Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15476 – 15500
of 20998 reviews
< 1  ...  619  620  621  ...  841 >
Sort reviews by

Archtop Back/Side Set
Archtop Back/Side Set
5 5-26-2011
Archtop guitar tops and backs

For most of my guitar making career I purchased my top and back sets directly from my European suppliers. Then a few years ago I was curious and ordered a few sets from Stew/Mac. As always, the service, quality of wood, prices and convenience are the absolute finest. I now depend on Stew/Mac to supply me for all my archtop tops and backs.

Bob Benedetto  Savannah, GA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
5 5-26-2011
Drastically improved intonation

I installed these on my '72 Tele Custom RI. The intonation is much more precise, and the brass really fattened up tone compared to the stock steel saddles.

I'm now recommending them for nearly all of my client's three barrel Tele's.

Old Town Gutiars  Georgetown, TX Read my reviews (4)
Double-edge Nut Files
Double-edge Nut Files
4 5-26-2011
Double Edged Nut Files

These certainly allowed a neater and surer way to bed the nut in. Works well and the sizes are pretty much spot on for the uses I have.

Muso.Greg  Australia Read my reviews (3)
Truss Rod Wrench Set
Truss Rod Wrench Set
4 5-26-2011
Do it right!

These are the way to go! I don't need to worry about stripping a truss rod bolt or marking the guitar. They fit well and do the job well.

Muso.Greg  Australia Read my reviews (3)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 5-26-2011
How did I get by without it?

This is a great tool. I had to get one for the work bench and one to carry with me as there are so many uses for it!

Muso.Greg  Australia Read my reviews (3)
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
4 5-25-2011
A few ideas...

In honesty I haven't used these yet. I can tell they will prove handy but You fellows should make them in different sizes (ie. ones that correspond with the distance between frets).

Peter Sorensen  Wellington, New Zealand
Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Wood Glue
5 5-25-2011
Powerful stuff

Let's just say that if Franklin donated a boat load of this glue to Japan, the country could be rebuilt in a week!

Holden  San Francisco Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 5-25-2011
Great stuff

When I ordered this product, I had no idea what to expect. I was building my first guitar and was curious how Ibanez and such got such great finishes. With this product, I now understand. It is highest quality, easy to use and does all I want. When the guitar is finished, I will post a pic

Holden  San Francisco Read my reviews (2)
Cream Plastic Binding
Cream Plastic Binding
5 5-25-2011
Nice Binding

Nice binding - one length is just enough to bind a LP type body (including the length of binding required to make ABS and Acetone glue).

A. Lucas  Canada Read my reviews (27)
Unslotted Fingerboard for Guitar
Unslotted Fingerboard for Guitar
5 5-25-2011
Good Fretboard Blank

Rosewood fretboard blank I ordered turned out to be a beautiful color. I would order it again in the future.

A. Lucas  Canada Read my reviews (27)
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
4 5-25-2011
Good - but too thin.

Excellent quality; I docked a star because the template is simply too thin. Good for making your own thicker templates - but if I wanted to make my own humbucker templates, I wouldn't have ordered one online. Still, after I made a thicker template from it using a pattern router bit, it did the job in the end.

A. Lucas  Canada Read my reviews (27)
Pearl Fretboard Side Dots
Pearl Fretboard Side Dots
4 5-25-2011
Excellent But....

Good product but I will have to take all of my pearl orders to DePaule supply because these no longer ship to Canada. The one order I did get, though, was very nice and consistent.

A. Lucas  Canada Read my reviews (27)
Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
4 5-25-2011
They Do the Job

Good product - cream color not as bad as others might have commented (possibly closer to modern Gibson binding color than vintage I've heard, but I can't attest to that myself). I'm sure they will change over time slightly as well (my fretboard binding did). Not wonderfully exceptional but a good product nonetheless.

A. Lucas  Canada Read my reviews (27)
Plastic Side Dot Material
Plastic Side Dot Material
5 5-25-2011
Good Quality Item

It's a black plastic rod...not much to say really other than it goes in easily and it of nice quality.

A. Lucas  Canada Read my reviews (27)
ColorTone Shellac
ColorTone Shellac
5 5-25-2011
Excellent Product

Very good shellac flakes - the shellac flakes I ordered didn't require much oil, so they are most likely quite fresh. Excellent shipping as always.

A. Lucas  Canada Read my reviews (27)
Pearloid-top Dome Knob
Pearloid-top Dome Knob
4 5-25-2011
Drill out to 1/4

No problem drilling these out. Put them in a vise w/ rubber and drilled the brass easily. Looks and feels better, and slightly smaller than the stock MIM tele knobs.

Steve Humes  Tampa, Fl
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
5 5-25-2011
GREAT!!!

I love this stuff! Leaves a great shine and crown to the frets. Good stuff!

The Rock Shop  Ottawa, ON Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Dressing Stick
5 5-25-2011
BEST TOOL EVER

I have 14 of these around the shop. Absolutely great. I love it and it's the best tool I ever bought from Steward-MacDonald. :D

The Rock Shop  Ottawa, ON Read my reviews (10)
Zap-It EZ-Winder
Zap-It EZ-Winder
4 5-25-2011
NOT WORTH THE MONEY

These are over priced a bit, but I do like them! Great stuff!

The Rock Shop  Ottawa, ON Read my reviews (10)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 5-25-2011
Great files around the shop!

I use every single one of these mostly everyday. I recommend getting a nice small saw also to make the initial cut, and that nut slotting gauge and marker from StewMac are a great buy also.

The Rock Shop  Ottawa, ON Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 5-25-2011
STAINLESS IS BETTER

I love these besides my own stainless steel fretwire. I usually recommend these frets for people who do not want to spend the extra 40 for stainless fretwire. Great frets though!

The Rock Shop  Ottawa, ON Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
5 5-25-2011
Fretboard Finishing Oil

This is the "before". Please view the"after" treatment in another review.

Gene Mothershed  Beckville, Texas Read my reviews (14)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
5 5-25-2011
Fretboard Finishing Oil

This review is to add pictures of a Fender Jazz bass fretboard, before and after. This is good stuff. See for yourself! This is the "after".

Gene Mothershed  Beckville, Texas Read my reviews (14)
Customer supplied image for review
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 5-25-2011
OTHER TOOLS NEEDED FOR BEST RESULTS

To get the best results from this product, get the fret dressing stick with the 600 grit, and get some flexible polishing papers, grits from 2000-4000. After that, apply some X-Treem metal polish. This will probably all cost under 60-70 bucks and will get you to a professional shine. I also have another secret process I add but I keep that a secret in my shop. ;)

The Rock Shop  Ottawa, ON Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
Hex Truss Rod Wrenches
Hex Truss Rod Wrenches
5 5-25-2011
Extra Lease of Life

I had almost given up on an elderly Hoefner archtop with a bent neck and a stuck truss rod nut, but decided to give the instrument a last chance with the assistance of a StewMac Hex Truss Rod Wrench.
The wrench proved a really excellent tool, affording a good and firm grip, and it solved the problem easily. My my vintage instrument is now secured many useful years yet, for which I am truly grateful.

Michael L.  Copenhagen, Denmark
Displaying 15476 – 15500
of 20998 reviews
< 1  ...  619  620  621  ...  841 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce