Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16151 – 16175
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  646  647  648  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 4-22-2011
GREAT

Great product

Marcus  Nottingham Read my reviews (6)
Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
5 4-22-2011
GREAT

Great product

Marcus  Nottingham Read my reviews (6)
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
5 4-22-2011
Great

Great

Marcus  Nottingham Read my reviews (6)
Control Plate for Tele
Control Plate for Tele
5 4-22-2011
GREAT

Great product, great quality

Marcus  Nottingham Read my reviews (6)
Switch Mounting Screws
Switch Mounting Screws
5 4-22-2011
GREAT

great does what its meant to do

Marcus  Nottingham Read my reviews (6)
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 4-22-2011
Good item

Good and fast to hook up

Juan  Kodiak,ak
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
4 4-22-2011
Good, but could be better

I used this wrench on my Tobias Growler. As a previous reviewer mentioned the bullet shape can create a problem. I could not access the truss-rod nut because the bullet shape hit the body of my guitar (the truss rod adjustment on the Growler is accessed where the neck and body meet). I had to use a grinder to remove the bullet shape in order to use this wrench. Once I was able to fit the wrench in place, it took some maneuvering to use because the walls were thick enough on the socket portion that they wanted to drag on the wood.

Overall a good wrench, but be aware that it may not work (or may require modification) for your specific application. It seems that this tool could be made better if the bullet shape were removed from the design.

B2500  USA
The Key
The Key
1 4-22-2011
buena idea... pero solo eso

Las tres patas de la herramienta no se adaptaban bien en el punto de apoyo, así que decidí abrir un poco la pata que queda sola y se rompió al instante. Supongo que si el producto está bien realizado debe funcionar correctamente, en mi caso no pude llegar ni a probarlo. Valoración negativa.

jordijordi  spain Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
4 4-22-2011
The mysterious rattle

I recently purchased my third pair of Gotoh clasical guitar tuners. They look good, to me, work great and are reasonably priced. However, after I installed this set, with ebony knobs, I noticed a rattling noise while playing the instrument. I looked every where on the instrument to find "the mysterious rattle". Then one day, as I picked up the instrument, I heard the rattle without even playing the guitar. As I shook the guitar, I noticed that the rattle was comimg from the tuners. The tiny screws that hold the tuning knobs in place were not holding the washers tight and they were all vibrating while playing the instrument. The fix was to shorten each screw about 1/16" so the screw would not bottom out, but tighten the washer against the knob. That's it, problem solved.

Jim Barker  Tucson, AZ Read my reviews (3)
6mm Tremolo Arm
6mm Tremolo Arm
5 4-22-2011
Plain awesome

Arrived quick. Looks clean and sharp (no nub). I don't like loose trems, so in tightening it in all the way I had to bend it a few degrees high to clear the tone knob (ibanez rg series), but after that it worked beautifully!

Brian Hata  USA
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 4-22-2011
fret end problem solved

after i received your little device i found a number of guitars in shop where the fret ends were not finished at all, leaving razor sharp and dangerous edges. Using this device i solved the problem in no time for the shop, earned the cost back and prevented some young starters from being hurt. good stuff.

Bert van der Moer  Netherlands Read my reviews (3)
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 3L/3R
5 4-22-2011
Installation is easy, but not obvious

I just want to chime in here to hopefully save somebody the trouble I ran into. I bought the 6 in-line set. The tuning gears ship with a template that you use to install them correctly. However, the word "template" appears nowhere, and to me, at least, it wasn't obvious.

The part of the box where the instructions are IS the template! You cut along the dotted line, punch out the small hole, and then use the flat edge (opposite where you cut) to line up against the edge of your neck's head.

Once I realized that, after searching the Web, it was easy.

Mario  NY
Dome Knob
Dome Knob
5 4-22-2011
nice knobs

Not really much to say, good knobs, clean look fit perfect and you can't get better service online or from local venders than you get here at Stew Mac.

RLowVaughn  Boise, Id. Read my reviews (19)
Customer supplied image for review
P-90 Pickup Cover
P-90 Pickup Cover
5 4-21-2011
best quality as always

I do not order this item very often, since the kits I order from StewMac already have covers. But they are the best quality, and when ordered separately (six at a time), they are the same price as the "cheaper" supply companies..pictured my pickups in a SOCO built custom guitar..thanks for using my pickups Bill and thanks for the great supplies, StewMac

Eastgrove pickups  St. Louis, Mo Read my reviews (35)
Customer supplied image for review
Grover A-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines
Grover A-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines
5 4-21-2011
Great Tuners!!

I bought these tuners to replace the tuners on my mandolin. They work great! The tuning is very smooth, installation was pretty easy. I just had to drill some holes for the mounting screws.

Daniel H.  Odessa, MO Read my reviews (2)
Schaller Roller Bridge
Schaller Roller Bridge
5 4-21-2011
MIM Telecaster Bigsby mod

OK - so at first I just countersank the original Tele bridge with the Bigsby to get clearance - but that didn't work out. Too much rattle. Then, I ordered the Shaller Roller Bridge, did some slight mods to the Tele body and WOW!
The Shaller roller bridge conversion on my MIM Telecaster is done. Sounds great - action set up really easily - and the intonation was a cinch! It looks great and plays like a dream - nicely returning to pitch after a bend.

I've enclosed some pics of the process over the last 2 days.

Thanks for the awesome product!!

chrisMIM  Mesa, AZ
Customer supplied image for review
Jazz Bass Control Plate
Jazz Bass Control Plate
5 4-21-2011
pot-plate for Jazzbass

the shipping protection was made very carefully and i got my new pot-plat in a perfect condition and my buttons too,thanks for all of that!

slapypiero  France Read my reviews (2)
Locking Roller Bridge
Locking Roller Bridge
4 4-20-2011
Great sounding, tough fit

This bridge is a fantastic upgrade to the Epiphone stock one that came on my Dot. The original bridge would often rattle, and worked extremely poorly with the Bigsby. This bridge looks and sounds great. I only give it four stars because it was a tight fit on posts, the spacing wasn't quite right. A micron tighter and the bridge would not have fit, just something to keep in mind if you're putting it on an Epi Dot. The sustain with the Bigsby is hurt a little by rolling, but the insane tuning stability you gain is well worth it.

I highly recommend it, you won't be disappointed.

Krakissi  Massachusetts
Customer supplied image for review
Dreadnought Sitka Spruce Soundboard
Dreadnought Sitka Spruce Soundboard
5 4-20-2011
Sitka Spruce Soundboard

The spruce soundboard is second to none. I am very pleased with the quality of this tonewood and most everything I've ordered from Stew Mac. I build a few guitars a year from my home shop and would highly recommend doing business with Stewart MacDonald. Everything from helpful techs to fast shipping. Great company!!

Durst Guitars  Grantsville, MD Read my reviews (2)
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
5 4-20-2011
My Favorite Tuners

I love these tuners - just installed my second set. The combination of 18:1 fine tuning, rock-solid stability, and vintage good looks make the Grover Sta-Tites my favorite upgrade form the standard "no name" tuners on most new guitars.

And the price.... is RIGHT!

GRB  Sacto, CA Read my reviews (2)
10.5mm Round Conversion Bushings
10.5mm Round Conversion Bushings
5 4-20-2011
Perfect Fit

Bushings fit perfectly in my Art & Lutherie Ami headstock. They're also a perfect fit for the Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite tuners.

Thanks, Stew Mac, for making this upgrade a walk in the park!

GRB  Sacto, CA Read my reviews (2)
Rock-n-Roller Neck Rest
Rock-n-Roller Neck Rest
5 4-20-2011
Perfect For Most Jobs

This headrest is one of the smartest tools ever. It's stable, rocks to the perfect height for most any guitar and guitars rest perfectly on it and the cork is gentle, yet durable. I personally stained the wood just to polish up the looks of it and I simply love this item even more. Must buy for any luthier

Ric  Lakewood Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
2 4-20-2011
Black Tusq XL Nuts

Don't like the 2 moulding holes in the bottom. They are substantially deeper than I originally thought and really hope I never expose one of them when cutting a slot. Not to mention tone and sustain loss (yes, the holes are THAT deep, in my opinion). These SHOULD be a solid piece like the cheap ones they sell. Just mold one big chunk of the stuff and cut into nut sized blanks like everything else. The only reason I gave them 2 stars because they actually hold good tune, but really wanted to give one because of the cheap quality. I would suggest a different type of nut to anyone that's interested in these, just make sure its designed for trem use like these are (assuming that's why you were looking at these in the first place).

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
Double-edge Nut Files
Double-edge Nut Files
5 4-20-2011
Right Tool For the Right Job

I used the Double-edge nut file to cut in a new nut for an inexpensive guitar that was made poorly, it didn't have a seat for the nut. To stop the nut from angling back they filled in the gap with glue. I'm new to guitar repair and I can't believe the professional result I got from this file. I've upgraded the nut from a plastic one to a tusq one and it looks like a pro did the work. I feel the results were only possible with this excellent file.

Rich S  Sussex County, New Jersey Read my reviews (14)
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 4-20-2011
Great product

These compounds are amazing.They are quick and easy to use. I was impressed with how well they worked by simply hand rubbing them in. Either by buffer or by hand they work fast and produce excellent results. Love em

Ron Street  Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 16151 – 16175
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  646  647  648  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce