Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15301 – 15325
of 21028 reviews
< 1  ...  612  613  614  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
4 6-05-2011
First time .

Got these so I could adjust a compensating nut and though it was my first time I made a respectable job off it. I will buy more to give me a wider range.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar
5 6-05-2011
Brilliant service from Stew-Mac

Beautiful neck, perfectly finished. First one got lost in UK customs but a replacement was shipped out with no quibbles, by courier at no cost to me, as soon as available. Thanks again Karen.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
5 6-05-2011
Brilliant and original.

Used these on my Telecaster clone. Look great and work even better.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
Guitar String Ferrules
Guitar String Ferrules
5 6-05-2011
Tight fit.

These did an excellent job but are a tight fit in the body. Luckily I had had the fore thought to make an aluminium drift, which allowed me to tap them in. Would have been difficult without drift.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele
5 6-05-2011
Screws a bit too long.

Excellent, heavy brass bridge with nice finish. Height adjusting screws were a bit too long for my set up but I guess Gotoh have to allow for all installations. Better too long than too short.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
4 6-05-2011
Roller string trees.

Not as nice looking as all chrome ones but work well and hold strings nice and close to peghead.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
5 6-05-2011
Grover Sta-tites

Anyone who gives these less than 5 stars is not paying attention. You get about $75.00 worth of tuner for about 1/2 that price, and they look great. The 18:1 ratio makes fine tuning a snap. They come stock on all my acoustics.

Larry Nair, Tahoe Guitar Co.  Gardnerville NV Read my reviews (7)
Bone Bridge Pins
Bone Bridge Pins
5 6-05-2011
Great bridge pins

These pins are precision machined, and they just have that feel of quality. Good color match in the three sets I've bought so far. I like 'em....!!

Larry Nair, Tahoe Guitar Co.  Gardnerville NV Read my reviews (7)
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 3L/3R
5 6-04-2011
Lock, Lock, It's There

This is my second set of these tuners and I can't say enough about them. I put them on my first project guitar ten years ago and they're still working great. I love that you can just stick the string in, lock it down and tune up. I can leave my other guitar in its case for a month, come back to it and it's still in tune. Great tuners!

Porterhouse Pat  Charleston, IL Read my reviews (3)
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 6-04-2011
No Twisting Your Arm

The worst thing about the Hot Rod truss rod is shaping the truss rod channel. That is to say, I had no problems installing this item. It worked great and slipped right in once the channel had been cut to the correct dimensions. A great product. I used it in a mahogany neck on my custom Les Paul-shaped project guitar.

Porterhouse Pat  Charleston, IL Read my reviews (3)
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
5 6-04-2011
A Rosewood by any other name

I recently ordered this product from StewMac for a Les Paul/Gretsch 6128 project. The items arrived quickly and the fingerboard had a beautiful grain pattern which will enhance my project. I strongly recommend this product and company.

Porterhouse Pat  Charleston, IL Read my reviews (3)
Traditional Truss Rod Kit
Traditional Truss Rod Kit
4 6-04-2011
Simple et éfficace

Je fais des manches 24 cases,et fais déboucher la tige dans le talon. ce système me permet de fabriquer une tige de réglage à la longueur voulue. D'autre part, bien positionné au fond de sa cavité et recouvert d'une baguette de bois, il ne force pas sur la touche.

Fred Mai  Nice, France Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
4 6-04-2011
tusq nut

the gibson style nut should be a little thicker on the base like a 1/4 of an inch at least 6,3 mm. Thanks.

antonio pedro luthier  rio de janeiro brasil
Peghead Bushing Reamers
Peghead Bushing Reamers
5 6-04-2011
Essential

Produces a nice, accurate, clean cut for bushings.

desmatic  Wales, United Kingdom Read my reviews (11)
Saddlematic
Saddlematic
5 6-04-2011
Love it.

Makes bridge placement a breeze.

desmatic  Wales, United Kingdom Read my reviews (11)
Bridge Pin Hole Chamfer Tool
Bridge Pin Hole Chamfer Tool
5 6-04-2011
Works great.

Does a nice job. Very pleased with the results.

desmatic  Wales, United Kingdom Read my reviews (11)
String Lifter
String Lifter
5 6-04-2011
What's not to like?

It's a very simple little tool that makes an awkward job very easy, and without marring the instrument.

MJ  Chandler, AZ
Bolt-on Acoustic Guitar Neck
Bolt-on Acoustic Guitar Neck
3 6-04-2011
Good but not great

The good was that it was easy to work with and got a finished result that was acceptable. The part that makes it not great is that it would have been preferable to have a wider peghead for cutting out a custom shape.

The only bad thing was that the peghead holes did not line up straight and the middle holes position causes strings to slide against other tuner pegs..

GatorCSM  Tampa, Florida Read my reviews (2)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
5 6-04-2011
Work great

I have used these pots for years and never had an issue, they work great.

Rudedawg  USA Read my reviews (3)
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics 3L/3R
5 6-04-2011
Good lockers

I have used the Grover mini lockers for years on many project guitars and they work great.

Rudedawg  USA Read my reviews (3)
Schaller Classical Guitar Machines
Schaller Classical Guitar Machines
5 6-04-2011
Classical Tuning Machines-Schaller

Clean, smooth running and at the
right price for any guitar builder.

J.C. Moranville  Colorado Read my reviews (20)
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
5 6-04-2011
Very satisfied with Gotho Locking Vintage Oval Tuners

I don't get what everyone is complaining about. The only way you twist screws apart is

(a) you have the wrong screwdriver, and /or
(b) your holes are not drilled deeply or large enough.

I put these on my Fender 59 Reissue Thin Skin Stratocaster that I got from Wildwood Guitars. The screws fit perfectly, and did NOT strip or break. The Ferrels were a bit skinnier than the originals, so I wrapped one layer of scotch tape around the ferrels, and they then fit perfectly.

In fact, the complaint the guy made about the tuner shafts leaning? He probably used his original ferrels! You have to use the ones supplied with the Gotohs. You can whammy HARD with these, and you stay in tune. I couldn't be more pleased. Thanks Stew-Mac for a great price on a great product.

WALDOCASTER  Texas
Customer supplied image for review
Plastic Side Dot Material
Plastic Side Dot Material
5 6-03-2011
Side Dot Plastic

Not much you can say about a thin rod of plastic! But it works just as it should.

Pick  New Zealand Read my reviews (4)
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
5 6-03-2011
Fret Tang Nipper

This is a great little tool, reducing fretting time to about 20% of what it took filing each fret end before. It cuts accurately, and I can place and fit each fret in seconds.

Pick  New Zealand Read my reviews (4)
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 6-03-2011
Super Glue-Medium

This super glue is used on a regular basis in my shop from a piece of binding that has come loose to a fret that refuses to stay in place. It is easy to use and makes a quick dependable repair.

James E. Webb Musical Repair  Tomahawk, Kentucky
Displaying 15301 – 15325
of 21028 reviews
< 1  ...  612  613  614  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce