Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16001 – 16025
of 21045 reviews
< 1  ...  640  641  642  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Fret Puller
Fret Puller
4 5-02-2011
Comfortable, controllable

I make or alter most of my tools in one way or another to fit me. The fret puller set I got recently were comfortable and controllable. No need to alter them. Easy to travel with

Sam Eakins

Sam Eakins  Duncan,SC Read my reviews (5)
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Slotted Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Slotted Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
5 5-02-2011
Nice Tuners, great price

I bought these to replace the tuners on my new Holloway Harp guitar. They fit perfectly without any adjustment and are superior to the originals. Tuning is smooth and accurate. Highly recommended for direct replacement on the Holloway.

Paul Price  Umatilla, FL
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 5-02-2011
Exactly what I need

I am a Technical Product Specialist for Taylor Guitars. My repair shop is on the sales floor of our Music Retailers "World wide"(no pressure..lol) The Fret Rocker is quick and accurate and easy to travel with. Awesome!

Sam Eakins  Duncan,SC Read my reviews (5)
Metric Toggle Switch
Metric Toggle Switch
5 5-02-2011
Toggle switch

Not a lot for a three way toggle switch to do. But it has to do it well.....and quietly. This switch has a comforting notch in the middle position, but moves easily to front or rear position with a light touch. Wiring it up is easy. 2 HB 1 Vol 1 Tone, anyway. That's enough knobs for me.

Plenty of diagrams available on the web for whatever you need. Strong, solid and reliable....and you get two switch knobs...one black, one white! Complete with heavy duty knurled fastening ring. Looks very much like the Gibson switch. Bargain!

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
4 5-01-2011
Wrong but right

I purchased the tuners to repair a mandolin. Unfortunately they didn't fit. Too small. However the quality was very good and I am keeping the just in case I might need them later

oldman56  Algonac Michigan
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
5 5-01-2011
High quality and a great value

I am very impressed with this pre- slotted fingerboard (ebony). It matched up to my 1982 Gibson XR-1 LP's deteriorating fretboard perfectly. This is a great buy and is of very high quality.

Shane Berry  Morganton, NC.
Five-Star 5th String Peg
Five-Star 5th String Peg
5 5-01-2011
Great Tuners

Replaced some older tuners with these and they really solved my slipping problem. Solid and smooth

Jack Axe  Hockley, Texas
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
4 5-01-2011
Pots

I have used these pots on many guitars and they work great.

hagar  US Read my reviews (2)
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 5-01-2011
Vintage Bone

Excellent, I have used these on all of my guitars

hagar  US Read my reviews (2)
Violin Tuning Peg
Violin Tuning Peg
5 5-01-2011
three bucks!

i shudder to think how much time and cost of ebony would be involved if i had to make these pegs. i've gotten a few and they are always solid black and have no tear outs or chips. how does stew-mac make money on these? crazy good!

Luke Skywalker  Cairo, Egypt Read my reviews (3)
Binding Router Bit Set
Binding Router Bit Set
4 5-01-2011
Router bearing set

The diameter of the cutter could be a little bigger for cutting larger perflings

W guitars  Ft.lauderdale
Glue Syringe
Glue Syringe
5 5-01-2011
Great to have

Inexpensive, and very useful on cracked headstocks and loose braces.

Moses McKinley  Salt Lake City, Ut
Fret Press Inserts
Fret Press Inserts
5 5-01-2011
Great tools!

I bought a flat insert to put frets into cigar box guitars and used it with the Fret Press Caul for a drill press that is sold here too. I couldn't be happier with that whole system! Get the StewMac Fret Cutters and you will GREATLY simplify your fret work. I used to hate fretting but with these items it is actually a nice process now. Thanks StewMac

Steve M.  Florida Read my reviews (3)
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
5 5-01-2011
Smart and Effective

Got a drill press? Then you will have a great fret press too if you order this. Couldn't be easier to setup and use. Don't forget to order the insert(s) you need along with this. This is a valuable tool for fretting. Get StewMac's Fret Cutter along with this and you will have tools that make a fretting job WAY WAY easier than using tools to just get by with. Money well spent!

Steve M.  Florida Read my reviews (3)
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
5 5-01-2011
Worth every penny!

If you are looking for a set of nippers, stop looking and buy these. I used to get cut up doing fret work with a regular set until I got these. These nippers are just easy and comfortable to use. They make filing easier too. Just look at all the reviews here. Many people obviously like these a lot and if you are reading these reviews, then you must have a desire to make your fretting work easier right? These are the answer.

Steve M.  Florida Read my reviews (3)
Tuner Bushing Press
Tuner Bushing Press
5 5-01-2011
Felt secure

I bought this tool cause I didn't want to hammer the bushing into my new neck. With this tool I knew that I wouldn't damage my brand new neck. I did a good job and it was worth the price in my opinion. It was also pretty easy to use.

Mathieu  Canada Read my reviews (4)
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 5-01-2011
Very good

I bought those tuners to put on a Les Paul guitar I made from parts and they look stunning. I am sure those tuners will last for a long time because they seem to be pretty solid. I still need to work a little bit more on my nut to keep better tuning but once it's gonna be done I feel confident that these tuners will hold tune pretty good. Shipping was fast as always.

Mathieu  Canada Read my reviews (4)
Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet
Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet
5 5-01-2011
Excellent to Work With but Bulky

I've used this in rewiring two guitars so far, and I love the stuff. Instead of stripping the insulation, you can just push it back for most purposes. I also found, where it was more convenient, that the insulation would slip freely enough over the wire that I could grab hold of the wire with needle nosed pliers at one end and pull the insulation away on the other end to cut it off to a length that I foresaw needing with a given connection and then slide it back on to have just the right amount of wire exposed at each end. That was the more useful way to go with short connections where there really wasn't enough room for bunched-up insulation between the terminals.

The stuff looks really cool, too (not that you or anyone else will be seeing much of it once the job is finished ;D ). Having a single, pre-tinned wire makes it much easier to set up and solder connections, too.

Two potential downsides, but I would not take points away for them--you just need to be aware. The shielding on the shielded cable is woven in such a way that it is difficult to manage to a degree. I tried to cut it neatly lengthwise, but on one connection where I twisted up the freed shielding to solder it to ground, it just crumbled away, and I had to solder another bare wire to the remaining shielding to connect it to ground.

The other thing is, if you're planning to wire up any complicated switches (I wired up a 4-pole, 6-position pickup coil selector and a 2-pole, 6-position capacitor selector using this wire), you might consider using the ordinary plastic insulated wire. My switches worked out fine, but the work was tricky because both the wire and the insulation are bulky, and in addition it resulted in the finished switches being bulkier than they'd have been if I used the finer insulated wire.

It may be overstating it to bring this up, but in wiring complicated switches, it might also be handy to have the plastic insulated wire because you can use more different colors, and that might help with organizing the progression of the wiring to use specific colors for specific connections. Putting that aside, if you are simply wiring pickups with pots and ordinary pickup selector switches, this wire is ideal.

Rob Red  Cheshire, CT Read my reviews (4)
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
5 5-01-2011
Excellent Tuners

I wanted these because I use a MIDI pickup on this guitar and it is really sensitive to the intonation. I have a Floyd-Rose on this guitar, and I don't like the locking nut on the Floyd-Rose (it's crazy to have to loosen or remove the lock plates on the nut to switch strings or do a good tune up), so I was very happy to find these locking tuners were available. They work great and allowed me to remove the locking plates altogether. They keep the strings in good tune for quite some time in spite of a lot of string stretches in my playing.

They are very smooth and comfortable to adjust. They look really sharp--everyone who sees the guitar now comments on that. They are a little tricky to install. You need to drill a small hole on the front of the head stock next to the mounting hole for the tuner to keep these aligned with the string. The hole is tiny (1/16" diameter), and it is very near to the circumference of the mounting hole, so it is tricky to line up the drill bit and not have it slip into the mounting hole as you proceed. It takes some caution and patience, but once you get through it it's great.

The hole that the strings pass through in stringing the guitar using these tuners is tiny, and it is hidden from view during the installation. It is even difficult to see it once it's all set up and it is exposed, and for a while I had myself convinced that they had missed the step of boring those holes on my set! The instructions could be a little clearer about what to expect, but stick with it, and you will find they are worth it.

One other thing: they advise using the tremolo bar to raise the bridge when you put on the high E string because of the string's tendency to stretch, but they don't give a good idea of how much to raise the bridge and it is tricky to do in the first place--having to raise the bridge, insert the string, hold it taut, and cut it to length is tricky with 2 hands! It would be handy to have an assistant available. I also over-did it on the stretch the first time around, and as I tuned the guitar up, the high E popped out of the bridge, and I had to start over on that string. That was very tricky to do once I had already cut the string to length, but I managed with some perseverance. I would just advise not getting too carried away with how high you raise the bridge to make up for the stretching of the high E string.

Rob Red  Cheshire, CT Read my reviews (4)
TUSQ Nuts
TUSQ Nuts
5 5-01-2011
Very Good Product!

I recommend this brand to all of my customers. I used to use plastic because they were easy to work with and were very cheap, but I realized that TUSQ products are the superior choice!

The Rock Shop  Ottawa, ON Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
Single-coil Pickup Height Spring
Single-coil Pickup Height Spring
3 5-01-2011
Didn't Do Anything for my Guitar

I was replacing pickups in a guitar in which the pickups screw into the routs rather than screwing to a pick guard. I bought these springs hoping they would help hold the pickups up off the floor of the rout and keep them level, but they did neither adequately. I do not know if there are different sorts of springs for different purposes, but I ended up buying pickup sponge supports that were advertised (elsewhere) as being for similar use with bass pickups, and they worked much better for the purpose, even in my guitar.
I gave 3 stars because the quality of the springs was okay, and I presume they must be useful in some guitars. They were cheap enough that it made no sense to pay shipping fees to return them.

Rob Red  Cheshire, CT Read my reviews (4)
Pipettes
Pipettes
5 5-01-2011
Well Worth The Money

Great product and well worth the money. I can put a small amount of Boiled Linn Seed Oil in the tube and directed it in tight spaces of some scroll saw projects that I produce. A MOST HAVE for any shop!

Hookman  Missouri
String Clamp Screw for Floyd Rose Locking Nut
String Clamp Screw for Floyd Rose Locking Nut
5 5-01-2011
Perfect

I thought these string clamps would be impossible to find. I should have known Stew-Mac would have exactly what I needed. A perfect match at a very good price.

Griff  Farmington, AR Read my reviews (10)
Right-angle Metric Toggle Switch
Right-angle Metric Toggle Switch
5 5-01-2011
Beautiful Switch & Works Great

I used this to rewire my son's Epiphone SG. The quality of the switch was excellent. As one reviewer responded, it is large relative to other 3-way switches, so you need to be confident you have or can make room in the cavity. I actually had to do a little work on my drill press to get it to sit flat, as the cavity was poorly routed to begin with, but once it set in place, it was great.
The terminals are of a better size than in the standard 3-way switch, so it made it easy for me to design a wiring plan different than the typical. The switch has a really good feel when you use it. There is substance to it and it clicks into place soundly. The finish was very nice. I don't know what else to ask for in a 3-way switch.

Rob Red  Cheshire, CT Read my reviews (4)
String Clamp for Floyd Rose Locking Nut
String Clamp for Floyd Rose Locking Nut
5 5-01-2011
hard to find

A perfect replacement at a great price as always. Thanks Guys!

Griff  Farmington, AR Read my reviews (10)
Displaying 16001 – 16025
of 21045 reviews
< 1  ...  640  641  642  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce