Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16151 – 16175
of 21027 reviews
< 1  ...  646  647  648  ...  841 >
Sort reviews by

Jaws2
Jaws2
5 4-23-2011
Jaws2 Awesome!

I am re-fretting a 35 year old custom guitar, the Jaws2 clamp system allowed me to squeeze in the top frets near the sound hole without using a fret hammer - the wooden caul worked perfectly around the top braces. I was also able to use it on the fretboard using the jig recommended in the instructions. I give it a 10!

Williams Guitars  Rye, Colorado
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 4-23-2011
Waverly upgrade

Bought these tuners to upgrade the stock Martin ones I had on my 2008 OM28V, and they are absolutely awesome! One thing I find curious though, StewMac states that I would need to drill new holes for the bottom mounting screw, but these are a perfect fit. I wouldn't drill new holes in my instrument, but knew I wouldn't have to as I have the Waverlys on my HD28VS slothead, made sure the specs were identical to the solid peghead ones, and basically swapped one over, and the holes line up perfectly so.. nice to know. Delivery to the UK took 2 days, absolutely amazing service (DHL Express) and even unboxing the tuners was a pleasure. Outstanding quality, absolutely the best IMHO.
Thanks from the UK!

Jay Eng  Bristol, UK
Tenor Ukulele Kit
Tenor Ukulele Kit
5 4-23-2011
Tenor Uke Kit

I bought one of these to teach a nephew how to build an instrument, and decided I am going to buy one for myself. The quality of this kit is excellent, and if you add kerfed linings and binding, (see Mike Franks remarks below) you have a high end ukelele. Stewmac sells nothing but high quality products and you can depend on them to deliver every time.

M Rosendahl  Sebastian, FL Read my reviews (4)
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
5 4-23-2011
Great tool

I love these things. I have one of every radius offered by Stew-Mac and use every one of them. I can now do fret level and re-crown jobs in 30 minutes! I would, however, like them to offer one in a 15 inch radius for all the Ibanez guitars I work on.

micheal kierce  florida
Wiring Kit for Gibson Les Paul Guitar
Wiring Kit for Gibson® Les Paul® Guitar
3 4-23-2011
Just enough

There was enough of everything as long as you already know how the wiring is to be placed and you don't screw up.

Instructions for the novice would have been nice. The wires are cut to specific lengths and that leads to some guesswork.

The one true negative about the kit is the shielded wire. The shielding itself is so brittle that it literally fell apart in my hands.

JDH  Nashville, TN Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 4-23-2011
Sound like Gibsons to me

You can buy these same pickups all over the place for TWICE the money. The only issue is that the neck pickup lead wire was placed on the pickup such that it would have to travel under the pickup. I elected to simply put both sets of screws (2 pickups) pointing in the same direction. The screws are cosmetic anyway (so says Seth Lover, the guy who invented them.) That, to me, was better than introducing a source of hum.

JDH  Nashville, TN Read my reviews (2)
Blush Eraser
Blush Eraser
2 4-23-2011
Better information

I would not contradict any of the positive reviews. But it would have saved me $17 if the copy with the product had specified this product worked only with nitro finishes. Maybe it is obvious to pros, but newbies could use better information.

Jim H.  Waterville, ME
StewMac responds

Jim H,
We're sorry to hear you had this negative experience with our Blush Eraser. We'll improve the product copy to make it more obvious this will only work with a nitro finish. Please accept our sincere apology (and, of course a full refund).

Luthiers Friend Sanding Station
Luthier's Friend Sanding Station
3 4-23-2011
Good for small shop

This tool was just OK for me. It's really just a mini drum sander on it's side. If you have the space, a real drum sander does a much better job. If you don't, it's a good set up to have.

Jesse Stearn  SLC. Utah Read my reviews (4)
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
5 4-23-2011
Classy

I have yet to experience a let down with these tuners. Well made, attractive, and affordable.

Jesse Stearn  SLC. Utah Read my reviews (4)
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
5 4-23-2011
Sharp

These bindings are accurately milled and very dependable. What more could you ask for?

Jesse Stearn  SLC. Utah Read my reviews (4)
Curly Maple Top Wood for Flat Solidbodies
Curly Maple Top Wood for Flat Solidbodies
3 4-22-2011
Flame Maple boards

Good wood with decent flame - the categories were accurate. The wood, however, needed lots to be useable. Facing and but joining the pieces is a given in creating drop tops but the pieces we received (one 4A and one 3A) were of varying thicknesses - not near the 1/4" as advertised. Also, the pieces were significantly cupped. Thank god for a thickness sander, otherwise these would be very difficult to put together for useable tops.

FNH  Massachusetts Read my reviews (10)
Flattop Guitar Bridge Blank
Flattop Guitar Bridge Blank
4 4-22-2011
Bridge blanks

Good quality stock but it needs a lot of machining. This is not a flat planed block - rather it it a rough hewn piece that needs considerable work to true to planed faces... but that is what custom building is all about anyway.

FNH  Massachusetts Read my reviews (10)
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
4 4-22-2011
Pick Up Routing Templates

These are fine. They are what they are and certainly easier than making your own out of MDF. The best parts are the lazer etched centering lines. Do your math, align properly, and you really can't go wrong.

FNH  Massachusetts Read my reviews (10)
White Plastic Binding
White Plastic Binding
5 4-22-2011
White Plastic Binding

Great product and easy to work with. I used the matching dremmel router bit and the job turned out flawlessly.

adsalter  Biloxi, MS Read my reviews (4)
Piloted Router Bit for Binding
Piloted Router Bit for Binding
5 4-22-2011
Piloted Router Bit

This router bit took all the hassle and guess work out of preparation for binding installation. Great product.

adsalter  Biloxi, MS Read my reviews (4)
Rubber Binding Bands
Rubber Binding Bands
5 4-22-2011
Rubber Binding Bands

These bands work perfect for installing binding. Great product.

adsalter  Biloxi, MS Read my reviews (4)
StewMac Tinted Super Glue
Stewmac Tinted Super Glue
5 4-22-2011
Smells like a new glue!

The opaque glues have been needed for ever! Thanks to Stew-Mac, no more trying to "tint" the glue & another huge need is filled. I find new uses every other day. I found the black works great for touching up case dings! No complaints, however, be prepared to use it up fast after opening! It seems to dry up quicker than the clears, but the advantages far outweigh this small prob. I bought it for an inlay repair job, scraped easily & worked great! GREAT STUFF STEW-MAC!!

Quaadude  Indianapolis, IN
Megaswitch E-Model
Megaswitch E-Model
5 4-22-2011
E-Switch

This is an awesome switch that does the functions I want out of my guitars! Very easy instructions and easy to wire without all the mini switches for the same options! Great switch guys!!

Shannon  Davenport, Florida Read my reviews (2)
Metal Jack Plate for Gibson Les Paul
Metal Jack Plate for Gibson® Les Paul®
5 4-22-2011
It's a Les Paul Style Jack Plate :)

It is a good quality and thick plate, chrome finish is flawless. I put it on a telecaster and had to straighten it a bit though :)

Konstantin  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (16)
Thickness Caliper
Thickness Caliper
5 4-22-2011
Accuracy and value

Having been commissioned to build a custom copy of CF Martin's 1932, C3 archtop guitar for a USA client, and finding that the homemade caliper I'd used for years was no longer functional, I decided to make this purchase. Turned out to be one of my best buys in recent times. Apart from being quick and easy to read, the accuracy of thickness I was able to achieve left me wondering how I'd managed without this tool for so long.

The carved Adirondack top really looks and sounds the business thanks to Stewmac's thicknessing caliper. Outstanding value for money.

Terry Docherty  UK Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Neck Mounting Plate
Neck Mounting Plate
3 4-22-2011
A little thin

It fits well all fender teles, strats and so on. I found this plate is thinner than Fender plate, which makes it bend under screws tension when using on a soft wood body (basswood for example).

Konstantin  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
Strap Button Felt Washers
Strap Button Felt Washers
5 4-22-2011
Good washers

These are nice washers, but i prefer them to be more dense and the hole diameter could be a little larger. Anyway, it's a good deal.

Konstantin  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (16)
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
4 4-22-2011
Not so good looking retainers

Nice retainers, they do the job, although installed on the guitar's headstock they look too massive and kinda ugly because of their big black plastic base. I found myself preferring an all-metal ones.

Konstantin  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (16)
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics
5 4-22-2011
Nice little tuners

Excellent tuners for the price. Recommended. And they are lightweight too.

Konstantin  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (16)
Pickup Spring Tubing
Pickup Spring Tubing
2 4-22-2011
Too tight

I found this tubing is too tight for height adjustment screws used on fender guitars. This results in poor adjustment capabilities. Make it larger pls.

Konstantin  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (16)
Displaying 16151 – 16175
of 21027 reviews
< 1  ...  646  647  648  ...  841 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce