Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15201 – 15225
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  608  609  610  ...  841 >
Sort reviews by

Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
5 6-10-2011
Great stuff

Top quality product.

Claudio Kezen  Brazil Read my reviews (18)
Offset Diamond Fret File
Offset Diamond Fret File
5 6-10-2011
A real Gem

I bit the bullet on this one and I'm glad I did. I bought the 300 grit ,couldn't be happier.

Mike Chapman  Australia Read my reviews (4)
Guitar String Ferrules
Guitar String Ferrules
5 6-10-2011
Facilitate installation

What StewMac needs to sell is a tool or bit that will route out the holes on the back of a guitar body in order to seat these ferrules properly. Alignment is crucial if your drill press does not reach.

Inspector II  St.Laurent, Quebec, Canada
Binding Router Bit Set
Binding Router Bit Set
5 6-10-2011
delivery and product

wow, this cutter is really good, but the delivery is amazing, 1 and 1/2 days and i got it in england!!! a bit costy but great quality!!

ezersantos  england Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Mandolin Tuner Knobs
Mandolin Tuner Knobs
5 6-10-2011
Good buttons, easy to attach

A customer brought in an older Newance mandolin(a low-end Japanese laminated instrument) in terrible shape. Had a bad bridge (easily enough fixed) but the tuners were really in bad shape. I thought about doing a wholesale replacement but the tuner holes used nonstandard spacing which ruled that out - the cost of the repair wouldn't support plugging the existing holes, refacing the peghead, redrilling, and mounting new machines. So I got these knobs, cleaned up the grotty green ends of the old tuner shafts, and set to work. I thought about using superglue to attach them but didn't trust the shaft metal - even after removal and wire-brushing, they didn't look that good. So I mixed up a tiny batch of thickened West System epoxy (colored to match the buttons) and used that to mount them. It worked like a charm - they mounted sturdily and solidly and tune well.

Yet another good thing from StewMac.

meh1963  California
Alpha Push-pull Pots
Alpha Push-pull Pots
5 6-10-2011
That's it!

These push-pull pots are ideal for adding some zest to any humbucker-equipped guitar. Good quality and reliable.

Gustavo  Brasília, Brasil Read my reviews (2)
Grover Roto-Grip Full-size Locking Guitar Machines
Grover Roto-Grip Full-size Locking Guitar Machines
5 6-10-2011
Grover Roto-Grip Full-size Locking Guitar Machines

SLotted stright into the old holes and fitted without a hitch. Have worked perfectly and the guitar now stays in tune!

Graeme Fullick  Newcastle Australia
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
5 6-09-2011
No muss, no fuss

These are well-made no frills saddles. They adjust and intonate much like the old saddles from the '50's with a slight compensation. Much like the saddles from the 50's they aren't perfect. Even with the 'compensation' they won't intonate perfectly, however, if you know what you're doing with these little guys, they can and do work quite well by 'averaging' out the intonation. The instructions that come with these saddles arent' the best, and I would advise that if you have never adjusted saddles like this before that you read Dan Erlwine's book for proper set up. You can also opt to do a little research on your own from various internet sites that can advise you. All that being said, once these are installed and tuned up right, they are tone monsters. Mounted to a quality bridge or tailpiece these saddles sustain, sustain, sustain! I've installed many of these for customers as well as on my own telecasters and they really are great. (The price isn't bad either!)

Ranzerox66  Alamogordo, NM
Individual Inlay Blanks
Individual Inlay Blanks
5 6-09-2011
Abalone

Great material at a good price that is very easy to work with. Good uniform thickness, and great colors. My customer was very happy with results!

Randy Wood  Cullman, Alabama Read my reviews (4)
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 6-09-2011
StewMac fretwire

This fretwire is best in the business!
Small quantities get same A-1 service as large orders.

Randy Wood  Cullman, Alabama Read my reviews (4)
Metric Toggle Switch
Metric Toggle Switch
3 6-09-2011
Three Way Nightmare

Good quality except returns to center with the slightest touch. This was the third one of different makers with the same problem including Gibson OEM, so I guess that you just can't get a good LP switch any more.

But at least this one was the best of the three.

As usual StewMac's prompt customer service and shipping was Outstanding

Randy Wood  Cullman, Alabama Read my reviews (4)
Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
4 6-09-2011
You only need one of these, not both

I only use the course/medium file to carve the nut. The finer file is good for a few other things, but is generally too fine for any nut work. I go through them and have drawers of unused fine files. We just don't use it. I wish stew mac would offer them separately. Oh well, you can't have everything, where would you put it?

Keith Roscoe  Greensboro, N.C. USA Read my reviews (8)
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 6-09-2011
Better than playing with your nuts

This thing is that good. I hand carve 1 to 3 nuts everyday for our guitar/bass producion and this layout ruler makes the job so much easier and accurate. About 20 or so years ago, bass player marked me down on a review, for the uneven spacing (compensated for graduated string width). So we have been doing this for quite a while. It was nice to have an off the shelf version available. I have worn out a few and am sure to need more in the future. Bass player is doing a new review, I hope they now understand the compensated nut spacing.

Keith Roscoe  Greensboro, N.C. USA Read my reviews (8)
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
3 6-09-2011
Good but pricey

I used to use the stew mac instant glues but the cost is a little high and they were always changing small things with the formula. A few times this caused problem. I know stew mac was just trying to make it better.

Keith Roscoe  Greensboro, N.C. USA Read my reviews (8)
Snapfile Leveling System
Snapfile Leveling System
3 6-09-2011
Seems like a good idea...but

If you use all of these file in regular rotation, maybe it could be worth the cost. As for saving space in the drawer, I still have to have somewhere to put the (3) files that I don't regularly use. I paid so much for them that I fell like I need to really take care of them. Now the very fine, straight cut (#2255) I love. But for $30 I could have glued it to a hand shaped piece of wood. When used with the magnetic handle it rattles a bit. It is just is not for me.

Keith Roscoe  Greensboro, N.C. USA Read my reviews (8)
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
5 6-09-2011
My favorite

I am sure i have one or more of everything stew mac offers for leveling the fgbd. I still always return to this item. Although i have the longer versions too, the 8" is the one for me. We keep tape on the surface edge, so the crack and peel adhesive does not leave a film.

Keith Roscoe  Greensboro, N.C. USA Read my reviews (8)
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
5 6-09-2011
You need a bunch of these.

We have them at every station in the shop. I can't even gripe about the price...buy some and keep several different paper grits ready to use.

Keith Roscoe  Greensboro, N.C. USA Read my reviews (8)
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
5 6-09-2011
Not cheap, but worth the bucks

We have several (16") that we use for our bass production....mostly to true up the neck, after it has been machine radiused. We will add a few more (14") w/ the reintroduction of our guitar line. The less expensive wood version is probably the better choise, unless you are making lots of guitars.

Keith Roscoe  Greensboro, N.C. USA Read my reviews (8)
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 6-09-2011
IT WORKS!

Don't do a fret job with out this tool.

Keith Roscoe  Greensboro, N.C. USA Read my reviews (8)
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
5 6-09-2011
I would do it again

I would absolutely order another of these in the future.

A. Lucas  Canada Read my reviews (27)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
5 6-09-2011
when you need it

Did you ever order a cheap Chinese guitar and find good wood but junk electronics? This is what you need to fix it.

Old Hoss  Loudon, TN Read my reviews (6)
Alpha Push-pull Pots
Alpha Push-pull Pots
5 6-09-2011
Push pull pots

Works great. I have used these on several project guitars to tap coils on 4 wire humbuckers. Its a great way to add variety to your sound.

Old Hoss  Loudon, TN Read my reviews (6)
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 6-09-2011
Waverly Vintage Oval Knobs Relic Nickel Tuners on my 1937 Gibson ES-150

These tuners works very smoothly & precisely, and look just as the original ones. It was expensive but worth it!

Félix Lemerle  Paris, France Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Replacement Tuner Screws
Replacement Tuner Screws
5 6-09-2011
Pitch Perfect

As with everything I've purchased from StewMac, the Replacement Tuner Screws are perfect. Somehow I lost a gold-plated screw on my SJ-200 and it was driving me nuts. I researched my StewMac catalog, found the item, ordered it, installed it, and Bob's your Uncle!! Pitch Perfect!!

Uncle Don  Woodstock, Ct Read my reviews (4)
Double-edge Nut Files
Double-edge Nut Files
4 6-09-2011
Still learning

These seem to be very nice files. Definitely more expensive than any files I've ever bought. I've only tried them so far on a plastic nut to reshape the angle on a Les Paul string pull on the back side of the nut. The only negative on the product itself would be the size labeling. It will eventually wear off. It has started already on my crown files.

Todd  Winnipeg Manitoba Read my reviews (9)
Displaying 15201 – 15225
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  608  609  610  ...  841 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce