Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15926 – 15950
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  637  638  639  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Humbucker Helpers
Humbucker Helpers
4 5-04-2011
Little helpers

Do what they say, thank you :)

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
Pickup Spring Tubing
Pickup Spring Tubing
5 5-04-2011
Easy peasy

No more fumbling with springs, got to be good!

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
5 5-04-2011
Fret Slotting Saw

Great saw. Could not have done the job correctly without it.

Kool Karl  Murphysboro, IL
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
5 5-04-2011
Time and stress saver

So long you can hold the switch inside the guitar as you tighten up this tool is excellent.

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
5 5-04-2011
Def a must have

These have helped so many guitars in my busy workshop, thanks :)

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 5-04-2011
super glue

I'm not sure why, but the super glues I receive and regularly use from Stew. Mac. outperforms any off the rack superglues that I have ever used.

Henry Doell  Saskatoon Read my reviews (3)
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
5 5-04-2011
Brightens up tone

I bought the 1511-G Gold, with studs/bushings to replace one of those one of those "wire" bridges my Epiphone LP Custom. My main reason for buying this is because I could not adjust the intonation with the old bridge. I ran out of bridge while intonating, the saddle was all the way to the bottom, and the guitar still out of intonation. This bridge solves that problem, there is plenty of bridge to adjust intonation, and it is a very high quality stable bridge, no rocking saddles, best of all no wire holding anything in place. One issue I had is that the bushings that it came with were too small to replace the stock bushings, that's not a problem because the bridge fit fine in the old bushings, I think it may have been a better fit with the bushings that come with it, make sure and check the measurements if you are getting this for the bushings! The other issue is that the saddles need to be filed to fit the strings better. I don't have the files yet but I expect an improvement in tone when I do get them and file the saddles correctly. Another issue particular to my guitar is that the bridge is physically wider than the old bridge, and the strings were hitting the back of the bridge with the stop piece on the deck of the guitar all the way down. Not a problem if the strings are wrapped over the bridge, instead of straight through. Of course the stop piece can also be raised, supposedly sacrificing tone though, which I think is a myth. Overall the issues did not affect my rating of 5 stars because of the extremely high quality. This bridge adds immense tonal clarity over the old bridge, with the benefit of improved intonation. I can tell already it's a tremendous improvement.

Paul Young  Northern California Read my reviews (3)
Battery Box
Battery Box
3 5-03-2011
Not that great

I've installed #3577 in a guitar, and changing the battery is always a huge pain. It's very hard to open. From the other reviews this seems to be a common problem with these battery boxes.

DuctTapeNinja  Chicago Read my reviews (6)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 5-03-2011
Expensive, but good stuff.

I bought the Cherry red, Lemon yellow, and Blue stains, and they look great when properly applied to some nice quilted/flame maple under a nice deep coat of clear. Expensive, though.

DuctTapeNinja  Chicago Read my reviews (6)
Economy Covered Gear Tuners
Economy Covered Gear Tuners, 3L/3R
4 5-03-2011
Wasn't expecting that problem

These are actually not bad tuners, especially at the price. But the knobs were too close to the body of the tuner for the guitar I was trying to install them on. Why doesn't anyone list that particular dimension in the specs of their tuners? Stewmac gives better tuner specs than any other parts site I've found, but even they leave that out.

DuctTapeNinja  Chicago Read my reviews (6)
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
5 5-03-2011
perfect footprint

The bright nickel bent tab tuners were the perfect replacements for the frozen klusons on a '40s era Kay archtop. Stable tuning and great looks who can ask for more?

Robert Bayer  St. Peters, MO. Read my reviews (11)
Customer supplied image for review
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 5-03-2011
Perfection Attained!

I bought a new Alembic bass in February & fought it for 6 weeks trying to get the action low with no buzz, then I bought the String Action Gauge from StewMac & within 10 minutes I had the action perfect! I had been measuring wrong with a ruler for 6 weeks! I was ready to drive to Dallas to have my bass set up by a pro, but now I don't need to! This tool is a must for anyone who works on their own guitar or bass!

Rustyg61  Pasadena, TX
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
5 5-03-2011
Farewell to wet sanding

The title says it all! This paper is marvellous; it cuts fast, doesn't clog, and provided you stop to dust off the work, leaves little in the way of sanding marks. Economical too! - I used 1/4 of a sheet to rub down a whole guitar. Just wish this paper was available in the lower grits in the UK!

David Yelverton  Felixstowe, UK Read my reviews (5)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 5-03-2011
Excellent Tool

For years I spent time trying to get the proper distance from the strings to the frets. I never was able to do it without having my eyes roll back in my head while I stared for hours. With this tool I was done in less than 10 minutes without eye strain or pushing or holding frets. I should have bought one of these years ago.

RDSTONE  Cibolo,TX
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
5 5-03-2011
Dragon Hand-cut Rasps

In my 43 years of luthiery I've never found anything better than these files. Buying the full set is expensive, but I did it and I've never looked back. I had a visceral rush when I first used them and you'll have to keep them locked up to keep your friends from temptation-I've been warned already. They're fabulous and much more fun than a computer and a CNC rig. If you don't invest in these files you're pathetic.

john abbott  south dennis,ma.
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
3 5-03-2011
Beware cheap screws!

Solid tuners, but the screws that are included are terrible. Either they will strip, or will break off into the headstock, both of which happened to me as I installed the tuners. Make sure you have spare screws when installing these tuners!!

jlucis  Sydney, NSW
Fret Slotting Miter Box
Fret Slotting Miter Box
5 5-03-2011
Fret Slotting Mitre Box

I've just entered early retirement & intend that my next vocation is that of a dedicated luthier. I don't care how good your eye-sight is, when you need to make fretboard cuts that are asked to be accurate to 1/128", its virtually impossible do it by hand. This mitre box (with scale templates) has taken all guess work out of the accuracy issue, & quickened my fret slotting process twice over. Well done on this one.

H-guitars  Australia Read my reviews (2)
Foam Polishing Pads
Foam Polishing Pads
4 5-02-2011
Works well

When using this foam pad remember to remove any thing that might snag it (volumes/tone pots) and cover and hardware post holes.The compounds can quickly be built up in these holes. As far as use, functionality and results I give them a good grade. Some areas are subject to better results with good old elbow grease.

TOMMYPLANET  Austin, Tx Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 5-02-2011
Quick work

Used these on my Strat and three Telecasters and got the correct results quickly. A good quick tool.

TOMMYPLANET  Austin, Tx Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
3 5-02-2011
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender

This template is sold as a "FENDER" neck template. Yet it is over-sized to accommodate over-sized Fender "type" necks. To actually use it for a Fender neck requires padding the template or router bit with tape. Seems like a "FENDER" template should fit Fender products. Very disappointing and unprofessional.

Doug Rowell  L.A. CA.
Gotoh Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh 'Stop' Tailpiece
5 5-02-2011
Perfect Fit

Thee Gotoh Stop tailpiece fit perfect as a replacement piece for my Oscar Schmidt OG20.

stevet fom WI  Bangor, WI Read my reviews (3)
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
5 5-02-2011
Top Notch

I switched the standard bridge to the Gotoh Tune omatic bridge on my Agile Korean made guitar and it made a difference.

stevet fom WI  Bangor, WI Read my reviews (3)
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
5 5-02-2011
As Good As it gets

Grover rotomatics are the best.

stevet fom WI  Bangor, WI Read my reviews (3)
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 5-02-2011
Great bits, easy to use

For my first rout these were great. I didn't have any issues at all and would buy them again if I need too.

Modern Saint  So Cal Read my reviews (2)
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
5 5-02-2011
First Pickup Rout

For my first time rout this was breeze and just awesome. It was easy to use and I would recommend to anyone needing a template. The X-Y alignment on the template made for easy placement.

Modern Saint  So Cal Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 15926 – 15950
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  637  638  639  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce