Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15551 – 15575
of 20953 reviews
< 1  ...  622  623  624  ...  839 >
Sort reviews by

Tuner Pin Drill Jig
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
5 5-19-2011
Great Tool

This little gadget works great.

I have used it on my clients guitars and my own with precision results every time.

Just use a square to line it up and a hand drill (eggbeater) you don't want or need a power drill for this.

Highly recommended for any guitar workshop.

Paul Thurston  Melbourne, Australia
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
5 5-19-2011
GREAT screws, but...

I really wish they offered a #3 screw for my imported guitar. It would seem that finding such elsewhere in GOLD is currently impossible.

Steven Vachon  Toronto, Canada Read my reviews (2)
Presto Banjo Tailpiece
Presto Banjo Tailpiece
5 5-18-2011
Presto Tailpiece

Fit and finish are very nice. Easy to apply and use. Along with Waverly tuners I'm a happy dude.

The captain  Simi Valley, Ca. Read my reviews (2)
Metric Toggle Switch
Metric Toggle Switch
5 5-18-2011
epiphone 3 way sw

This was the exact replacement switch for this knock-off Les Paul. Why would you spend anything more for a guitar like this? Although if it's the only thing you order, the shipping makes it a little pricey.

fixer1000  milltown,nj
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
5 5-18-2011
I will never hammer in frets again

I read that Dan Armstrong championed the fret press in the late 60’s I’m sure he wasn’t the first but I have always thought he was an innovative thinker so I naturally had to try it for myself.
When I was at Roberto Venn we hammered in our frets and dressed them true… never again.
I talked with a friend who works for Grosh Guitars he said they use the same kind rig.
Do yourself a favor and use this piece of gear figure out how to use it and step away from the hammer.

Matt @ Texas Toast Guitars  Arvada, CO Read my reviews (3)
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
1 5-18-2011
Don't Waste Your Time...

I'm a very experienced luthier. I thought I would try out the Bridge Doctor on an old Yamaha acoustic. Not only did the Bridge Doctor not help the top or lower the action, the tension rod actually snapped into three twisted pieces after the guitar sat awhile. I had to make a replacement rod from a hardwood dowel. I strung the guitar and called it good. Don't waste your time and money on this cheap gimmick.

BigJim57  USA Read my reviews (2)
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
4 5-18-2011
FretRocker

Excellent product, excellent quality,
but very pricy for what it is. I should have cut several lengths of a carpenter's square....

ninevoltjolt  Long Beach, CA
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
5 5-18-2011
Bridge Doctor

What a great device to quickly repair a broken or weakened bridge. My 5021 Alvarez 12 string guitar had developed the bulging bridge after 40 years of constant tension by those strings. I had removed the strings and fashioned a clamp from steel plate and with steady pressure I had gotten the top and bridge back to it's original shape. I installed the screw "Bridge Doctor" and after setting the tension I restrung the guitar and it is back as good or better than it ever was.
This sure beats the tedious job of removing the bridge brace and building and installing a new one all working through the sound hole.

Ross Murphy  Longview, TX
Knob and Bushing Puller
Knob and Bushing Puller
5 5-18-2011
Works well

It does exactly what it says it does. Use a thin (and smooth) piece of pywood or lexan with a hole cut in it to help disperse the pressure so the tube doesn't leave small dents in the body work of soft bodied guitars. Or where the routing is such that it only leaves a small area for the end of the tube to rest on.

TonyK  Sumner, WA Read my reviews (4)
Schaller Replacement Knobs
Schaller Replacement Knobs
5 5-18-2011
Inexpensive improvement of looks

I love these buttons. I've put them on almost all of my guitars. For the price they're an inexpensive way to spruce up your guitar.

TonyK  Sumner, WA Read my reviews (4)
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 5-18-2011
Precision

Great tool to add to my arsenal! Well engineered and made tool. Trimmed back the binding and popped the top off an old Gibson in nothing flat. Looking forward to working with this tool.

condor  Amarillo,TX
Customer supplied image for review
Waverly Planetary 5th String Peg
Waverly Planetary 5th String Peg
5 5-18-2011
Gretsch Banjo fifth string swap. Neat!

My brother got an old Gretsch banjo and it had a friction fifth string tuning peg, which did not stay in tune very well. So I call up my friends at StewMac and said, "Dan man, I like got this old Banjo Dan and I can't get it to stay in tune Dan and what am I gonna do man?" He recommended this neat little fifth string tuner made by Waverly! I ordered it and to my everlasting delight, it not only stays in tune perfectly but also looks really neat!

Loren Barton  Bakersfield,CA Read my reviews (3)
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
5 5-18-2011
TOP DRAWER

These pins are the real deal. The epitome of Bridge Pindom. Do away with those nasty plastic pins and put the best possible pins on your or your customers' guitar. They are well made and bring out the crystal clear tones and look great.

Rich S  Sussex County, New Jersey Read my reviews (14)
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
5 5-18-2011
Don't let the price fool you!

I was a little apprehensive about buying these due to their low price. I'm used to spending closer to the $100 mark on high quality tuners, but I trust the brand and after reading the reviews decided to give em a try. I wanted something to replace the stock tuners on my Gretsch 5120 that still captured that vintage look. I was NOT disappointed.

The difference was noticeable right out of the box. The Grovers have a very smooth action and hold tune much better than the stock tuners...especially with the bigsby. Great product, would definitely buy again!

Luke Summers  United States Read my reviews (2)
P-Bass Pickguard
P-Bass Pickguard
5 5-18-2011
Fits Like A Glove!

This pickguard is absolutely perfect in fit, design and color. No adjustments were necessary at all. I highly recommend this replacement item for P-Bass players wanting to upgrade, or for new projects. Having the underside shielded with foil above the control cavity is a nice added bonus too ~ less work for us!

lraudio  Canada Read my reviews (2)
Archtop Bridge Post and Thumbwheel Set
Archtop Bridge Post and Thumbwheel Set
2 5-18-2011
Good product - bad price

Too much money for these litte things.

TGW  Illinois
Threaded Endpin Jack
Threaded Endpin Jack
1 5-18-2011
end pin error

I recently purchased a thread in endpin jack. I got busy and fired up the soldering iron and proceded to get to work. Pickups ready and a new volume pot also just purchased it should have gone really smooth. A short time later I was ready to test out my work. This is not the first guitar project I have done and was pretty confident what the results would be. Into the music studio I go and plug the bad boy in. What.. it doesn't work... What went wrong Check all the connections and every thing is as it should be. A short time later I discovered that the endpin jack was defective. Man all that work and I a get a defective part. A little part hunting in my box of spare parts and I located a jack that I could use in the short term, but now require a replacement from StewMac. Never have I had a problem with defective parts before.

Duckster  Toronto Canada
StewMac responds

Duckster, We're so sorry to hear you had problems with the endpin jack. We'll gladly provide you with a replacement, at no cost to you. We'll have our technicians special pick the jack to ensure it's in perfect working condition. We hate to hear we let you down, but we appreciate your candid feedback.

Airbrush Outfit
Airbrush Outfit
5 5-17-2011
Nice affordable airbrush

This is a very nice little airbrush kit.I ordered an extra glass sealable paint jar and now have three paint jars.All of the seals for the air brush come with it but they include extra seals.All you need is a little air compressor and some fittings and your ready to go.I thought it couldn't hurt to have a little air brush around.The compressors are very cheap to buy and it beats painting with cans.The colortone aerosol is very awesome stuff if you know how to use it but nothing beats having extra spray pressure and a more even coat.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
4 5-17-2011
Nice little bottles

It is so nice that these bottles are so small.They make them very easy to squeeze the product out and along with the mixing cups from Stewart mac you get the most uniform mix.A little goes a long way.I will be staining my explorer and am hopeful the woodgrain shows through and gives my beautiful new unpainted instrument a nice warm look.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 5-17-2011
Very nice light polishing compound.

I purchased the swirl remover polishing compound and it works very well to remove scratches and marks.I will be using it on my newly finished guitars.When I recieved it today I hand polished an acoustic guitar and it took out most of the small scratches very easily.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
Foam Polishing Pads
Foam Polishing Pads
5 5-17-2011
These seem to be top quality

Shipped quickly and packaged well.These polishing pads are a must.I ordered all but the cone shaped pad.I have a strat I am refinishing and also a Gibson Explorer I am staining and clear lacquer coating.I am hoping that after I buff and polish them using these pads it will look like glass.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
Mixing Cups
Mixing Cups
5 5-17-2011
Nice to have around

5-30ml or 1/4,1/2/3/4,1 fl oz increments.very good for mixing color-tone stains (the purpose I bought them for).Stewart mac should carry 2 quart mixing cups to make it easier to mix the stain together.They may carry them and possibly i did not see them but it would just make things faster and easier.I myself will just convert and use fl oz to combine stain to water/alcohol mixture.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
2 5-17-2011
Hmmm

Got to say I am very disappointed in this. Perhaps the magnetism isn't as strong as it should be as the extension shaft and bits keep falling out :-(
The previous set with ball bearing to hold the bits in place was far superior, don't know why they fixed something that wasn't broke? Just adding the extra bits would of been a better idea.

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
StewMac responds

Julyan Wallis,
We're sorry to hear the Screwdriver Set arrived defective. We hate to hear you were disappointed with this product. Please accept our sincere apology and a full refund or replacement.

Fret Scale Rule
Fret Scale Rule
5 5-17-2011
Here's a tip:

I love this scale. No complaints! But I had a few near misses with confusing the Martin short and long scales (almost put the bridge in the wrong place!) I finally figured out to put tape over the scale I was not using for the current project...

morgdan  Mendocino, CA
Customer supplied image for review
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
3 5-17-2011
nice, but could be improved

The templates could be thicker. It's hard to use a bushing or bearing with these. I put a shim between the tempate and the guitar, then removed it when the cavity was deep enough, and it helped. Also, the Tele template string holes are not accrurate for all Tele bridges. On the newer bridges, the string holes are closer to the pickup cavity. check before routing.

Murray  Champlin, MN
Displaying 15551 – 15575
of 20953 reviews
< 1  ...  622  623  624  ...  839 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce