Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15426 – 15450
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  617  618  619  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Rock-n-Roller Neck Rest
Rock-n-Roller Neck Rest
5 5-27-2011
neat & clever

What a clever, simple solution to variables between body heights and necks. It just 'rolls' into position - nice and stable ... for whatever desired work. `doesn't scratch the neck, either; if in doubt, drop soft cloth, like a T-shirt on it.

Kudos to the clever fellow who dreamt this up! G>

aNovitiate  Read my reviews (6)
TUSQ Saddles
TUSQ Saddles
5 5-27-2011
consistently HARD, as needed

I was able to adjust these saddles, as desired, via a 'bench grinder' and hand-files for final touches. It's the kind of thing to do in a relaxed fashion, say when watching a movie or some such.

Results varied by guitar wood(s). Most improvement(s) were observed on soft-wood guitars, like sapelle (African mahogany).

Purer, more open, harmonic sound results ... a very pleasing, rich sound.

aNovitiate  Read my reviews (6)
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 5-27-2011
flat

This thing is FLAT, precisely as needed, and the various sides DO correspond to varying fret-widths on the fretboard ... albeit a tad $pricey$.

aNovitiate  Read my reviews (6)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 5-27-2011
handy

a REALLY neat, precise way to measure string height over the frets, that is a LOT easier & faster than measuring the same with a micrometer.

aNovitiate  Read my reviews (6)
How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
5 5-27-2011
Excellent Setup / Troubleshooting / Intonation Book

I have read this book cover to cover 5 times, setup 3 guitars, and now I can write a review. This is the first book I bought from StewMac and I will probably buy more. So many items on StewMac get 5 stars that it's hard to figure out what to buy. First and foremost, this is a ELECTRIC GUITAR SETUP book. Period. Neck relief, fretboard radius, string height, nut building, bridge work, tremolo setup, and some fret dressing. Nothing on electronics, little on woodwork, little on finishes and cleaning. I don't say that as a negative, only to help you figure out what to buy since StewMac sells so many training guides. It's absolutely worth the money and the included radius gauges are useful. One thing I would add - if you're not sure that your nut's string takeoff point is correct, tune the guitar using the standard open (unfretted) method, then fret it one, two or three frets and check with a chromatic tuner. Then check at the 12th and 15th frets and see where things are at. If the string is equally sharp at every fret but is okay when you tune it open (unfretted), then you need to bring the takeoff point closer to the frets and away from the headstock.

Joel_B  Syracuse, NY, USA Read my reviews (4)
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
5 5-27-2011
Fantastic tuners for the price

I was recommended these by a friend who builds his own guitars. I was replacing the economy tuners on a very rare vintage japanese strat. These are a HUGE step up from those ancient clunkers, and for the price they are very nice. My only comment is that the mechanism is pretty tight. Then again, I'm comparing it to a high-end acoustic that's had 10 years of continuous playing on it. I suppose that's a good thing!

IF YOU ARE UPGRADING from economy tuners, make sure you buy the 2059 peghole reamer. Trust me, this is WORTH the investment.

Joel_B  Syracuse, NY, USA Read my reviews (4)
Rear Peghole Reamer
Rear Peghole Reamer
4 5-27-2011
Absolutely worth your money to buy this tool!

I was replacing the tuners on an extremely rare 70's vintage japanese strat copy and bought a set of Gotoh P/N 1951 tuners. This reamer was perfect with one exception - the button head stopped the reamer just short of where it needed to go, so I drilled a hole in the wood I was using to support the neck, measured out how much further I had to go and marked it on the reamer with a loop of tape, and then gently finished the holes. That's the only reason for the 4 stars and not 5. Measure your needed hole depth first.

ALSO - when you are drilling, cover your neck and headstock with painter's tape to protect it, but use the weakest tape you can get and stick it against your shirt several times to weaken it even more; My tape pulled some of the lacquer off when I removed it! Be careful!

Joel_B  Syracuse, NY, USA Read my reviews (4)
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 5-27-2011
Great For Saddle Tops

This is a good tool to find the top radius on your saddles. Just match it to the end of your fretboard. I'd still use a 6" ruler to do individual string height, especially on boards that have been replaned. But this tool is much easier to handle than a radiused sanding block when top profiling a saddle.

Wimsatt Instruments  Nashville, TN Read my reviews (3)
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 5-27-2011
A Must Have

Put away the calipers. This tool gets it right every time. There are a handful of tools that every busy repair shop should have. This is one of them. I use it in my shop daily and so do my employees.

Wimsatt Instruments  Nashville, TN Read my reviews (3)
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 5-27-2011
Very Useful Tool

Not only do I use this every day in my shop, but I require my students buy one as well. It's great for tightening any nuts whether it be pots, tuner bushings, or jacks. Also drop an allen wrench in the hole of an acoustic jack to hold it and use this to tighten the nut. It'll also raise and lower Gibson style saddle nuts.

Wimsatt Instruments  Nashville, TN Read my reviews (3)
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
5 5-27-2011
Clean up your Sound

Epiphone makes a very nice guitar for the money, however they fail at doing the small details that really cause the guitar to have issues. One is the bridge; they continue to put cheap bridges on their guitars that make a rattling noise from the metal spring they use and this translates into poor sound. I have replaced the bridges that come on all my Epiphone's with the 1511-n Gotoh Tune-O-Matic and you can't believe how much better the guitar sets up (the action), sounds and how well you can intonate the guitar. I highly recommend this replacement on all Epiphone's that come with the standard spring loaded bridge. The set-up is easy and the pay-off is well worth the time.

RBF  Houston, TX
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
5 5-27-2011
Hard to find in gold

Needed and got the gold ones. Lookin' good on my Deluxe Player Strat. Thanks StewMac

Rich S  Sussex County, New Jersey Read my reviews (14)
Rosewood Back and Side Set for Small Guitar
Rosewood Back and Side Set for Small Guitar
5 5-27-2011
Good wood

Your woods are always consistent. Nice grain, pattern and dimensions.

Don Noonan  Easley, SC Read my reviews (9)
No Knot Banjo Tailpiece
No Knot Banjo Tailpiece
5 5-26-2011
No nonsense hardware

Just the best standard for any banjo application. simple cheap and good!

murph45  portsmouth ri Read my reviews (2)
Five-Star Banjo Strings
Five-Star Banjo Strings
4 5-26-2011
Banjoese

A very nice sounding set of strings for a good price with fast delivery

murph45  portsmouth ri Read my reviews (2)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 5-26-2011
String action gauge

I love it.. It's so very handy to check my action on my guitars with this.. Every guitarist should have one..

gtr1963  Leeds, Alabama
Acoustic Pickguard Blanks
Acoustic Pickguard Blanks
5 5-26-2011
What else can you do with an Epi-Dove?

Purchased this brown tortoise blank to replace the ugly pickguard on my Epi-Dove. Used the original pickguard as a template. Scribed with an awl followed with a utility knife. A little sanding and voila! Easy as cake! This is high quality material that is easy to work with. Thick enough to do it's job yet thin enough to easily shape.

The pre-glued back also adds to ease of use. The result is a much more attractive Epi-Dove. (it is however, STILL an Epi-Dove.) I would recommend this product to anyone wishing to replace a pickguard. You don't have to be a luthier to get a great result. A little patience and the looks of any acoustic can be improved.

Starbull  Ostrander, OH Read my reviews (4)
5th String Capo Spikes
5th String Capo Spikes
5 5-26-2011
Great addition

I found the spikes to be a great addition to my banjo, allowing me to easily move to a key that I could sing to. I didn't have the router bit, so I made my own by machining down a reamer. It worked fairly well, but I think the next time I'll find a bit that's the right size.

Kenny  Cincinnati, OH
Snakewood Bridge Pins
Snakewood Bridge Pins
5 5-26-2011
Better than I expected!

Replaced my Yairi bridge pins with these snakewoods with pearl dots. Added substantial sustain and clarity, but most impressive was the quality of these bridgepins. They are magnificently made and the workmanship is flawless. Hard to imagine a bridge pin as a thing of beauty in itself, but believe me, these are. I kept looking at them over and over again for a week before I actually used them. You can't go wrong with these.

Starbull  Ostrander, OH Read my reviews (4)
GHS Dulcimer Strings
GHS Dulcimer Strings
4 5-26-2011
First set

This is the first time I have replaced my strings. Nothing to it. We'll see how they last.

Kolin  Northern, Indiana Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Oval Knob Tuners 3L/3R
5 5-26-2011
Easy to install

Breathed new life into my favorite travel guitar. Never realized how much difference nice tuners could make.

Installation was easy

Kolin  Northern, Indiana Read my reviews (2)
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
5 5-26-2011
Excellent Product

Excellent product for putting the shine back on frets; you would never know that they were marred from sanding or hammering.

A. Lucas  Canada Read my reviews (27)
5-ply Pickguard Material
5-ply Pickguard Material
5 5-26-2011
Looks like Heaven

Used this material on a LPJ conversion with Soap bar p90s. Looks and feels like a gibson custom shop job!

Barry Vernon  England
Customer supplied image for review
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 5-26-2011
The Tool For the Rounded Fret-End Addict

as a super rounded fret-end guy like me, this is the ultimate tool. i finally can get the fret-ends as rounded as a ball in a few seconds. the square edge is great to round the very "foot" of the fret, right were it sits on the wood, and the rounded edge is perfect to round-up the top of the fret without marrying anything. thanks again, Stewmac!

StewMike  Italia Read my reviews (11)
Mandolin Tuner Knobs
Mandolin Tuner Knobs
5 5-26-2011
shaller style tuner knobs

The Knobs were very easy to install, just remove the old cracked ones with a pair of wire cutters then fill the new tuner button about 1/2 way with super glue and put it on the tuner shaft until it is full seated and allow the glue to cure for several hours. now my tuners are like new again

mando mike  Hagerstown, Md
Displaying 15426 – 15450
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  617  618  619  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce