Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15201 – 15225
of 20953 reviews
< 1  ...  608  609  610  ...  839 >
Sort reviews by

Tenor Ukulele Kit
Tenor Ukulele Kit
5 6-06-2011
I did it my way OK!

I had a great time building my tenor uke. The worst problem I had was with a trimmer when trimming the sides. Put a big hole in the bottom of the Uke. My stupid.
I finished the uke in Danish oil and bees wax and it looks, sounds and smells fantastic.
Am currently building a soprano uke and it is a little more fiddly than the tenor due to the size but at least it doesn't have a hole in its side. All in all a great way to learn about instrument building.

Frank Loveridge  Sydney Australia
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
5 6-06-2011
what a neck!!!

great neck, eally comfortable, one problem - the frets are a bit bites the hand but not too much

Artem Mor  Ashkelon Read my reviews (5)
Tremolo Spring Installer
Tremolo Spring Installer
5 6-06-2011
Ingenious Tool!

I bought this tool in the event the guitar tech I was using needed it to install a brass block on my Jackson Soloist, he declined.
I used this tool for the first time without any issues, although I tried the way it is pictured, and discovered if you use it to remove the spring at the claw, instead of the block, it is less troubling. This is a keeper!!

Matt Garcia  Houston, TX Read my reviews (2)
The Key
The Key
5 6-06-2011
First Time Intonating a Floyd Rose

I've had this tool for a while, I bought it in the event the guitar tech I was using needed it on my Jackson Soloist, he declined. When I finally bought a strobe tuner, I decided to try it on a new acquisition.
This tool works perfectly. You snap it in place, screw it open until it makes contact with the bridge and screw head, then undo your allen key lock bolt and start adjusting. Holds tension going forward and backward on the saddle travel. I guess the only improvement I would make to it is to make the knob longer so that it extends past the body, and knurl the knob where your fingers turn the knob for added grip. Great tool!! My intonation came out perfect, by the way!!

Matt Garcia  Houston, TX Read my reviews (2)
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 6-06-2011
Best tool for the job

It a killer tool - They do wear out under heavy use though. The last one lasted about 1000 guitars, after that the edges bowed ever so slightly. However any tool that will put up with the abuse we give it and last 1000 guitars is a winner in my book.

Matthew Larrivee  Oxnard, Ca
Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
5 6-06-2011
Sweet... but not shiny

The surprise was that these are brushed brass, flat, not shiny like the photos. That said, I like the "less bling" look on my Guild. They dropped right in and work flawlessly on my GAD-5N, and are -vastly- superior to the OEM tuners. I feel like I added $200 to the value of the guitar! :-)

TValleau  Marina, CA, USA
StewMac responds

TValleau,
You're right, the old photo was a little off. The pictures you see now are new, and we've included a closeup so you can really see this unique baseplate that has sort of a matte brass finish. Thanks for the pointing this out! Glad you like the tuners!"

Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
3 6-06-2011
Nice try, but not perfect

For this price, these are probably just barely worth it, better than making your own from scratch. But with a material this thin, it doesn't work well as a final router jig; I'd recommend using it as a starting template to make your own jig out of 1/2" - 3/4" plywood. You need that much wall surface for enough flexibility on your bit's roller bearing(s); this thin 1/8" wall won't even hold 1 roller bearing's width, so you'll constantly be resetting your router bit in the collet to work around the adjustment limitations for successive pass depths, and that's very time consuming and frustrating. Better to do that once, get a clean jig, not risk your bit jumping off the template wall and ruining your guitar. If you accidentally ruin the jig you can always make another one cheap.

Also, they seem to have some problem with their center line laser etching; mine was about 1-2 mm off, and although that doesn't sound like much, it was obvious to the eye when I did a test tracing that the pickup outline was slightly off center to the right (the Strat tremolo template had the same problem, which is why I wonder if it's systemic and not just 1 was goofed).

Final verdict, for this low price it was worth it just to have a decent template without having to make it myself, but triple check your center lines and make a 3/4" jig from it, then rout your guitar!

Charlie Livingston  Waxhaw, NC Read my reviews (6)
Brace Repair Jack
Brace Repair Jack
4 6-06-2011
Gets the Job Done

Gluing down loose braces in cramped spaces on vintage classical guitars is a test of anyone's patience. Sure, I wish these jacks would cost less (like the high volume generic parts at the hardware store), but I'm glad I didn't have to spend time making another project on top of the original guitar repair project.

Bought a set of 3 and after learning how to place and tighten the first one by feel (no view at all), they worked fine.

Autumn Acoustics  Cincinnati, OH
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 6-06-2011
Saved a lot of Hassle

I normally don't need much fret dressing when I make up a Soprano Ukulele fretboard..using a press to fit the fretwire I get them pretty level to start with... only requiring the minimum of attention to finish off.
Until the day I got some fretwire of a different profile mixed in with my normal stuff, causing lots of string buzzing problems. It looked as if I would have to remove and replace all the offending frets. Then I thought first of all I'll level them off with a diamond lap and then get myself one of these fret crowning files to profile them all to the same shape.
And, to cut a long story short,it worked great. It's one of the best tools I own. A bit expensive for a file, but as a retired Toolmaker I know these are not an easy tool to manufacture, so I consider it a worthwhile purchase.

Ken Timms  England
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
5 6-06-2011
Beautiful matching wood

I received a surprise package today: As a reply to my previous review, and without me asking. Stewmac replaced my previous order with a nice selection of handpicked and perfectly matching dark colored rosewood bindings.
Hey guys, this is excellent service ! thanks for that

Triskel Workshop  Antwerp, Belgium Read my reviews (17)
Production Spray Gun
Production Spray Gun
5 6-05-2011
Both production and touch up spray guns

These tools together, if maintained and used properly. You can finish furniture, cars, boats, instruments,and I bought a touch up gun for my wife's spray tanning business. Anybody can use it with a little practice. Just don't leave it dirty.

Thomasson builders  Redway, Ca
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
4 6-05-2011
Strobo Clip Tuner

I own two Peterson Strobe units. The Strobo clip is # 2. It is a convenient item for a quick and initial tune when doing test(s) on repairs.

MED  Delray, FL Read my reviews (37)
Kerfed Guitar Linings
Kerfed Guitar Linings
5 6-05-2011
Strength restored!

I used the reverse mahogany linings on a brittle old archtop I am pulling back from the edge. The body sides were decidedly weak and not wishing to use too much bracing, I opted for the reverse type.This type of kerfing has restored a lot of stiffness to the body. I can heartily recommend it to anyone with a need to add stiffness to weak or cracked sides.

Junk Shop Guitars  Australia Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Tortoise/m/b/m Laminated Pickguard Materials
Tortoise/m/b/m Laminated Pickguard Materials
5 6-05-2011
First choice for tortoise

I love Tortoise pickguards and this is my material of choice. The pattern is great and the mint laminates add a nice touch. Very easy to work with.

JD Short  USA
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
5 6-05-2011
fast setting

works good for me.

Harry Shorter Sr.  White Hall, MD Read my reviews (6)
Schaller Non-Tremolo Roller Bridge
Schaller Non-Tremolo Roller Bridge
5 6-05-2011
Awesome!

Worked great on my 1979 Gretsch BST

JeremiahMc  Leesburg VA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
5 6-05-2011
5714 Compound radius, maple fingerboard

Just put one of these on my Line 6 James Tyler Variax (JTV-69B). I did not like the original neck on the JTV-69 (very tall frets and a chunkier neck). This is a Mighty-Might neck, but it's the bomb on this guitar. I also ordered Schaller Locking tuners from Stewmac. The neck had to be drilled to put it on the guitar, but anyone with decent skills can do this. The neck fit perfectly in the neck pocket of the JTV-69. The Stewmac neck had a light satin finish and wonderful fretwork. The JTV-69 is now an awesome guitar! I've got great guitar modelling and great playability now, with this replacement neck (for under $200)!

Alan Vance  Smithfield, VA, US
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
5 6-05-2011
VERY FRAGILE

very fragile don't keep on couch but a very good piece of wood.

Jacob Nuñez  Victorville,CA Read my reviews (8)
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
5 6-05-2011
Great Back Stripe

Excellent. The quality was so high (I purchased the plain bloodwood) that I ended up using the purchase for a back stripe. I'll be ordering other flavors in the next order.

jimsonrat  Los Osos, CA Read my reviews (4)
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
5 6-05-2011
Tough and Level

As level as you would expect it. In addition, it's quite heavy and very tough. The photo makes it seem like some extruded metal but it's quite heavy. I really like it.

jimsonrat  Los Osos, CA Read my reviews (4)
Peghead Overlay Veneer
Peghead Overlay Veneer
4 6-05-2011
Good but Expensive

I have found the Ebony peghead overlay veneers to be of excellent quality but quite expensive compared to milling my own from blanks.

The Lefty Luthier  Spring Branch, Texas Read my reviews (40)
Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
5 6-05-2011
Quality tools.

Quality tools which work well. What more can you ask for?

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
4 6-05-2011
First time .

Got these so I could adjust a compensating nut and though it was my first time I made a respectable job off it. I will buy more to give me a wider range.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar
5 6-05-2011
Brilliant service from Stew-Mac

Beautiful neck, perfectly finished. First one got lost in UK customs but a replacement was shipped out with no quibbles, by courier at no cost to me, as soon as available. Thanks again Karen.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
5 6-05-2011
Brilliant and original.

Used these on my Telecaster clone. Look great and work even better.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 15201 – 15225
of 20953 reviews
< 1  ...  608  609  610  ...  839 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce