Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16176 – 16200
of 20961 reviews
< 1  ...  647  648  649  ...  839 >
Sort reviews by

Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
5 4-18-2011
Great "little" set

This is a really good small set of tools. Very handy to keep in gig bag. With the addition of 1/2" and 7/16" sockets it is a huge plus to have with you.

Philip  maryland
ColorTone Touchup Markers
ColorTone Touchup Markers
5 4-18-2011
Touch up sticks

These are truly a smart thing to have in my shop!Amazing how well they can blend into a finish to hide some minor blems! Thanks

Steve R  Spring,Tx Read my reviews (26)
Gauged Saws
Gauged Saws
5 4-18-2011
Good Deal

Excellent saws for a great price.

Dr H  Earth Read my reviews (10)
String Lifter
String Lifter
5 4-18-2011
Very handy

Great time-saver. To guard against the fretboard "dings" one reviewer noted, I slip a blade of a feeler gauge between this and the fret board, just to be safe, but except on a few exceptionally heavy gauged strings I didn't notice even a potential problem.

Dr H  Earth Read my reviews (10)
Inlay Tracing Scribe
Inlay Tracing Scribe
5 4-18-2011
Good scribe

Works as advertised; very sharp. Looks a little larger in the pictures than it actually is, but it's big enough to do the job.

Dr H  Earth Read my reviews (10)
Nut Slotting Gauge
Nut Slotting Gauge
4 4-18-2011
Interesting tool...

...I'm still trying to figure out how useful it actually is. Given the instructions that come with the gauge it would make more sense to have the dial calibrated counter-clockwise to give a -positive- string height reading, rather than the negative reading that's the norm. But StewMac tells me that getting such a "reverse" dial would triple the cost (really?) of the gauge, and others here have posted adequate work-arounds, so I can live with this.

A couple of other points would perhaps make this device more useful:

1) The smaller dial on the gauge is essentially useless, since it can't be zeroed by the procedure given. If it -were- possible to zero the small dial with the large one, this gauage would have a wider range, making it useful for checking action in more places on the neck than the nut, and usable with more kinds of guitar-like instruments.

2) The feet on the brass block the gauge is mounted in appear to be level in the photos, but they are not. They're cut on slant, to more easily work on radiused fingerboards, StewMac says. OK, but what about those of use who are setting up classical guitars, cuatros, bajo sextos, and other instruments with essentially -flat- fingerboards? Seems like offering an option of interchangable flat- or radiused- bases with this guage would again make it more useful.

Still, it basically does what they say it does, and it does it well, once you get used to these quirks.

Dr H  Earth Read my reviews (10)
Violin Tuning Peg
Violin Tuning Peg
5 4-18-2011
Fiddle Tuning Pegs

After fitting and restringing, the amount of sustain and resonance was absolutely astounding. I didn't believe that just changing the tuning pegs could make such a big difference. Thank you StewMac

mardonway  TN Read my reviews (2)
Grover Strap Buttons for Strap Locks
Grover Strap Buttons for Strap Locks
3 4-18-2011
Button only review

I purchased a set of the gold buttons only. Did not like the black screws, but replacement brass screws were easy enough to find at a hardware store. The main reason for my review is to point out that while these buttons do indeed work with genuine Schaller locks, they do not work with various "Schaller-style" locks on the market.

slugworth  USA Read my reviews (2)
Economy Open Gear Tuners
Economy Open Gear Tuners
4 4-18-2011
Tuners

Work well no issues, easy to install, good value

KLW  Canada
Weld-On Cement
Weld-On Cement
5 4-18-2011
cool stuff

i just did my first binding job and as far as i can tell this stuff rocks. gave me no problems whatsoever

Bryce Didericksen  kansas city, MO Read my reviews (24)
Scraper Blades
Scraper Blades
5 4-18-2011
nice tool

at first i was kinda skeptical about using a scraper and even though i still sand for most of what i do i love this tool. there are just thing it will do that you cant with anything else

Bryce Didericksen  kansas city, MO Read my reviews (24)
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
5 4-18-2011
Outstanding

i recently ordered two fret boards, one ebony and one rose wood, and the quality was far better i had hoped. the ebony i got was pitch black, there was absolutely no need to stain. highly suggest to anyone.

Bryce Didericksen  kansas city, MO Read my reviews (24)
Customer supplied image for review
White Plastic Binding
White Plastic Binding
5 4-18-2011
Great Stuff

This stuff is awesome. I just did my first binding job with it and it was wonderful to work with.

Bryce Didericksen  kansas city, MO Read my reviews (24)
Customer supplied image for review
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
4 4-18-2011
Crowning Files

These files do a very good job of shaping the frets. Not very aggressive, so you will have to work the frets pretty good. Better in the long run, avoids additional dressing after the fact.

Tim S.  Raymertown, NY
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 4-18-2011
Interresante Einsichten.

Gutes Buch!

conrad  Germany Read my reviews (4)
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
5 4-18-2011
Leider notwendig!

Tja, mit dem Alter machens die Augen nicht so. Jetz gehts wieder. Sehr Guts Produkt.

conrad  Germany Read my reviews (4)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 4-18-2011
Praktisch und schnell

Muss man im Gitarrenkoffer haben!
Zum Prüfen und einstellen. keine Probleme. Gut ablesbar.

conrad  Germany Read my reviews (4)
Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
5 4-18-2011
Sehr gutes Lineal

Das Lineal ist sehr Gut verarbeitet und hat mir sehr Gut geholfen.

conrad  Germany Read my reviews (4)
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
5 4-18-2011
Really complete

I appreciated this book because it gives you all the theoretical information you need to understand the painting process. Highly recommended

Capu  Switzerland Read my reviews (33)
Customer supplied image for review
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks
5 4-18-2011
Fantastic

I bought twice the curly maple one and I really liked them. Highly recommended

Capu  Switzerland Read my reviews (33)
Customer supplied image for review
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
5 4-18-2011
Great buy

Really good tool that will last for life. Forget saving a little money on a wooden one.

Ed Hall  England Read my reviews (3)
The Intonator
The Intonator
2 4-18-2011
Slipping thread

This could be a great tool however one of the threads on mine slips so have to set five strings then remove one nut and use it for the last. It also has a tendency to rise above the bridge pins so I had to turn some square topped ones to seat it against. It does work but we fell out a few times and I'm not sure I've forgiven it yet!

Ed Hall  England Read my reviews (3)
Tuner Drill Jigs
Tuner Drill Jigs
5 4-18-2011
Time saver

Works perfect, worth all the money!

J. Hay  Denmark
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 4-18-2011
good shielding job without spraying

I've been modifying guitar's and bass's electronics for 5 years and this tape helps to do the shielding job without spraying on any imaginable guitar. It's inexpensive and reliable. But keep your fingers protected because it has really sharp edges.

Vasiliy Karpov  Russia, Saratov Read my reviews (3)
Hipshot Hardtail Bridge
Hipshot Hardtail Bridge
5 4-18-2011
This is a nice bridge.

Good quality unit.

Oldy-r-goody  Canada Read my reviews (9)
Displaying 16176 – 16200
of 20961 reviews
< 1  ...  647  648  649  ...  839 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce