Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15601 – 15625
of 21052 reviews
< 1  ...  624  625  626  ...  843 >
Sort reviews by

Shop Apron
Shop Apron
4 5-22-2011
NIIIIIIICE!

A good apron well made that should wear well. Ditto to what that other guy said about a second pocket. You can use a waiter's apron or a MacDonalds apron to fix guitars but when you put on a StewMac apron; it says a lot about you. Wear it with pride!

Rich S  Sussex County, New Jersey Read my reviews (14)
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
5 5-22-2011
Saw Blade is a Godsend

I bought this saw blade with some mad money I had laying around. It is absolutely the best purchase I have made in decades. After designing and constructing a cross cut sled for my fret-boards, I was ready to try it out. The cuts are always square, the same depth and a spot on width for SM fret wire.
I build a half sized version of a dulcimer, so I can't use the templates...:-( But I'm working on some of my own design. Once I get the measuring down to a fine art, I'm good.

I highly recommend this product.

Dave

Forrest742  Shawne, KS
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
1 5-22-2011
Not recommended for banjos

The 1/2" deep access channel needed to adjust the truss rod at the peghead does not leave very much material between it and the back of the headstock. Also because of this depth, the channel has to start 2 inches up the headstock, which puts it smack in between the high and low D tuners on most headstock designs. This is far too high in my opinion, and makes fitting a truss rod cover very tricky. The only other option is to shorten the channel and buy a 1/4" pocket truss rod wrench (for an additional $8.98). Forget this one and for the same price get the 18" 4mm allen nut or better yet, the 17-5/16" martin-style truss rod for electrics.

Kaitlyn  Montreal
Bigsby B7 Vibrato
Bigsby B7 Vibrato
5 5-22-2011
Bigsby B7

Not as hard as I imagined and really like having it on my Les Paul Goldtop.
I would like to modify the spring next time I change the strings. The arm needs to be a bit closer to the body, so I plan to take one turn of the spring off to accomplish this.

Ed W  Welland, On. Canada
Customer supplied image for review
Grover Roto-Grip Full-size Locking Guitar Machines
Grover Roto-Grip Full-size Locking Guitar Machines
5 5-22-2011
Perfect!

I bought this for my SG Standard about a month ago. Simply the best tuner I've ever used. They slipped right in place and HOLD IN TUNE. Barely have to stretch your strings first time you tune to pitch. Highly recommended!

Tom D  S. Yarmouth, MA
P-90 Pickup Cover
P-90 Pickup Cover
4 5-22-2011
Does not fit Epiphone P90 pickups

The quality is great. The price is great and the delivery time is exceptional. The problem is the pole spacings are a little off from the Epiphone P90s I have on my Casino. I can't use them without modifying them. Another problem is the shipping costs more than the covers so sending them back is not cost effective.

Gary Klinger  Lakeland, Florida Read my reviews (3)
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics
5 5-22-2011
Grover Locking Mini Rotos

I've put these on several guitars and always love the results.This time I used them on an 80s Charvel that didn't want to stay in tune.

The gear ratio lets you dial in your tone and the locking feature keeps it stable. Plain and simple...good stuff.

AC  Syracuse Utah USA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 5-22-2011
Made my guitar priceless to me!

I have a 1953 Kay arch top acoustic that was a wreck. I bought it in a thrift store for $5 thinking if I couldn't fix it up it would look really cool hanging on my wall. Let me emphasize that this guitar wasn't worth anything with how messed up it was. For example the neck was completely loose and held on with a single bolt.
After going to 6 different guitar shops and being told not to cut a hole in my guitar or being told to "send it to a pro" I finally found one Luthier who said "Of course you can do that! Just work slow and careful and do your research." So after searching for a while for something mean sounding on a budget I decided on the Parsons Street Humbucker, and I could not be happier!
Like I said in the description my guitar is now PRICELESS to me because it sounds amazing and I did the work on it. So if you are looking for some pickups GET THE PARSONS STREET HUMBUCKERS!!!! You will not be disappointed.

Lazydeadpoet  Madison, WI
Customer supplied image for review
Thin Body Trapeze Tailpiece
Thin Body Trapeze Tailpiece
3 5-21-2011
Item 0189-G

This is a solid, well made item that looks identical to those used by Gibson on its ES 335's and other models. I had hoped to use it to replace the existing "Fingers" tailpiece on my Gibson Howard Roberts Fusion 111, on which I find it almost impossible to change strings.
However, although the mounting bracket looks similar to that on the "Fingers" tailpiece, the screw holes don't line up and there is no way I will drill new holes in the guitar to make it fit the tailpiece. It's a pity the maker of such after-market accessories doesn't make the unit without screw holes so it can be adapted to fit a variety of instruments. I will either have to have a new mounting bracket made and gold plated or live with the string changing problem.

Mike O'Dwyer  Melbourne, Australia
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
5 5-21-2011
It's easy

This completely solves the problem of the ever-loosening jack nut. And it was so easy to install.

Dan Faber  Albuquerque, NM
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 5-21-2011
the best Armor for you paint job

I have also used this on the same Les Paul 100 project and it also works. Excellent, also soak the can in hot water to reduce spiting and spatters

Mike66  U.S.A. Read my reviews (3)
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 5-21-2011
blocks out the sun

I've used ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer on a Les Paul 100 project that i was working on this product is excellent. Don't forget to follow the instructions and soak the can in some hot water to reduce spiting from the nozzle

Mike66  U.S.A. Read my reviews (3)
Grover Super Rotomatics
Grover Super Rotomatics
5 5-21-2011
Denman

Great looking Tuners and very high Quality. I love the look of these tuners.

Dennis R Black  Pekin, IN
Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
5 5-21-2011
Excellent complement to standard straightedge

Although I have a range of lengths of standard machinist straightedges, the notched straight edge was still a great addition to my tool box for truss rod adjustments.

John H  Southeast PA Read my reviews (3)
Nut Slotting Gauge
Nut Slotting Gauge
5 5-21-2011
Brilliant, accurate tool!

Not only did it work great for filing a new nut, but I found it works great for measuring string height at the 12th fret for action adjustment. I'm picky about getting the last few thousandths of an inch possible in lowering my action, so the gauge works great for logging slight changes to my set up.

John H  Southeast PA Read my reviews (3)
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 5-21-2011
Great Idea!

This tool can detect the smallest of height mis-matches. I checked with an accurate depth gauge and found that the rocker can detect 0.001''. this really helped in achieving a perfectly flat fretboard.

John H  Southeast PA Read my reviews (3)
Micro Finishing Papers
Micro Finishing Papers
5 5-21-2011
Flawless product.

This paper is nearly indestructible compared to cheaper products. It did not tear nor plug up like other paper had for me during crucial projects. Rinse often when wet sanding and you shouldn't have any issues at all.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
ToneRite for Guitar
ToneRite for Guitar
5 5-21-2011
3rd Generation Tonerite

The Tonerite unit itself worked fine, and has had a beneficial effect on my Archtop. The 220 volt Power Adaptor looked cheap, and the first one, that I was sent, had loose plug connections, and was verging on the dangerous ( I had to tape the Tonerite plug into it). Stew Mac were good enough to rapidly send me a replacement, which was much better, though still cheap looking and it's easy to get your fingers pinched as you open the box it's in.. Even so I think Stew Mac should find another supplier for the voltage adapter (NO STARS for the Adapter).

Dave Fletcher  Wylam, England
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 5-21-2011
Best Super Glue

Actually the glue isn't the cool deal, the bottle is the best out there. I have tried a lot of brands and I always throw half of the stuff away because the container gets messed up. I have used every drop of #10 thin since I started buying the Stew-Mac brand. Great job guys

NormanHaight  Southwest
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4 5-21-2011
4mm allen nut Hot Rod

Well the order came fast, and with it the router bit and other toys. Fits perfectly and I can't wait to make sure it works just as well! I'm in the middle of my first build, so I'll have to wait until then to give it the 5 stars I believe it will earn.

Panhead  Bridgewater, NJ
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
5 5-21-2011
Naha guitars

This is a great product. Buffs to a high gloss. The picture of my guitar is proof enough

Naha Guitars  Cumming, Ga Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 5-21-2011
Color Tone

These stains are great. They fill in even and are easy to work with.

Naha Guitars  Cumming, Ga Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Slotted Fingerboard for Paul Reed Smith and Dobro Guitars
Slotted Fingerboard for Paul Reed Smith and Dobro Guitars
5 5-21-2011
Perfect !!

I used this fret board on a cigar box guitar I built and it was just perfect !! Gave it some real class and You better believe these cigar box guitars are real instruments and a lot of fun to play !!

Bill Alvey  Jacksonville, NC
Customer supplied image for review
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 5-21-2011
The right tool for the job!

I finally broke down and purchased the guaged files for bass guitar. These things are great! Does a pro job in half the time. There's nothing like the right tool for the job! Thanks Stewart-MacDonald!

Scott D.  Pleasant Hill, Ohio
Elite Amber Banjo Heads
Elite Amber Banjo Heads
5 5-21-2011
great sound

The Elite amber head made my banjo sound just as I wanted it to sound. Great prices fast shipping and quality good. Thanks Stewmac!

Dave Alexander  Kamloops
Displaying 15601 – 15625
of 21052 reviews
< 1  ...  624  625  626  ...  843 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce