Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15651 – 15675
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  626  627  628  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Endpin Jack Reamer
Endpin Jack Reamer
5 5-15-2011
Where have you reamed all my life?!

I decided to finally go ahead and splash out on this specialized tool. I should have splashed out two years ago!
What used to be a 20 minute job of creating a perfect hole for an endpin jack is now a 1 minute job.
I just had to install a Baggs Anthem pickup in a Martin Benezza Bianca, and I could do it with confidence.
I LOVE this reamer. Thanks Stewmac!

Ramsay Phillips  Dubai, UAE Read my reviews (3)
Guitar Repair Vise Replacement Parts
Guitar Repair Vise Replacement Parts
5 5-15-2011
Indispensable

The best tool to firmly grip your instrument.

paolo57  Firenze, Italia Read my reviews (8)
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
4 5-15-2011
Essential indeed!

All you need for making and shaping nuts. The files are perfect for shaping and precision work and the spaceing rule is indispensable. I am yet to find a use for the feeler guages and saw, plus the vice could use some holes where you can mount it to a bench permanently, rather than using a clamp or putting it into another vice to keep it in place.

T Copley  Australia Read my reviews (22)
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
4 5-15-2011
Sta-Tite tuners for solid peg head

I just installed a set of Sta-Tite tuners on my 50s Harmony (montgomery ward) archtop. I cant believe how nice these tuners are for the price. They were simple to install & look
fantastic. You cant go wrong with these. They live up to the name that's printed on them.

Bruce Kellett  Abbotsford British Columbia Read my reviews (2)
Guitar String Ferrules
Guitar String Ferrules
5 5-14-2011
Ferrules

look good feel good. need to sand the holes on my partcaster body and i good to go!!!

Artem Mor  Ashkelon Read my reviews (5)
Control Plate for Tele
Control Plate for Tele
5 5-14-2011
plate

fit my tele and that what matters !

Artem Mor  Ashkelon Read my reviews (5)
Dome Knob
Dome Knob
5 5-14-2011
sweet knobs

heavy,quality made,shiny,excellent !!!

Artem Mor  Ashkelon Read my reviews (5)
Neck Mounting Ferrule Screws
Neck Mounting Ferrule Screws
1 5-14-2011
screw over-torque durability

I would not recommend these screws for extremely dense hard-woods. Even predrilled holes at the proper shank diameter, large enough for only the threads to catch the wood still pose the potential for twisting the screw heads off. I then went to Lowes for what I needed. This has been the only product I have had an issue with from Stew-Mac. Thanks.

bytor581  nj
Plastic Side Dot Material
Plastic Side Dot Material
5 5-14-2011
Brainless

This is a great product, effortless to install. One rod does many instruments.

Bookersdad  Randolph, Vermont Read my reviews (2)
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 5-14-2011
Great rods

It all started with one of my Strat necks which developed a severe back bow... Had it had a double truss rod installed in it, I wouldn't have had to sand it down until too much wood was removed and became too thin... These Hot Rods couldn't be more easy to install and they work to perfection.

Francis Voignier  Arcata, CA Read my reviews (14)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 5-14-2011
Top notch pick-ups

I just installed a pair of these pick-ups for a test project, not expecting the world, considering the low price. To my surprise, they sounded excellent, with great tone and definition. I don't think any other pick-ups could be a major improvement over them.

Francis Voignier  Arcata, CA Read my reviews (14)
Customer supplied image for review
Battery Box
Battery Box
3 5-14-2011
Battery Box

It worked ok. I installed it in a resonator guitar. It would have been nice if a rubber or sponge gasket were included to take up the little space between the rigid box mounting and the curved guitar body. Would have made a neater, more professional installation.

Jim Hobson  Vernon, NJ Read my reviews (5)
Strap Buttons
Strap Buttons
5 5-14-2011
Strap Buttons

They are strap buttons. They work.

Jim Hobson  Vernon, NJ Read my reviews (5)
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
4 5-14-2011
Fret board covers

Excellent product priced right, but I go find that you will need to cut a few down because they won"t fit higher up the fretboard on most guitars.

PVL  Winnipeg, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Dual-grit Diamond Fret File
Dual-grit Diamond Fret File
5 5-14-2011
FANTASTIC

I purchased 2 files, medium and wide. I love them both to BITS. I use them everyday in my shop and they still have not worn out. I take great care of these files, and I clean them after every use. I've had mine for 2 years now, still work perfect.

The Rock Shop  Ottawa, ON Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
4 5-14-2011
Very good

Works well. Packaged very well. Good size bottle to minimise wastage. A bit pricey though.

Umang Mittal  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (6)
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 5-14-2011
Nothing else like this book

If you're even semi-interested in guitar building and repair, this is a must have.

Umang Mittal  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (6)
Tremolo Tension Spring
Tremolo Tension Spring
5 5-14-2011
Excellent

Excellent

Umang Mittal  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (6)
Mini Air Pump
Mini Air Pump
3 5-14-2011
Ordinary

It was only after ordering this thing that I realized it was only a fish tank air pump. I should probably have bought one in Australia, instead of buying this, along with a voltage convertor and a plug convertor. On the plus side, the tube fits my dremel perfectly and this thing does a decent job.

Umang Mittal  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (6)
Humbucker Bobbin Set
Humbucker Bobbin Set
3 5-14-2011
Good, but not enough versatility

These bobbins are good quality. However, I bought them for the specific purpose of making double cream pickups. I had to buy 2 sets per pickup because StewMac don't make double cream sets.

It was only after I got them that I realized the cream bobbins only take slugs, not screws (the black bobbins only take screws). So I have to make humbuckers with all slugs, no screws.

I also have to go back and buy more slugs. God only knows how much DHL shipping will cost to Australia for only 6 small bits of metal.

Umang Mittal  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (6)
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
5 5-14-2011
Superb Tool

I love these things. A perfect precision cut block. Worked flawlessly.

Darren Barnes  Northern Ireland Read my reviews (4)
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
5 5-14-2011
Finishing frets so good

I just used these to sand and polish the frets on a friends Ibanez that were pretty ropey. Starting with lower grit, moving to the higher smoothed out the frets far better and faster than using the old steel wool method & also a lot less messy! I also used them to polish the fretboard.

Darren Barnes  Northern Ireland Read my reviews (4)
Gotoh Midsize 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs
Gotoh Midsize 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs
5 5-13-2011
Awesome Tuners!

Installed these on a 79 gretsch that just wouldn't stay in tune! with a new bridge and these guys, they stay in tune VERY well. Also looks very sleek

Here is the before and after shot

JeremiahMc  Leesburg VA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
3 5-13-2011
Tortoise good - clear disappointing

I purchased a tortoise pickguard a while back for use on an old acoustic guitar. The guard looked good, was of decent quality and adhered well. I recently purchased a clear guard for my new acoustic guitar. As noted in other reviews, the guard material is very thin. But most disappointing is that the clear guard was not clear, but has a frosted appearance. I decided not to install it on my nice tiger eye maple guitar.

ras1500  Queen Creek, AZ Read my reviews (3)
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Dual Fret Scale Templates
4 5-13-2011
Great tool

I can't imagine tool money better spent if you are making a few necks. Makes the whole process really easy to do.

I would have given it 5 starts, but the template is a little thinner than the Stu Mac sawing jig - so you have to use clamps or it will move some. Other than that - this tools is perfect for what it does.

Mojotron  Seattle
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 15651 – 15675
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  626  627  628  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce