Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15401 – 15425
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  616  617  618  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
4 5-31-2011
great value

for the builder who only need a few bits, these pattern bits work perfectly for control cavity routing, pickup cavities, everything. of course they can't route most neck pockets, as they are too small. For every other cavity, they are perfect.

bob1319  Read my reviews (2)
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
5 5-31-2011
This is a NECESSITY tool for fret jobs.

All I can say is wow!!! I finally got the 16 inch fret leveler and 220 sand paper. This tool made fret leveling fun instead of such a long process and with a little elbow grease the frets were leveled in no time. Thanks Stewmac you're awesome!!!

gear_head  usa Read my reviews (4)
Electric Guitar & Bass Design
Electric Guitar & Bass Design
5 5-31-2011
Great book essential for all luthier

easy to read with clear examples to teach design any type of solid-body instrument.
Highly recommended

Guido Medina  Argentina
Customer supplied image for review
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
5 5-31-2011
excellent and simple upgrade

These saddles are a big improvement from my stock mexican 50's tele. I did the install and set up myself - quick and easy. The intonation is near perfect and they look great. I can't say I noticed any big difference in tone or sustain, but the guitar is more playable and balanced.

teletom  USA
Humbucker Bobbin Mounting Screw
Humbucker Bobbin Mounting Screw
5 5-31-2011
superb quality and amazing price

superb quality and amazing price

4 seasons pickups  Netherlands Read my reviews (11)
Binding Tape
Binding Tape
5 5-31-2011
EXCELLENT

superb quality and amazing price

4 seasons pickups  Netherlands Read my reviews (11)
Customer supplied image for review
Pickup Covers for Strat
Pickup Covers for Strat
5 5-31-2011
superb quality and amazing price

superb quality and amazing price

4 seasons pickups  Netherlands Read my reviews (11)
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
4 5-31-2011
Clear & well-balanced

Recently installed a pair of Golden Age humbuckers in a custom built walnut solid body with a string through TOM bridge, 500K CTS pots, .022uf Sprague orange drop caps, master vol, 2 tone pots. Tone is so subjective and colored by so many different factors it can be difficult to compare pickups. I will say that having used many different stock Fender, Gibson, etc., plus Dimarzio, Seymour Duncan, and EMG pickups; the Golden Age humbuckers give great bang for the buck, especially if you generate most of your tone from your hands, guitar and amp rather than through a ton of pedals. Both pickups are lively, musical, have great string to string clarity, and have "personality." The neck pickup is clear, not muddy, yet warm. The bridge pickup is great for crunchy chord work with surprising depth-- not at all thin. Well balanced as a set-- no drop off in volume or tone with both selected. Dead quiet into the amp or direct into a recording console.

One possible issue for those looking for a super saturated, distorted sound, is that when run through some effects that add a lot of boost, they can be noisy and prone to feedback. I'm assuming that this is not a ground issue as they are very quiet run straight into the amp or recording console.

Dan O  St Louis, MO Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
4 5-31-2011
Great idea, but fragile

I purchased the thinnest, .015" version. Works great to finish off TOM bridge slots, but prone to breakage. May not be as big an issue with the larger diameter versions. Great idea, and works well-- I'll try a larger diameter next time.

Dan O  St Louis, MO Read my reviews (6)
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
1 5-31-2011
Disappointing

Have purchased a wide variety of high quality Stewmac products, but this neck template disappoints. It is deliberately cut oversized in order to accommodate variances in individual neck widths. In theory, a good idea, but in practice can create problems. Directions say to build up inside edges of template with tape until a tight fit with neck is achieved. I did so, but while routing a test pocket, the heat of the router bit bearing melted the tape adhesive which caused it to come loose, and the bit jumped, cutting into the acrylic, ruining the template. I ended up just tracing and cutting my own MDF template which worked well.

Dan O  St Louis, MO Read my reviews (6)
3M Double-stick Tape
3M Double-stick Tape
5 5-31-2011
Must Have

Excellent product. Holds templates securely, without leaving a ton of sticky residue. Very thin (but tough), so does not throw off measurements. Have used extensively with acrylic and MDF templates while routing/cutting. Highly recommended.

Dan O  St Louis, MO Read my reviews (6)
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
5 5-31-2011
They Work Great On Ekontings

I've been playing banjo for over thirty years, so when I decided to design an ekonting (the West African instrument) with tuners, I naturally gravitated to Five-Star tuners. I use two 5th pegs on the sides of my necks and one standard, straight-through tuner. That's it-- three strings. The Five-Star tuners are easy to work with and have always worked well for me. I always replace the knobs (I agree, the stock knobs are very unattractive), and I haven't had issues as others have mentioned with the replacement knobs being too tight. I have used the ebony knobs. I wonder if this is a recent development (I still have some which are probably two years old). Tried to use Waverly, but they cut the nylon strings. So, I have one steel string ekonting. Fun.

Paul Sedgwick  Boston
Customer supplied image for review
A Master Class In Acoustic Guitar Making
A Master Class In Acoustic Guitar Making
5 5-31-2011
Fine Guitar Building Course

I ordered this course because it looked better than the others. It is, in my opinion, the best. I have read other reviews that criticize Chris Wynne because he didn't cover finishing well enough, or using various kinds of trim. Hey, the guy is teaching how to build a fine instrument and he has done that very well. Order one today and don't be afraid. It was money well spent.
Thank you Chris!

hardboiled  Leominster, Massachusetts USA
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
5 5-31-2011
nice tool

needs a bit of tweeking before you get started, but once you are set. There's no easier way to get perfect fret slots.

Triskel Workshop  Antwerp, Belgium Read my reviews (17)
Customer supplied image for review
Nut and Saddle Vise
Nut and Saddle Vise
5 5-31-2011
nice tool

perfect, as expected. This is a must have in any luthery workshop

Triskel Workshop  Antwerp, Belgium Read my reviews (17)
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
1 5-31-2011
Rosewood rainbow

These bindings don't reach the required standard. I ordered 6 pcs, and none of them match by color to each other, so unable to use the on the same guitar

Triskel Workshop  Antwerp, Belgium Read my reviews (17)
StewMac responds

Triskel Worskshop, We're sorry to hear your bindings arrived mismatched. We're happy to provide you with some free replacements. We'll have our technicians special pick them to make certain this doesn't happen again. We appreciate your feedback and your business.

Customer supplied image for review
Hipshot Tremsetter
Hipshot Tremsetter
1 5-31-2011
Disappointing

This was a very disappointing purchase. I installed this on a strat style guitar with a Wilkinson. Have wondered for ages if these were any good, but now I know I needn't have bothered.

It does help slightly with tuning stability, but at a HUGE trade off. I now find that the range of movement has a distinct "clunk" in feel as the trem-setter "engages" which is not pleasant and has taken the subtly out of any movement. I also had to drill a hole in the guitar body to fit this!!! Not worth it :-(

Dave (Union Guitars)  Australia Read my reviews (3)
Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
5 5-30-2011
My Classical is reborn

I recently installed these tuners on my basic classical guitar with only a little use of a round file.
This guitar stays in tune better than when it was new! Thanks.

LarryI  Staten Island
Peghead Bushing Reamers
Peghead Bushing Reamers
5 5-30-2011
Peghead Bushing Reamers

A must for any busy repair shop. Clean and precise counterbore for any bushing you might encounter.

The Guitar Doctor  Reading, PA. Read my reviews (3)
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
5 5-30-2011
replacement neck skeptic

when I first viewed the replacement necks I was a little skeptic about ordering because I was trying to assemble a guitar from three different manufacturers. I bolted the neck up temporary, marked my spots to drill the anchor posts for my tremolo, which I also ordered from StewMac and proceeded to install tremolo. I bolted the neck on to the body with my neck plate on, put strings on, adjusted my tremolo posts tuned the guitar and played a gig. the nut was already in place and the string grooves cut, I did not have to re-cut or fill the grooves, they play like I built the neck and then hand cut my nut grooves. GREAT JOB. Mike

MOF Instruments  Greenwood, Ar Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Wilkinson/Gotoh VS-100N Tremolo
Wilkinson/Gotoh VS-100N Tremolo
4 5-30-2011
tremolo installation

This is a great tremolo and it would have gotten an excellent rating except I feel that wilkinson/ gotoh should include a drilling template with the purchase of this tremolo. I drilled this for the anchor posts and was found to be 1/16 off on my set side so I had to fill the bodywith 3/8 dowel rod and redrill. It Might be my mistake but with a drilling template there would have been no mistake. MIke

MOF Instruments  Greenwood, Ar Read my reviews (8)
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 5-30-2011
Good product

it really worth the price. nice and easy product to use on your instrument

Jacques Brisson  Rouyn-Noranda Que
Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
5 5-30-2011
Best bang for my buck!!

I looked around at other vises and this price was by far the cheapest but only in price!! I can't believe I lived without this in my shop!!!

DAM Guitars  Canada
Binding Tape
Binding Tape
5 5-30-2011
binding tape

Good and sturdy. Works like a charm when doing binding jobs.

Sweden
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
4 5-30-2011
An excellent replacement for vintage tremolo

I am very happy with the Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo. I tried another brand first and was never satisfied with the stability of the bridge. This works well and I was able to float the the bridge and achieve a 1 1/2 step pull from open G to Bb as well as the regular vibrato effect. Purchase a set of locking tuners as well. You will need them for the best stability.

SeanV  Manchester, NH Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 15401 – 15425
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  616  617  618  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce