Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15701 – 15725
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  628  629  630  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

White Plastic Binding
White Plastic Binding
5 5-11-2011
perfect binding

i love this binding just used it on a tele style build and it looks amazing

goldguitarguy  Cold Lake,AB,CA Read my reviews (4)
Black Plastic Binding
Black Plastic Binding
5 5-11-2011
great product

great material,easy to use and finish,thinner binding arrived with white marks from being over bent during shipping maybe but scraped out easily....will buy again

goldguitarguy  Cold Lake,AB,CA Read my reviews (4)
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
4 5-11-2011
great but..........

this tool is fantastic it does the job great but it doesn't fit between the neck pocket and lower horn of certain types of guitars due to the size of edge guide....still a recommended buy!!!!

goldguitarguy  Cold Lake,AB,CA Read my reviews (4)
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 5-11-2011
My, that's a fine tool you have there!

I purchased the Precision router base along with the Foredom handpiece recently and I have to say it's made inlay work and any small scale routing operations like cleaning up nut beds or fret slots or whatever so much easier and more consistent. Every other Dremel type base I've used before vibrates and it's really difficult to be as precise as we need to be. This tool in conjunction with the Foredom hand piece has made a real difference in the quality of work I'm able to do and that's what it's all about, yes?

M cubed guitars  Claremont, Ca
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 5-11-2011
My guitar burst into flames !! ( in a good way)

After years of using some very tepid "German made pick ups", I just installed a set of Golden Age over wounds. Youch!! My beloved Heritage H-550T just burst into flames. lol And my Fender Tweed Deluxe reissue finally sounds like it's full 40 watts.
Great value and customer service, when this old rock and roller had to confirm something regarding 4 conductor wiring. Now I'll keep a little fireman in the case so I don't burn down my house.

the kalamazoo kid  Murfreesboro TN
Customer supplied image for review
Wilkinson/Gotoh VS-100N Tremolo
Wilkinson/Gotoh VS-100N Tremolo
5 5-11-2011
Great Trem

I replaced the Vintage Tremolo on my 20 yr old Fender Deluxe Strat with this Wilkinson Tremolo and it breathed new life into it. I play it the most now out of my 5 other guitars.

John D.  Liberty, Ky
Voicing a Steel String Guitar
Voicing a Steel String Guitar
5 5-11-2011
A must have

I am one of the lucky ones in as much as I have built enough guitars to have gotten to point where I am happy with the tone I have managed to achieve but here is a definite work that clarifies every thing you need to know to start achieving good results. A must have for any budding acoustic maker and thanks Kent for making sense of everything.

Anthony R  Oxford England Read my reviews (2)
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
5 5-11-2011
A must have for every Drummer....Oppps Guitarist

I'm a drummer.....and you know what that means...If I can use these things then any body could use them.
All joking aside. These tools seem swiss built. Super straight and accurate. The 18" straight edge is thick and can't be bent. Once i figured out the way to use them I set all six of my babies.
One thing to keep in mind. These things aren't magic. One only increases their functions with use.

Nicholas S.  San Antonio TX,
Archtop Bridge with Bone Saddle
Archtop Bridge with Bone Saddle
5 5-11-2011
Great for archtops

I have used this on 3 guitar restorations with good results--a Kay, a Silvertone and a Harmony. It brings a nice warm and woody sound to these guitars.

I have had to file down the saddle and bottom of the adjustable bridge piece to compensate for high action on these old guitars. I would suggest offering a similar bridge with a height adjustable from 1/2-1" for old guitars with neck issues.

Jeff S.  Omaha, NE Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Square-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Square-end
5 5-11-2011
Great tuners!

I have put 2 sets of these tuners on old guitars, a Kay and a Silvertone. They fit the holes fine, although the screwholes don't line up.

They add a nice vintage look to restorations and definitely work better than the originals!

Jeff S.  Omaha, NE Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Control Plate for Tele
Control Plate for Tele
5 5-11-2011
Great product

Great quality product. Very pleased with stewmac as always

Marcus  Nottingham Read my reviews (6)
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
4 5-11-2011
beauty, though chrome isn't what expected

It really gives you some classy, special kind of mounting, subtleness of designer... but, it is plain aluminum. Not really shiny, as all aluminum. Thought it was the kind of chrome of bridges and tuners. I'll be trying to get the shine of it.

lavit  Bogota, Colombia
Pearl Cutting Saw
Pearl Cutting Saw
5 5-11-2011
the best I ever had

sounds like a "the Who" song. but it's the truth. easy fitting of saw blades, perfect trim on the blade, makes it to "ting ting". Easy handling,perfect grip. fast shipping by the way...only two days to europe ....waauw . stephan antwerp-Belgium

Triskel Workshop  Antwerp, Belgium Read my reviews (17)
Precision Router Base
Precision Router Base
5 5-11-2011
Verry usefull and precise

I'm verry pleased with this router base. Used it to rout the cut-outs into kerfings to fit the bracing. Went just perfect. Hope to get it to do the same job for some inlays. Only remark: to bad there's no air-pump available for european 220v. I'll use my vacuum cleaner instead....still looking for the reverse gear shift on that one :-)
Oh and congratulations on the DHL shippement....(ordered on Wednesday, received in Belgium at my doorstep on Friday seems almost an impossible thing to do, but that's how they do it) thanks, Stephan in Antwerp, Belgium

Triskel Workshop  Antwerp, Belgium Read my reviews (17)
Batt-O-Meter
Batt-O-Meter
2 5-11-2011
Batt-O-Meter

I have other battery testers but I bought this one because it just plugs into my guitar instead of having taking my batteries out. I don't find it very accurate. Get different readings all the time. Not happy with it at all, I feel I can't depend on it.

jerry c metz  canada
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 5-11-2011
Definitely necessary.

I purchased this tape to stop my friends Fender bass from humming. Very simple to use, a little tough to start the roll at first, and then the end you've cut to doesn't stay that well. This is a positive though because if you use too much it's easily removed, but it won't ever simply fall off. It also will not simply unravel so that little bit hanging is fine. It did the job I wanted well.

BAW  USA Read my reviews (2)
Menzerna Compounds
Menzerna Compounds
5 5-11-2011
Great traditional approach to buffing

Despite the plethora of liquid buffing and polishing agents, none are as effective, consistent, clean and straightforward as these solid buffing compounds. Polishing from 1500 grit waterproof paper is quick and leaves none of the dusty residue of the liquid alternatives.

JGS Guitars  South Africa Read my reviews (11)
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
2 5-11-2011
just another regular polish

I was unable to re create the same results as the other reviewers. Despite using the recommended technique,no improvement in luster or shine was achieved.

It's basically the same as the Virtuoso polish but more expensive and thinner.

Gabe K  Minnesota Read my reviews (2)
Pickguard Screws for Fender
Pickguard Screws for Fender
5 5-11-2011
Definitely Screws...

well, as expected they were screws. When actuated with a screw driver they performed as expected. I'm really pleased these screws were appropriately screw like. Would by again if in further need of screw

ChuckRhoades  Denton, TX
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
5 5-11-2011
this is the real deal!!

forget about steel wool!! with this you leave your frets shining. and your fretboard as new!!! i used it in all my guitars!!!

Roberto Rivera  El Salvador Read my reviews (4)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
5 5-11-2011
perfect pots

they did a great job on my Jackson DKMG, now my guitar is flawless!!!

Roberto Rivera  El Salvador Read my reviews (4)
Dome Knob
Dome Knob
5 5-11-2011
Great knobs!!!

Great knobs I bought the chrome ones, but i think i will buy a couple of black ones!

Roberto Rivera  El Salvador Read my reviews (4)
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 5-11-2011
Router Base w/ binding attachment.

I've been building guitars and mandolins for just shy of 15 years, and for some reason I just haven't purchased the Stew-Mac router base until recently. I would like to tell all you luthiers in computer-land reading this review: YOU MUST BUY THIS ROUTER BASE! The factory Dremel base is poorly designed and built, whereas the Stewart MacDonald base is quite exceptional. I find myself using the Dremel every day now, where I used to only use it once every couple weeks. This is a good tool, a must have for professionals and amateurs alike! Buy it now, it's not worth waiting for! Just remember to tighten up the allen screws every once in a while. It's fantastic.

Jeremy Hamm, Hamm-tone guitars  La Riviere, Manitoba, Canada
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 5-11-2011
Wide fretwire

Excellent material. This was my fourth fret job, and I found this fret wire easy to use. I used the fret wire bending tool with the crank (also from StewMac) to bend the wire. All went well.

Bruce Lyons  Wichita Falls, TX Read my reviews (11)
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
5 5-11-2011
Radiused sanding block

I used this block and a 12" radiused blaock to true up my fretboard on my own guitar. This is a great tool, and is a big help when sanding and radiusing the fretboard.

Bruce Lyons  Wichita Falls, TX Read my reviews (11)
Displaying 15701 – 15725
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  628  629  630  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce