Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15451 – 15475
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  618  619  620  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Dan Erlewines Fretting Series
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
5 5-26-2011
The Fretwork Bible!

Dan's series have taught me about anything i know about fretwork, and if i do good fretworks now for friends and customers, i own it to the Man (and to my own mistakes as well). not to mention the super clean and professional photography and editing work that help you understand better any single step.

i sometimes watch it just for the viewing pleasure!

no Dan's DVDs? no fretwork learning. period.

StewMike  Italia Read my reviews (11)
Fret Arbor Press System
Fret Arbor Press System
5 5-26-2011
Thanks God Someone Sells It!

i think i would never, ever got into fretwork if i couldn't get a hold of an arbor press. i tried hammering frets once, and i swore myself i'll never do it again. just hate it! so i got myself the arbor press and now i'm definitely a refret guy. it's so easy, fast and accurate to refret with the arbor press. i think i'll also give a try to Jaws, too.

StewMike  Italia Read my reviews (11)
Knob Position Indicator
Knob Position Indicator
5 5-26-2011
Nice, fast and easy!!!

What more can I say!!!; fits perfect on my Agile 3100!!!. Thank You!!!

SERGIO  HONDURAS Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
5 5-26-2011
The Right way to go!!!

I have put the one in nickel with studs and bushings on an Agile 3100, and wow!!!, fits perfect!!!, not a single modification, a great upgrade for sustain and tuning in this particular instrument!!.
Thank you!!!

SERGIO  HONDURAS Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Diamond Fret Levelers
Diamond Fret Levelers
5 5-26-2011
They Never Wear Out!

i use it to bevel the frets and it's unbelievable how they do not wear out even after so much grinding back and forth on the sharpy fret ends.

i also like to level uneven frets just by dragging it over back and forth, with NO pressure but its own weight (800-grit). this way keeps the frets to flatten out too much, so they'd need a very light crowning job, then.

StewMike  Italia Read my reviews (11)
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
5 5-26-2011
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar

Merci beaucoup pour votre sérieux.
Matériel bien reçu et très bien emballé.

LETANG GERARD  FRANCE Read my reviews (2)
Pickguard Screws for Fender
Pickguard Screws for Fender
5 5-26-2011
Fine complement!!!

I'd purchased stainless steel screws; for a strat style guitar, neck and body also from Stewmac.
The result: A great looking and playing instrument.
Thank you!!!

SERGIO  HONDURAS Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Refret Saw
Refret Saw
5 5-26-2011
Just Perfect!

this tool is perfect either as a slot deepener and cleaner. the double saw system is a great idea, as it makes the push and pull job super easy. i like to prep the fret slots, and i like them to be as perfect as the factory slots. this tool made it possible even on bound fretboards.

StewMike  Italia Read my reviews (11)
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
5 5-26-2011
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar

Merci beaucoup pour votre sérieux. Matériel bien reçu et bien emballer.

LETANG GERARD  FRANCE Read my reviews (2)
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
5 5-26-2011
It Saves Our Reputation!

...how would you explain your customers that big dent you made around the switch of their expensive Gibson?

StewMike  Italia Read my reviews (11)
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
5 5-26-2011
Incredible!

i'm not a finish/paint kind-of-guy so i don't like to loose time on signs and scratches polishing, but these pads got me into it, and turned a boring job into a fast and funny work. they do work!

if you'd like your rosewood fretboard to get that smooth and silky feeling of ebony, get these pads!

StewMike  Italia Read my reviews (11)
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
5 5-26-2011
It Saves Our Lungs!

i got the 1" magnet to keep the steelwool's debris to get into my lungs, and it works great! you can flip it inside the steelwool ball or right in the nearby of the frets you're polishing, no matter, but get one and your lungs will thank you.

StewMike  Italia Read my reviews (11)
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 5-26-2011
Cool tool!

small, all-in-one, easy and simple. it detects uneven frets fast and easy, so you won't need a total fret leveling.

StewMike  Italia Read my reviews (11)
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 5-26-2011
Great fretwire

i can't find anything bad on this fretwire, it's just great.

but what about an even bigger size, just like Dunlop 6000?

StewMike  Italia Read my reviews (11)
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
5 5-26-2011
Golden Age Pick-ups

WOW. Simply Wow. I owned a Tele (60's) in the 70's. Traded, with cash in for a double neck... wouldn't have done it today. I used these Golden Age pick-ups for a '51 build. There are no other options. As accurate as humanly possible. Tried them out through an Ampeg VT-40 and a THD 30 watt Bi-Vavle... out of this world.

Schwagdog  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (9)
StewMac Brush-on Super Glue
StewMac Brush-on Super Glue
3 5-26-2011
arrived exploded

I thought I would really like to use this product but when I opened the sealed package, the glue was all over. You'd think stew mac would tape the twist top to prevent it from opening in shipment.

jason123  North Carolina Read my reviews (5)
StewMac responds

jason123, We're sorry to hear this product arrived in such bad shape. We're gladly send you a replacement today at no cost to you. We appreciate your feedback. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance.

Customer supplied image for review
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
5 5-26-2011
Never More Without It

Sanding beams are the smartest tool you can use on a guitar. they turn a tricky and boring job to something easy and funny. level the fingerboard, clamp the frets for glue-in and fret leveling with the same beam is the clever thing you can do to insure the best results in a refret job. since i got them i almost don't even need to level the frets.

how could i live without it?

StewMike  Italia Read my reviews (11)
Gotoh Aluminum Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece
5 5-26-2011
Great Upgrade Part

Just as good as the Factory Authorized part, but at a very reasonable price point. Excellent upgrade from the factory pot metal stud tail piece.

Voodoo Dex  Salina, KS Read my reviews (3)
Fret Slot Cleaning Tool
Fret Slot Cleaning Tool
5 5-26-2011
A must

You can't do without this tool for new or refret work

BAClark  Hamilton, Ohio Read my reviews (8)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 5-26-2011
great stain

You can use this with water or alcohol great product

BAClark  Hamilton, Ohio Read my reviews (8)
Bullet Truss Rod Nut for Fender
Bullet Truss Rod Nut for Fender
5 5-26-2011
72 STRAT NECK

I bought a 72 Strat neck which needed a new nut. I ordered one from Stew Mac and a couple of days later it was here. It fit and worked well.

Roegster  Brooksville Fl USA Read my reviews (2)
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
5 5-26-2011
Great set of nippers

This is a substantial set of cutters great for fret removal and trimming

BAClark  Hamilton, Ohio Read my reviews (8)
Archtop Back/Side Set
Archtop Back/Side Set
5 5-26-2011
Archtop guitar tops and backs

For most of my guitar making career I purchased my top and back sets directly from my European suppliers. Then a few years ago I was curious and ordered a few sets from Stew/Mac. As always, the service, quality of wood, prices and convenience are the absolute finest. I now depend on Stew/Mac to supply me for all my archtop tops and backs.

Bob Benedetto  Savannah, GA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
5 5-26-2011
Drastically improved intonation

I installed these on my '72 Tele Custom RI. The intonation is much more precise, and the brass really fattened up tone compared to the stock steel saddles.

I'm now recommending them for nearly all of my client's three barrel Tele's.

Old Town Gutiars  Georgetown, TX Read my reviews (4)
Double-edge Nut Files
Double-edge Nut Files
4 5-26-2011
Double Edged Nut Files

These certainly allowed a neater and surer way to bed the nut in. Works well and the sizes are pretty much spot on for the uses I have.

Muso.Greg  Australia Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 15451 – 15475
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  618  619  620  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce