Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16201 – 16225
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  648  649  650  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Trade Secrets Book
Trade Secrets Book
5 4-19-2011
Solid gold!

These books are filled up to the edge with clever ideas, good concepts and just TONS of things that you need to have somebody tell you. Simple little tricks that will save SO much blood, sweat and tears. But like real gold, you'll have to dig a bit, to find the great bits.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
4 4-19-2011
wonderful tool

The reason I'm only giving this 4 stars is, that it's not absolutely foolproof. But with a bit of practice and care you can really cut off the tang nice and smooth with this. But it is easy to not hold the fret perfectly and then the cut will also not be perfect. But you'll figure that out in no time.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Five-Star 5th String Peg
Five-Star 5th String Peg
5 4-19-2011
five-star 5th string banjo peg

Excellent piece of machinery for the price. All I needed to do was pull the old direct drive 1:1 5th string tuner (not gear driven, widen and deepen the tapered hole and epoxy in the five-star. This resulted in much better control over the string tuning and decreased the chance for the string slipping out of tune. Big bang for the buck. Overall impact: excellent

Ted's setups  berwyn heights, md
Precision Straightedges
Precision Straightedges
5 4-19-2011
As good as expected

Good replacement for the old one, as good as expected and a helpful bevel

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
Neck Mounting Plate
Neck Mounting Plate
5 4-19-2011
Really good

Really well made, the screws are correct and the size is exactly what i need :D

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
Luthiers Digital Caliper
Luthier's Digital Caliper
4 4-19-2011
Nice!

It arrived just two days ago and it's been a great help so far. The little box to store is nice and the little details to help measure frets are really nice.

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
Binding Router Guide
Binding Router Guide
5 4-19-2011
Binding Router Guide

An excellent well made tool. It does a very nice job, as long as you use it carefully. Just two suggestions, #1 the center hole needs to be larger, so it will work on all Dremel corded tools. #2 the roller screw needs to be locktited so it won't vibrate out.

Joe Comroe  Longview Tx. Read my reviews (2)
Dreadnought Sitka Spruce Soundboard
Dreadnought Sitka Spruce Soundboard
5 4-19-2011
Excellent!!!

I bought a few of these soundboard and I'm really satisfied. Highly recommended

Capu  Switzerland Read my reviews (33)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 4-19-2011
Perfect

I bought these compounds 5 years ago and, in my opinion, they are the best product you can find on the market (I tested several of them)

Capu  Switzerland Read my reviews (33)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Slotting Miter Box
Fret Slotting Miter Box
5 4-19-2011
It has to be in your workshop

Hi,
I'm building my 2nd guitar, I've purchased this miter box because fret slotting on my 1st guitar was not a success.
I wish I had ordered this tool before, it is really handy and precise!

Quentin  Paris
Behlen Nitrocellulose Vinyl Sealer
Behlen Nitrocellulose Vinyl Sealer
5 4-19-2011
Behlen Vinyl Sealer is Awesome!

I just used the Behlen Vinyl Sealer for the first time and absolutely love it. I will never finish another guitar or neck without it. The product sprayed on perfect and gave my necks a great feel. I also used it as a base coat for the nitrocellulose finish on my guitar bodies and I was equally pleased. All luthiers should try this product. Happy building!

Darrin DeJohn  Mandeville, La. USA
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 4-19-2011
Polishing Compounds

I purchased the Medium Color Tone compound and the Swirl Remover. Both are great products and totally work as advertised. I was able to bring out the shine in my 1981 Les Paul that had been missing since its birth. With the help of the polishing buffers the results were amazing.

One of the cool things about the swirl remover is the hands on application with a regular polishing cloth. It actually is the best polish you can use, absolutely no build up or slimy feel that most polishes will leave behind. Great stuff.

TOMMYPLANET  Austin, Tx Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
5 4-18-2011
Great "little" set

This is a really good small set of tools. Very handy to keep in gig bag. With the addition of 1/2" and 7/16" sockets it is a huge plus to have with you.

Philip  maryland
ColorTone Touchup Markers
ColorTone Touchup Markers
5 4-18-2011
Touch up sticks

These are truly a smart thing to have in my shop!Amazing how well they can blend into a finish to hide some minor blems! Thanks

Steve R  Spring,Tx Read my reviews (26)
Gauged Saws
Gauged Saws
5 4-18-2011
Good Deal

Excellent saws for a great price.

Dr H  Earth Read my reviews (10)
String Lifter
String Lifter
5 4-18-2011
Very handy

Great time-saver. To guard against the fretboard "dings" one reviewer noted, I slip a blade of a feeler gauge between this and the fret board, just to be safe, but except on a few exceptionally heavy gauged strings I didn't notice even a potential problem.

Dr H  Earth Read my reviews (10)
Inlay Tracing Scribe
Inlay Tracing Scribe
5 4-18-2011
Good scribe

Works as advertised; very sharp. Looks a little larger in the pictures than it actually is, but it's big enough to do the job.

Dr H  Earth Read my reviews (10)
Nut Slotting Gauge
Nut Slotting Gauge
4 4-18-2011
Interesting tool...

...I'm still trying to figure out how useful it actually is. Given the instructions that come with the gauge it would make more sense to have the dial calibrated counter-clockwise to give a -positive- string height reading, rather than the negative reading that's the norm. But StewMac tells me that getting such a "reverse" dial would triple the cost (really?) of the gauge, and others here have posted adequate work-arounds, so I can live with this.

A couple of other points would perhaps make this device more useful:

1) The smaller dial on the gauge is essentially useless, since it can't be zeroed by the procedure given. If it -were- possible to zero the small dial with the large one, this gauage would have a wider range, making it useful for checking action in more places on the neck than the nut, and usable with more kinds of guitar-like instruments.

2) The feet on the brass block the gauge is mounted in appear to be level in the photos, but they are not. They're cut on slant, to more easily work on radiused fingerboards, StewMac says. OK, but what about those of use who are setting up classical guitars, cuatros, bajo sextos, and other instruments with essentially -flat- fingerboards? Seems like offering an option of interchangable flat- or radiused- bases with this guage would again make it more useful.

Still, it basically does what they say it does, and it does it well, once you get used to these quirks.

Dr H  Earth Read my reviews (10)
Violin Tuning Peg
Violin Tuning Peg
5 4-18-2011
Fiddle Tuning Pegs

After fitting and restringing, the amount of sustain and resonance was absolutely astounding. I didn't believe that just changing the tuning pegs could make such a big difference. Thank you StewMac

mardonway  TN Read my reviews (2)
Grover Strap Buttons for Strap Locks
Grover Strap Buttons for Strap Locks
3 4-18-2011
Button only review

I purchased a set of the gold buttons only. Did not like the black screws, but replacement brass screws were easy enough to find at a hardware store. The main reason for my review is to point out that while these buttons do indeed work with genuine Schaller locks, they do not work with various "Schaller-style" locks on the market.

slugworth  USA Read my reviews (2)
Economy Open Gear Tuners
Economy Open Gear Tuners
4 4-18-2011
Tuners

Work well no issues, easy to install, good value

KLW  Canada
Weld-On Cement
Weld-On Cement
5 4-18-2011
cool stuff

i just did my first binding job and as far as i can tell this stuff rocks. gave me no problems whatsoever

Bryce Didericksen  kansas city, MO Read my reviews (24)
Scraper Blades
Scraper Blades
5 4-18-2011
nice tool

at first i was kinda skeptical about using a scraper and even though i still sand for most of what i do i love this tool. there are just thing it will do that you cant with anything else

Bryce Didericksen  kansas city, MO Read my reviews (24)
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
5 4-18-2011
Outstanding

i recently ordered two fret boards, one ebony and one rose wood, and the quality was far better i had hoped. the ebony i got was pitch black, there was absolutely no need to stain. highly suggest to anyone.

Bryce Didericksen  kansas city, MO Read my reviews (24)
Customer supplied image for review
White Plastic Binding
White Plastic Binding
5 4-18-2011
Great Stuff

This stuff is awesome. I just did my first binding job with it and it was wonderful to work with.

Bryce Didericksen  kansas city, MO Read my reviews (24)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 16201 – 16225
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  648  649  650  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce