Band.

Tanjil  melbourne Austrlia
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Midsize 510 Tuners with Black Plastic Knobs
Gotoh Midsize 510 Tuners with Black Plastic Knobs
5 4-19-2011
Smooth look matches best design

For many years 'Gotoh' has been our favorite tuner even though not as expensive as certain European varieties. So well made without annoying 'backlash' in the gearing. And the finish so durable. Congratulations Gotoh -unsurpassed quality is now matched by unsurpassed design. The best!!!

Jordy  Near Melbourne Australia Read my reviews (5)
Adjustable Truss Rod for Martin
Adjustable Truss Rod for Martin
4 4-19-2011
Simplicity gives fail-safe results

Yes I like these enclosed system truss rods. You drop it into the channel, glue on the fret board and that's it- it will work properly every time. Aluminum keeps the weight down too. A small improvement would be a 'rolled'(compressed) thread rather than the cut thread as this adds about 50% extra strength. But then only a certain amount of strength is needed. Thumbs up.

Jordy  Near Melbourne Australia Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Knob and Bushing Puller
Knob and Bushing Puller
5 4-19-2011
very helpful

Oh, where has this thing been all those years. No more wiggling underneath the edge of a control knob with a blade.
But a bit expensive...

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Fret Barber
Fret Barber
4 4-19-2011
not too simple but helpful

This is one of those tools that may be a bit tricky to use at first. But once you got the trick it can really do great things for you.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
P-90/Mini Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
P-90/Mini Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
4 4-19-2011
one big flaw

OK - it's very nicely made, clean, accurate but for P-90s, which have the mounting screws between the pole pieces, it leaves two ugly screwholes in the guitar top. However I couldn't come up with an idea how t avoid that right now either....

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
5 4-19-2011
Irreplaceable

I don't know how I would do my fret leveling without this stuff. Period!

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
5 4-19-2011
very nice

OK, there's not a lot you can do wrong with such a tool but nobody said that.
It's nice, heavy, tough and of course perfectly flat. Good.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
5 4-19-2011
Super Duper!

Wonderful! Finally a Jack Mount for Teles that's easy and clean to install and also looks nice.
I also like to use it as replacement for Flushmount Jacksockets, which I hate because they tend to stop working when you most need 'em.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
1 4-19-2011
shakes itself to pieces

The router base is nicely made and all, BUT it simply falls apart from the vibration while I'm using it. The thumbscrews for setting the height start moving about from the vibration and the screws on the bottom, that hold the bottom plate and the posts together also shake loose, which is even worse, because, as they start sticking out, they scratch the surface of the instrument.
Oh and the air pump (probably from a fish tank) is, of course, for 110 volts and not for European voltage, but I guess I should have thought of that myself.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Tune-o-Medic Bridge and Tailpiece Tools
Tune-o-Medic Bridge and Tailpiece Tools
4 4-19-2011
Well, all in all it's quite cool

OK, the stop tailpiece wrench doesn't fit on all stop tailpieces. That sucks. But the concept is cool.
The post tool is definitely a life saver when you need it but I didn't get in that situation yet.
Now, the Bridge Jack - that is a really great tool, simple as it may be. It saves loads of time and works perfectly AND it's really strong made. If you're not sure whether to buy the whole set, at least get the Bridge Jack! It pays off!

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Fret Beveling File
Fret Beveling File
3 4-19-2011
nice to have

The Fret beveling file is really handy and does save time. But it's not really a necessary tool. If you're just starting your workshop, there are other, more important tools to spend your money on. And if you've been in the business for a while, you won't really need this anymore.
But if you just feel like buying something for your workshop, then this is certainly not the dumbest thing to invest in.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Swamp Ash Body Blank
Swamp Ash Body Blank
5 4-19-2011
Couldn't be better

You won't get a better piece of ash for this price. The only way to make this any more user friendly would be if it would read your mind and carve itself.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Trade Secrets Book
Trade Secrets Book
5 4-19-2011
Solid gold!

These books are filled up to the edge with clever ideas, good concepts and just TONS of things that you need to have somebody tell you. Simple little tricks that will save SO much blood, sweat and tears. But like real gold, you'll have to dig a bit, to find the great bits.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
4 4-19-2011
wonderful tool

The reason I'm only giving this 4 stars is, that it's not absolutely foolproof. But with a bit of practice and care you can really cut off the tang nice and smooth with this. But it is easy to not hold the fret perfectly and then the cut will also not be perfect. But you'll figure that out in no time.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Five-Star 5th String Peg
Five-Star 5th String Peg
5 4-19-2011
five-star 5th string banjo peg

Excellent piece of machinery for the price. All I needed to do was pull the old direct drive 1:1 5th string tuner (not gear driven, widen and deepen the tapered hole and epoxy in the five-star. This resulted in much better control over the string tuning and decreased the chance for the string slipping out of tune. Big bang for the buck. Overall impact: excellent

Ted's setups  berwyn heights, md
Precision Straightedges
Precision Straightedges
5 4-19-2011
As good as expected

Good replacement for the old one, as good as expected and a helpful bevel

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
Neck Mounting Plate
Neck Mounting Plate
5 4-19-2011
Really good

Really well made, the screws are correct and the size is exactly what i need :D

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
Luthiers Digital Caliper
Luthier's Digital Caliper
4 4-19-2011
Nice!

It arrived just two days ago and it's been a great help so far. The little box to store is nice and the little details to help measure frets are really nice.

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
Binding Router Guide
Binding Router Guide
5 4-19-2011
Binding Router Guide

An excellent well made tool. It does a very nice job, as long as you use it carefully. Just two suggestions, #1 the center hole needs to be larger, so it will work on all Dremel corded tools. #2 the roller screw needs to be locktited so it won't vibrate out.

Joe Comroe  Longview Tx. Read my reviews (2)
Dreadnought Sitka Spruce Soundboard
Dreadnought Sitka Spruce Soundboard
5 4-19-2011
Excellent!!!

I bought a few of these soundboard and I'm really satisfied. Highly recommended

Capu  Switzerland Read my reviews (33)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 4-19-2011
Perfect

I bought these compounds 5 years ago and, in my opinion, they are the best product you can find on the market (I tested several of them)

Capu  Switzerland Read my reviews (33)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 16226 – 16250
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  649  650  651  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce