Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15576 – 15600
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  623  624  625  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Dreadnought Guitar Kit
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
5 5-20-2011
dreadnought

I am impressed with the quality of the wood and craftsmanship

joe's work shop  milton,fl
Bolt-on Neck Block
Bolt-on Neck Block
5 5-20-2011
another essential piece

I am a small builder making instruments under the Isle of Skye label. While I have the tools necessary to make this item, they are so inexpensive and carefully made that it is economically sound to purchase and not make them. Excellent.

Dan McCrimmon  Colorado Read my reviews (3)
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
5 5-20-2011
Nagging problem solved

These are the best jacks period for a tele. It would be nice if they came in chrome but the Al looks good. I use these on all guitars I build including lap steels. They are the easiest to install and give the surest fit

telewacker  grafton, IL Read my reviews (3)
Pearl Dots
Pearl Dots
5 5-20-2011
great item

perfectly shaped inlays, no fringe or scratches. I use a plunge router for these and it works great. They set easy and straight.

telewacker  grafton, IL Read my reviews (3)
Stewart-MacDonald Mandolin Strings
Stewart-MacDonald Mandolin Strings
4 5-20-2011
First time

But not my last. I like them.

paolo57  Firenze, Italia Read my reviews (8)
Fishman Mandolin Pickup
Fishman Mandolin Pickup
5 5-20-2011
excellent

Easy to adjust to one's need both for curvature and for height. Great sound.

paolo57  Firenze, Italia Read my reviews (8)
Grover A-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines
Grover A-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines
5 5-20-2011
Fine and perfect

High quality machines with a fantastic eye impact. In my old mandolin I did not have to even adapt the holes. Perfect fit!

paolo57  Firenze, Italia Read my reviews (8)
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
5 5-19-2011
Awesome tool for fretting.

I used this caul in my bench drill press and will never again hammer frets. The time saved pressing the frets and the reduced leveling required to set up the guitar makes this a worth while tool.

Bart Long  Cheyenne, WY Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Neck Support Caul
Neck Support Caul
5 5-19-2011
awesome addition to the fret press caul.

I use this support along with my fret press caul to press all my fret jobs. I can fret any bolt on neck in half the time it would usually take.

Bart Long  Cheyenne, WY Read my reviews (3)
Thickness Caliper
Thickness Caliper
5 5-19-2011
Great Value

I find the thought of thicknessing tops to exacting standards rather intimidating when I'm carving a mandolin. I decided to try out this caliper and I'm very glad I did. Easy to use, very accurate and very well made. My recent mando now has a monster top because I was able to carve the graduated top accurately. I highly recommend this tool to any Luthier.

cooper  Canada
Magnet Polarity Tester
Magnet Polarity Tester
5 5-19-2011
Polarity tester saves the Day!

I recently replaced the bottom plate on a telecaster humbucker from the 70's. It had been bought online and someone had cut the feet that the screws go through to attach the pickup to the pickgaurd. I had seen a trade secrets article on replacing a base plate on a Gibson humbucker so I was brave enough to start. When I was done the swap and the pickup was back together it sounded thin compared to other pickups of the same kind. The pickup measured as it should on my ohmmeter at 10.5k. I had spotted the Magnetic Polarity tester in the catalog, read the information and ordered it. When it arrived I checked the pickup and found the polarity had been reversed. On these pickups the magnets are Cunife and are threaded. When I changed the plate I had mixed them up. Once I knew the polarity, it was a simple fix. Thank you Stew Mac

The G-man  Nanaimo BC Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
5 5-19-2011
Never sounded sweeter.

Excellent tuner. My guitars have never sounded sweeter.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Bridge Pin Puller
Bridge Pin Puller
4 5-19-2011
Simplicity At It's Best

It's surprising how something so simple can save you so much time and trouble.Thanks Stewmac, no more scratched up bridge pins and bridges.

Tim at Estacada Music  Estacada, OR, USA
Essential Fretting Kit
Essential Fretting Kit
4 5-19-2011
Great starting package

I really enjoyed this package bundle. I did need to buy a few more tools like refret saw and cleaner as well as radius gauge and radius sander but this kit is the best bang for the buck!

Dylan G  Indiana Read my reviews (2)
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
5 5-19-2011
Saved my Strat!

my truss rod had been stripped for a year or so and nothing would work until I found this tool. Worked like a charm no slipping or any more damage done to truss rod. Thank you StewMac

Dylan G  Indiana Read my reviews (2)
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
5 5-19-2011
OPTIVISOR MAGNIFIER

Product is great. Too bad I cannot find extra lenses, nobody will ship to Greece. Like lens plates No 10 (3 1/2...4 inches). Oh well no problem

CHRISTOS avdelas  ATHENS GREECE
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
4 5-19-2011
good solid light-weight tuners

i don't find much functional difference between these and waverlies - at $100 cheaper they are a bargain

Bob Laughlin  Vancouver BC
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
5 5-19-2011
Strat Truss Rod

Great service, knowledgeable nice people i dealt with, and fast delivery. they have my business from now on

olin miller  frankfort ky
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
5 5-19-2011
Great lock system

I spent a lot of time trying to figure out whether there was a difference between these Grovers and the seemingly identical Schaller models (which cost nearly 2x as much). If there is a difference, I can't tell. Great, low profile lock system, which I consider an inmprovement from my Dunlop system. The best part is that you can buy additional buttons (only) from Stewmac, instead of having to buy additional complete sets. That's great if you have a few favorite straps, but a lot of guitars, and don't need the extra locks. Time will tell how they hold up, but for now, great product, and great value!

Joe S.  South Florida Read my reviews (2)
Strap Button Felt Washers
Strap Button Felt Washers
5 5-19-2011
Wish I had ordered more!

Don't hesitate to order these felt washers. They are perfectly cut and sized, and the perfect addition for high value and/or vintage guitars, to prevent finish damage around the strap buttons. I wasn't sure whether to order the black or white, so I ordered a pack of each. For anyone trying to make the same decision, I would recommend the black, unless it's a white guitar.

Joe S.  South Florida Read my reviews (2)
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
5 5-19-2011
Great Tool

This little gadget works great.

I have used it on my clients guitars and my own with precision results every time.

Just use a square to line it up and a hand drill (eggbeater) you don't want or need a power drill for this.

Highly recommended for any guitar workshop.

Paul Thurston  Melbourne, Australia
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
5 5-19-2011
GREAT screws, but...

I really wish they offered a #3 screw for my imported guitar. It would seem that finding such elsewhere in GOLD is currently impossible.

Steven Vachon  Toronto, Canada Read my reviews (2)
Presto Banjo Tailpiece
Presto Banjo Tailpiece
5 5-18-2011
Presto Tailpiece

Fit and finish are very nice. Easy to apply and use. Along with Waverly tuners I'm a happy dude.

The captain  Simi Valley, Ca. Read my reviews (2)
Metric Toggle Switch
Metric Toggle Switch
5 5-18-2011
epiphone 3 way sw

This was the exact replacement switch for this knock-off Les Paul. Why would you spend anything more for a guitar like this? Although if it's the only thing you order, the shipping makes it a little pricey.

fixer1000  milltown,nj
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
5 5-18-2011
I will never hammer in frets again

I read that Dan Armstrong championed the fret press in the late 60’s I’m sure he wasn’t the first but I have always thought he was an innovative thinker so I naturally had to try it for myself.
When I was at Roberto Venn we hammered in our frets and dressed them true… never again.
I talked with a friend who works for Grosh Guitars he said they use the same kind rig.
Do yourself a favor and use this piece of gear figure out how to use it and step away from the hammer.

Matt @ Texas Toast Guitars  Arvada, CO Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 15576 – 15600
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  623  624  625  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce