Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15501 – 15525
of 20979 reviews
< 1  ...  620  621  622  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Cutting Lubricant
Cutting Lubricant
4 5-24-2011
Shipping consideration

You might want to hold off and order this product in cool weather. This product shipped May 24, and it arrived leaking into the box. I assume it will still work.

Trip  Sharpsburg, GA Read my reviews (5)
StewMac responds

Trip,
We're sorry to hear this item arrived leaking into the box. We'll gladly ship out a replacement today. Thank you for speaking up, we appreciate your business.

Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
4 5-24-2011
Steinberger 40:1 Tuners

I have a set on a 24.75" Telecaster. They have worked wonderfully for medium and light gauge strings and the tuning ratio is unmatched, However it should be noted that they get harder to turn as you go up in string gauges. Its noticeable when you use strings larger than a set of 11s.

AEL  Pennsylvania
Pickguard for Gibson Les Paul
Pickguard for Gibson® Les Paul®
3 5-24-2011
Good quality - did not fit my Epiphone LP Goth

This pickguard requires additional trimming to make it fit on my Epiphone. I'm afraid my guitar needs an additional screw hole near the neck pickup to fasten it.

Castillo  Mexico
Replacement Neck for Fender Bass
Replacement Neck for Fender Bass
4 5-24-2011
very nice

great fit. quick install. wee bit of fret sprout, but easily fixed with a few weeks in a more humid environment.

grguitar  grand rapids, mi
D-28 Backstrip
D-28 Backstrip
5 5-24-2011
Magnifique

Très belle marqueterie. Finition parfaite.

FT 150BL  france Read my reviews (4)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 5-24-2011
Excellent

Excellent outil, très facile d'utilisation. Et pas cher. Bravo !

FT 150BL  france Read my reviews (4)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 5-23-2011
Amazing results with Color Tone Liquid Stain!

I ordered some sealer, lacquer and a bottle of Color Tone vintage amber to stain and finish a bass guitar kit. It mixed with water easily and really enhanced the grain of the alder body. Three coats gave it a deep, almost caramel color. Looks fantastic! The pic is after the application without any lacquer yet. Stewmac is my favorite source for all my luthier needs.

big al  Florida
Customer supplied image for review
Cream Plastic Binding
Cream Plastic Binding
5 5-23-2011
cream binding .04" X .25"

nice color and works well. best to score the gluing side with course sandpaper prior to gluing, and must use a plastic glue like Devcon. Hide or carpenters glue will not hold.

nilsericksonguitars  framingham Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Non-adjustable Truss Rod for Martin
Non-adjustable Truss Rod for Martin
4 5-23-2011
traditional non-adjustible truss rod

Sometime in the 1970's or 1980's Martin changed to an adjustable truss rod. Prior to that they used a non-adjustable support. After taking apart and repairing a few vintage Martins, I grew to like the idea of the non-adjustable truss rod. Using them I find that the neck under tension gives just about the perfect amount of relief. After all, if a neck gets into trouble due to the neck set, the solution really is not a truss rod adjustment, it's a neck reset, which many old Martins seem to need. I like the simplicity of the non-adjustable rod, it's rigidity and the Martin tradition.
I wish Stewmac offered the older style t-bar non-adjustable truss rod. Maybe they will in the future.

nilsericksonguitars  framingham Read my reviews (6)
Binding Router Bit
Binding Router Bit
5 5-23-2011
router bits

I love the oversized bearings-less chatter marks along the sides due to the inevitable slight wobble in my various routers, as I route for the bindings. I find that the .05 bearing works better for the .04 cream binding, especially around the neck heel on the back since I don't use any sort of compensation for the bow of the back. I believe the .04 binding is slightly thicker and I find it easier to sand down the mahogany sides a fraction than it is to sand down the plastic bindings.

nilsericksonguitars  framingham Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
5 5-23-2011
An essential component not an afterthought

There is an old saying, 'you wouldn't think of ruining a ship for a ha'p'orth of tar.' No more, a quality instrument. After spending good materials and labor why fit it up with the cheapest tuners. These are a quality job at an economical cost. The detail includes thrust washers in the bearings to give a constant smooth action. There is no slop in the motion giving the player real control and fine tuning...a perfect job for a perfect finish. Only one detail to watch. The barrels are 9.95 to 10.05 mm dia. My 10mm drill is 9.95mm, so rendering a hole that is a tad tight and some gently reaming needed for a good fit.

Peter E  Bristol uk Read my reviews (4)
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
5 5-23-2011
Very useful tool!

A great tool!! After setting up, it gives you precision and speed in making your own fretboards!

Paolo Roth  Saronno, Italia
Lacquer Sticks
Lacquer Sticks
5 5-23-2011
GREAT!!!

Absolutely wonderful, I will be getting these more often.

The Rock Shop  Ottawa, ON Read my reviews (10)
Historical Lute Construction
Historical Lute Construction
5 5-23-2011
Lutebook

This book contains very valuable and very much the helpful information.
I recommend for all!

Sergy  Aktobe, kz Read my reviews (4)
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
5 5-23-2011
Dead Blow Fretting Hammer.

Well made, feels right as far as the balance is concerned, works a treat with no discernible damage to the fret tops. A recommended buy.

Pete Stamp  Sussex, England. Read my reviews (3)
Radius Gauges
Radius Gauges
5 5-23-2011
Raduis gauges.

What can you say about radius gauges?
Much more accurate than anything I could make by hand, well made and clearly marked, saves a lot of time, all in all a good buy.

Pete Stamp  Sussex, England. Read my reviews (3)
Offset Diamond Fret File
Offset Diamond Fret File
5 5-23-2011
Offset Diamond Fret File (300 grit)

I used this item for the first time last week and was very impressed by how much easier and quicker it was to use than anything I have tried before. I have made one small modification, that is a push on handle to make it easier to grip and to save the end digging into the palm of your hand, (put that down to old age and arthritis!)

Pete Stamp  Sussex, England. Read my reviews (3)
Schertler Classical Guitar Tuning Machines
Schertler Classical Guitar Tuning Machines
5 5-23-2011
Schertler tuners

Great tuners!
I also recommend these Schertler machines.

Sergy  Aktobe, kz Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
5 5-23-2011
Excellent quality

These tuners superb!
I would recommend this to a friend.

Sergy  Aktobe, kz Read my reviews (4)
Gotoh Aluminum Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece
5 5-23-2011
Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece

nice finished,very light sure makes a point to the sound.

Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece  thessaloniki.greece
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
4 5-22-2011
Gibson Explorer

Cherry stained with color tone cherry and clear coated with nitro clear.Mixed the ratio 1 ounce stain to 1 quart water then added about 1/4 more stain to the mix to darken it a little.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 5-22-2011
Cherry stain

This is a Gibson Explorer with a set neck I stained with color tone cherry stain

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
4 5-22-2011
My strat after painted with black nitro laquer

Just a photo of my strat after refinishing with black nitro colortone.Is not the easiest to spray but we will see what it looks like after I clear lacquer it.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
Customer supplied image for review
Pattern Tracing Stylus
Pattern Tracing Stylus
5 5-22-2011
Versatile Tool

Having fabricated or purchased many styli in the last 40+ years (I have a small drawer full), I can testify this is an excellent tool. I also found another application involving my airbrush cleaning activities. You can't beat it for $2.75. It seems I always have positive experiences with StewMac products.

Phil K.  Rockledge, FL Read my reviews (2)
Shop Apron
Shop Apron
4 5-22-2011
NIIIIIIICE!

A good apron well made that should wear well. Ditto to what that other guy said about a second pocket. You can use a waiter's apron or a MacDonalds apron to fix guitars but when you put on a StewMac apron; it says a lot about you. Wear it with pride!

Rich S  Sussex County, New Jersey Read my reviews (14)
Displaying 15501 – 15525
of 20979 reviews
< 1  ...  620  621  622  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce