Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15276 – 15300
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  611  612  613  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 3L/3R
5 6-04-2011
Lock, Lock, It's There

This is my second set of these tuners and I can't say enough about them. I put them on my first project guitar ten years ago and they're still working great. I love that you can just stick the string in, lock it down and tune up. I can leave my other guitar in its case for a month, come back to it and it's still in tune. Great tuners!

Porterhouse Pat  Charleston, IL Read my reviews (3)
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 6-04-2011
No Twisting Your Arm

The worst thing about the Hot Rod truss rod is shaping the truss rod channel. That is to say, I had no problems installing this item. It worked great and slipped right in once the channel had been cut to the correct dimensions. A great product. I used it in a mahogany neck on my custom Les Paul-shaped project guitar.

Porterhouse Pat  Charleston, IL Read my reviews (3)
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
5 6-04-2011
A Rosewood by any other name

I recently ordered this product from StewMac for a Les Paul/Gretsch 6128 project. The items arrived quickly and the fingerboard had a beautiful grain pattern which will enhance my project. I strongly recommend this product and company.

Porterhouse Pat  Charleston, IL Read my reviews (3)
Traditional Truss Rod Kit
Traditional Truss Rod Kit
4 6-04-2011
Simple et éfficace

Je fais des manches 24 cases,et fais déboucher la tige dans le talon. ce système me permet de fabriquer une tige de réglage à la longueur voulue. D'autre part, bien positionné au fond de sa cavité et recouvert d'une baguette de bois, il ne force pas sur la touche.

Fred Mai  Nice, France Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
4 6-04-2011
tusq nut

the gibson style nut should be a little thicker on the base like a 1/4 of an inch at least 6,3 mm. Thanks.

antonio pedro luthier  rio de janeiro brasil
Peghead Bushing Reamers
Peghead Bushing Reamers
5 6-04-2011
Essential

Produces a nice, accurate, clean cut for bushings.

desmatic  Wales, United Kingdom Read my reviews (11)
Saddlematic
Saddlematic
5 6-04-2011
Love it.

Makes bridge placement a breeze.

desmatic  Wales, United Kingdom Read my reviews (11)
Bridge Pin Hole Chamfer Tool
Bridge Pin Hole Chamfer Tool
5 6-04-2011
Works great.

Does a nice job. Very pleased with the results.

desmatic  Wales, United Kingdom Read my reviews (11)
String Lifter
String Lifter
5 6-04-2011
What's not to like?

It's a very simple little tool that makes an awkward job very easy, and without marring the instrument.

MJ  Chandler, AZ
Bolt-on Acoustic Guitar Neck
Bolt-on Acoustic Guitar Neck
3 6-04-2011
Good but not great

The good was that it was easy to work with and got a finished result that was acceptable. The part that makes it not great is that it would have been preferable to have a wider peghead for cutting out a custom shape.

The only bad thing was that the peghead holes did not line up straight and the middle holes position causes strings to slide against other tuner pegs..

GatorCSM  Tampa, Florida Read my reviews (2)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
5 6-04-2011
Work great

I have used these pots for years and never had an issue, they work great.

Rudedawg  USA Read my reviews (3)
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics 3L/3R
5 6-04-2011
Good lockers

I have used the Grover mini lockers for years on many project guitars and they work great.

Rudedawg  USA Read my reviews (3)
Schaller Classical Guitar Machines
Schaller Classical Guitar Machines
5 6-04-2011
Classical Tuning Machines-Schaller

Clean, smooth running and at the
right price for any guitar builder.

J.C. Moranville  Colorado Read my reviews (20)
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
5 6-04-2011
Very satisfied with Gotho Locking Vintage Oval Tuners

I don't get what everyone is complaining about. The only way you twist screws apart is

(a) you have the wrong screwdriver, and /or
(b) your holes are not drilled deeply or large enough.

I put these on my Fender 59 Reissue Thin Skin Stratocaster that I got from Wildwood Guitars. The screws fit perfectly, and did NOT strip or break. The Ferrels were a bit skinnier than the originals, so I wrapped one layer of scotch tape around the ferrels, and they then fit perfectly.

In fact, the complaint the guy made about the tuner shafts leaning? He probably used his original ferrels! You have to use the ones supplied with the Gotohs. You can whammy HARD with these, and you stay in tune. I couldn't be more pleased. Thanks Stew-Mac for a great price on a great product.

WALDOCASTER  Texas
Customer supplied image for review
Plastic Side Dot Material
Plastic Side Dot Material
5 6-03-2011
Side Dot Plastic

Not much you can say about a thin rod of plastic! But it works just as it should.

Pick  New Zealand Read my reviews (4)
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
5 6-03-2011
Fret Tang Nipper

This is a great little tool, reducing fretting time to about 20% of what it took filing each fret end before. It cuts accurately, and I can place and fit each fret in seconds.

Pick  New Zealand Read my reviews (4)
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 6-03-2011
Super Glue-Medium

This super glue is used on a regular basis in my shop from a piece of binding that has come loose to a fret that refuses to stay in place. It is easy to use and makes a quick dependable repair.

James E. Webb Musical Repair  Tomahawk, Kentucky
Triple-O Guitar Kit
Triple-O Guitar Kit
5 6-03-2011
Outstanding Introduction to Building!

As a complete novice, and someone with basically zero woodworking experience, this is a fantastic kit to work with. The quality of materials is outstanding - the back, sides and top I received are beautiful, clean specimens, the neck is a gorgeous piece of mahogany, and all other elements are precisely cut and of excellent quality.

The video and booklet instructions are very thoughtfully put together so that even a completely uninitiated boob like me can follow them pretty easily. I see no reason why even an experienced builder wouldn't be very pleased with this kit. Altogether, a very, very cleverly constructed and versatile kit for a very cool body style - the 12-fret 000. And of course StewMac's customer service is invariably first rate. I would recommend this kit highly to anyone interested in building a guitar.

Total Noob  New York, NY Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
4 6-03-2011
Good but need the option of a longer version

These are great but could have been made longer. If twisting seems to be a concern a couple of reinforcement rods could be inserted. I just can't justify paying for the aluminum version that is 18" long. Being shorter doesn't seem to give you the warm and fuzzy feeling that the whole neck is uniformly covered. going over it again with my ground flat bottom bar that runs the whole length of the neck (added step) seems redundant. Overall good

Todd  Winnipeg Manitoba Read my reviews (9)
Megaswitch S-Model
Megaswitch S-Model
5 6-03-2011
Great switch made in Germany

Great switch but watch out for the shipping they don't care how little you item is they are going to $8.75 and ship it USPS.

Product Reviewe  USA
Resonator Guitar Tailpiece
Resonator Guitar Tailpiece
5 6-03-2011
Used for 8-string conversion

I bought this StewMac plated steel tailpiece after my 8-string resonator guitar had suffered three cp brass tailpiece failures in three years and had been frustratingly unusable whilst awaiting replacements from the USA.

I have bored and slotted the new StewMac 6-string steel tailpiece for the additional two strings and I'm hopeful that this tailpiece will last a lot longer than the brass units did. Tone is only marginally different with the steel tailpiece - perhaps a little less mellow.

jimbro66  UK
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 6-03-2011
Like Glass

Currently My thing is to take 20+ year old guitars which I always wanted as a kid during the 80’s (but never could afford) then rebuild and restore them to a dream like state. So I brought the entire set of Colortone Compounds to help me get there... I have found that traveling through the grits from 800 to 4000 paper (using a 1 inch by 2 inch pink pencil eraser as a sanding block) all I really need is the swirl remover to get a professional, super flat, mirrored glass finish on acrylic lacquer... Love this Swirl Remover.. An Excellent polishing compound, invaluable, and works perfectly from full finishing jobs to small re-finishing jobs. For the best results. I have found that it’s better to apply these compounds with a series of foam rotary pads sold here at Stewmac. I run them about 550rpm in a drill press for full finishing jobs; or in a cordless drill set at low rpm’s for smaller touch-up jobs. (remember to wash them out after use). But you can also apply the swirl remover with your towel covered pointin’ finger for buffing out very small problem areas. Gotta Say.. I find everything I need to get the job done right here at Stewmac... Next To build me a dream guitar from scratch – Wish Me Luck.

M.B.D.  Payson AZ
Customer supplied image for review
Schaller Replacement Knobs
Schaller Replacement Knobs
5 6-03-2011
Nice stuff, good fit

I put them on a A&L Ami from Godin and they fit nicely. Good quality, good service and fair price.

Syd  Calgary, AB
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for 12-String Slotted Peghead Guitar
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for 12-String Slotted Peghead Guitar
3 6-03-2011
Nice tuners but...

Those are nice tuners, a bit expensive and be ware of the screws - they are very soft! don't push them too much, they will be damaged

Yaron Naor  Bat Hefer, Israel Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
White Plastic Binding
White Plastic Binding
5 6-03-2011
I love your bindings. They come out amazing, and i'm new to this

i just started binding necks and doing block inlays, staining, decal, and poly finish, wetsand and buff. I just finished my second neck and it came out just as amazing as the first. Your bindings bend perfectly at the heel. When heated with hot water, without cracking or anything. Scraping them with just a razor is perfect, and making the side dots are so perfect.

I know this might sound FAKE or something because it is so positive and everything is so perfect, but it is not. I and a 33 year old guy, and i just started doing this because i couldn't afford Warmoth to install bindings for $100 dollars and blocks for another 90. Along with the basic neck for $170, and 8 weeks of waiting,and not finished without a decal for $370. I paid $6 dollars for these bindings, 1 dollar for the side dot stick, and did it all my self by watching youtube videos and reading google instructions. I wish i can post all my pics. I took pics of every step, but i'll do a before and after

Ronnie troche  New jersey
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 15276 – 15300
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  611  612  613  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce