Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15401 – 15425
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  616  617  618  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
4 5-29-2011
Essential tools, but wear down quickly

I have made about 5 bone nuts in the past few months. It now takes me only two hours to make one, and another half hour to screw it up. These files are essential and work well. However, I find that the edges wear quickly. So use lesser tools for the rough fit, and save these for the precision finish work.

Arthur Z  New Orleans, LA Read my reviews (3)
Hipshot Hardtail Bridge
Hipshot Hardtail Bridge
5 5-29-2011
Just What Was Needed

My favorite design, looks great, sounds even better and for the price there's not really a lot more you can ask for... maybe one that makes my coffee in the morning? :-P

Brinjen  Darwin, NT, Australia Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 5-29-2011
Bone nuts

This nut is my favorite!
This last long but are little harder to work with then other nuts.

Tryggve LTO custom guitars  Gothenburg, Sweden Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
3 5-29-2011
Tusq nuts

This item is easy to work with. But dose not last long. The strings get stock in it after a wail.

Tryggve LTO custom guitars  Gothenburg, Sweden Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 5-29-2011
Perfect and smooth cut

I had to order a 1/4" collar for my router (I had only 6 and 8 mm), but then I've been able to use them. I'm very happy 'cause they works very well (fast and smooth cut). Yeah!!!

Cristiano Bochese  Verona, Italy Read my reviews (3)
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 5-29-2011
Warm sound

As I said on the title... Warm sound

Cristiano Bochese  Verona, Italy Read my reviews (3)
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 5-29-2011
Works!!!

I installed this truss rod in a strat style guitar. Easy to fit and it works very well!!!

Cristiano Bochese  Verona, Italy Read my reviews (3)
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 5-28-2011
Brilliant!

The precision router base combined with the Stewmac down cut bits made the routing of the headstock inlay on "number 1" a joy. Really easy to accurately adjust depth of cut and guiding the free hand route was simple and precise. Will now also order the soundhole/rosette routing jig and binding jig as the Dremel equivalents just don't stack up.

Ossie  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (3)
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
3 5-28-2011
Nice Tuners But Be Careful

I second the other reviewers who said: DON'T USE THE PROVIDED SCREWS!!! I thought, "I'm more careful than most..." One screw snapped in half while screwing in. I had to bore out the hole. The tuners are pretty good. Each one feels slightly different than the next. They've got the look though.

JT McGuire  Los Angeles Read my reviews (3)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 5-28-2011
Boutique Quality / Half The Price

I purchased a cosmetically challenged late 90's Korean (Samick) Epi LP to restore. First off, I was impressed with the build quality of the guitar so I figured it was worth an upgrade. I looked at all the available PU's and decided to take a flyer on these, Alnico 5 neck - 2 bridge,I'm blown away! I put the money I saved into new pots,caps and wiring and oh yeah the savings partially financed a new set of locking tuners as well.

The LP holds it's own with my buddy's vintage Gibsons and I doubt I'll ever sell it. Don't hesitate to buy these as an upgrade to an newer Epiphone, you won't be disappointed.

garybtv  New Mexico
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 5-28-2011
Handiest Little Thing!!!!!

Perfect! One of the most used inspection tools in my shop.

Randy, Head Guitar Tech CrossTouched Pawn  Shelbyville, TN Read my reviews (6)
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 5-28-2011
indispensable for fret level jobs

Another great tool. Tells you exactly what is going on with the frets.

Mojoman  Iowa Read my reviews (4)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 5-28-2011
Awesome tool

If you thought you were measuring accurately - think again. This made my setups improve a lot as I finally was getting very precise measurements. Get one of these. Small changes make a huge difference and this really identifies where issues are.

Mojoman  Iowa Read my reviews (4)
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
5 5-28-2011
Very nice

Did my very first fret level with this and it turned out great.
Easy to use.

Mojoman  Iowa Read my reviews (4)
Acoustic Pickguard Blanks
Acoustic Pickguard Blanks
5 5-28-2011
A custom pickguard for my wife's guitar.

I recently decided to add some custom touches to my wife's Yamaha FG-435A. The original pickguard was pretty plain, so I ordered a sheet of pickguard material from Stewart-MacDonald.

It arrived in good time and in excellent condition. It had been packed in a stiff mailer that protected it well. I found the material easy to use. I was able to cut out the newly designed pickguard with a pair of sharp scissors. After removing the original pickguard by applying gentle heat from a hair dryer and a little naptha to remove any adhesive residue, the new pickguard adhered easily to the guitar. I then removed the protective plastic coating and voila, a great looking new custom pickguard. I added a couple great looking inlay decals and my wife has a guitar that more adequately reflects her personality. Thanks Stew-Mac.

WesleyGuitars  Victorville, CA
Customer supplied image for review
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 5-28-2011
Great tool

Did my first fret crowning with this and it went great.
Highly recommend.

Mojoman  Iowa Read my reviews (4)
Tremolo Routing Templates
Tremolo Routing Templates
4 5-28-2011
Traditional Strat template set

I used these for the first time for a Wilkinson Tremolo set up. they worked fine for me but like others have commented, they need to be thicker & it would be nice if the centering lines were there that you have to make. Other than that, they do the job. Cellini's custom guitars. Las Vegas,Nv.

Eric C.  Las Vegas,Nv. Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Slotted Peghead Guitar with Square-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Slotted Peghead Guitar with Square-end
5 5-28-2011
Love these tuners!

I recently purchased a now discontinued Fullerton parlor guitar on eBay. It was equipped with very "run of the mill" tuning machines... I wanted very much to maintain the vintage look and feel of a late 19th century Martin that the Fullerton was modeled after! And these Golden Age tuners really fit the bill! They function beautifully and as someone mentioned in an earlier review, the guitars resonance and timbre has even improved! Thank you Stewmac for carrying such a great product!

rkittma  Oakland, CA
Behlen Naphtha Solvent
Behlen Naphtha Solvent
5 5-28-2011
YOU WANT IT CLEAN

This item is a must, don't even start a project without it. If it is not clean when staining a fingerboard that stain will come up you must remember the oil and the dirt on the board has been there for a long time and will serve as a repellant using Naphtha will cure the problem it cleans the wood so it is able to take the stain the way it should. And guess what no residue stain on your fingers. Try this you wont be sorry

Harv  Arnold Missouri Read my reviews (3)
Black Fingerboard Stain
Black Fingerboard Stain
5 5-28-2011
YOU GOTTA BUY THIS

I work on prewar banjos 9 times out of 10 the finger boards are split i like keeping everything to original this allows you to save that fingerboard with the help of timbermate Rustic Ebony for fill along with this dye it looks like it is new you have to clean the board or it wont work properly i apply to the wood when about 3/4 dry i work it in with 400 silicone sand paper taking a cloth and rubed what i just sanded it works it into the wood i wipe it clean and apply a couple of more coats

Then just before it drys i dab a cloth on it later i get super fine steel wool 0000 and lightly buff you will get a wonderful finish again if you are not getting your supplies here you are really missing out

Harv  Arnold Missouri Read my reviews (3)
Radius Gauges
Radius Gauges
4 5-27-2011
Radius Gauges

useful tool

Gilton ss  Brazil Read my reviews (18)
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 5-27-2011
Easy to use

Cuts and forms easy. Good conductivity and does exactly what it is suppose to do. I did both the cavity and the pick guard. Really made a difference.

Riclin  Niagara Falls, Ont. Canada Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Foam Polishing Pads
Foam Polishing Pads
5 5-27-2011
Work great, but

These things are fantastic for small shops and large but, can you find a way to stop the splatter? LOL

Thanks STEWMAC

Doug A  Bordentown, NJ Read my reviews (3)
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
1 5-27-2011
I should have listened about the screws

When I ordered these I made a mental note to watch out for the screws. Of course once they got here I forgot all about that and tried to install them. Three broken screws later I'm back with a bad report.

I'm not superman, and wasn't trying to make them especially tight. The holes in my Maple strat neck (MIM, 50th anniversary) were drilled by Fender so there should have fit.

When the first two broke I thought I'd stripped the wood; it wasn't until the 3rd once broke that I pulled them all out and realized they had broken off below the surface.

These screws are about as strong as cheese. In such an expensive set of tuners there's just no excuse to pack junk like this. Since they apparently pack them in-house it would be easy for this seller to ship some better screws. I won't be buying here again.

John B  Cupertino CA
Turbo Tune
Turbo Tune
5 5-27-2011
handy

Most useful (to me) was detaching the socket and dropping it into a slow-speed, battery-driven screw-driver.

Attached to the handle, I found the handle a tad long (from the socket) - to wind without 'wobble'.

aNovitiate  Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 15401 – 15425
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  616  617  618  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce