Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15626 – 15650
of 20953 reviews
< 1  ...  625  626  627  ...  839 >
Sort reviews by

8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
5 5-14-2011
Superb Tool

I love these things. A perfect precision cut block. Worked flawlessly.

Darren Barnes  Northern Ireland Read my reviews (4)
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
5 5-14-2011
Finishing frets so good

I just used these to sand and polish the frets on a friends Ibanez that were pretty ropey. Starting with lower grit, moving to the higher smoothed out the frets far better and faster than using the old steel wool method & also a lot less messy! I also used them to polish the fretboard.

Darren Barnes  Northern Ireland Read my reviews (4)
Gotoh Midsize 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs
Gotoh Midsize 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs
5 5-13-2011
Awesome Tuners!

Installed these on a 79 gretsch that just wouldn't stay in tune! with a new bridge and these guys, they stay in tune VERY well. Also looks very sleek

Here is the before and after shot

JeremiahMc  Leesburg VA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
3 5-13-2011
Tortoise good - clear disappointing

I purchased a tortoise pickguard a while back for use on an old acoustic guitar. The guard looked good, was of decent quality and adhered well. I recently purchased a clear guard for my new acoustic guitar. As noted in other reviews, the guard material is very thin. But most disappointing is that the clear guard was not clear, but has a frosted appearance. I decided not to install it on my nice tiger eye maple guitar.

ras1500  Queen Creek, AZ Read my reviews (3)
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Dual Fret Scale Templates
4 5-13-2011
Great tool

I can't imagine tool money better spent if you are making a few necks. Makes the whole process really easy to do.

I would have given it 5 starts, but the template is a little thinner than the Stu Mac sawing jig - so you have to use clamps or it will move some. Other than that - this tools is perfect for what it does.

Mojotron  Seattle
Customer supplied image for review
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 5-13-2011
Easy To Install

Easy to install and adjust. Its the only rod I use in my custom necks now. They are a little deep so watch you neck thickness at the nut.

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Dual Fret Scale Templates
5 5-13-2011
Accurate

I should have bought this template along time ago. It is a no brainer to use with the stewmac miter box and saw.

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
Unslotted Fingerboard for Guitar
Unslotted Fingerboard for Guitar
5 5-13-2011
Excellent Quality

Perfectly square and a beautiful grain pattern.

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
White Plastic Binding
White Plastic Binding
5 5-13-2011
.565 White Plastic Binding

Product worked great. Required the usual level after install but looks great. Really sets off the top & bottom edge of my guitar. Used Weldon #16.

JT  California Read my reviews (2)
Bent Herringbone Purfling
Bent Herringbone Purfling
5 5-13-2011
Bent Herringbone Perfling

This product was delivered in perfect condition. I used Weldon #16 adhesive and the product worked flawlessly.

JT  California Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 5-13-2011
Golden Age Zebra

For fun I bought a chinese Les Paul clone, Changed the machine heads, re-cut the nut and did a minor fret file ..Most important ,,Threw the pickups in the bin!! the body and neck are nice, so I ordered a Zebra set of Golden age pickups and installed them.
Got off stage a couple of hours ago and the Clone Paul was singing. I'm going to create more guitars and order more Golden age pickups. Very sweet and smooth driving Solo's. Thanks guys cheers Pezzy E

Pezzy E  Sydney Australia
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 5-13-2011
good tool

just got this a few weeks ago and i have used it many times already. it is a really good way to see the string height. highly recommend.

webster designs  VA
Saddle Routing Jig
Saddle Routing Jig
5 5-13-2011
Brilliant!

An excellent piece of kit. Don't let the high price put you off. It's worth it, for pro results. And it's very easy to use too! Glad I bought one.

darguitar  Inverness, Scotland
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
5 5-13-2011
Great Stuff!

Now I don't have to pay my tech to set up my guitars. I have all the tools I need to do it myself. Highest quality tools made of high quality materials.

DMan  Lemon Grove, CA
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 5-12-2011
Rad!

Pretty hard to pass up these beauties from stewmac's inventory. I could make them but why?! when they are right here at a fabulous bargain!

toneage  canada Read my reviews (6)
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
5 5-12-2011
Winner

The 16 inch tubular is a perfect weight and length for accomplishing a full fret level when coupled with 3m 320 grit sticky back. This is the tool!

toneage  canada Read my reviews (6)
Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Wood Glue
5 5-12-2011
Franklin Titebond Glue

Just repaired a friends acoustic guitar with this killer glue! He was about to trash this instrument, Franklin Titebond Glue made the guitar playable again.

slick-fingers  studio city,CA
Guitar Shop Starter Kit
Guitar Shop Starter Kit
5 5-12-2011
Great Beginnings

I couldn't top the value of this starter kit adding individually to my shopping cart. The calipers , booklet and especially the savings couldn't be ignored! Suitable items for the beginner repair guy.

toneage  canada Read my reviews (6)
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 5-12-2011
Absolutely Useful

What a useful tool to consider various string spacing distances on the fly! This way you can conserve valuable neurons and time for the more tedious work.

toneage  canada Read my reviews (6)
TV Jones PowerTron Pickups
TV Jones Power'Tron Pickups
5 5-12-2011
Custom Epiphone Wilshire

Nice little Epiphone Wilshire, plays like a dream but unremarkable sound, a bit lifeless. The Powertron Pickups went straight in with no trouble but some care needed aligning them as the mounting rings are very slightly smaller than the Epiphone items. Added a nice Bigsby for a bit of vintage wobble and the guitar is transformed!
The bridge pickup is more powerful than I was expecting, drives my Fender Princeton sweetly with lots of nice harmonics when you dig in! Theres a hint of warm Strat about the neck pickup, which is nice as you can switch from a dirty lead to a nice funky rhythm sound. I'm well pleased with the Powertrons, if they are good enough for Billy G they are good enough for me, try 'em!

Jim Butler  Manningtree, UK. Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
5 5-12-2011
Finally!! A wrench that works!!

This was a long over due tool for StewMac. The plastic one didn't work well for me at all. This tool is well built and works as it should. A must have for any repair person.

Scott B  Vestal, NY, USA Read my reviews (4)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 5-12-2011
Use it ALL the time

I have two of these, one I have in my tool box for guitar repairs (for customers). The other is in my gig bag, just in case I need to do a quick setup for myself or one of my band mates.
I think this is one of the MOST used tools I own (besides a string winder).

Scott B  Vestal, NY, USA Read my reviews (4)
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Dressing Stick
4 5-12-2011
Okay Tool

Does a good job. Description says you can file a notch in the end to conform to the crown of the fret. Would be better if they were sold with a groove in them just like the fret files. As cheap as it is there could be a set for narrow, medium and wide for $10 to $15. Would be worth it.

R J Adams  Waynesboro, Va Read my reviews (8)
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
5 5-12-2011
Stay right w/Sta-Tite

I had to replace some generic 3-on-a-plate slot-head tuners on a harp guitar. Then I found that another plate tuner set wouldn't fit b/c of the harp head.
I went to these next--as they had come recommended by a few other associates. They look even better than my original choice and the smooth turning 18:1 gears are great!

naboz  southern MI.
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
3 5-12-2011
Tinted Lacquer

I liked the color just don't get in a hurry. Spray several light coats and let tack off between coats. The price with shipping is very expensive for a spray can of paint. Guess I'm going to start trying to mix my own, but if you want quick and easy this works.

will2027  Winnsboro,LA - USA
Displaying 15626 – 15650
of 20953 reviews
< 1  ...  625  626  627  ...  839 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce