Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16026 – 16050
of 20977 reviews
< 1  ...  641  642  643  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 6-in-line
5 4-27-2011
Outstanding Tuners

Stew-Mac was very helpful in making the right selection for the tuners I purchased The pictures & reviews were spot on.
I couldn't be more pleased with the looks or function of these tuners. Just Perfect

Banjobuster  Rochester, MI Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Waverly Planetary 5th String Peg
Waverly Planetary 5th String Peg
5 4-27-2011
I Agree

After installing this 5th String peg I would have to agree with one of the reviews I read before the purchase at Stew-Mac. I'm ready to replace all my 5th string pegs with these.

Banjobuster  Rochester, MI Read my reviews (2)
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
5 4-27-2011
Simply the Best

This lacquer sprays on well and buffs to a beautifully deep finish. Far better than any rattle can lacquer. The only non-positive thing I could say is that I didn't get the advertised usage out of the quart. This could be because I tend to like deep finishes.

Brandon S.  Philadelphia, PA Read my reviews (6)
Gauged Saws
Gauged Saws
5 4-27-2011
Gauged saws

Buy em now, save the stress. Great for all precision cuts, the quality is flawless, the outcome is almost a religious experience. Now the gauged nut files next for sure.

Lunatic  Cornwall Ontario Canada Read my reviews (2)
Alpha Push-pull Pots
Alpha Push-pull Pots
4 4-27-2011
Smooth operators...

I'm really satisfied with these p-p pots. Only 2 words to define them: smooth operation! I have 1 500k and 2 250k on my "Strat" type, H-S-S pick-ups.
You must be methodical with soldering job, or it will be difficult to solder on the pot tips, under the switch.

martino_15  Spain Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Soundhole Truss Rod Wrenches
Soundhole Truss Rod Wrenches
5 4-27-2011
The Right Wrench

I own several Gibson and Martin acoustic guitars. i never thought I'd be doing serious adjustment work on those expensive instruments, but Stewart-MacDonald makes it easy. Not only a large array of choices, but also videos and email-type instructions. I've adjusted the truss rods on my SJ-200 Custom and 000-28VS. It was easy. All you need is the Right Wrench and a support system like StewMac offers.

Uncle Don  Woodstock, Ct Read my reviews (4)
Neck Support Caul
Neck Support Caul
5 4-27-2011
Neck support caul

A great way to hold your guitar neck while doing fret work ,nut work or maintenance. Nice product

M.Johnston  Alberta,Canada Read my reviews (6)
Trade Secrets Book
Trade Secrets Book
5 4-27-2011
Trade secrets

Great books lots of little tidbits, from basic to more advanced techniques lots of good articles also. a great product!

M.Johnston  Alberta,Canada Read my reviews (6)
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
5 4-27-2011
Guitar tech screw driver set

An absolute must for any player or repair person alike not sure how I lasted till now to get one smart choice on my behalf ..:) great product once again

M.Johnston  Alberta,Canada Read my reviews (6)
Guitar Bench Rest
Guitar Bench Rest
5 4-27-2011
Guitar bench rest

This is a must have for anyone who cares about their guitar or bass and wants to prevent scratches or damage. great product

M.Johnston  Alberta,Canada Read my reviews (6)
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 4-27-2011
Very recommendable! Excellent repair book!

I'm still reading but amazing what you can learn in a short time! And I was very lucky..I got the signature of the Guitar-Master himself ;-))
(again) Thank you for this awesome guitar-repair book Mr.Erlewine!! I'm a proud owner and a big fan of you.

M. Fermont  The Netherlands Read my reviews (4)
Dan Erlewines Maintenance & Setup for Electric Guitars and Basses
Dan Erlewine's Maintenance & Setup for Electric Guitars and Basses
5 4-27-2011
Electric guitar and bass setup

This DVD set #1,2 is a great way to get some hands on time no matter if you are doing repair and setup as a hobby or want to learn more in depth techniques to make this your career of choice. like me:) great job Dan

M.Johnston  Alberta,Canada Read my reviews (6)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 4-27-2011
I'm impressed!!!

Wow, it has a lot of options.
Very accurate, I thought my Taylor 412CE sounds OK....I needed some practice but I was surprised about the difference, a lot better!

M. Fermont  The Netherlands Read my reviews (4)
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
5 4-27-2011
Basic setup kit

The basic setup kit makes guitar setup a breeze with little or no experience. Learning to use this setup kit will save you money but also give you a better understanding of your instrument. Great product

M.Johnston  Alberta,Canada Read my reviews (6)
Radius Gauges
Radius Gauges
4 4-27-2011
Good tool!

Can't miss it in my guitar-toolbox.
Thanks!

M. Fermont  The Netherlands Read my reviews (4)
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 4-27-2011
Understring radius gauges

Very handy tool(s)! Saves a lot of time measuring. Super!

M. Fermont  The Netherlands Read my reviews (4)
Peghead Bushing Reamers
Peghead Bushing Reamers
5 4-27-2011
Handy

This set of reamers are handy to have to get a perfect fit on just about any peghead bushing you might encounter. Glad I purchased them

BAClark  Hamilton, Ohio Read my reviews (8)
6 Steel Rule
6" Steel Rule
5 4-26-2011
perfect tool for getting it right the first time

A simple "pro" tool that has taken me from trying to do my own setups to being asked to do it for others. I don't know why I waited so long to spend so little money on a "must have item". Add this to any order and be rewarded.

John R  West Chester, PA Read my reviews (8)
Mini Cam Clamp
Mini Cam Clamp
5 4-26-2011
mini cam clamp

Great little clamps. Don' expect crushing force
super reach and stiff lateral strength but as an addition to a good collection of the large cams, spring, bar and spool clamps they are great for more delicate operations that require precision placement and light pressure like in gluing perflings to bindings or many other applications. Very well made.

Don Baiar  Vancouver WA
Dunlop Straplok System
Dunlop Straplok System
4 4-26-2011
Dunlap Strap Locks - Best Bet for $$$

Easy install, sure due the job, and Stewart McDonald has the best price, especially when you buy 4 or more.

Ira Kay  Fountain Hills AZ
Customer supplied image for review
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 4-26-2011
Great tool

I just got my route base. I had hoped to be able to use it to route out for small hinges on my jewelry boxes. WOW... it worked better than I had ever hoped it would. I am now thinking of several new uses for this. It is super easy to use. I made a template to match the hinges. Set the depth and routed. Instructions are complete. 3 hours after I received this I had mounted my first hinge.. perfectly. This is a light duty but well made tool. A must for anyone that is doing any type of small woodworking. Uses unlimited.

Jr. Wood Chuck  Indiana
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
4 4-26-2011
Not bad

I will always use these for my builds, simple as that. There are other slotted boards you can get around(like allparts) that are only 22 or 21 frets, but I love ow this is made longer, 24 with a good inch and a half overhang.

I purchased ebony and rosewood, both well made, the ebony needs no stain, very little grain, and what little there is, I like the look of.

My ONLY disappointment is that my Rosewood really looked more like Bloodwood, it was pinkish-red streaked, so I couldn't use it, as the colour would clash with the body, but I think I can make use of it in the future. I am sure this is a one-shot thing, and won't hold it against StewMac.

Mitchell Henderson  NS, Canada Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks
5 4-26-2011
Nice piece of lumber

Great price for it, it was perfectly flat and great quality maple.

Mitchell Henderson  NS, Canada Read my reviews (3)
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 4-26-2011
Well done!

Just a great piece, will be using it in the future for sure!

To the person who said:
"If you hit the strings very hard, you can hear some truss-rod rattle from the neck. I can't figure out, how to eliminate this."

The best way to fix this(as stated by stewmac, i think) Is put a bit of silicon caulking in the channel(ONLY A LITTLE!) then press the truss rod in, and glue the fretboard. The Silicon will keep it from rattling, and won't bind it up, either.

Mitchell Henderson  NS, Canada Read my reviews (3)
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
5 4-26-2011
rosette routing jig and registration pin

Like others have noted, I was reluctant to buy this jig because it came with a 3/16" registration pin, and the rest of my rosette inletting tools used a 1/4" pin. However, I found an easy solution at my local hobby store by using precision brass tubing: one has a 1/4" outside diameter, which fits the 1/4" drill guide that's inletted into my workboard, and the other tube has a 7/32" outside diameter and this slides tightly into the 1/4" tube. The 7/32" tube has an inside diameter of 3/16", which fits the O.D. of the jig's registration pin precisely. The 4 pieces (drill guide, 1/4" tube, 7/32"tube, and the 3/16" registration pin) fit snugly together with no discernible slop. So now I can use my other rosette cutter with its 1/4" pin to do the inside and outside edges of the rosette trough, which completely eliminates any chance of a splintered or fuzzy edge, and hog out the middle using the StewMac jig. Works like a charm.

Larry S.  Greenfield WI
Displaying 16026 – 16050
of 20977 reviews
< 1  ...  641  642  643  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce