Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15301 – 15325
of 20953 reviews
< 1  ...  612  613  614  ...  839 >
Sort reviews by

Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
5 6-01-2011
excellent

I always wanted to try a clear pick guard and this was a great choice. Perfectly shaped, professionally packaged, and a snap to install. Thanks!

nickton  San Pablo, CA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Shellac
ColorTone Shellac
5 6-01-2011
great shellac

excellent product.

nickton  San Pablo, CA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
4 6-01-2011
Tinted lacquers were excellent, but the black had problems.

My son was building a bass guitar for his senior project, and he wanted to do a sunburst finish on it. After reviewing the Trade Secret on doing a spray can sunburst finish, we were slightly less intimidated to give it a try. The tinted lacquers worked perfectly and sprayed in a nice fine mist when warmed. The black however, was a different story.

We just couldn't keep it from splattering and it went on too thick even when warmed. As a result, we weren't able to get the fading effect on the black edge. Unfortunately, we had to finish it due to his deadline, but we'll probably refinish it later and try it again with a different brand of black.

Other than that, the tinted lacquers were great. We used the vintage amber and cherry red, and the colors were beautiful.

Sam Scheffer  Missoula, MT
Customer supplied image for review
Speed Knob
Speed Knob
5 6-01-2011
Great

Great

Paulo Guilherme  Rio de Janeiro - Brazil Read my reviews (5)
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
5 6-01-2011
Great

Great

Paulo Guilherme  Rio de Janeiro - Brazil Read my reviews (5)
Battery Box
Battery Box
5 6-01-2011
Battery Box

Very impressed with Stewmac's order process and timely shipping, battery box worked perfect.

chuckbass  Pontotoc, Ms
Dome Knob
Dome Knob
5 6-01-2011
Perfect Knobs

Ordered the chrome replacement knobs for my 1968 Fender Mustang bass and they fix perfectly, look great, work fine and were delivered on time as promised. This is typical of every order I have made with Stew Mac.

CraigB  Black Mountain NC
Right-angle Metric Toggle Switch
Right-angle Metric Toggle Switch
4 6-01-2011
Switch

Excellent switch, but really needs a second grub screw to be able to set the switch at the right projection through the scratch plate.
To be really picky, the knurling is a little different from the originals, but at this price it is a small detail.

Alan St. Clair  Portugal
Ghost Prewired Saddle Pickup Set
Ghost Prewired Saddle Pickup Set
5 6-01-2011
Love em!

At last, No more dropped volumes on my Variax. These aren’t my first set of Graphtech products. I have already upgraded (can’t stress that word enough) two guitars with string savers, but this is the my first Ghost set and I think it may not be my last.

I got these to replace the original LR Baggs Variax saddles, those were very bad. “Clunky/metaly” sound quality to the Baggs were surly not missed, even worst I had dropped volume on one saddle and varied with the trem arm movement.

The volume jumped, L6 Workbench is a must to lower the overall volume of the Ghost system to avoid muddy distorted sounds. The Variax modeling quality did not get affected, sound is particularly smother on some modes of the Variax. Nice wide response on the acoustic modes, love the mids.

Would definitely recommend. Installation was a @#$@# though, but can’t complain, if they were installed on their own Ghraphtech system it would have been hassle free.

And as always, StewMac service and shipping speed is AMAZING

Nael 
Erlewine Neck Jig
Erlewine Neck Jig
5 6-01-2011
A must have tool!!!!

Hi Dan and all the guys at Stew Mac. For anyone who is a pro or just starting out in the field of lutherie, the Neck Jig is a must have. My fret work has become more accurate resulting in return work and new customers. Not only is the neck jig great for fret work, but it is fantastic for keeping a guitar stable while performing internal brace repairs and other internal work. If you purchase this product the purchase will soon pay for itself!!!

A big thanks to you guys for your speedy service. My orders are on my door within five days. The post in Australia is not that quick!!

Kind regards

Pete Bek, Airlie Beach, Australia

Pete Bek  Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Oval Jack Plate
Oval Jack Plate
4 6-01-2011
Not flat but not that curved either

The curvature of this jack plate was not as much as I'd expected. But after screwing it into my guitar it conformed to the slightly deeper curve of the my guitar's body without cracking the gold plating finish so worked out fine.

Andy  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Dome Knob
Dome Knob
5 6-01-2011
Measure twice

I measured the shaft on the Vol and Tone pots for my guitar and it was 6 mm. I ordered the 0169-G 6mm shaft gold dome knobs (gold finish looks like it will last a good long time) and they fit absolutely perfectly. Stays on tight with the set screw. If there's anything I've learned from ordering from Stewmac it's do your homework and measure twice and make sure you order the right sized part.

Andy  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
5 6-01-2011
Perfect for EMG 81

I purchased this pickup ring for an EMG 81 bridge pickup. I was concerned about the inside "cutout" area not being big enough for the EMG 81 as I had bought another metal pickup ring from a guitar repair shop and had to file it a lot to get the EMG to fit. But this pickup ring fit perfectly with the EMG 81 and all 4 holes lined up. Seems very solid and the gold finish looks like it will hold up for a good long time. Looks great with my black guitar!

Andy  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
5 6-01-2011
Works great

Bought this arm and arm holder kit to replace the arm from my old Original Floyd Rose that had the original screw-in type arm. The arm had become very sloppy and noisy (could hear the noise of the arm swinging back and forth thru my pickups).

To replace the arm holder, all strings must be loosened and the Floyd Rose removed to get access to other half of the the tremolo arm holder on the bottom of the bridge. I did the replacement while I was changing strings to save time. I removed the old tremolo arm holder with two pairs of pliers, and installed the new one using the allen wrench I use to tighten up the Floyd's nut and string locks. Took about 5 minutes to replace the arm holder, and it fit perfectly, no routing needed of the trem block cavity to make it fit. Does not seem sloppy or loose as others have mentioned. Works great!

Andy  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
4 5-31-2011
great value

for the builder who only need a few bits, these pattern bits work perfectly for control cavity routing, pickup cavities, everything. of course they can't route most neck pockets, as they are too small. For every other cavity, they are perfect.

bob1319  Read my reviews (2)
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
5 5-31-2011
This is a NECESSITY tool for fret jobs.

All I can say is wow!!! I finally got the 16 inch fret leveler and 220 sand paper. This tool made fret leveling fun instead of such a long process and with a little elbow grease the frets were leveled in no time. Thanks Stewmac you're awesome!!!

gear_head  usa Read my reviews (4)
Electric Guitar & Bass Design
Electric Guitar & Bass Design
5 5-31-2011
Great book essential for all luthier

easy to read with clear examples to teach design any type of solid-body instrument.
Highly recommended

Guido Medina  Argentina
Customer supplied image for review
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
5 5-31-2011
excellent and simple upgrade

These saddles are a big improvement from my stock mexican 50's tele. I did the install and set up myself - quick and easy. The intonation is near perfect and they look great. I can't say I noticed any big difference in tone or sustain, but the guitar is more playable and balanced.

teletom  USA
Humbucker Bobbin Mounting Screw
Humbucker Bobbin Mounting Screw
5 5-31-2011
superb quality and amazing price

superb quality and amazing price

4 seasons pickups  Netherlands Read my reviews (11)
Binding Tape
Binding Tape
5 5-31-2011
EXCELLENT

superb quality and amazing price

4 seasons pickups  Netherlands Read my reviews (11)
Customer supplied image for review
Pickup Covers for Strat
Pickup Covers for Strat
5 5-31-2011
superb quality and amazing price

superb quality and amazing price

4 seasons pickups  Netherlands Read my reviews (11)
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
4 5-31-2011
Clear & well-balanced

Recently installed a pair of Golden Age humbuckers in a custom built walnut solid body with a string through TOM bridge, 500K CTS pots, .022uf Sprague orange drop caps, master vol, 2 tone pots. Tone is so subjective and colored by so many different factors it can be difficult to compare pickups. I will say that having used many different stock Fender, Gibson, etc., plus Dimarzio, Seymour Duncan, and EMG pickups; the Golden Age humbuckers give great bang for the buck, especially if you generate most of your tone from your hands, guitar and amp rather than through a ton of pedals. Both pickups are lively, musical, have great string to string clarity, and have "personality." The neck pickup is clear, not muddy, yet warm. The bridge pickup is great for crunchy chord work with surprising depth-- not at all thin. Well balanced as a set-- no drop off in volume or tone with both selected. Dead quiet into the amp or direct into a recording console.

One possible issue for those looking for a super saturated, distorted sound, is that when run through some effects that add a lot of boost, they can be noisy and prone to feedback. I'm assuming that this is not a ground issue as they are very quiet run straight into the amp or recording console.

Dan O  St Louis, MO Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
4 5-31-2011
Great idea, but fragile

I purchased the thinnest, .015" version. Works great to finish off TOM bridge slots, but prone to breakage. May not be as big an issue with the larger diameter versions. Great idea, and works well-- I'll try a larger diameter next time.

Dan O  St Louis, MO Read my reviews (6)
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
1 5-31-2011
Disappointing

Have purchased a wide variety of high quality Stewmac products, but this neck template disappoints. It is deliberately cut oversized in order to accommodate variances in individual neck widths. In theory, a good idea, but in practice can create problems. Directions say to build up inside edges of template with tape until a tight fit with neck is achieved. I did so, but while routing a test pocket, the heat of the router bit bearing melted the tape adhesive which caused it to come loose, and the bit jumped, cutting into the acrylic, ruining the template. I ended up just tracing and cutting my own MDF template which worked well.

Dan O  St Louis, MO Read my reviews (6)
3M Double-stick Tape
3M Double-stick Tape
5 5-31-2011
Must Have

Excellent product. Holds templates securely, without leaving a ton of sticky residue. Very thin (but tough), so does not throw off measurements. Have used extensively with acrylic and MDF templates while routing/cutting. Highly recommended.

Dan O  St Louis, MO Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 15301 – 15325
of 20953 reviews
< 1  ...  612  613  614  ...  839 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce