Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15651 – 15675
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  626  627  628  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

P-Bass Pickguard
P-Bass Pickguard
5 5-18-2011
Fits Like A Glove!

This pickguard is absolutely perfect in fit, design and color. No adjustments were necessary at all. I highly recommend this replacement item for P-Bass players wanting to upgrade, or for new projects. Having the underside shielded with foil above the control cavity is a nice added bonus too ~ less work for us!

lraudio  Canada Read my reviews (2)
Archtop Bridge Post and Thumbwheel Set
Archtop Bridge Post and Thumbwheel Set
2 5-18-2011
Good product - bad price

Too much money for these litte things.

TGW  Illinois
Threaded Endpin Jack
Threaded Endpin Jack
1 5-18-2011
end pin error

I recently purchased a thread in endpin jack. I got busy and fired up the soldering iron and proceded to get to work. Pickups ready and a new volume pot also just purchased it should have gone really smooth. A short time later I was ready to test out my work. This is not the first guitar project I have done and was pretty confident what the results would be. Into the music studio I go and plug the bad boy in. What.. it doesn't work... What went wrong Check all the connections and every thing is as it should be. A short time later I discovered that the endpin jack was defective. Man all that work and I a get a defective part. A little part hunting in my box of spare parts and I located a jack that I could use in the short term, but now require a replacement from StewMac. Never have I had a problem with defective parts before.

Duckster  Toronto Canada
StewMac responds

Duckster, We're so sorry to hear you had problems with the endpin jack. We'll gladly provide you with a replacement, at no cost to you. We'll have our technicians special pick the jack to ensure it's in perfect working condition. We hate to hear we let you down, but we appreciate your candid feedback.

Airbrush Outfit
Airbrush Outfit
5 5-17-2011
Nice affordable airbrush

This is a very nice little airbrush kit.I ordered an extra glass sealable paint jar and now have three paint jars.All of the seals for the air brush come with it but they include extra seals.All you need is a little air compressor and some fittings and your ready to go.I thought it couldn't hurt to have a little air brush around.The compressors are very cheap to buy and it beats painting with cans.The colortone aerosol is very awesome stuff if you know how to use it but nothing beats having extra spray pressure and a more even coat.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
4 5-17-2011
Nice little bottles

It is so nice that these bottles are so small.They make them very easy to squeeze the product out and along with the mixing cups from Stewart mac you get the most uniform mix.A little goes a long way.I will be staining my explorer and am hopeful the woodgrain shows through and gives my beautiful new unpainted instrument a nice warm look.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 5-17-2011
Very nice light polishing compound.

I purchased the swirl remover polishing compound and it works very well to remove scratches and marks.I will be using it on my newly finished guitars.When I recieved it today I hand polished an acoustic guitar and it took out most of the small scratches very easily.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
Foam Polishing Pads
Foam Polishing Pads
5 5-17-2011
These seem to be top quality

Shipped quickly and packaged well.These polishing pads are a must.I ordered all but the cone shaped pad.I have a strat I am refinishing and also a Gibson Explorer I am staining and clear lacquer coating.I am hoping that after I buff and polish them using these pads it will look like glass.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
Mixing Cups
Mixing Cups
5 5-17-2011
Nice to have around

5-30ml or 1/4,1/2/3/4,1 fl oz increments.very good for mixing color-tone stains (the purpose I bought them for).Stewart mac should carry 2 quart mixing cups to make it easier to mix the stain together.They may carry them and possibly i did not see them but it would just make things faster and easier.I myself will just convert and use fl oz to combine stain to water/alcohol mixture.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
2 5-17-2011
Hmmm

Got to say I am very disappointed in this. Perhaps the magnetism isn't as strong as it should be as the extension shaft and bits keep falling out :-(
The previous set with ball bearing to hold the bits in place was far superior, don't know why they fixed something that wasn't broke? Just adding the extra bits would of been a better idea.

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
StewMac responds

Julyan Wallis,
We're sorry to hear the Screwdriver Set arrived defective. We hate to hear you were disappointed with this product. Please accept our sincere apology and a full refund or replacement.

Fret Scale Rule
Fret Scale Rule
5 5-17-2011
Here's a tip:

I love this scale. No complaints! But I had a few near misses with confusing the Martin short and long scales (almost put the bridge in the wrong place!) I finally figured out to put tape over the scale I was not using for the current project...

morgdan  Mendocino, CA
Customer supplied image for review
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
3 5-17-2011
nice, but could be improved

The templates could be thicker. It's hard to use a bushing or bearing with these. I put a shim between the tempate and the guitar, then removed it when the cavity was deep enough, and it helped. Also, the Tele template string holes are not accrurate for all Tele bridges. On the newer bridges, the string holes are closer to the pickup cavity. check before routing.

Murray  Champlin, MN
Classical Guitar Bridge
Classical Guitar Bridge
5 5-17-2011
Classical Bridge

I have used the ebony classical bridges and have found them to be excellent quality, ready for final polishing. They save a great deal of time and with these available why would you attempt to fabricate your own? I would not go past them.

Colin V M Wright  Perth, Western Australia Read my reviews (5)
Shop Apron
Shop Apron
4 5-17-2011
it's an apron

It certainly does the job. If it were available in a heavier material or in leather I would go for that.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Jaws Fret Press Deluxe Set
Jaws Fret Press Deluxe Set
5 5-17-2011
Well thought through, well made

The original Jaws is definitely the most important and easiest to use out of this set. However, the other two are intended for otherwise impossible jobs, so any improvement is a big improvement. Refretting is really easy with these. I highly recommend this set or at least the original Jaws clamp.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Gibson Truss Rod
Gibson® Truss Rod
4 5-16-2011
good piece to have for a gibson

great piece of equipment, wish the square shoulder fit a little more closely than it did

Dakota  heath ohio
Saddles for Floyd Rose
Saddles for Floyd Rose
5 5-16-2011
Great replacement for OFR's

I was a little concerned that these would be more like licensed floyd saddles than the saddles in the original German floyds... I was wrong, they are very competent saddles and cheap!

James D  CA Read my reviews (4)
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
4 5-16-2011
Good Job

Does a fine job, quite necessary for your kit

James D  CA Read my reviews (4)
White Plastic Binding
White Plastic Binding
5 5-16-2011
Decent stuff

This binding seems to be pretty good quality, in terms of uniform thickness/height/etc, but I'd like it if Stewmac sold longer lengths. The guitar I'm building now requires a 65.5" binding, so these come up just short. I just ordered another piece this morning, but I've yet to find a way to melt this stuff (They say acetone works but it didn't for me, and it burns rather than melts even with a flameless heat source) so I'm just going to have to try to hide the seam at where the strap button is and hope no one notices.

DuctTapeNinja  Chicago Read my reviews (6)
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
5 5-16-2011
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack

The best endpin jack for acoustic guitars hands down. Comes with complete wiring instructions for passive and active pickups, additional microphones, etc. This jack seems to have the most non-intrusive installation, as well as the easiest to adjust or tighten up if it loosens. The only slight drawback is the small amount of space allotted for the four connectors. Any connections to the jack should be isolated with heat shrink. Otherwise this is an excellent product from Fishman.

George Stritter  Newton, NJ
Bone Bridge Pins
Bone Bridge Pins
5 5-16-2011
Very Nice

One of the easiest ways to improve the response and volume of your guitar is to have hard pins that fit well. These certainly do the trick.

Outlier Workshop  Cambridge, MA
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
5 5-16-2011
Looks and feels great

I bought the ebony and it is flawless looks and feels great i highly recommend these fingerboards for any hobby or project worth finishing

Jacob Nuñez  Victorville,CA Read my reviews (8)
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
5 5-16-2011
Golden Age Restoration Tuners

The relic finish is absolutely perfect for my vintage arch top. Plus, the mechanics of the Golden Age tuners is far superior to the original Kluson tuners.

JAA64  Carlsbad, CA
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
4 5-16-2011
Great for the price

These tuners work very well and have been consistent. However, I noticed the first time I installed the gold plated version that they were just a tiny bit larger in diameter than the silver plated ones. I had to do a bit of extra reaming to get them to fit properly.

Beth Mayer  Tucson, AZ Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Jaws2
Jaws2
5 5-16-2011
Does what it says on the tin!

Didn't realise fretting could be so hassle free. No hammering, all frets sitting as they should be - a joy. Only difficulty was aligning the neck caul as it slipped around until I wedged it with a couple of lollipop sticks - once that was sorted, fantastic.

Haydon  Stoke on Tent, UK Read my reviews (5)
Rosewood Back and Side Set for Dreadnought Guitar
Rosewood Back and Side Set for Dreadnought Guitar
5 5-16-2011
Rosewood Back & Sides

It's a long way to Australia but this item turned up very promptly. It's also a long way to return an item if your not happy with the quality. Not the case here at all. The two backs and two sides were well figured with good straight grain.They'll make a handsome contribution to the next guitar. Thanks Stewmac.

H-guitars  Australia Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 15651 – 15675
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  626  627  628  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce