Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16051 – 16075
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  642  643  644  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Foam Polishing Pads
Foam Polishing Pads
5 4-29-2011
Do the job nicely

These pads do the job nicely. Of course there isn't much to wrong with this product.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 4-29-2011
very nice file

It does everything as promised. Luvly.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Gripper Strap Buttons
Gripper Strap Buttons
5 4-29-2011
They do the job!

Strap buttons effectively prevent the strap from slipping off, although I don't do much moving around when playing. Long term durability of nylon would be an issue, but it's better than plastic.

d jordan  Willimantic, CT Read my reviews (3)
Megaswitch P-Model
Megaswitch P-Model
4 4-29-2011
Excellent but...

I installed this into a double humbucker telecaster for a custom build last night and I was quite displeased when the control plate would not align right, and was pulling to the side. Due to the pc board's rectangular nature and it being off center to the switch, it hits the wall on the round of the control area and needs to swing into the center point of the round. Now I'll have to rout out part of the control area and hope I don't butcher it's appearance or scratch the finish (the finish has already been put on).
The switch has otherwise smooth action and would otherwise receive 5 stars, but I'm a bit disappointed that the designers of this switch did not take into account the layout within a control plate, or make it round like the vintage switches. On a Strat I'm sure this is not an issue as there is clearance around the switch, but for Tele's where the control plate dictates it's position, it is an issue and may require moving your screw holes or worsecase routing.

spook777  San Diego
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Bass
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Bass
4 4-29-2011
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Bass

Nice quality wood, no problem with the slotting, it also has plenty of wood in back of the nut slot. A negative is that the board is not graduated in thickness, a Fender style board has uniform thickness at the edges, not in the center as the Stew-Mac board has, it takes some work in addition to cutting to shape.

RestoGuitar  Cincinnati, Ohio USA Read my reviews (8)
Teflon Fret Dam
Teflon Fret Dam
5 4-29-2011
So many uses - ideal for fingerboard prep!

Whilst it obviously works well as a dam when glueing next to a fret slot, there are other great uses for this product . The main use I love these sheets of teflon for are for assisting in adding fall away to a fingerboard using the stewmac radius beam. Stack a couple of sheets of this under the end of the beam at the end nearest the nut and level away towards the end of the fingerboard .
The teflon makes it easy for the beam to slip and slide how you need it too and doesn't seem to wear away. We also do the same thing when leveling frets - fall away is key to a great fret-job

Jonathan @ Feline Guitars  Croydon, Surrey, UK Read my reviews (5)
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 4-29-2011
Color toned Aerosol

The vintage amber was the perfect shade to do the neck of the banjo I,m restoring. Like it said, multiple coats until desired shade is reached. In my case it was 11 coats. Thanks

mlbearss  grosse pointe woods, michigan
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
5 4-29-2011
Love it

It's smaller than I expected but to be honest that was the pleasant surprise. The kit is really awesome and has most of the things you will need on the spot.

Tim Gospodinov  NYC Read my reviews (8)
Nut Slotting Gauge
Nut Slotting Gauge
5 4-29-2011
String height gauge!

Great product, does the trick! Quality item! Thanks

hinckg  Dennisport, MA
Dreadnought Sitka Spruce Soundboard
Dreadnought Sitka Spruce Soundboard
5 4-29-2011
AAA Sitka soundboard

The AAA top i got from stewmac is an absolutely great piece of timber. I'll be getting all my tops from them from now on. The price is also a winner.

56domy  Australia Read my reviews (2)
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
4 4-28-2011
Switchjack Endpin

Our shop used this product several times and it does the job. Its an easy install and cost effective.

MED  Delray, FL Read my reviews (37)
Mixing/Sanding Spatula
Mixing/Sanding Spatula
5 4-28-2011
The Spatula/Mix Tool

This is a unique little tool that can be used for several tasks. I wish I had thought of this design. Recommended!

MED  Delray, FL Read my reviews (37)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
4 4-28-2011
Standard Pots

We use them all the time and do the job as designed. They should not be compared to CTS.

MED  Delray, FL Read my reviews (37)
Angle Vise
Angle Vise
5 4-28-2011
The Angle vise

This is a necessary add on for the shop stand. Hooks up easy and does what it's suppose to.

MED  Delray, FL Read my reviews (37)
StewMac Brush-on Super Glue
StewMac Brush-on Super Glue
5 4-28-2011
Brushing Super glue

This is a great add on to the super glues collection. It makes a difference on certain needs.
I always add a bottle on our glue orders.

MED  Delray, FL Read my reviews (37)
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
5 4-28-2011
Stikit Sandpaper

This is a great product used on many different surfaces. Hopefully the price will not continue to increase.

MED  Delray, FL Read my reviews (37)
Thompson Belly Reducer
Thompson Belly Reducer
3 4-28-2011
Belly Hard

I like this tool's concept, but the application is an issue as can be read in other reviews here. I'm hoping StewMac will develop a process to apply the inside plate.

MED  Delray, FL Read my reviews (37)
Erlewine ShopStand
Erlewine ShopStand
5 4-28-2011
Shop stand

This is a great stand. We hooked up to a cement block, as Dan suggested, and move it around without problems.

MED  Delray, FL Read my reviews (37)
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
5 4-28-2011
These pickups are really good - Tele withdrawn from Sale!!!

Bought a Tele secondhand, not an impulse buy, but playing it more and more I was getting disappointed. I was finding the pickups mis-matched and one dimensional (Neck almost OK, Bridge too much treble and then some). Fitted the StewMac pickups and it really is a difference. It is most definitely a Tele, but there is a depth and dynamism to the sound that was not there before. Bought the pickups on the basis of good experience with your humbuckers and have not been disappointed. The Tele that might have been up for sale, is not for sale.

Mick Baxter  W Ewell, UK
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 4-28-2011
Understring Radius Gauges

Wonderful tools to have at hand when adjusting my Strat. Solid and well made.
Thank you Stewmac!

Stephen Goldsmith  Castlemaine, Victoria, Australia
Bending Iron
Bending Iron
4 4-28-2011
great service!

I'm delighted with my bending iron, which is a vital tool in my violin making workshop - the first one was faulty but Stewmac replaced it immediately and refunded my return carriage costs. The temperature reached when it's set at 6 is ideal for rib bending and the screw-in extension makes the iron more versatile. Many thanks!

Caroline  Scotland
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
5 4-28-2011
untapered low rings...

very high quality rings, perfect!

hufschmid  Montreux Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 4-28-2011
Wide Pyramid Frets

Are my all time favorite frets which I install on all my guitars since 1996.
Stewmac frets are very high quality and extremely durable!

hufschmid  Montreux Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 4-28-2011
perfect stuff

According to Wikipedia, cyanoacrylates were invented in 1942 by Dr. Harry Coover and Fred Joyner of Kodak Laboratories during experiments to make a transparent plastic suitable for gun sights. Who would have ever thought that it would become the most handy and best tool for the guitar industry?! I use it to glue binding...

hufschmid  Montreux Read my reviews (18)
White Plastic Binding
White Plastic Binding
5 4-28-2011
Very nice!

I'm using it on my albinodroid series to bound the maple fingerboard...

hufschmid  Montreux Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 16051 – 16075
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  642  643  644  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce