Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15976 – 16000
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  639  640  641  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Economy Covered Gear Tuners
Economy Covered Gear Tuners, 3L/3R
4 5-03-2011
Wasn't expecting that problem

These are actually not bad tuners, especially at the price. But the knobs were too close to the body of the tuner for the guitar I was trying to install them on. Why doesn't anyone list that particular dimension in the specs of their tuners? Stewmac gives better tuner specs than any other parts site I've found, but even they leave that out.

DuctTapeNinja  Chicago Read my reviews (6)
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
5 5-03-2011
perfect footprint

The bright nickel bent tab tuners were the perfect replacements for the frozen klusons on a '40s era Kay archtop. Stable tuning and great looks who can ask for more?

Robert Bayer  St. Peters, MO. Read my reviews (11)
Customer supplied image for review
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 5-03-2011
Perfection Attained!

I bought a new Alembic bass in February & fought it for 6 weeks trying to get the action low with no buzz, then I bought the String Action Gauge from StewMac & within 10 minutes I had the action perfect! I had been measuring wrong with a ruler for 6 weeks! I was ready to drive to Dallas to have my bass set up by a pro, but now I don't need to! This tool is a must for anyone who works on their own guitar or bass!

Rustyg61  Pasadena, TX
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
5 5-03-2011
Farewell to wet sanding

The title says it all! This paper is marvellous; it cuts fast, doesn't clog, and provided you stop to dust off the work, leaves little in the way of sanding marks. Economical too! - I used 1/4 of a sheet to rub down a whole guitar. Just wish this paper was available in the lower grits in the UK!

David Yelverton  Felixstowe, UK Read my reviews (5)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 5-03-2011
Excellent Tool

For years I spent time trying to get the proper distance from the strings to the frets. I never was able to do it without having my eyes roll back in my head while I stared for hours. With this tool I was done in less than 10 minutes without eye strain or pushing or holding frets. I should have bought one of these years ago.

RDSTONE  Cibolo,TX
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
5 5-03-2011
Dragon Hand-cut Rasps

In my 43 years of luthiery I've never found anything better than these files. Buying the full set is expensive, but I did it and I've never looked back. I had a visceral rush when I first used them and you'll have to keep them locked up to keep your friends from temptation-I've been warned already. They're fabulous and much more fun than a computer and a CNC rig. If you don't invest in these files you're pathetic.

john abbott  south dennis,ma.
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
3 5-03-2011
Beware cheap screws!

Solid tuners, but the screws that are included are terrible. Either they will strip, or will break off into the headstock, both of which happened to me as I installed the tuners. Make sure you have spare screws when installing these tuners!!

jlucis  Sydney, NSW
Fret Slotting Miter Box
Fret Slotting Miter Box
5 5-03-2011
Fret Slotting Mitre Box

I've just entered early retirement & intend that my next vocation is that of a dedicated luthier. I don't care how good your eye-sight is, when you need to make fretboard cuts that are asked to be accurate to 1/128", its virtually impossible do it by hand. This mitre box (with scale templates) has taken all guess work out of the accuracy issue, & quickened my fret slotting process twice over. Well done on this one.

H-guitars  Australia Read my reviews (2)
Foam Polishing Pads
Foam Polishing Pads
4 5-02-2011
Works well

When using this foam pad remember to remove any thing that might snag it (volumes/tone pots) and cover and hardware post holes.The compounds can quickly be built up in these holes. As far as use, functionality and results I give them a good grade. Some areas are subject to better results with good old elbow grease.

TOMMYPLANET  Austin, Tx Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 5-02-2011
Quick work

Used these on my Strat and three Telecasters and got the correct results quickly. A good quick tool.

TOMMYPLANET  Austin, Tx Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
3 5-02-2011
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender

This template is sold as a "FENDER" neck template. Yet it is over-sized to accommodate over-sized Fender "type" necks. To actually use it for a Fender neck requires padding the template or router bit with tape. Seems like a "FENDER" template should fit Fender products. Very disappointing and unprofessional.

Doug Rowell  L.A. CA.
Gotoh Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh 'Stop' Tailpiece
5 5-02-2011
Perfect Fit

Thee Gotoh Stop tailpiece fit perfect as a replacement piece for my Oscar Schmidt OG20.

stevet fom WI  Bangor, WI Read my reviews (3)
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
5 5-02-2011
Top Notch

I switched the standard bridge to the Gotoh Tune omatic bridge on my Agile Korean made guitar and it made a difference.

stevet fom WI  Bangor, WI Read my reviews (3)
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
5 5-02-2011
As Good As it gets

Grover rotomatics are the best.

stevet fom WI  Bangor, WI Read my reviews (3)
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 5-02-2011
Great bits, easy to use

For my first rout these were great. I didn't have any issues at all and would buy them again if I need too.

Modern Saint  So Cal Read my reviews (2)
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
5 5-02-2011
First Pickup Rout

For my first time rout this was breeze and just awesome. It was easy to use and I would recommend to anyone needing a template. The X-Y alignment on the template made for easy placement.

Modern Saint  So Cal Read my reviews (2)
Fret Puller
Fret Puller
4 5-02-2011
Comfortable, controllable

I make or alter most of my tools in one way or another to fit me. The fret puller set I got recently were comfortable and controllable. No need to alter them. Easy to travel with

Sam Eakins

Sam Eakins  Duncan,SC Read my reviews (5)
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Slotted Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Slotted Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
5 5-02-2011
Nice Tuners, great price

I bought these to replace the tuners on my new Holloway Harp guitar. They fit perfectly without any adjustment and are superior to the originals. Tuning is smooth and accurate. Highly recommended for direct replacement on the Holloway.

Paul Price  Umatilla, FL
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 5-02-2011
Exactly what I need

I am a Technical Product Specialist for Taylor Guitars. My repair shop is on the sales floor of our Music Retailers "World wide"(no pressure..lol) The Fret Rocker is quick and accurate and easy to travel with. Awesome!

Sam Eakins  Duncan,SC Read my reviews (5)
Metric Toggle Switch
Metric Toggle Switch
5 5-02-2011
Toggle switch

Not a lot for a three way toggle switch to do. But it has to do it well.....and quietly. This switch has a comforting notch in the middle position, but moves easily to front or rear position with a light touch. Wiring it up is easy. 2 HB 1 Vol 1 Tone, anyway. That's enough knobs for me.

Plenty of diagrams available on the web for whatever you need. Strong, solid and reliable....and you get two switch knobs...one black, one white! Complete with heavy duty knurled fastening ring. Looks very much like the Gibson switch. Bargain!

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
4 5-01-2011
Wrong but right

I purchased the tuners to repair a mandolin. Unfortunately they didn't fit. Too small. However the quality was very good and I am keeping the just in case I might need them later

oldman56  Algonac Michigan
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
5 5-01-2011
High quality and a great value

I am very impressed with this pre- slotted fingerboard (ebony). It matched up to my 1982 Gibson XR-1 LP's deteriorating fretboard perfectly. This is a great buy and is of very high quality.

Shane Berry  Morganton, NC.
Five-Star 5th String Peg
Five-Star 5th String Peg
5 5-01-2011
Great Tuners

Replaced some older tuners with these and they really solved my slipping problem. Solid and smooth

Jack Axe  Hockley, Texas
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
4 5-01-2011
Pots

I have used these pots on many guitars and they work great.

hagar  US Read my reviews (2)
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 5-01-2011
Vintage Bone

Excellent, I have used these on all of my guitars

hagar  US Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 15976 – 16000
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  639  640  641  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce