Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15226 – 15250
of 20966 reviews
< 1  ...  609  610  611  ...  839 >
Sort reviews by

Kerfed Guitar Linings
Kerfed Guitar Linings
5 6-05-2011
Strength restored!

I used the reverse mahogany linings on a brittle old archtop I am pulling back from the edge. The body sides were decidedly weak and not wishing to use too much bracing, I opted for the reverse type.This type of kerfing has restored a lot of stiffness to the body. I can heartily recommend it to anyone with a need to add stiffness to weak or cracked sides.

Junk Shop Guitars  Australia Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Tortoise/m/b/m Laminated Pickguard Materials
Tortoise/m/b/m Laminated Pickguard Materials
5 6-05-2011
First choice for tortoise

I love Tortoise pickguards and this is my material of choice. The pattern is great and the mint laminates add a nice touch. Very easy to work with.

JD Short  USA
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
5 6-05-2011
fast setting

works good for me.

Harry Shorter Sr.  White Hall, MD Read my reviews (6)
Schaller Non-Tremolo Roller Bridge
Schaller Non-Tremolo Roller Bridge
5 6-05-2011
Awesome!

Worked great on my 1979 Gretsch BST

JeremiahMc  Leesburg VA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
5 6-05-2011
5714 Compound radius, maple fingerboard

Just put one of these on my Line 6 James Tyler Variax (JTV-69B). I did not like the original neck on the JTV-69 (very tall frets and a chunkier neck). This is a Mighty-Might neck, but it's the bomb on this guitar. I also ordered Schaller Locking tuners from Stewmac. The neck had to be drilled to put it on the guitar, but anyone with decent skills can do this. The neck fit perfectly in the neck pocket of the JTV-69. The Stewmac neck had a light satin finish and wonderful fretwork. The JTV-69 is now an awesome guitar! I've got great guitar modelling and great playability now, with this replacement neck (for under $200)!

Alan Vance  Smithfield, VA, US
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
5 6-05-2011
VERY FRAGILE

very fragile don't keep on couch but a very good piece of wood.

Jacob Nuñez  Victorville,CA Read my reviews (8)
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
5 6-05-2011
Great Back Stripe

Excellent. The quality was so high (I purchased the plain bloodwood) that I ended up using the purchase for a back stripe. I'll be ordering other flavors in the next order.

jimsonrat  Los Osos, CA Read my reviews (4)
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
5 6-05-2011
Tough and Level

As level as you would expect it. In addition, it's quite heavy and very tough. The photo makes it seem like some extruded metal but it's quite heavy. I really like it.

jimsonrat  Los Osos, CA Read my reviews (4)
Peghead Overlay Veneer
Peghead Overlay Veneer
4 6-05-2011
Good but Expensive

I have found the Ebony peghead overlay veneers to be of excellent quality but quite expensive compared to milling my own from blanks.

The Lefty Luthier  Spring Branch, Texas Read my reviews (40)
Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
5 6-05-2011
Quality tools.

Quality tools which work well. What more can you ask for?

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
4 6-05-2011
First time .

Got these so I could adjust a compensating nut and though it was my first time I made a respectable job off it. I will buy more to give me a wider range.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar
5 6-05-2011
Brilliant service from Stew-Mac

Beautiful neck, perfectly finished. First one got lost in UK customs but a replacement was shipped out with no quibbles, by courier at no cost to me, as soon as available. Thanks again Karen.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
5 6-05-2011
Brilliant and original.

Used these on my Telecaster clone. Look great and work even better.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
Guitar String Ferrules
Guitar String Ferrules
5 6-05-2011
Tight fit.

These did an excellent job but are a tight fit in the body. Luckily I had had the fore thought to make an aluminium drift, which allowed me to tap them in. Would have been difficult without drift.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele
5 6-05-2011
Screws a bit too long.

Excellent, heavy brass bridge with nice finish. Height adjusting screws were a bit too long for my set up but I guess Gotoh have to allow for all installations. Better too long than too short.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
4 6-05-2011
Roller string trees.

Not as nice looking as all chrome ones but work well and hold strings nice and close to peghead.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
5 6-05-2011
Grover Sta-tites

Anyone who gives these less than 5 stars is not paying attention. You get about $75.00 worth of tuner for about 1/2 that price, and they look great. The 18:1 ratio makes fine tuning a snap. They come stock on all my acoustics.

Larry Nair, Tahoe Guitar Co.  Gardnerville NV Read my reviews (7)
Bone Bridge Pins
Bone Bridge Pins
5 6-05-2011
Great bridge pins

These pins are precision machined, and they just have that feel of quality. Good color match in the three sets I've bought so far. I like 'em....!!

Larry Nair, Tahoe Guitar Co.  Gardnerville NV Read my reviews (7)
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 3L/3R
5 6-04-2011
Lock, Lock, It's There

This is my second set of these tuners and I can't say enough about them. I put them on my first project guitar ten years ago and they're still working great. I love that you can just stick the string in, lock it down and tune up. I can leave my other guitar in its case for a month, come back to it and it's still in tune. Great tuners!

Porterhouse Pat  Charleston, IL Read my reviews (3)
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 6-04-2011
No Twisting Your Arm

The worst thing about the Hot Rod truss rod is shaping the truss rod channel. That is to say, I had no problems installing this item. It worked great and slipped right in once the channel had been cut to the correct dimensions. A great product. I used it in a mahogany neck on my custom Les Paul-shaped project guitar.

Porterhouse Pat  Charleston, IL Read my reviews (3)
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
5 6-04-2011
A Rosewood by any other name

I recently ordered this product from StewMac for a Les Paul/Gretsch 6128 project. The items arrived quickly and the fingerboard had a beautiful grain pattern which will enhance my project. I strongly recommend this product and company.

Porterhouse Pat  Charleston, IL Read my reviews (3)
Traditional Truss Rod Kit
Traditional Truss Rod Kit
4 6-04-2011
Simple et éfficace

Je fais des manches 24 cases,et fais déboucher la tige dans le talon. ce système me permet de fabriquer une tige de réglage à la longueur voulue. D'autre part, bien positionné au fond de sa cavité et recouvert d'une baguette de bois, il ne force pas sur la touche.

Fred Mai  Nice, France Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
4 6-04-2011
tusq nut

the gibson style nut should be a little thicker on the base like a 1/4 of an inch at least 6,3 mm. Thanks.

antonio pedro luthier  rio de janeiro brasil
Peghead Bushing Reamers
Peghead Bushing Reamers
5 6-04-2011
Essential

Produces a nice, accurate, clean cut for bushings.

desmatic  Wales, United Kingdom Read my reviews (11)
Saddlematic
Saddlematic
5 6-04-2011
Love it.

Makes bridge placement a breeze.

desmatic  Wales, United Kingdom Read my reviews (11)
Displaying 15226 – 15250
of 20966 reviews
< 1  ...  609  610  611  ...  839 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce