Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15601 – 15625
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  624  625  626  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Mixing Cups
Mixing Cups
5 5-17-2011
Nice to have around

5-30ml or 1/4,1/2/3/4,1 fl oz increments.very good for mixing color-tone stains (the purpose I bought them for).Stewart mac should carry 2 quart mixing cups to make it easier to mix the stain together.They may carry them and possibly i did not see them but it would just make things faster and easier.I myself will just convert and use fl oz to combine stain to water/alcohol mixture.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
2 5-17-2011
Hmmm

Got to say I am very disappointed in this. Perhaps the magnetism isn't as strong as it should be as the extension shaft and bits keep falling out :-(
The previous set with ball bearing to hold the bits in place was far superior, don't know why they fixed something that wasn't broke? Just adding the extra bits would of been a better idea.

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
StewMac responds

Julyan Wallis,
We're sorry to hear the Screwdriver Set arrived defective. We hate to hear you were disappointed with this product. Please accept our sincere apology and a full refund or replacement.

Fret Scale Rule
Fret Scale Rule
5 5-17-2011
Here's a tip:

I love this scale. No complaints! But I had a few near misses with confusing the Martin short and long scales (almost put the bridge in the wrong place!) I finally figured out to put tape over the scale I was not using for the current project...

morgdan  Mendocino, CA
Customer supplied image for review
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
3 5-17-2011
nice, but could be improved

The templates could be thicker. It's hard to use a bushing or bearing with these. I put a shim between the tempate and the guitar, then removed it when the cavity was deep enough, and it helped. Also, the Tele template string holes are not accrurate for all Tele bridges. On the newer bridges, the string holes are closer to the pickup cavity. check before routing.

Murray  Champlin, MN
Classical Guitar Bridge
Classical Guitar Bridge
5 5-17-2011
Classical Bridge

I have used the ebony classical bridges and have found them to be excellent quality, ready for final polishing. They save a great deal of time and with these available why would you attempt to fabricate your own? I would not go past them.

Colin V M Wright  Perth, Western Australia Read my reviews (5)
Shop Apron
Shop Apron
4 5-17-2011
it's an apron

It certainly does the job. If it were available in a heavier material or in leather I would go for that.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Jaws Fret Press Deluxe Set
Jaws Fret Press Deluxe Set
5 5-17-2011
Well thought through, well made

The original Jaws is definitely the most important and easiest to use out of this set. However, the other two are intended for otherwise impossible jobs, so any improvement is a big improvement. Refretting is really easy with these. I highly recommend this set or at least the original Jaws clamp.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Gibson Truss Rod
Gibson® Truss Rod
4 5-16-2011
good piece to have for a gibson

great piece of equipment, wish the square shoulder fit a little more closely than it did

Dakota  heath ohio
Saddles for Floyd Rose
Saddles for Floyd Rose
5 5-16-2011
Great replacement for OFR's

I was a little concerned that these would be more like licensed floyd saddles than the saddles in the original German floyds... I was wrong, they are very competent saddles and cheap!

James D  CA Read my reviews (4)
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
4 5-16-2011
Good Job

Does a fine job, quite necessary for your kit

James D  CA Read my reviews (4)
White Plastic Binding
White Plastic Binding
5 5-16-2011
Decent stuff

This binding seems to be pretty good quality, in terms of uniform thickness/height/etc, but I'd like it if Stewmac sold longer lengths. The guitar I'm building now requires a 65.5" binding, so these come up just short. I just ordered another piece this morning, but I've yet to find a way to melt this stuff (They say acetone works but it didn't for me, and it burns rather than melts even with a flameless heat source) so I'm just going to have to try to hide the seam at where the strap button is and hope no one notices.

DuctTapeNinja  Chicago Read my reviews (6)
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
5 5-16-2011
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack

The best endpin jack for acoustic guitars hands down. Comes with complete wiring instructions for passive and active pickups, additional microphones, etc. This jack seems to have the most non-intrusive installation, as well as the easiest to adjust or tighten up if it loosens. The only slight drawback is the small amount of space allotted for the four connectors. Any connections to the jack should be isolated with heat shrink. Otherwise this is an excellent product from Fishman.

George Stritter  Newton, NJ
Bone Bridge Pins
Bone Bridge Pins
5 5-16-2011
Very Nice

One of the easiest ways to improve the response and volume of your guitar is to have hard pins that fit well. These certainly do the trick.

Outlier Workshop  Cambridge, MA
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
5 5-16-2011
Looks and feels great

I bought the ebony and it is flawless looks and feels great i highly recommend these fingerboards for any hobby or project worth finishing

Jacob Nuñez  Victorville,CA Read my reviews (8)
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
5 5-16-2011
Golden Age Restoration Tuners

The relic finish is absolutely perfect for my vintage arch top. Plus, the mechanics of the Golden Age tuners is far superior to the original Kluson tuners.

JAA64  Carlsbad, CA
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
4 5-16-2011
Great for the price

These tuners work very well and have been consistent. However, I noticed the first time I installed the gold plated version that they were just a tiny bit larger in diameter than the silver plated ones. I had to do a bit of extra reaming to get them to fit properly.

Beth Mayer  Tucson, AZ Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Jaws2
Jaws2
5 5-16-2011
Does what it says on the tin!

Didn't realise fretting could be so hassle free. No hammering, all frets sitting as they should be - a joy. Only difficulty was aligning the neck caul as it slipped around until I wedged it with a couple of lollipop sticks - once that was sorted, fantastic.

Haydon  Stoke on Tent, UK Read my reviews (5)
Rosewood Back and Side Set for Dreadnought Guitar
Rosewood Back and Side Set for Dreadnought Guitar
5 5-16-2011
Rosewood Back & Sides

It's a long way to Australia but this item turned up very promptly. It's also a long way to return an item if your not happy with the quality. Not the case here at all. The two backs and two sides were well figured with good straight grain.They'll make a handsome contribution to the next guitar. Thanks Stewmac.

H-guitars  Australia Read my reviews (2)
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
5 5-15-2011
The Doctor's in the house!!!...

Bridge Doctor is the BOMB!!! I bought a second-hand Yamaha 12-string guitar several years ago and watched as it slowly developed a major belly bulge that even a starvation diet wouldn't cure. More recently, the bridge began to separate from the top. I finally got a luthier's estimate for a repair....$$$$ - OUCH!!! It was way more than the guitar was worth. A friend told me about the Bridge Doctor - so - what the heck... I had nothing to lose. I took my time and carefully thought out the installation.
It was not extremely difficult - however it is not something to rush into unprepared either. My guitar had a fairly shallow body that required some trimming of the device. I did add a little glue underneath the loose edge of the bridge before snugging it down with the screw. Voila! The Bridge Doctor drew the bridge back down flush and essentially eliminate the belly bulge. As a precaution, I did opt for light-gauge strings and tuned the guitar down a step. So far, so good..... the guitar was salvaged and plays as good as it ever did. The Bridge Doctor get an unequivocal "thumbs up" from me - recommended highly....

J Jackson  USA
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 5-15-2011
Great lacquer

This stuff is great but read the directions and make sure you do light even coats. It will run easy because of the color. Black is very hard to see when you spray it. The fumes are nasty so make sure you have good ventilation. I had it run one time and although they say not to I sanded the runs out and leveled the paint. Resprayed and it came out fine.A few bubbles in one tiny spot. The upper area was thinner coverage on the body from hanging vertical.
No kidding the free hand holder would be a great idea. It may cost a little cash but well worth it. I have a little more work to do before i clear lacquer my strat body. Pictures will be submitted when I finish it.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 5-15-2011
Colortone Aerosol Is Excellent Stuff

This is excellent stuff. Heed the suggestions of placing the cans in hot water. It helps to reduce spatter and makes it spray better. Also make sure the weather is nice out. I sprayed a guitar body with this and it rained a bit the day I did it. It did not really do too badly regardless. Light even coats are better than thick heavy coats.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
Gotoh Midsize 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs
Gotoh Midsize 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs
5 5-15-2011
Cosmo-cool

Superb fit and finish. Crazy smooth action. They look great. Cosmo-black finish is super cool. Fantastic tuners.

root custom guitars  Michigan Read my reviews (2)
Acoustic Bridge Bolts
Acoustic Bridge Bolts
5 5-15-2011
great set-up tool

these nifty little bolts enabled me to position my bridge prior to finishing. I imagine I'll use them when it comes time to glue it down as well. Great idea!

root custom guitars  Michigan Read my reviews (2)
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
5 5-15-2011
Very Effective

Perfect tool for the task at hand. Built well. Excellent value.

Joe D  Boston, MA
GHS Acoustic Soundhole Microphone
GHS Acoustic Soundhole Microphone
4 5-15-2011
Good Option for Non-Luthiers

Gift for the father-in-law. Easier to install than a contact pickup, and sounds at least as good (better, f-in-law says). Endpin jack works great, but it was a little tricky getting the internal nuts properly adjusted. The only real negative I have is the battery. The included battery was essentially DOA (no big deal), and the clip would not take a standard AA battery w/o modification. Battery placement is also problematic--when this one is dead, will have to remove entire unit to replace the battery. Still, no regrets thus far. Would not hesitate to recommend this unit where appropriate.

dRandall  Arkansas
Displaying 15601 – 15625
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  624  625  626  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce