Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16076 – 16100
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  643  644  645  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Roller String Retainer for Bass
Roller String Retainer for Bass
5 4-26-2011
Roller string trees are my thing.

I retrofit all my guitars with roller string trees, as I like them cosmetically, and finally I have been able to do the same with my Peavey Milestone bass. Looks good and works as well if not better than the original.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Guitar Nutdrivers
Guitar Nutdrivers
5 4-26-2011
Quality tools.

A quality tool that certainly beats the adjustable wrench I had been using. Bought the set. Only thing that would improve these wrenches would be if the wrench did not have a "lead in". This would make their use on thin nuts more positive.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Scraper Burnisher
Scraper Burnisher
5 4-26-2011
Surprisingly good

It looks simple, maybe you could make your own from a drill bit and scrap wood. But why bother, it's cheap and does an excellent job. Really easy to use and gives a far better edge than the screwdriver I used to ruin. The video is a bit superfluous though, the printed instruction does suffice.

Sven Nyström  Sverige Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
4 4-26-2011
Good improvement for my Tele

I replaced the three original Fender saddles with these and I got a significant improvement in the intonation all over the fretboard. The installation is very easy. The only problem I experienced derives from the fact that these saddles are plain, against the original ones that have a slot where strings are placed; this means that the height of the strings are higher with respect to the original saddles, so I had to set the height of the saddles at the minimum in correspondence of the E strings (low and high) with no possibility of fine adjusting. In this way I was able to get the height of the two E strings at about 1.6 mm (E high) and 1.9 mm (E low) respectively.

momix  Rome, Italy
Ivoroid Dome Knob
Ivoroid Dome Knob
2 4-26-2011
Ivoroid knobs

These are cheaper looking than I expected. They do not have ribs. What you see in photo is painted on to resemble ribbing. Screw was missing on one knob. Had to return them.

Frank M  Alhambra Ca
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
5 4-26-2011
good stuff

this is all i will use on my rosewood and ebony fretboards, even used some on a cheaper model, and worked well, highly recommend this stuff

Bobby DeRusha  uvalde, texas Read my reviews (4)
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
5 4-26-2011
finally a great tremolo, for a strat

i change out my fender bridge, with this one and wow, i can really do harmonics now, u can adjust each string to your height, love it

Bobby DeRusha  uvalde, texas Read my reviews (4)
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics
5 4-26-2011
get rid of your locking nut

wow, why haven't i had these before, easy, string faster, much neater, definitely a must for tremolos. you will be surprised, get'm

Bobby DeRusha  uvalde, texas Read my reviews (4)
Binding Router Guide
Binding Router Guide
4 4-25-2011
Better with the Plate

As promised, an update...

With the custom base plate, I got brave enough to tackle the first cut of the routing on the top and back. The plate gave enough stability that I was able to successfully get the first cuts done and am setting up to do the second cut for the inner binding.

Having a baseplate for this tool is CRUCIAL as attempting to do this without would have been fraught with peril.

As noted by me and others, the tool itself is simply NOT stable enough to be used by a noob without wrecking the wood. The problem is that the contact patch of the tool is so small that it appears virtually impossible to use it without "rocking" and once you rock it, the cut goes deep.

More to follow.

Weej  Santa Clara, California Read my reviews (3)
Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
1 4-25-2011
Not as advertised.

First, a little about me. I was a mechanic for many years. My father has been a mechanic his entire life (60 years) and worked at dealerships and continued his training as technology advanced, and now owns a respected repair shop in town. Since I learned everything from him throughout years of "field work" I can say that I'm fully qualified to assess the quality of this vise.

I have used many good quality tools and this isn't one of them, even after a proper setup and lube. The manufacturing tolerances are too broad which makes this vise have loose action with a rickety, cheap feel. The bearing does nothing. I removed and reinstalled mine with no difference in feel. The vise is not smooth. By the way, I was unhappy with the first one, so they sent me a replacement that was of equally bad quality. So its not that I happen to get a dud. After about 8 hours of mixing and matching parts from the two vises I ended up with something I would call acceptable. Still not 100 percent smooth action though.

If you have good mechanical skills then you may be able to make an OK vise from one or two of these like I did. I think next time I'll just get a gunstock carving vise.

So, after receiving 2 of these within the last week, both of which were very disappointing, I would have to think that none of these vises are able to come close to the description given by stew mac. Its just too poor of quality.

Don't let this review discourage you from buying from stew mac. They offer a variety of good and super-handy tools. I own many of them and will buy more. Also, they have superb customer service. I just don't like the quality of this vise or how its advertised.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
StewMac responds

Jerhico Guitars,
We're so sorry you were disappointed with the quality of the Guitar Repair Vise. We're happy to offer you a full refund and provide a pre-paid merchandise return label for the return shipping.

It's comments like these that keep us sharp, so we appreciate and value your feedback.

Guitar Repair Vise Replacement Parts
Guitar Repair Vise Replacement Parts
4 4-25-2011
Wooden jaws and linings

The replacement jaws and linings are thinner than the original ones that come with the vise. The jaws are made of plywood, not hardwood like the original ones. They seem like they'll be Ok though.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
Essential Fretting Kit
Essential Fretting Kit
5 4-25-2011
Essential Fretting Kit

Really is everything that you would need but the frets themselves. Nice kit. Good grip on the cutters. I used the dressing file to improve a factory neck. Works like a charm.

Pasquale Natuzzi  Mississauga,Ontario Canada Read my reviews (3)
Diamond Fret File
Diamond Fret File
5 4-25-2011
Awesome fret file!

Wow! What a time saver! The only thing missing is several more sizes.

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
Double-edge Nut Files
Double-edge Nut Files
5 4-25-2011
Great Nut Files

Another great StewMac product! Super easy to use and plenty of sizes. Use a smaller size and rock back and forth for intermediate sizes.

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
4 4-25-2011
works great!

goes on well - make sure to heat up the cans (I sit them out in the sun for a little while until warm). once you have a good base, you can apply wet coats easily with little running. it flows well and results in a nice gloss.

Bob T  SoCal Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
2 4-25-2011
Tinted Lacquers

some mixed results for me. the Cherry Red is great, perfect even. The Amber is a little too Orange so be careful with this and apply sparingly, it will get too heavy quickly. The Tabacco tint is WAY too dark and opaque, my edges went almost black very quickly and any overlap was very noticeable. Had to sand it all off and start over with a different brand's tobacco tint.

I was going for more of a vintage tobacco sunburst, like a Hofner tint, this is probably better suited to a high contrast late 50's Fender style, but not quite black enough for that, proceed with caution. the nozzles spray a little heavy for sunbursting, in my opinion.

Bob T  SoCal Read my reviews (2)
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 4-25-2011
The answer to my superglue frustration!

I have tried buying superglue in every container type I could find and every one quickly glued itself shut. I finally tried StewMac's Thin (10) and Medium (20) and they STAY OPEN! Finally a CA I can use over and over until it is gone - not until it clogs!

Rick J  Powhatan, VA Read my reviews (9)
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
4 4-25-2011
Good Value

Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners are a good value for the price.

Bluebear  Maple Ridge
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
1 4-25-2011
Wobbles baddly- Double locking tremolo bar

I got the Double locking tremolo bar hoping to save some money. the thing is loose and shakes, i tried fixing it with tape around the end but it unscrews itself whenever it moves (which is inevitable) making this pointless. The unscrewing could not be fixed with any amount of WD-40. A own a Floyd rose original which has an infinitely better bar.

Liam  San Diego
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
5 4-24-2011
Carbon truss rod

I picked up an old John Grey and Sons London 5 string banjo that was being keep straight with eyelet screws and metal strings. I routered the back of the neck and set the rod in with epoxy. I then glued a piece of wood in the groove, sanded and finished the neck. The neck is now straight and solid. The product didn't add any extra weight. I have been sitting on this project for over a year and this was the best solution.

guitarserge  St Eustache Quebec
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
5 4-24-2011
Awesome Tool

I purchased the 6" file, it was easy to use and worked great. After crowning the frets the bass sounds great with no buzz. Just be careful not to take to much off when filing.

mamonday  Albertville,Al USA Read my reviews (2)
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 4-24-2011
Happy Customer

This was the first time to try to level and crown frets, and it turned out great. I will continue to do more of my own guitar work.

mamonday  Albertville,Al USA Read my reviews (2)
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
3 4-24-2011
Mixed results

I found these totally useless on vintage frets. The slots are too wide and the guards themselves are awkward to hold without your thumb being in the way. Even when I got one in place there was very little of the leveled fret accessible due to the thickness of the guard.

Then I tried them on another neck with medium jumbo frets and got a much better result. The slot was a closer fit to the fret width. Once I got my technique down I moved right along. I can see using these for quick work on a couple of frets but if I am going to work the entire fret board I'm going to stick with taping.

K Moran  Northborough, MA Read my reviews (3)
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
5 4-24-2011
You need one of these

I agree with the other reviewers. This is a very handy tool. StewMac might consider offering a small engineers square, 3 or 4 inch should be good, that's what I use to line it up.

pdbutler  Canoga Park, CA Read my reviews (11)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 4-24-2011
Great little file

I have always used a three corner file for end dressing my recrowns. Little did I know what I was missing. This is the perfect little file for that task. The rounded over edge is genius.

K Moran  Northborough, MA Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 16076 – 16100
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  643  644  645  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce