Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15951 – 15975
of 20977 reviews
< 1  ...  638  639  640  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Pipettes
Pipettes
5 5-01-2011
Well Worth The Money

Great product and well worth the money. I can put a small amount of Boiled Linn Seed Oil in the tube and directed it in tight spaces of some scroll saw projects that I produce. A MOST HAVE for any shop!

Hookman  Missouri
String Clamp Screw for Floyd Rose Locking Nut
String Clamp Screw for Floyd Rose Locking Nut
5 5-01-2011
Perfect

I thought these string clamps would be impossible to find. I should have known Stew-Mac would have exactly what I needed. A perfect match at a very good price.

Griff  Farmington, AR Read my reviews (10)
Right-angle Metric Toggle Switch
Right-angle Metric Toggle Switch
5 5-01-2011
Beautiful Switch & Works Great

I used this to rewire my son's Epiphone SG. The quality of the switch was excellent. As one reviewer responded, it is large relative to other 3-way switches, so you need to be confident you have or can make room in the cavity. I actually had to do a little work on my drill press to get it to sit flat, as the cavity was poorly routed to begin with, but once it set in place, it was great.
The terminals are of a better size than in the standard 3-way switch, so it made it easy for me to design a wiring plan different than the typical. The switch has a really good feel when you use it. There is substance to it and it clicks into place soundly. The finish was very nice. I don't know what else to ask for in a 3-way switch.

Rob Red  Cheshire, CT Read my reviews (4)
String Clamp for Floyd Rose Locking Nut
String Clamp for Floyd Rose Locking Nut
5 5-01-2011
hard to find

A perfect replacement at a great price as always. Thanks Guys!

Griff  Farmington, AR Read my reviews (10)
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 5-01-2011
Very useful

very useful tool for tight spaces like under guitar knobs or tuning pegs, pedal and amp knobs. highly recommended tool.

weylan  philippines Read my reviews (11)
Guitar Nutdrivers
Guitar Nutdrivers
5 5-01-2011
"does what it has to do"

Good quality tool.awesome!

weylan  philippines Read my reviews (11)
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 5-01-2011
"Very Informative"

This book is a must have for any guitarist who wants to setup their own guitars.

weylan  philippines Read my reviews (11)
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
5 5-01-2011
Finally

Finally my problems with my telecaster jack has been solved permanently. Truly a life saver! :-)

weylan  philippines Read my reviews (11)
Metal Mounting Rings for Single-coil Pickups
Metal Mounting Rings for Single-coil Pickups
1 4-30-2011
Bad 1569-B Mounting rings

Two big problems with these rings:
1) There's some kind of film on the finish, so they don't really look black. More like cloudy dark gray, with blemishes. I've tried cleaning them with isopropyl and mineral spirits, but the film remains.
2) The hole pattern is slightly off center from the outside geometry, so that it biases the pickup mount towards one side of your machined pocket.
I've had good luck with everything else I've purchased from SM. Sadly, these items sucketh.

Jeff K  Beaverton, OR
Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Wood Glue
5 4-30-2011
The best...Period

I have used this stuff a number of times over the last few months , simply the best product I have ever used. Easy cleanup , strong as an Ox.
Repaired an Epi Les Paul neck, it is stronger then new. For bonding wood, nothing else comes close.

Riclin  Niagara Falls, Ont. Canada Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 4-30-2011
Tinting a Neck- by a newby!

Very happy with the instructions and information on the product. Being my first time tinting a neck , I was quite happy with the professional result and little fuss it took to achieve it. Results were far better then I expected. I have already ordered more.

Riclin  Niagara Falls, Ont. Canada Read my reviews (5)
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
5 4-30-2011
Awesome!!

Wow how did I live without radius sanding blocks before I found this! makes super fast work of leveling frets and fretboards!! Slap on the Stikit Gold paper, which fits perfectly, and you have a combination that can't be beat! Thanks again for an Excellent time saving tool!!

the rev  norton kansas Read my reviews (8)
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
5 4-30-2011
WOW This Stuff Is Awesome!!

Well, many adhesive backed papers are only adhesive for a short time but this stuff stays stuck to anything as long as you want it to! And when you slap it on a radius sanding block there is nothing better for leveling a fretboard or frets. Very high quality abrasive too, resists "load up" and lasts a long time. This is probably the best bang for the buck item in my shop!! Thanks StewMac for making my life easier!!!

the rev  norton kansas Read my reviews (8)
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
5 4-30-2011
Great Tool!

This is a great tool but be careful, it doesn't fit everything! Like so many tools in my shop it needed a little modification for one certain guitar but works like a dream on Les Pauls and SGs. Quality is excellent and here's to you StewMac for making the tools the rest of us only dream about making!

the rev  norton kansas Read my reviews (8)
JPLP  Wiring Kit for Gibson Les Paul
JPLP Wiring Kit for Gibson® Les Paul®
4 4-30-2011
Decent but could be better.

This is a fairly good kit and works ok but the quality of the control pots is a little less than I had hoped. It would be nice if they would offer an upgrade to the pots. I would be willing to pay a little extra for a more solid and quieter sounding control to install in my custom guitars and for upgrade to customer guitars. Seems that "pro" players notice these right away. However the kit is packaged well and the rest of the kit is of good quality, instructions are very helpful!

the rev  norton kansas Read my reviews (8)
String Lifter
String Lifter
5 4-30-2011
Excellent!!

What an excellent tool for set-up jobs and nut making in my shop! Saves so much time and effort when filing nut slots!! Great job on this one guys!!!!!

the rev  norton kansas Read my reviews (8)
Top-hat Switch Knob for Tele
Top-hat Switch Knob for Tele
1 4-30-2011
Doesn't Fit!!

This knob doesn't fit standard Tele, Strat or other aftermarket switches. The mounting slot is too small for any of the switches i've tried them on. Must be exclusively for the Stewmac switches but no one told me that before I purchased this one!!!

the rev  norton kansas Read my reviews (8)
StewMac responds

the rev,
We are sorry to hear you've had problems with our switch knob. Please don't hesitate to contact us for a full refund. We'll improve the product copy to give better guidance to other customers. We appreciate your feedback.

Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
5 4-30-2011
excellent product

product of high quality, lightweight and easy to work, a beauty

Gilton ss  Brazil Read my reviews (18)
Gripper Strap Buttons
Gripper Strap Buttons
5 4-30-2011
Cheap, durable, useful

I use them in all of my guitars.

I used to drop my old guitar from time to time, so i needed a strap button that helped me to avoid that, but also the chance to use the same strap with my other guitars. This one makes it easy.

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
Strap Button Felt Washers
Strap Button Felt Washers
5 4-30-2011
I use them in all my guitars and basses

Simple piece, but really useful if you want your guitar to be kept from damage on the finish.

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
4 4-30-2011
Nice :)

They look good.

I installed them with no problem, it had some small green stickers to indicate the 3 ones that are used for the lower strings, so you won't be making a mistake when installing them, nice touch.

The screws are a bit soft, even when using the exact size of screwdriver it needs, slip a little, and they get a bit damaged over time. I'll order the replacement screws in my next shipment.

Simple way of locking, simple instalation. It would be good to have 18:1 ratio, but it's good enough anyway.

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
5 4-30-2011
Great!

They came with a protective layer of paper.

Really good material. It's really well made and it's been really useful. I'll buy the complete kit soon, i hope.

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
Pickguard Screws for Fender
Pickguard Screws for Fender
5 4-30-2011
Great ones

I ordered 100 of them. They seem to be made of a really good metal. And are the exact size i needed to replace the old rusty ones from my guitars. I guess next time i'll order a bit more.

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
Golden Age Hotwired Pickguards
Golden Age Hotwired Pickguards
3 4-30-2011
Not good enough

The only sounding pickup was at the neck.

After some time trying to see if the wires were set up wrong, i discovered that the little copper pieces that touch each other when you select a position, were not even touching.

They're not bended enough to touch, or at least to do it continuosly. The only pickup that was working was the neck pickup, the bridge pickup was intermitent, and the middle didn't work at all.

I had to bend inside that copper pieces a little more than they were, now the pickups sound as they should, but i'm not still confident. That made me go and look for a better quality pickup selector. I have a 1985 strat with the original piece and has never given me problems.

Apart from that, the wiring seems to be in really good shape, and as far as I could test, the neck pickup sounds really good.

The aditional wiring is easy and you can be rocking in no time, as long as the pickup selector works. I wouldn't mind paying a bit more for a decent one in the next pickguard kit, just to avoid buying another piece that i shouldn't buy again.

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
Clamshell Banjo Tailpiece
Clamshell Banjo Tailpiece
5 4-30-2011
Clamshell Tailpiece

Tailpiece works very well. No more snags in shirt cuffs, or scratches on my arm from stray string ends. No discernible change in sound. Price very reasonable and Stewmac's delivery was exceptionally fast as usual.

Richard Graves  DeSoto TX Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 15951 – 15975
of 20977 reviews
< 1  ...  638  639  640  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce