Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15826 – 15850
of 20979 reviews
< 1  ...  633  634  635  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

TonePros Locking Studs
TonePros Locking Studs
5 5-06-2011
Great Upgrade

Subjectively, these seem to have improved tone and sustain a bit on my LP Standard. But, unquestionably, they are worth the money if only to keep the tailpiece from falling off and dinging something (or itself!) when changing strings. I'm seriously considering the companion locking bridge for the same reason.

John English  Birmingham, AL Read my reviews (2)
Eyelet Setting Tool and Bit
Eyelet Setting Tool and Bit
5 5-06-2011
Great Tool

Great little tool and simple to use. You must use it right in order for it to last, but man a time saver. Use it all the time for my custom pickups!

JBM Guitars  Binghamton, NY
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 5-06-2011
Spoke Wheel truss rods are great!

I recently started using StewMac's spoke version of the hotrod truss. I have to say these are awesome... I was not able to find these from anyone else. The construction is top notch (as always) and they add extra ease and simplicity to the setup. Thanks StewMac...

Matt Phillips  West Hills, Ca
Saddles for Floyd Rose
Saddles for Floyd Rose
5 5-06-2011
Just perfect

the saddles fit and work perfectly in my performer Jackson's floyd without any problem.A+++++ for the price,the packaging and the fast shipping to Greece!!!Very satisfied

Sotos  Eleftherio KordelioThessaloniki
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Vintage-style Oval Knob Tuners 3L/3R
5 5-06-2011
Wonderful Product

These tuners are physically identical and mechanically superior the the legendary originals they are intended to replace. I've used them on several custom-builds, and I've even used them to replace the "innards" of defective originals by swapping out the back cover. If your original covers can be salvaged (get out the metal polish and your Dremel tool), this is an excellent method to retain an all-original appearance on your instrument while upgrading the performance.

John Heff  Bernville, PA
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
4 5-06-2011
Nice surprise

I installed a G/A overwound in an LPDC replica and wow what a nice surprise. The p/u cleans up very well yet can deliver a good solid crunch when driven. Really good warm tone and I will definitely look at these p/u's again on my next project guitar.

Rudedawg  USA Read my reviews (3)
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
4 5-05-2011
Fret Not!

These fingerboards are cut accurately and the scale is accurate but i must say that the last rosewood board i bought was a little on the "dull" looking side compared to the ones in the past. Other that that,they are well made.

Eric C.  Las Vegas,Nv. Read my reviews (16)
Abalone Dots
Abalone Dots
5 5-05-2011
Abalone lover

I have always used these quality cut abalone dots from Stew Mac & will continue with all my builds.
Eric/Las Vegas, Nv.

Eric C.  Las Vegas,Nv. Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 5-05-2011
The perfect truss rod for that special build!

This is the only truss rod i've ever used for all my builds and will always be the one I order. The double action is very handy for adjustments. Don't forget to order the special sized router bit for this truss rod here at Stew Mac!

Eric C.  Las Vegas,Nv. Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
5 5-05-2011
guitar stuff

Your stuff has always been very good. Thank You!

rgreth 
Jaws2
Jaws2
5 5-05-2011
Jaw 2

This product worked very well, laying in frets with a pleasing evenness and requiring minimum hassle. Using the wooden cowls, I had only a little difficulty getting the top frets in (nearest the bridge). It's expensive for what it is, because the package includes three cowls ($12 a piece approx), but I minimized the cost by buying only one brass insert (flat, for classical/flamenco guitars). I can recommend it as a good piece of equipment.

Shaun  Santa Barbara Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Traditional Tremolo for Strat
Gotoh Traditional Tremolo for Strat
4 5-05-2011
Nice upgrade

I replaced the Tremolo on my MIM Strat with one of these units, and used Graph-tech Saddles...wonderful sustain!
The only reason I did not give it 5 stars was because the holes did not line up, but it was an easy fix...
Between this part and Fender Bullet Strings,tone and sustain are superb!

OlBlindMan  Asheville, NC Read my reviews (3)
Knob Position Indicator
Knob Position Indicator
5 5-05-2011
neat little gizmos

I put these on all my guitars, even my Strat. Makes a quick visual check easy. I do not understand why all guitars are not equipped from the factory with these....

OlBlindMan  Asheville, NC Read my reviews (3)
GHS Ukulele Strings
GHS Ukulele Strings
2 5-05-2011
Barely adequate

Since I was attempting to restore a 90 year old uke of indifferent quality, after installing a new bridge and pegs I opted for these low-quality strings. They proved that the work was worth doing, but I will swap them for better ones asap.

unskilled guy  Wisconsin Read my reviews (3)
Grover Ukulele Friction Pegs
Grover Ukulele Friction Pegs
4 5-05-2011
Overcoming adversity

Put these in a 1919 Oscar Schmidt of poor quality. Found that the holes for the pegs were drilled too large, and filled in the gap with Gorilla Glue. Appears to be holding and working well!

unskilled guy  Wisconsin Read my reviews (3)
Ukulele Bridge with Saddle
Ukulele Bridge with Saddle
5 5-05-2011
worked well in adverse cirumstances

Because I am known as a "uke guy," friends turn to me for advice and help. A friend brought me a very old, badly-mistreated uke and asked if I could make it playable. With help from the Ukulele Hall of Fame I sorted out what it was (cheap Oscar Schmidt) and when it was made ((around 1919). It was missing its original bridge and had a jerry-rigged mess in its place - this bridge covered up the worst of the mess.

unskilled guy  Wisconsin Read my reviews (3)
Schatten Soundboard Transducer
Schatten Soundboard Transducer
4 5-05-2011
Piezo Ceramic Disc Transducer Review

I build and repair instruments and I am very happy with the performance of the Shatten Disc pickups. I buy them 3 at a time and have bought a dozen or more in the past few years. They are ideal for Dobro installations - I put them near the center of the Spider Bridge and they transmit the actual sound of the dobro better than an undersaddle transducer. They do not require a pre-amp and battery. For flat top guitars the secret is to place it near the Bass side in front of the bridge - not the treble side. I will soon be experimenting with a dual installation in one of my "shiny" guitars.

ed dowling  sedona Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Ibex Bridge Clamp
Ibex Bridge Clamp
5 5-05-2011
Great!

This clamp does the job well and is gentle on the guitar. Definitely a worthy purchase.

Novice  Bloomer Read my reviews (3)
Vintage-style Tuner Knobs
Vintage-style Tuner Knobs
5 5-05-2011
Worth it!

These blended beautifully on the vintage guitar we repaired.

Novice  Bloomer Read my reviews (3)
Bridge Clamping Caul
Bridge Clamping Caul
3 5-05-2011
Still playing

I am new at guitar repair and have found that this does not fit all bridges. But over all it works well.

Novice  Bloomer Read my reviews (3)
Bullet Truss Rod Nut for Fender
Bullet Truss Rod Nut for Fender
3 5-05-2011
Works BUT

I was looking to replace a vintage bullet style truss rod with a direct replacement. This is a direct replacement, however, you can tell the difference. You can see the machining at the tip. Whereas on the original it's a smooth chrome finish.
Not that it doesn't do the job... it does. However I think I was expecting a direct replacement down to the Chrome finish.

2nd Chance Guitars  Hollywood CA Read my reviews (3)
Vintage Style 3-Saddle Bridge for Telecaster
Vintage Style 3-Saddle Bridge for Telecaster
5 5-05-2011
Nice

Good Bridge, i and my tele love it :)

Shade  Moscow. Ru Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Speed Knob
Speed Knob
5 5-05-2011
Speed

With the speed knobs you’ll play faster, you’ll jump higher, you’ll get the babe!

Jo  Belgium Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Neck Support Caul
Neck Support Caul
5 5-05-2011
Neck support caul

Angled headstocks cause a slight issue but a great product that holds the neck while doing fretwork without a risk of slippage. Recommended

Darren Barnes  Northern Ireland Read my reviews (4)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 5-05-2011
First time user

I used your color tone liquid stain(vintage amber)for the first time and the refinish came out beautiful on a p-bass.I used dark mahogany-red mahogany and the vintage amber stain to do a sunburst finish.Easy to use and mixes perfectly with alcohol.10 coats of shellac and French polishing and it came out great.Thanks for a great product.

Ed Schultz  deerfield beach FL Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 15826 – 15850
of 20979 reviews
< 1  ...  633  634  635  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce