Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15976 – 16000
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  639  640  641  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
4 4-30-2011
Nice :)

They look good.

I installed them with no problem, it had some small green stickers to indicate the 3 ones that are used for the lower strings, so you won't be making a mistake when installing them, nice touch.

The screws are a bit soft, even when using the exact size of screwdriver it needs, slip a little, and they get a bit damaged over time. I'll order the replacement screws in my next shipment.

Simple way of locking, simple instalation. It would be good to have 18:1 ratio, but it's good enough anyway.

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
5 4-30-2011
Great!

They came with a protective layer of paper.

Really good material. It's really well made and it's been really useful. I'll buy the complete kit soon, i hope.

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
Pickguard Screws for Fender
Pickguard Screws for Fender
5 4-30-2011
Great ones

I ordered 100 of them. They seem to be made of a really good metal. And are the exact size i needed to replace the old rusty ones from my guitars. I guess next time i'll order a bit more.

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
Golden Age Hotwired Pickguards
Golden Age Hotwired Pickguards
3 4-30-2011
Not good enough

The only sounding pickup was at the neck.

After some time trying to see if the wires were set up wrong, i discovered that the little copper pieces that touch each other when you select a position, were not even touching.

They're not bended enough to touch, or at least to do it continuosly. The only pickup that was working was the neck pickup, the bridge pickup was intermitent, and the middle didn't work at all.

I had to bend inside that copper pieces a little more than they were, now the pickups sound as they should, but i'm not still confident. That made me go and look for a better quality pickup selector. I have a 1985 strat with the original piece and has never given me problems.

Apart from that, the wiring seems to be in really good shape, and as far as I could test, the neck pickup sounds really good.

The aditional wiring is easy and you can be rocking in no time, as long as the pickup selector works. I wouldn't mind paying a bit more for a decent one in the next pickguard kit, just to avoid buying another piece that i shouldn't buy again.

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
Clamshell Banjo Tailpiece
Clamshell Banjo Tailpiece
5 4-30-2011
Clamshell Tailpiece

Tailpiece works very well. No more snags in shirt cuffs, or scratches on my arm from stray string ends. No discernible change in sound. Price very reasonable and Stewmac's delivery was exceptionally fast as usual.

Richard Graves  DeSoto TX Read my reviews (2)
Schaller Roller Bridge
Schaller Roller Bridge
5 4-30-2011
Great fix

I recently built a Les Paul kit and the Bridge was slightly off center,the Schaller bridge allowed me to center the string spacing and the guitar plays great.

Hobert  Blytheville , AR Read my reviews (3)
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
4 4-30-2011
Slotted nut

I recently purchased this nut to replace one that came with a Les Paul kit. The nut was slotted perfect way better than the one that came with the kit. Would definitely buy again, great product.

Hobert  Blytheville , AR Read my reviews (3)
Bevel-top Knob
Bevel-top Knob
3 4-30-2011
a good looking knob

The bevel top is a good look, but mine came apart (they're made of two pieces). I glued them back together and they work fine. I wish that they were made of heavier plastic (and in one piece).

d jordan  Willimantic, CT Read my reviews (3)
TUSQ Nuts
TUSQ Nuts
5 4-30-2011
Good alternative to bone.

Easier to sand and shape than bone, tonal properties seem similar to bone, although I would say that bone has the edge on Tusq, but overall a very satisfactory product.

d jordan  Willimantic, CT Read my reviews (3)
String Saver Classic Saddles
String Saver Classic Saddles
5 4-30-2011
Super upgrade

J'ai recu rapidement le colis, ils livrent même au Québec ! ces étriers sont très bien faits et la durée de vie des mes cordes a doublée. je recommande vivement cet achat, qui est moins cher que dans les magasins.

Yantheberge  Quebec City
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 4-29-2011
My very nice 58 P-Bass

"Bare wood" the finish it once had, has been transformed to that beautifully subtle 3 tone sunburst made famous by Fender thanks to the colors and clear coat from Stewart-MacDonald.

Amos's Ax  Bartonville
Customer supplied image for review
Foam Polishing Pads
Foam Polishing Pads
5 4-29-2011
Buffing Pad

The foam polishing pads from Stewmac do a great job in removing scratches and developing a deep shine. I've used other buffers and had okay results, but these pads have finally delivered the look I was after. I can't compare them to an actual buffing wheel, but one thing is sure, you won't melt your nitro.

ppickin  Stevensville, MD
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
5 4-29-2011
Golden Age Restoration "Bent Tab" Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar

I just put these on a 1939 Kalamazoo lap steel, no modifications made and they look perfect and work much better than the originals because of better gearing. They look as though they were never replaced. Fantastic

Mangoman  Salem
Metal Jack Plate for Gibson Les Paul
Metal Jack Plate for Gibson® Les Paul®
5 4-29-2011
Perfect

Well made from strong metal. Just the thing you need to replace a broken, flimsy plastic jack plate!

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Oval Jack Plate
Oval Jack Plate
5 4-29-2011
Perfect

Well, they're jack plates and they're oval, so I guess they're perfect. They are made nice and clean from properly thick metal. Just what I've been looking for.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
5 4-29-2011
Wonderful!

Avevo montato un manico strato de luxe in palissandro sul body della mia american standard stratocaster. Per regolare il truss rod avevo spanato l'alloggio della brucola. Terrore senza fine. Temevo i costi di riparazione di un liutaio. Quando mi sono imbattuto in questo articolo non ci ho pensato su due volte ed appena ricevuto l'ho provato. Si è alloggiato alla perfezione e, come di incanto, il truss rod ha ripreso a girare. Un miracolo. Grazie Stewart Mc Donald!

Umberto  Napoli, Italy
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 4-29-2011
They do the job well

This a handy little product. They are made well and percise from durable steel. These will last a lifetime with minimal care.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 4-29-2011
Perfect

This is REALLY cool stuff. You can really polish your finish to a mirror shine with this and the Swirl remover is great for bringing back a nice shine to blunt old finishes.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Foam Polishing Pads
Foam Polishing Pads
5 4-29-2011
Do the job nicely

These pads do the job nicely. Of course there isn't much to wrong with this product.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 4-29-2011
very nice file

It does everything as promised. Luvly.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Gripper Strap Buttons
Gripper Strap Buttons
5 4-29-2011
They do the job!

Strap buttons effectively prevent the strap from slipping off, although I don't do much moving around when playing. Long term durability of nylon would be an issue, but it's better than plastic.

d jordan  Willimantic, CT Read my reviews (3)
Megaswitch P-Model
Megaswitch P-Model
4 4-29-2011
Excellent but...

I installed this into a double humbucker telecaster for a custom build last night and I was quite displeased when the control plate would not align right, and was pulling to the side. Due to the pc board's rectangular nature and it being off center to the switch, it hits the wall on the round of the control area and needs to swing into the center point of the round. Now I'll have to rout out part of the control area and hope I don't butcher it's appearance or scratch the finish (the finish has already been put on).
The switch has otherwise smooth action and would otherwise receive 5 stars, but I'm a bit disappointed that the designers of this switch did not take into account the layout within a control plate, or make it round like the vintage switches. On a Strat I'm sure this is not an issue as there is clearance around the switch, but for Tele's where the control plate dictates it's position, it is an issue and may require moving your screw holes or worsecase routing.

spook777  San Diego
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Bass
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Bass
4 4-29-2011
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Bass

Nice quality wood, no problem with the slotting, it also has plenty of wood in back of the nut slot. A negative is that the board is not graduated in thickness, a Fender style board has uniform thickness at the edges, not in the center as the Stew-Mac board has, it takes some work in addition to cutting to shape.

RestoGuitar  Cincinnati, Ohio USA Read my reviews (8)
Teflon Fret Dam
Teflon Fret Dam
5 4-29-2011
So many uses - ideal for fingerboard prep!

Whilst it obviously works well as a dam when glueing next to a fret slot, there are other great uses for this product . The main use I love these sheets of teflon for are for assisting in adding fall away to a fingerboard using the stewmac radius beam. Stack a couple of sheets of this under the end of the beam at the end nearest the nut and level away towards the end of the fingerboard .
The teflon makes it easy for the beam to slip and slide how you need it too and doesn't seem to wear away. We also do the same thing when leveling frets - fall away is key to a great fret-job

Jonathan @ Feline Guitars  Croydon, Surrey, UK Read my reviews (5)
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 4-29-2011
Color toned Aerosol

The vintage amber was the perfect shade to do the neck of the banjo I,m restoring. Like it said, multiple coats until desired shade is reached. In my case it was 11 coats. Thanks

mlbearss  grosse pointe woods, michigan
Displaying 15976 – 16000
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  639  640  641  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce