Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15376 – 15400
of 21051 reviews
< 1  ...  615  616  617  ...  843 >
Sort reviews by

Essential Fretting Kit
Essential Fretting Kit
5 6-02-2011
Essential Fretting Kit

Great kit and I used everything in it. I also bought the depth gauge and radius block. I was able to radius a flat fret board and drop in the frets. Every tool worked as described in the book. Hammered them in place, leveled them, rounded the tops, cleaned the edges, checked for high spots and finished / polished. Just super.

MarcMaria  San Jose CA Read my reviews (6)
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
5 6-02-2011
Wood Radius Block

Great tool - I used this along with self stick sand paper to radius a flat fret board. Took it right down. Really easy to control and gave a nice radius up and down the board. I also used it to clamp the neck down after resetting it. Highly recommended and worked super for me.

MarcMaria  San Jose CA Read my reviews (6)
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
5 6-02-2011
Fret Slot Depth Gauge

Great gadget - I used this along with a fret saw to get just the right depth. Worked great. Highly recommended so you don't over or under cut.

MarcMaria  San Jose CA Read my reviews (6)
Fret Slotting Miter Box
Fret Slotting Miter Box
5 6-01-2011
Fretboard miter box & template

Over the years I've made fifty guitars, banjos and ukuleles, measuring and doing the frets by hand. Had I but known, I would have purchased this miter box and templates years ago! They're terrific, well worth the money!

Larry  Santa Maria, Ca Read my reviews (5)
Laminated Wood Purfling
Laminated Wood Purfling
5 6-01-2011
Laminated wood purfling

Consistent dimensions and so much more user friendly than plastic purfling. A luthier can count on the glue holding!

KC  Henderson, NV Read my reviews (3)
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
4 6-01-2011
Fret Tang Nipper

Very nice piece of equipment; minor filing and you are ready to go....4 1/2 stars!

KC  Henderson, NV Read my reviews (3)
Drawbolts
Drawbolts
5 6-01-2011
Stew Mac Draw Bolts

I use the Stew Mac draw bolts and hinges on my banjo cases that I build for my mini banjos. They work great!
Marvin Walker

BanjoMaker  Kinston, NC Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
SAE Mounting Nuts
SAE Mounting Nuts
5 6-01-2011
Better than stock nuts

These grip better and are tougher than the stock nuts on most guitars. If you have a few pots you want to use that don't have enough nuts to adjust the pots' height in a pickguard, this will fix that problem. Good to have handy.

Ben Young  Lancaster, PA
3-on-Plate Waverly Machines for Slotted Pegheads
3-on-Plate Waverly Machines for Slotted Pegheads
5 6-01-2011
waverly tuners

For my money they're the best there is, and made in America. These went on a custom resonator guitar. In the past I bought 2 sets, disassembled them, mounted the gears on a 12 string base I machined from bronze. Now I have a 1969 Martin D-12-35 with Waverly tuners. Can't beat that.

luthier magic  Gilroy, CA
Neck Joint Steamer
Neck Joint Steamer
5 6-01-2011
Neck Joint Steamer

I've hooked mine to a wallpaper stripper. The long hose (about 10 feet) in coils acts as a condenser to knock out unwanted water. It's very powerful and very quick. No puller jig needed...just a little wiggling.

Bob Long  England Read my reviews (7)
Mini Cam Clamp
Mini Cam Clamp
4 6-01-2011
Very handy little item

Very convenient for the purpose intended. Not a lot of clamping pressure, but you don't need much to hold a Bridge in place.

Dave Snider  Advance, North Carolina Read my reviews (7)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 6-01-2011
1937 Kay Acoustic Guitar

Mounted a P-90 in this old Kay. Not quite finished but the sound is dynamic.

Jim Heintz  Plano, Texas Read my reviews (2)
Nut and Saddle Vise
Nut and Saddle Vise
5 6-01-2011
Don't know How I made it without it

I work on a lot of small things but never really thought about it much, except when working with blank nuts. This vise is perfect for for cutting and filing nuts, but found so many more useful things to do with it(electronic and mechanical projects). It has very heavy construction so you don't have to worry about damaging it. For light work, I use it by itself, but when filing nuts or heavier work I mount it in my vise. This thing has saved me a bunch of time and made my work easier.

Guyfergy  Westminster, MD
Gotoh Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh 'Stop' Tailpiece
5 6-01-2011
Great Tailpiece

I have no complaints about this tailpiece so far; it seems to be of very high quality.

A. Lucas  Canada Read my reviews (27)
How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
4 6-01-2011
Good Video

Good video - but I wish it had gone into much more detail about wiring vintage instruments from the beginning. Regardless, good tool for someone just learning how to wire up a Les Paul.

A. Lucas  Canada Read my reviews (27)
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Bleached White Bone Saddles
5 6-01-2011
Good saddles

Arrived promptly and was exactly the dimensions advertised (i needed a 2.5mm thick saddle to fit in perfectly to a friends guitar). Yet again a great service from SM

Toby Carter  UK Read my reviews (8)
Unslotted Fingerboard for Guitar
Unslotted Fingerboard for Guitar
5 6-01-2011
Fantastic grain, beautiful rosewood

VERY impressed here StewMac - the price is so good for this rosewood I just had to order. When it arrived I was absolutely stunned by how straight and colorful the grain pattern was. For less than £9 GBP its a bargain. Thank you

Toby Carter  UK Read my reviews (8)
Strap Button Felt Washers
Strap Button Felt Washers
5 6-01-2011
Good value, just the job

What can i say? Does exactly what it says on the tin.

Toby Carter  UK Read my reviews (8)
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files
5 6-01-2011
Great fretwork

Very happy with the purchase of the set of 3 triangular fret files - tidying fret ends is now a pleasure and takes 15 minutes as opposed to the half day it used to take me when messing around with sanding blocks and regular needle files. You won't regret buying these.

Toby Carter  UK Read my reviews (8)
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 6-01-2011
Nice Nuts!!! ;)

In my guitars, I only use "Bone" and Stew Mac is where I buy it!!!

G'Zan Custom Guitars  Columbia TN Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 6-01-2011
Great Wire!!!

Using this for my first Bass build. A modern version of a '51 "Tele" Bass. No issues at all...I'll use it again!

G'Zan Custom Guitars  Columbia TN Read my reviews (2)
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
5 6-01-2011
Excellent... SPEEDY shipping!

these work great on the previous Schaller strap locks I had... and with 21 guitars, saved me a bundle!!

KRUSH  Knoxville, TN
Tremolo Tension Spring
Tremolo Tension Spring
5 6-01-2011
Perfect fit

I added two of these springs to the existing 3 on my Fender Starcaster. Then I screwed in the claw to deck the tremolo bridge. Sustain seems improved and the springs fit perfectly.

ras1500  Queen Creek, AZ Read my reviews (3)
Snakewood Bridge Pins
Snakewood Bridge Pins
5 6-01-2011
Snakewood Bridge Pins

Ive been looking for something cool to use for bridge pins, I thought Id try snakewoods with no dot, I like them. Im thinking about ordering more sets so I can get the color uniformed, and then I could have a selection of color sets for other guitars. The snakewood pin color varies per set, i recieved 3 different shades of brown with a set of 6,

Troy D  Gering, Ne
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
5 6-01-2011
Life Saver

I'm a rookie and made a fretboard with dragon tails inlaid into it - the first fret I tried to inlay with a hammer BUSTED my inlays - a friend suggested this fret caul from Stew Mac and some filing beforehand and DANG! the frets were done in about an hour - thanks StewMac!

VirgilGuitar  Tampa, FL Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 15376 – 15400
of 21051 reviews
< 1  ...  615  616  617  ...  843 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce