Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16101 – 16125
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  644  645  646  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
4 4-24-2011
Pretty good tool. Good value.

I have done a few recrownings but for my first full refret job I decided to give these files a shot. They definitely got the job done. As another reviewer stated, they are not very aggressive. I ended up using a three corner file to start the crowning on each fret and applied the final touches with the double edge fret file. I couldn't be happier with the result. Absolutely the right tool for the job and for the price a good value as well.

K Moran  Northborough, MA Read my reviews (3)
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
2 4-24-2011
Mounting ring screws

I got myself the golden ones for restoration of a Burny "Black Beauty". The screws look great, but I only could use them on the neck PU ring, they are too short on the bridge PU ring. I thought the Burny ring might be higher, but they do have the same taper as StewMacs rings (9 mm --> 12 mm). So with approx. 14 mm I rate them as also too short for the StewMac rings, I guess 20 mm would be OK.

Alois  Graz, Austria
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks
5 4-24-2011
Flat as a board

When I opened the package I was stoked to see that the neck blank was perfectly flat and smooth. Nice grain, no imperfections.
Good wood!
And only $20!!

Mickey Springer  Hollywood,CA Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
4 4-24-2011
The Centerpiece of my shop

I use it for just about everything.
I would have given it a perfect score but the plates on the one I got are a bit warped when I spin the wheel it catches. It works, but I wish it spun freely.

Mickey Springer  Hollywood,CA Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 4-24-2011
great product!

In the world of single coil guitars and basses, one will very quickly get acquainted with shielding tape! This product is thinner than most so it can be coaxed into curves and tiny pockets. It has conductive adhesive so it can be used in places you can not solder the joints together with NO loss of conductivity and it stays put. Always buy the set and you will have all possible needs met.

I use this on Vintage Fender Jaguars and Mustangs, and recently a Jaguar bass--all are quiet as a mouse now-use it properly and say goodby to 90% of your 60 cycle hum.

moseseatonjr  NJ
Control Cavity Cover Plate
Control Cavity Cover Plate
1 4-24-2011
way off of StewMac's cavity template

The cover's fit is way too sloppy in the cavity routed with the cavity template set. The whole point of buying the cover and the cavity templates is so that they match perfectly. The cover is undersized over a sixteenth of an inch in some spots, and even worse, it's not consistently undersized around the whole shape. So you can't even use a not-quite-flush bit with the cavity template in order to match the cover. Basically, I had to route a copy of this cover with a 1/16 larger bearing, and then sand extensively to make it fit the cavity.

Cory  South Lyon, MI Read my reviews (2)
Control Cavity Templates
Control Cavity Templates
2 4-24-2011
not quite

The fact that these are laser-cut made me think they should be superior to any template I could make myself. The fact is, the outer template does not have smooth transitions from the straight section to the rounded ends. As you get to the rounded part, the shape actually goes outward a bit. This results in an imperfect cavity shape (hard to match cover plate shape exactly to this cavity shape). To be honest, I could just make a template myself if I was satisfied with this level of precision.

Cory  South Lyon, MI Read my reviews (2)
Tenor Ukulele Kit
Tenor Ukulele Kit
5 4-24-2011
Great Daughter - Dad project

Aurian Review: The finished product is so much better than we expected...I love the sound and it is so much fun to play! It was also a great experience for my dad and I to work on it and I had a lot of fun through the entire process.

Dad Review: End results exceeded expectations. Here are a few items to keep an eye on:
- Download the pdf as the plan in the book is not to scale.
- Use a "straight" caul when gluing on the fret board as I used only rubber bands and ended up with a 1/64 bow toward the player at the headstock. Barely was able to file down the 2nd & 3rd frets to remove the buzz. I probably should have re-glued the fret board...
- Gluing on the neck straight is hard to do as there are no good datums to hold as the fret board over hang is curved after hammering in the frets. Might consider gluing on the neck to the body first, then the fret board to the neck.
-A dremel with sanding drum is good enough to sand back the top and bottom overhang.
- Used Tru-oil gunstock finish with no prior stain applied to the wood. Very easy and looks good.

Aurian & Rob  Gap PA
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 4-24-2011
One word: Great

They work great. They look great. Waverly's have a well-deserved reputation for being the best tuners on the market, and the new iteration, with Vintage Oval Knobs, carries on the tradition. I know some folks wonder if you really get that much more for the price, but yeah, you do. They are the smoothest tuners you'll ever use.

DHanners  St. Paul
Guitar Bench Rest
Guitar Bench Rest
4 4-24-2011
Should have bought it years ago

Great product keeps the guitar from getting scratched and keeps the kitchen table neat and clean. That and the fact that it does not take up space when stored, all good things for the guitar and my marriage.
Only complaint (and reason for not being 5 stars) is that the rest for the neck is a little thing for 7 string guitars). Otherwise a great buy thanks!

GuitarTron  Canada Read my reviews (17)
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 4-23-2011
Great book

This is a very good book,, very detailed and gives a thorough teaching of the intricacies of guitar repair..

Recommended: Highly

svisio  san francisco california Read my reviews (2)
TUSQ Nuts
TUSQ Nuts
5 4-23-2011
small but very effective upgrade

It takes some sanding for the MIM but at this price I bought a few so I had a back up (if I messed it up, I was going to a pro with the other nut.) No need, I got it right the first time. The next time I changed my strings I did it again and got it perfect. Not the best way, just my way. Its better to take it to a pro. A bit of sanding and my MIM plays better than ever. I kept the spares to help friends now that I know how! It was worth the time just to learn as much as I did and it is fun if you take your time.

John R  West Chester, PA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
4 4-23-2011
nice set.

pretty complete kit. could use a bit more wire, but still a good value.

Robb  Ambridge, PA, USA Read my reviews (8)
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
4 4-23-2011
Good piece

Pretty good tool. Would prefer a different material than plexi-glas, but still not bad.

Robb  Ambridge, PA, USA Read my reviews (8)
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
3 4-23-2011
Bits good, bearings...not so much

The bits are fine quality, but the bearing leaves a bit to be desired, longevity-wise.

Robb  Ambridge, PA, USA Read my reviews (8)
Cream Plastic Binding
Cream Plastic Binding
5 4-23-2011
Cream plastic binding

Great for my restoration projects. Easy to work with and gives my instruments a good vintage look.

randyo573  Brooklyn, NY Read my reviews (3)
White Plastic Binding
White Plastic Binding
5 4-23-2011
White plastic binding

Great for my restoration projects. Easy to work with.

randyo573  Brooklyn, NY Read my reviews (3)
StewMac Tinted Super Glue
Stewmac Tinted Super Glue
3 4-23-2011
Opaque Super Glue

Your opaque super glue is excellent as a filler and for side position dots provided it is used as soon as the buyer receives it. If it is kept too long even if the bottle is not opened at all, it hardens in the bottle and can't be used. An expiration date should be printed on the bottle.

randyo573  Brooklyn, NY Read my reviews (3)
Tune-o-Medic Bridge and Tailpiece Tools
Tune-o-Medic Bridge and Tailpiece Tools
5 4-23-2011
Another Must Have!

You can, and will, seriously scratch the plating on the adjusting thumb wheels without this tool! I've even seen scratches on a guitar body from trying to turn those adjusters with a screwdriver! This tool saves time and damage.

Chewy  Cleveland, Ohio Read my reviews (5)
Guitar Grease
Guitar Grease
4 4-23-2011
Good Stuff

I use this on every set-up.

Chewy  Cleveland, Ohio Read my reviews (5)
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
5 4-23-2011
You MUST have this!

I've used this on newer guitars and as old as 1950. This stuff really works, and brings the fretboard back to life.

Chewy  Cleveland, Ohio Read my reviews (5)
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
5 4-23-2011
Perfect

These are a must for bringing those tired frets back to life.

Chewy  Cleveland, Ohio Read my reviews (5)
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
5 4-23-2011
Basic Set-Up Kit

I decided that to start doing my own set-ups and repairs. This kit is a perfect place to start

Chewy  Cleveland, Ohio Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
5 4-23-2011
Simply perfect

These files have made working on my guitars fun again. Each side has a different grit, long and with thin rubber grip allows me to feel the drag as I sand nuts and wood. just a quality product.

John R  West Chester, PA Read my reviews (8)
Neck Relief Gauge
Neck Relief Gauge
4 4-23-2011
Useful tool

A very useful tool for measuring the inclination of the guitar neck. However, the measurement is made ​​according to the frets, they must be perfect.

Gusty  Ro Read my reviews (91)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 16101 – 16125
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  644  645  646  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce