Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15376 – 15400
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  615  616  617  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Hipshot Tremsetter
Hipshot Tremsetter
1 5-31-2011
Disappointing

This was a very disappointing purchase. I installed this on a strat style guitar with a Wilkinson. Have wondered for ages if these were any good, but now I know I needn't have bothered.

It does help slightly with tuning stability, but at a HUGE trade off. I now find that the range of movement has a distinct "clunk" in feel as the trem-setter "engages" which is not pleasant and has taken the subtly out of any movement. I also had to drill a hole in the guitar body to fit this!!! Not worth it :-(

Dave (Union Guitars)  Australia Read my reviews (3)
Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
5 5-30-2011
My Classical is reborn

I recently installed these tuners on my basic classical guitar with only a little use of a round file.
This guitar stays in tune better than when it was new! Thanks.

LarryI  Staten Island
Peghead Bushing Reamers
Peghead Bushing Reamers
5 5-30-2011
Peghead Bushing Reamers

A must for any busy repair shop. Clean and precise counterbore for any bushing you might encounter.

The Guitar Doctor  Reading, PA. Read my reviews (3)
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
5 5-30-2011
replacement neck skeptic

when I first viewed the replacement necks I was a little skeptic about ordering because I was trying to assemble a guitar from three different manufacturers. I bolted the neck up temporary, marked my spots to drill the anchor posts for my tremolo, which I also ordered from StewMac and proceeded to install tremolo. I bolted the neck on to the body with my neck plate on, put strings on, adjusted my tremolo posts tuned the guitar and played a gig. the nut was already in place and the string grooves cut, I did not have to re-cut or fill the grooves, they play like I built the neck and then hand cut my nut grooves. GREAT JOB. Mike

MOF Instruments  Greenwood, Ar Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Wilkinson/Gotoh VS-100N Tremolo
Wilkinson/Gotoh VS-100N Tremolo
4 5-30-2011
tremolo installation

This is a great tremolo and it would have gotten an excellent rating except I feel that wilkinson/ gotoh should include a drilling template with the purchase of this tremolo. I drilled this for the anchor posts and was found to be 1/16 off on my set side so I had to fill the bodywith 3/8 dowel rod and redrill. It Might be my mistake but with a drilling template there would have been no mistake. MIke

MOF Instruments  Greenwood, Ar Read my reviews (8)
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 5-30-2011
Good product

it really worth the price. nice and easy product to use on your instrument

Jacques Brisson  Rouyn-Noranda Que
Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
5 5-30-2011
Best bang for my buck!!

I looked around at other vises and this price was by far the cheapest but only in price!! I can't believe I lived without this in my shop!!!

DAM Guitars  Canada
Binding Tape
Binding Tape
5 5-30-2011
binding tape

Good and sturdy. Works like a charm when doing binding jobs.

Sweden
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
4 5-30-2011
An excellent replacement for vintage tremolo

I am very happy with the Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo. I tried another brand first and was never satisfied with the stability of the bridge. This works well and I was able to float the the bridge and achieve a 1 1/2 step pull from open G to Bb as well as the regular vibrato effect. Purchase a set of locking tuners as well. You will need them for the best stability.

SeanV  Manchester, NH Read my reviews (3)
Grover Strap Buttons for Strap Locks
Grover Strap Buttons for Strap Locks
5 5-30-2011
Where have you been all of my life?

Well, I know where they've been. What I didn't know is that you could just get the end pins separately. Local music emporiums don't sell the pins separately, which just doesn't make sense. I have lots of guitars, but I don't need a strap for each, so thanks to StewMac for selling the straplocks and pins separately. Overall, great product and price, and no guitar should be without.

GSJ  Ottawa, ON, Canada Read my reviews (2)
Guitar String Retainers
Guitar String Retainers
4 5-30-2011
Good Value, But...

I purchased these trees for a project guitar I was building. Quality is good, however the strength of the supplied screws is lacking. I know that there was some user error (pilot hole not drilled deep enough), but when screwing into a maple headstock, the screw sheared off, leaving 3/4 of it embedded into the headstock.

Overall, not a show-stopper, but a bit of a shock, considering that this was the second to last part of the build. Drill deeper pilot holes is all I can say.

GSJ  Ottawa, ON, Canada Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Humbucker Helpers
Humbucker Helpers
4 5-30-2011
Quicker than hands alone!

This thing really speeds things along. 4 stars only because i felt kinda stupid that i couldn't figure how to use it at first and there was no instruction. I got the hang quickly though.

suncircle.music  Trinidad and Tobago Read my reviews (3)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 5-30-2011
Nice... even for the price!

I've been watching these since the price was lower. I sucks that it is higher now but still a very good product.

Really accurate PAF tone!

suncircle.music  Trinidad and Tobago Read my reviews (3)
Alpha Push-pull Pots
Alpha Push-pull Pots
5 5-29-2011
Good quality pots!

I replaced old noisy pot in my japan superstrat with this one and now it works smooth and silent.

Eugene_O  Russia, Novosibirsk
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
4 5-29-2011
Another fine tool from Stewmac

Well constructed and very effective for fretting.

Gerry A.  Australia Read my reviews (4)
Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
5 5-29-2011
That extra pair of hands you always wanted.

I've put off buying this because of the cost of shipping it to Australia but finally bit the bullet and got one. On receiving it I found it wasn't as smooth as the one in the demo video having to turn the round handle using my whole hand rather than turning the removable handle with just my fingers. I sent an email to the service dept asking for advice on how to make the action a bit smoother and they responded immediately saying that they will send another to me at no cost. Received the second in three days and it worked as smoothly as the one in Dan's video. Excellent tool and excellent service.

Gerry A.  Australia Read my reviews (4)
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
5 5-29-2011
Very Impressed

I've been doing an upgrade on my late father-in-law's early 1960s Silvertone soprano uke. The Grover ukulele tuning machines were the perfect finish. Smooth, accurate tuning. Now that the old plastic friction tuners are gone it stays in tune.

I cut out the wooden bridge saddle and replaced it with a better saddle and put on some Aquila Nylgut strings. This little uke now sounds better than my Lanikai concert. Oh yeah, I ordered the tuners on Monday and they were here Thursday. Great service and great tuners at a reasonable price. Can't ask for more than that.

Michael H.  Austin
Small Guitar Sitka Spruce Soundboard
Small Guitar Sitka Spruce Soundboard
4 5-29-2011
AA Soundboard

Overall, I'm quite satisfied with this wood. Beautiful, even color and tight grain for being a lower grade. As a beginner, I feel comfortable with possibly making some mistakes on this board as it would be inexpensive to replace, but will also look great if I do a good job in the end! Best of both worlds...

Ty  Portland, Oregon
Gotoh Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Oval Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
5 5-29-2011
Excellent value

I used these on a self-build, and they're excellent. holds tune well, nice tight action.

Robb  Ambridge, PA, USA Read my reviews (8)
Kluson Waffleback Guitar Machines
Kluson Waffleback Guitar Machines
5 5-29-2011
Kluson Waffleback etc

Well made, an excellent product and again brilliant delivery

Mersea  England Read my reviews (4)
Fret Press Inserts
Fret Press Inserts
5 5-29-2011
Fret Press Inserts

Very good product and once again delivery excellent

Mersea  England Read my reviews (4)
Mounting Bracket for Mandolin Pickguard
Mounting Bracket for Mandolin Pickguard
5 5-29-2011
To be expected.

As always, quick and friendly service. Never any complaints on my end in 15 or more years as a customer.

Budrocket  Bristol, VA
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 5-29-2011
String Spacing rule

Again an excellent product and delivery to UK second to none, many thanks

Mersea  England Read my reviews (4)
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 5-29-2011
Vintage Bone Nuts

Impressive quality and a very fast service to UK

Mersea  England Read my reviews (4)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 5-29-2011
Gauged nut files

I have ten guitars and love to experiment, i own just about every profile of mini files, they have all been shelved since i got the right tool for the right job. Could've saved allot of heartaches, and now i love showing them off.

Lunatic  Cornwall Ontario Canada Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 15376 – 15400
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  615  616  617  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce