Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16126 – 16150
of 21051 reviews
< 1  ...  645  646  647  ...  843 >
Sort reviews by

4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 4-26-2011
Well done!

Just a great piece, will be using it in the future for sure!

To the person who said:
"If you hit the strings very hard, you can hear some truss-rod rattle from the neck. I can't figure out, how to eliminate this."

The best way to fix this(as stated by stewmac, i think) Is put a bit of silicon caulking in the channel(ONLY A LITTLE!) then press the truss rod in, and glue the fretboard. The Silicon will keep it from rattling, and won't bind it up, either.

Mitchell Henderson  NS, Canada Read my reviews (3)
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
5 4-26-2011
rosette routing jig and registration pin

Like others have noted, I was reluctant to buy this jig because it came with a 3/16" registration pin, and the rest of my rosette inletting tools used a 1/4" pin. However, I found an easy solution at my local hobby store by using precision brass tubing: one has a 1/4" outside diameter, which fits the 1/4" drill guide that's inletted into my workboard, and the other tube has a 7/32" outside diameter and this slides tightly into the 1/4" tube. The 7/32" tube has an inside diameter of 3/16", which fits the O.D. of the jig's registration pin precisely. The 4 pieces (drill guide, 1/4" tube, 7/32"tube, and the 3/16" registration pin) fit snugly together with no discernible slop. So now I can use my other rosette cutter with its 1/4" pin to do the inside and outside edges of the rosette trough, which completely eliminates any chance of a splintered or fuzzy edge, and hog out the middle using the StewMac jig. Works like a charm.

Larry S.  Greenfield WI
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
5 4-26-2011
Excellent

I bought the complete set. These wrenches work great. The extra long length works well and having a solid handle on the right-angled wrenches is great. Way better than trying to use an allen wrench inside a guitar's soundhole. I've written it before but once again, Stewmac has one of the most user-friendly sites around. They ship FAST!

Zerofret  Winnipeg, Manitoba Read my reviews (3)
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 4-26-2011
Cool Tool

This neat little tool has many uses. As mentioned in the summary, it fits easily under control knobs. That alone makes it worth the price.

Zerofret  Winnipeg, Manitoba Read my reviews (3)
Neck Mounting Plate
Neck Mounting Plate
5 4-26-2011
Shiny, shiny.

Shiny, solid and engraves well.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 4-26-2011
Ingenious tools.

Bought two of these wrenches so that I can tighten thin nuts against one another. They work a treat and get in almost anywhere.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Roller String Retainer for Bass
Roller String Retainer for Bass
5 4-26-2011
Roller string trees are my thing.

I retrofit all my guitars with roller string trees, as I like them cosmetically, and finally I have been able to do the same with my Peavey Milestone bass. Looks good and works as well if not better than the original.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Guitar Nutdrivers
Guitar Nutdrivers
5 4-26-2011
Quality tools.

A quality tool that certainly beats the adjustable wrench I had been using. Bought the set. Only thing that would improve these wrenches would be if the wrench did not have a "lead in". This would make their use on thin nuts more positive.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Scraper Burnisher
Scraper Burnisher
5 4-26-2011
Surprisingly good

It looks simple, maybe you could make your own from a drill bit and scrap wood. But why bother, it's cheap and does an excellent job. Really easy to use and gives a far better edge than the screwdriver I used to ruin. The video is a bit superfluous though, the printed instruction does suffice.

Sven Nyström  Sverige Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
4 4-26-2011
Good improvement for my Tele

I replaced the three original Fender saddles with these and I got a significant improvement in the intonation all over the fretboard. The installation is very easy. The only problem I experienced derives from the fact that these saddles are plain, against the original ones that have a slot where strings are placed; this means that the height of the strings are higher with respect to the original saddles, so I had to set the height of the saddles at the minimum in correspondence of the E strings (low and high) with no possibility of fine adjusting. In this way I was able to get the height of the two E strings at about 1.6 mm (E high) and 1.9 mm (E low) respectively.

momix  Rome, Italy
Ivoroid Dome Knob
Ivoroid Dome Knob
2 4-26-2011
Ivoroid knobs

These are cheaper looking than I expected. They do not have ribs. What you see in photo is painted on to resemble ribbing. Screw was missing on one knob. Had to return them.

Frank M  Alhambra Ca
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
5 4-26-2011
good stuff

this is all i will use on my rosewood and ebony fretboards, even used some on a cheaper model, and worked well, highly recommend this stuff

Bobby DeRusha  uvalde, texas Read my reviews (4)
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
5 4-26-2011
finally a great tremolo, for a strat

i change out my fender bridge, with this one and wow, i can really do harmonics now, u can adjust each string to your height, love it

Bobby DeRusha  uvalde, texas Read my reviews (4)
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics
5 4-26-2011
get rid of your locking nut

wow, why haven't i had these before, easy, string faster, much neater, definitely a must for tremolos. you will be surprised, get'm

Bobby DeRusha  uvalde, texas Read my reviews (4)
Binding Router Guide
Binding Router Guide
4 4-25-2011
Better with the Plate

As promised, an update...

With the custom base plate, I got brave enough to tackle the first cut of the routing on the top and back. The plate gave enough stability that I was able to successfully get the first cuts done and am setting up to do the second cut for the inner binding.

Having a baseplate for this tool is CRUCIAL as attempting to do this without would have been fraught with peril.

As noted by me and others, the tool itself is simply NOT stable enough to be used by a noob without wrecking the wood. The problem is that the contact patch of the tool is so small that it appears virtually impossible to use it without "rocking" and once you rock it, the cut goes deep.

More to follow.

Weej  Santa Clara, California Read my reviews (3)
Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
1 4-25-2011
Not as advertised.

First, a little about me. I was a mechanic for many years. My father has been a mechanic his entire life (60 years) and worked at dealerships and continued his training as technology advanced, and now owns a respected repair shop in town. Since I learned everything from him throughout years of "field work" I can say that I'm fully qualified to assess the quality of this vise.

I have used many good quality tools and this isn't one of them, even after a proper setup and lube. The manufacturing tolerances are too broad which makes this vise have loose action with a rickety, cheap feel. The bearing does nothing. I removed and reinstalled mine with no difference in feel. The vise is not smooth. By the way, I was unhappy with the first one, so they sent me a replacement that was of equally bad quality. So its not that I happen to get a dud. After about 8 hours of mixing and matching parts from the two vises I ended up with something I would call acceptable. Still not 100 percent smooth action though.

If you have good mechanical skills then you may be able to make an OK vise from one or two of these like I did. I think next time I'll just get a gunstock carving vise.

So, after receiving 2 of these within the last week, both of which were very disappointing, I would have to think that none of these vises are able to come close to the description given by stew mac. Its just too poor of quality.

Don't let this review discourage you from buying from stew mac. They offer a variety of good and super-handy tools. I own many of them and will buy more. Also, they have superb customer service. I just don't like the quality of this vise or how its advertised.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
StewMac responds

Jerhico Guitars,
We're so sorry you were disappointed with the quality of the Guitar Repair Vise. We're happy to offer you a full refund and provide a pre-paid merchandise return label for the return shipping.

It's comments like these that keep us sharp, so we appreciate and value your feedback.

Guitar Repair Vise Replacement Parts
Guitar Repair Vise Replacement Parts
4 4-25-2011
Wooden jaws and linings

The replacement jaws and linings are thinner than the original ones that come with the vise. The jaws are made of plywood, not hardwood like the original ones. They seem like they'll be Ok though.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
Essential Fretting Kit
Essential Fretting Kit
5 4-25-2011
Essential Fretting Kit

Really is everything that you would need but the frets themselves. Nice kit. Good grip on the cutters. I used the dressing file to improve a factory neck. Works like a charm.

Pasquale Natuzzi  Mississauga,Ontario Canada Read my reviews (3)
Diamond Fret File
Diamond Fret File
5 4-25-2011
Awesome fret file!

Wow! What a time saver! The only thing missing is several more sizes.

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
Double-edge Nut Files
Double-edge Nut Files
5 4-25-2011
Great Nut Files

Another great StewMac product! Super easy to use and plenty of sizes. Use a smaller size and rock back and forth for intermediate sizes.

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
4 4-25-2011
works great!

goes on well - make sure to heat up the cans (I sit them out in the sun for a little while until warm). once you have a good base, you can apply wet coats easily with little running. it flows well and results in a nice gloss.

Bob T  SoCal Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
2 4-25-2011
Tinted Lacquers

some mixed results for me. the Cherry Red is great, perfect even. The Amber is a little too Orange so be careful with this and apply sparingly, it will get too heavy quickly. The Tabacco tint is WAY too dark and opaque, my edges went almost black very quickly and any overlap was very noticeable. Had to sand it all off and start over with a different brand's tobacco tint.

I was going for more of a vintage tobacco sunburst, like a Hofner tint, this is probably better suited to a high contrast late 50's Fender style, but not quite black enough for that, proceed with caution. the nozzles spray a little heavy for sunbursting, in my opinion.

Bob T  SoCal Read my reviews (2)
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 4-25-2011
The answer to my superglue frustration!

I have tried buying superglue in every container type I could find and every one quickly glued itself shut. I finally tried StewMac's Thin (10) and Medium (20) and they STAY OPEN! Finally a CA I can use over and over until it is gone - not until it clogs!

Rick J  Powhatan, VA Read my reviews (9)
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
4 4-25-2011
Good Value

Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners are a good value for the price.

Bluebear  Maple Ridge
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
1 4-25-2011
Wobbles baddly- Double locking tremolo bar

I got the Double locking tremolo bar hoping to save some money. the thing is loose and shakes, i tried fixing it with tape around the end but it unscrews itself whenever it moves (which is inevitable) making this pointless. The unscrewing could not be fixed with any amount of WD-40. A own a Floyd rose original which has an infinitely better bar.

Liam  San Diego
Displaying 16126 – 16150
of 21051 reviews
< 1  ...  645  646  647  ...  843 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce