Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15526 – 15550
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  621  622  623  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 5-23-2011
Amazing results with Color Tone Liquid Stain!

I ordered some sealer, lacquer and a bottle of Color Tone vintage amber to stain and finish a bass guitar kit. It mixed with water easily and really enhanced the grain of the alder body. Three coats gave it a deep, almost caramel color. Looks fantastic! The pic is after the application without any lacquer yet. Stewmac is my favorite source for all my luthier needs.

big al  Florida
Customer supplied image for review
Cream Plastic Binding
Cream Plastic Binding
5 5-23-2011
cream binding .04" X .25"

nice color and works well. best to score the gluing side with course sandpaper prior to gluing, and must use a plastic glue like Devcon. Hide or carpenters glue will not hold.

nilsericksonguitars  framingham Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Non-adjustable Truss Rod for Martin
Non-adjustable Truss Rod for Martin
4 5-23-2011
traditional non-adjustible truss rod

Sometime in the 1970's or 1980's Martin changed to an adjustable truss rod. Prior to that they used a non-adjustable support. After taking apart and repairing a few vintage Martins, I grew to like the idea of the non-adjustable truss rod. Using them I find that the neck under tension gives just about the perfect amount of relief. After all, if a neck gets into trouble due to the neck set, the solution really is not a truss rod adjustment, it's a neck reset, which many old Martins seem to need. I like the simplicity of the non-adjustable rod, it's rigidity and the Martin tradition.
I wish Stewmac offered the older style t-bar non-adjustable truss rod. Maybe they will in the future.

nilsericksonguitars  framingham Read my reviews (6)
Binding Router Bit
Binding Router Bit
5 5-23-2011
router bits

I love the oversized bearings-less chatter marks along the sides due to the inevitable slight wobble in my various routers, as I route for the bindings. I find that the .05 bearing works better for the .04 cream binding, especially around the neck heel on the back since I don't use any sort of compensation for the bow of the back. I believe the .04 binding is slightly thicker and I find it easier to sand down the mahogany sides a fraction than it is to sand down the plastic bindings.

nilsericksonguitars  framingham Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
5 5-23-2011
An essential component not an afterthought

There is an old saying, 'you wouldn't think of ruining a ship for a ha'p'orth of tar.' No more, a quality instrument. After spending good materials and labor why fit it up with the cheapest tuners. These are a quality job at an economical cost. The detail includes thrust washers in the bearings to give a constant smooth action. There is no slop in the motion giving the player real control and fine tuning...a perfect job for a perfect finish. Only one detail to watch. The barrels are 9.95 to 10.05 mm dia. My 10mm drill is 9.95mm, so rendering a hole that is a tad tight and some gently reaming needed for a good fit.

Peter E  Bristol uk Read my reviews (4)
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
5 5-23-2011
Very useful tool!

A great tool!! After setting up, it gives you precision and speed in making your own fretboards!

Paolo Roth  Saronno, Italia
Lacquer Sticks
Lacquer Sticks
5 5-23-2011
GREAT!!!

Absolutely wonderful, I will be getting these more often.

The Rock Shop  Ottawa, ON Read my reviews (10)
Historical Lute Construction
Historical Lute Construction
5 5-23-2011
Lutebook

This book contains very valuable and very much the helpful information.
I recommend for all!

Sergy  Aktobe, kz Read my reviews (4)
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
5 5-23-2011
Dead Blow Fretting Hammer.

Well made, feels right as far as the balance is concerned, works a treat with no discernible damage to the fret tops. A recommended buy.

Pete Stamp  Sussex, England. Read my reviews (3)
Radius Gauges
Radius Gauges
5 5-23-2011
Raduis gauges.

What can you say about radius gauges?
Much more accurate than anything I could make by hand, well made and clearly marked, saves a lot of time, all in all a good buy.

Pete Stamp  Sussex, England. Read my reviews (3)
Offset Diamond Fret File
Offset Diamond Fret File
5 5-23-2011
Offset Diamond Fret File (300 grit)

I used this item for the first time last week and was very impressed by how much easier and quicker it was to use than anything I have tried before. I have made one small modification, that is a push on handle to make it easier to grip and to save the end digging into the palm of your hand, (put that down to old age and arthritis!)

Pete Stamp  Sussex, England. Read my reviews (3)
Schertler Classical Guitar Tuning Machines
Schertler Classical Guitar Tuning Machines
5 5-23-2011
Schertler tuners

Great tuners!
I also recommend these Schertler machines.

Sergy  Aktobe, kz Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
5 5-23-2011
Excellent quality

These tuners superb!
I would recommend this to a friend.

Sergy  Aktobe, kz Read my reviews (4)
Gotoh Aluminum Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece
5 5-23-2011
Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece

nice finished,very light sure makes a point to the sound.

Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece  thessaloniki.greece
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
4 5-22-2011
Gibson Explorer

Cherry stained with color tone cherry and clear coated with nitro clear.Mixed the ratio 1 ounce stain to 1 quart water then added about 1/4 more stain to the mix to darken it a little.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 5-22-2011
Cherry stain

This is a Gibson Explorer with a set neck I stained with color tone cherry stain

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
4 5-22-2011
My strat after painted with black nitro laquer

Just a photo of my strat after refinishing with black nitro colortone.Is not the easiest to spray but we will see what it looks like after I clear lacquer it.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
Customer supplied image for review
Pattern Tracing Stylus
Pattern Tracing Stylus
5 5-22-2011
Versatile Tool

Having fabricated or purchased many styli in the last 40+ years (I have a small drawer full), I can testify this is an excellent tool. I also found another application involving my airbrush cleaning activities. You can't beat it for $2.75. It seems I always have positive experiences with StewMac products.

Phil K.  Rockledge, FL Read my reviews (2)
Shop Apron
Shop Apron
4 5-22-2011
NIIIIIIICE!

A good apron well made that should wear well. Ditto to what that other guy said about a second pocket. You can use a waiter's apron or a MacDonalds apron to fix guitars but when you put on a StewMac apron; it says a lot about you. Wear it with pride!

Rich S  Sussex County, New Jersey Read my reviews (14)
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
5 5-22-2011
Saw Blade is a Godsend

I bought this saw blade with some mad money I had laying around. It is absolutely the best purchase I have made in decades. After designing and constructing a cross cut sled for my fret-boards, I was ready to try it out. The cuts are always square, the same depth and a spot on width for SM fret wire.
I build a half sized version of a dulcimer, so I can't use the templates...:-( But I'm working on some of my own design. Once I get the measuring down to a fine art, I'm good.

I highly recommend this product.

Dave

Forrest742  Shawne, KS
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
1 5-22-2011
Not recommended for banjos

The 1/2" deep access channel needed to adjust the truss rod at the peghead does not leave very much material between it and the back of the headstock. Also because of this depth, the channel has to start 2 inches up the headstock, which puts it smack in between the high and low D tuners on most headstock designs. This is far too high in my opinion, and makes fitting a truss rod cover very tricky. The only other option is to shorten the channel and buy a 1/4" pocket truss rod wrench (for an additional $8.98). Forget this one and for the same price get the 18" 4mm allen nut or better yet, the 17-5/16" martin-style truss rod for electrics.

Kaitlyn  Montreal
Bigsby B7 Vibrato
Bigsby B7 Vibrato
5 5-22-2011
Bigsby B7

Not as hard as I imagined and really like having it on my Les Paul Goldtop.
I would like to modify the spring next time I change the strings. The arm needs to be a bit closer to the body, so I plan to take one turn of the spring off to accomplish this.

Ed W  Welland, On. Canada
Customer supplied image for review
Grover Roto-Grip Full-size Locking Guitar Machines
Grover Roto-Grip Full-size Locking Guitar Machines
5 5-22-2011
Perfect!

I bought this for my SG Standard about a month ago. Simply the best tuner I've ever used. They slipped right in place and HOLD IN TUNE. Barely have to stretch your strings first time you tune to pitch. Highly recommended!

Tom D  S. Yarmouth, MA
P-90 Pickup Cover
P-90 Pickup Cover
4 5-22-2011
Does not fit Epiphone P90 pickups

The quality is great. The price is great and the delivery time is exceptional. The problem is the pole spacings are a little off from the Epiphone P90s I have on my Casino. I can't use them without modifying them. Another problem is the shipping costs more than the covers so sending them back is not cost effective.

Gary Klinger  Lakeland, Florida Read my reviews (3)
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics
5 5-22-2011
Grover Locking Mini Rotos

I've put these on several guitars and always love the results.This time I used them on an 80s Charvel that didn't want to stay in tune.

The gear ratio lets you dial in your tone and the locking feature keeps it stable. Plain and simple...good stuff.

AC  Syracuse Utah USA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 15526 – 15550
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  621  622  623  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce