Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15851 – 15875
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  634  635  636  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Bleached White Bone Saddles
Bleached White Bone Saddles
5 5-07-2011
Bone Buts and Saddles

I have a small shop. I build 2-3 guitars annually that I adopt out to friends and young people who share my love of the instrument. I also do a bit of work on older guitars. I have used both blank and shaped nuts and saddles from Stewmac without a single bad experience (except the one's caused by my own hand!).

JDJ  Montclair, CA
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
5 5-07-2011
Perfect

Needed replacement on a 1941 Gibson L30. Needed to bore peghead to .340 for the bushings. No big deal. Then tuners dropped right in worked perfect. Still a crummy old guitar, but it has great tuners!

Rick B  Lake Oswego, Oregon
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
5 5-07-2011
No problems

No problems with them breaking in my experience. I keep a few around in the shop.

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
3 5-07-2011
No frills

Little on the pricey side for a cheap piece of plastic. Decent none-the-less.

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
Strap Button Felt Washers
Strap Button Felt Washers
5 5-07-2011
No complaints

You get a ten pack, good price.

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
Strap Buttons
Strap Buttons
5 5-07-2011
Not much to say

They are well made for a decent price

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 5-07-2011
Necessary tool for beginners

Hard to imagine not using this tool in the past.

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
Truss Rod Cover Screws
Truss Rod Cover Screws
5 5-07-2011
Right size for the job

These were small enough to fit a custom truss rod cover I made, but are easy enough to take on and off

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
Abalone Dots
Abalone Dots
5 5-07-2011
Great

Machined well and look great

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
Micro Finishing Papers
Micro Finishing Papers
5 5-07-2011
Great Quality

I have used the sames sheets on numerous finishes. I keep them clean and they work very well and bring out a mirror finish.

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
Scraper Blades
Scraper Blades
5 5-07-2011
Excellent tool

These are fantastic!! Easier and faster than sandpaper.

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
4 5-07-2011
Good color

I have applied this with both alcohol and water. No complaint with either results.

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
5 5-07-2011
Excellent template

I is a little thin, however, I built a matching spacer out of scrap wood and now it is the perfect height. It really speeds things up compared to routing freehand.

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
Peghead Bushing Reamers
Peghead Bushing Reamers
5 5-07-2011
Perfect size and fit

This reamer was a perfect fit. Much better than doing it by hand.

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
Behlen Tung Oil
Behlen Tung Oil
4 5-07-2011
Know what your getting into

This stuff takes forever to dry. Use mineral spirits to speed it up.

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
Precision Straightedges
Precision Straightedges
5 5-07-2011
Invaluable Tool

I use this straight edge daily for just about everything from set up, building and dialing in tools. Very accurate

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
5 5-07-2011
Neck Template

Wish I bought this template sooner. Follow the new instructions and you will be good to go.

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
Metal Mounting Rings for Single-coil Pickups
Metal Mounting Rings for Single-coil Pickups
5 5-07-2011
good looking

this cover plate is great. looks sharp and fits great, if doing your own build, make sure that you have your tremolo/bridge installed and verify clearance, I almost had a mess, my fault not the products.

Rob Alley  Ft. Lauderdale, FL Read my reviews (3)
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
5 5-07-2011
good bit

nice and sharp, cut my finger when removing the sleeve

Rob Alley  Ft. Lauderdale, FL Read my reviews (3)
Micro Finishing Papers
Micro Finishing Papers
5 5-06-2011
Wet sanding

these are great for wet sanding. I bought two sheets of all three and still have 1 and 1/2 sheets left. They are very durable and will not tear on you.

Lance  Ohio Read my reviews (7)
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
5 5-06-2011
Low friction, great hold

these string retainers are great for any fender style neck. there is very little friction and they are rock solid in the neck. I'd buy them again.

Lance  Ohio Read my reviews (7)
Neck Mounting Ferrule Screws
Neck Mounting Ferrule Screws
4 5-06-2011
Hard to find

This was the only screw that fit on Epiphone neck mounting, here in Brazil I just didn't find. They work fine.

Carah  Brasil
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
4 5-06-2011
Med/med fret wire

This wire went in smoothly (using the jaws 2 and flat brass whodicky) and seated well. I have had no lifting after a month--and much playing-- so all is well. However, the wire's profile is a little pointy on the top edge, so it chews through strings pretty quickly.

From what I've seen in the comparisons I've done, this gauge of wire is very close to that which can be found on many classical/flamenco guitars. What I have also noticed is that experienced luthiers sometimes seem to know that the wire is "sharp" and will purposefully flatten it off on frets 2 thru 7 to minimize string wear. Also, if your fingerboard happens to be perfectly flat under tension (which is how I prefer it), the small amount sanded off the tops of frets 2-7 lessens the inevitable fret buzz that occurs in that area.

If you think in terms of the string vibrating in a circular motion, and add the fact that the further you go up the fret, the higher the action gets, you'll see that this particular fret area should be the only section that needs minor reduction. After about the 7-9th fret, buzz should no longer be a problem, even with low action. If it is, you probably have an arc in the fingerboard.

Shaun  Santa Barbara Read my reviews (2)
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
5 5-06-2011
Press Caul

Works great if your drill press is good enough......mine wasnt. I ended up getting the actual fret press and its great.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
4 5-06-2011
Works Great.

Use this along with the buffing pads they offer to achieve a brilliant luster . Gives a great shine without needing a pro buffing outfit.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
Displaying 15851 – 15875
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  634  635  636  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce