Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15751 – 15775
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  630  631  632  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 5-10-2011
A must have.

As a retired machinist with too many instruments with over 40 years of ware. This is one tool you have to have in your toolbox.

Steven K  Columbia, Maryland Read my reviews (20)
Cream Plastic Binding
Cream Plastic Binding
5 5-10-2011
Just the right stuff

After trying some different sizes, I found this one (.060 x .375) to be just the right stuff for Gibson-style fingerboard binding. It has the correct thickness and is tall enough to allow for shaping it around fret ends.

Ricardo Fonseca  SP, Brazil Read my reviews (8)
Kluson Waffleback Guitar Machines
Kluson Waffleback Guitar Machines
5 5-10-2011
Superb tuners !

I bought a set of nickel-plated round button Waffleback Klusons - aka Kluson Supers.
It was to replace old worn originals ones, one of which had suffered a severe blow and badly bent the post.
The new replacements were an exact fit and screw-hole positions were dead-on perfectly aligned.
These were for my early-mid 1950's Kay dreadnought acoustic (the Elmore James model).
The only thing different about them, compared to the originals, is that the button post is shorter on the new reproductions - so that the actual tuner buttons don't sit so far out from the sides of the headstock - and frankly look a bit too close to the edge of the headstock, and can catch my finger when turning them.
For guitars where the original buttons sit quite far out from the headstock edge, I can't see this as being a problem. I haven't measured how much shorter they are though - so sorry, not as much help as I could have been !!
Oh, as for how they work - they work flawlessly. Really nice and smooth - not too loose or too tight - just right. They look great too, if not a bit too shiny, compared to the originals (very dull and corroded).

Snakehips O'Donnell  Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Dual Fret Scale Templates
4 5-10-2011
michael coolione

great product. i wish there were more scales available. 36" bass would be nice. also, whats this about no nut position on the guitar temp (steven d'antonio). that cannot possibly be right. one thing i noticed is when removing the board from the template having used doublesided tape (the strong 2" wide stuff), i found it a right struggle and bent the template in the process.

lettsy  uk
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
4 5-10-2011
nice stain... good tone too!

this was my first time staining anything so there were some problems... on my behalf. i'm happy with how it turned out though. you can get nice tonal variation from this if you take your time and play with it. (it's darker in person)

cblack  nagasaki, japan
Customer supplied image for review
Humbucker Pickup Covers
Humbucking Pickup Covers
1 5-10-2011
Gold covers disappointing, poor quality control....

I tried a set of these just now, on removing the plastic wrap I was met with covers with big greasy fingerprints and smears on both covers and some tiny hairline scratches. Plating on these isn't as good as the imports....

SDPickups  Northwest Read my reviews (3)
StewMac responds

SDPickups,
We are so sorry to hear you're disappointed with these covers. We're happy to get your candid feedback. We hope you'll accept our sincere apology and of course a refund or exchange.

Pearl and Abalone Inlay Blanks
Pearl and Abalone Inlay Blanks
5 5-09-2011
Black MOP

Very nice pieces to pick from and as stated enough to work with, Bar fret markers finished and have more to do other things with

von  rochester,ny usa Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Grover Roto-Grip Full-size Locking Guitar Machines
Grover Roto-Grip Full-size Locking Guitar Machines
5 5-09-2011
No Difficulties At All

Just got them the other day and tried to make them fail as described by others. No problem at all. Whatever happened in those cases must have been solved. They work wonderfully and look great.

Josh H  Eugene, OR
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
2 5-09-2011
Natural Wood Bindings.

While the curly maple binding is beautiful, if its cut with the grain running vertically in the binding you won't get the bends you need with out breaking the binding. Probably works for guitars, not for mandolins.

markgrant  tennessee Read my reviews (17)
6 Steel Rule
6" Steel Rule
3 5-09-2011
6" Steel Rule

The writing on mine isn't anywhere near as dark as in the pictures. If the writing was as dark as it should be I would have given it 5 stars.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
StewMac responds

Jerhico Guitars,
We're sorry to hear you were unhappy with the picture we list online. You're right, our current stock is different. We've updated the picture for this product to give a more accurate representation. We appreciate your feedback and please don't hesitate to contact us for a full refund.

Nut and Saddle Vise
Nut and Saddle Vise
5 5-09-2011
Vise

Works nice. Built like a tank. Do you really need it.....no. But it does make some things a lot easier. Also, if you do a lot of projects other than guitar or a lot around the house I guarantee you'll use it.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
String Clamp Screw for Floyd Rose Locking Nut
String Clamp Screw for Floyd Rose Locking Nut
5 5-09-2011
Perfect.

Title says it all. Thanks Stewmac.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
4 5-09-2011
Nice clean cuts.

As the title says. But like Mickey Springer from Hollywood,CA says, these do cut slightly bigger than the bearing. I just add a strip of tape to the template to fix it that problem. These are super sharp and leave clean edges and last a long time if you maintain them properly. That's right, you should clean the bits when they get too dirty. Keeps them sharper and cooler so they last longer.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
Lokstrap System
Lokstrap System
1 5-09-2011
No good!

These strap locks are poor quality. The problem with these strap locks are, once you put your strap on your guitar, you are supposed to put these over your strap and twist it to lock the strap on. Well that will never happen because the thickness of the strap, will not allow you to put the locks on.
So unless your strap is as thin as a couple of sheets of paper, these locks will not even be able to be put on. Even if they were to work, I would not trust them because they come apart. They are made of two pieces of plastic that snap together so they can spin and supposedly lock. When the two pieces come apart it defeats the whole purpose. Don't wast your money, I'm going to return mine.

bw  memphis
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
5 5-09-2011
Oh Yeah!!!!

With a hot rod truss rod and 4 (yes, four!) carbon fiber rods in my guitar neck, I'm shure that it won't break!
If I throw my guitar on the floor, the floor will break!
And my instrument remains in tune even after a whole concert! FANTASTIC!

El Vedova Da GarĂ©s  Belluno, ITALY Read my reviews (2)
Peghole Reamers
Peghole Reamers
5 5-09-2011
Very sharp and effective

These made it a breeze to install my Gotoh tuners on my Stratocopy guitar. They require very little effort and are extremely sharp. A bit pricey but they make the job quick and easy.

Tim R  USA Read my reviews (7)
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
4 5-09-2011
Good but needs improvements

These work but are awkward. They are a pain in the butt to hold down when using a marker. Other than that they do what they are intended to do.

Tim R  USA Read my reviews (7)
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 5-09-2011
Fender-style bone nut blank

Installed it onto my fretless bass project today. Good nut for it's price!

Viktor K.  Minsk, BY Read my reviews (2)
Rock-n-Roller Neck Rest
Rock-n-Roller Neck Rest
5 5-09-2011
Well worth the money

Simple and effective. Makes it a breeze to work on your guitar on a stable platform.

Tim R  USA Read my reviews (7)
Unslotted Fingerboard for Bass
Unslotted Fingerboard for Bass
5 5-09-2011
Unslotted Fingerboard for Bass

Very nice and accurate fingerboard blank. It is really black.

Viktor K.  Minsk, BY Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh 'Stop' Tailpiece
4 5-09-2011
Great improvement in tone.

Over original hardware. Wasn't a perfect fit, had to file down some gold plating to get it to go on and is still snug. But again HUGE improvement in tone.

Jon R  Bham, AL Read my reviews (3)
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
4 5-09-2011
Great replacement for epi bridge.

This was a great replacement for the cheap pot metal bridge that came on my 1988 Epiphone LP Custom. There are a couple of negatives. The posts don't screw into the original bushings tightly, leaving some room for play. Secondly, the posts that came with the bridge aren't a tight fit, meaning there's about 3/100ths of an inch play in the bridge post join, leaving wiggle room that isn't good for a TOM bridge. This issue could easily be resolved by putting some set screws into the bridge, similar to another replacement bridge. (I won't mention the brand) That would completely solve the issue though. With these shortcomings in mind, I'll say that it was a 100% improvement in tone over the original hardware. The guitar plays and sounds soooo much better. Thanks Stew-mac!

Jon R  Bham, AL Read my reviews (3)
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
1 5-09-2011
Ball Bearing Router Bits

I've used both the 3/8" and the 1/2" bits, and they both cut larger than the bearing. This means that your bit will cut more of the project than you want, and depending on the depth of the route, it'll probably cut into the template you're using ruining it.

Then we have the poor bearing life. I only got the 1/2" bit last week, so its bearings haven't worn out yet. But the bearings for the 3/8" bit (I even used 2 as recommended to increase bearing life) wore out extremely fast.

DuctTapeNinja  Chicago Read my reviews (6)
Behlen Tung Oil
Behlen Tung Oil
4 5-08-2011
Beautiful Depth, Low Gloss

This stuff is definitely 100% pure. This is both a good and a bad thing. Because it's pure, the look you get is fantastic. The guitar I finished with it was African mahogany and hard rock maple. The mahogany took on a golden depth and the maple a nice glow. Also because it's pure, however, you will age visibly while it dries. The first few coats only needed a day each, but around the seventh I was waiting a week between coats.

Drying time aside, my only complaint is shine. You get the depth of an oil finish, which is fine for furniture, but not the high-gloss sheen an instrument needs. I would recommend finding a cut oil like Liberon finishing oil for two final coats if you want high-gloss.

Beautiful depth, low gloss  Carlsbad, CA
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 5-08-2011
Great Item

First class quality. This thing is straight as straight can be. I tried to save a few bucks with the one on ebay and it was crap. Pure junk. Don't skimp and try to save a few bucks. Get the best. If I could use another Id get it.

Kramer  USA
Displaying 15751 – 15775
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  630  631  632  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce