Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15176 – 15200
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  607  608  609  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

P-90 Pickup Kit with Fiber Bobbin
P-90 Pickup Kit with Fiber Bobbin
3 6-15-2011
Small disappointment

Holes in maple block misaligned with fiber bobbin holes, not perpendicular to outside surfaces and too small for the installation screws to pass freely. Block warped after CA gluing. Pole piece keeper bar easily pulls from threads. Covers do not inset the installation screw heads, which looks weird. I would ask for an undrilled block next time so that I could align the holes to the lasercut bobbin, then drill to the correct size, spacing, and squareness for installation screw fit. I customized the bobbin/cover so it's not really affecting the outcome, but I do have to adjust things I don't want to spend time on.

Ben Littrell  New Haven, CT Read my reviews (2)
Black Pickguard Material
Black Pickguard Material
3 6-15-2011
WARNING

This product is overly heat sensitive and will warp easily. I left mine in my car, no sunlight, just a warm car and it warped badly.

Mike Hall  Puyallup, WA
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
4 6-15-2011
8" radius blocks

I check each with a straightedge along the string line & they have been pretty much always dead-on. Price is reasonable too!

duwhtsrite  Grand Jct., CO
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
5 6-15-2011
first of all they are beautiful

and second they keep tuning great

Artem Mor  Ashkelon Read my reviews (5)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
4 6-15-2011
Good product !

Very good dye ... easy to use and excellent results.

Good product  Valencia, Spain
Customer supplied image for review
Foam Polishing Pads
Foam Polishing Pads
5 6-15-2011
Best value finishing tool ever

Best value finishing tool for the small shop!. Makes polishing a breeze, still have to do detail polishing and hand rubbing in tight areas but does a great job for the bulk of the work. Saves a lot of time and elbow grease!

Michael DeLuca. DELM Guitars  Melbourne, Australia
Customer supplied image for review
Cam Clamps
Cam Clamps
5 6-15-2011
cam clamps

I read some lukewarm reviews but decided to purchase anyway. Perhaps not as strong as other clamps, but it allowed me to attempt my very first repair of a Martin Takamine lawsuit guitar: buckling, bridge lift and loose brace. I removed the bridge with a Japanese saw, lined the bottom with aluminum foil, steamed the top over the stove, clamped the top between hardwood for a few days, which flattened out the top nicely. I then re-glued the brace with three adjustable brace clamps--which wasn't easy getting my arm in the hole-- and then re-glued the bridge with the cam clamps. Strung it up a few days later, and it plays quite fine. And the cutting off of the bridge with the saw did not leave to many signs of being "en-hillbillied." Though, next time I know to steam the bridge, work more slowly.
--Luthier Van Dross

Luthier Van Dross  NY
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Engraved Bell-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Engraved Bell-end
5 6-15-2011
Great product!

I replace the tuners of my aged (?) Fender lap steel as they have turned unsightly, and Golden Age fits perfect except I have to add 2 holes which was a breeze. Now, my lap steel looks like just off the shelf! Love it!

philip.musiclover  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Archtop Guitar Bridge
Archtop Guitar Bridge
5 6-15-2011
bridge

bought a glen burton guitar with a very high bridge i modified your brige and it did the job easiest bridge to modify geronimo

geronimo gianelli  humble tx 77346
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 6-15-2011
Very Nice!!

I always use this number is very good
perfect assembly and good leveling

andreluth  Curitiba Paraná Brazil Read my reviews (6)
Knob and Bushing Puller
Knob and Bushing Puller
5 6-15-2011
What a helper

Does exactly what it says on the tin, cheers.

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
Japanese Fret Slot Cleaning Saw
Japanese Fret Slot Cleaning Saw
4 6-15-2011
Sharp!

Excellent, excellent, excellent ;-)

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
Double-edge Nut Files
Double-edge Nut Files
4 6-15-2011
Easier than my set of 10

HARD wearing, have gone through a lot of sets of the separate nut file sets from other suppliers which clog and are hard to clean. Simple to work out which side is which by filing on scrap wood, it's visible to see the thicker edge.

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
Strap Buttons
Strap Buttons
4 6-15-2011
Classy look

Just the job, great look too.

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
Strap Button Felt Washers
Strap Button Felt Washers
3 6-15-2011
Classy

Look great, a little on the soft side but do the job.

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 6-14-2011
Super Glue. (10) & (20)

What can I say that has not already been said about these products?

AZfryguy  AZ Read my reviews (6)
Black Plastic Binding
Black Plastic Binding
5 6-14-2011
Great stuff.

I bought some binding for my fretless bass. It was my very first working with binding and no problems at all.

AZfryguy  AZ Read my reviews (6)
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
5 6-14-2011
Everything I expected and more!

For starters the fre-cut gold paper is top notch. I have compared all kinds of sandpaper to Fre-Cut and the scratch pattern from the Fre-Cut is much more uniform, and the last 5x longer. I use it with my air compressor and I rarely if ever have to change due to worn out paper. I will never use any other product to sand with. Unless I need something higher than 800 grit.

My only complaint is I wish they offered all grits. I am talking 20-2000 Gold Fre-Cut. Yes, 3M does make 20 grit sandpaper. So however they make Fre-Cut add more grits and I will buy them all!

AZfryguy  AZ Read my reviews (6)
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
3 6-14-2011
It does what it says

I bought the 14" block and when I got it, I guess warped would be the right word for it. My black seems very uneven and not very accurate. It also had a dent in it were the radius is. However, this could be me being OCD. If I ran the company I would do away with the wood ones and make the steel ones available in 3",6",10",15, and 20 inch lengths. Also if you are buying this you HAVE to buy the stikit sandpaper. I bought the sampler back and it did not work as well as thought.

AZfryguy  AZ Read my reviews (6)
Triple-O Guitar Kit
Triple-O Guitar Kit
5 6-14-2011
My Favorite Guitar to play

I built my 000 about three years ago. It never fails to amaze me how great this instrument sounds. As I use it to perform with I always get compliments on its tone. Because I was able to build it myself and size the neck to my hands it is a joy to play. I highly recommend taking the plunge and build your own.

Will Kruger  IL
Customer supplied image for review
Erlewine Neck Jig
Erlewine Neck Jig
4 6-14-2011
i don't understand..

Oui, c'est un excellent outils qui permet de travailler avec précision..mais Mr Stew and mister Mac, pourriez vous incorporer les sous titres dans vos video?*

*Yes, very good item, to do a good job..but mr stew and mister mac can you incorporated(.....) subtitles in french, deutch etc.. your videos ? :-D
Merçi (thank you)

Fred Mai  Nice, France Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 6-13-2011
sweet

these bits are very clean cutting.

Joes Guitars  Todd Mission, TX
Grover Champion Dulcimer/Uke Friction Pegs
Grover Champion Dulcimer/Uke Friction Pegs
5 6-13-2011
Great Solution for an Ailing Oud

I bought three sets of these to use on an oud. I recently bought an oud at a flea market. Oud's use pegs, not standard tuners. The pegs on my oud were slipping so I thought of trying standard tuners. I bought these tuners, installed them and they work like a charm.

For those familiar with ouds, the string to tuner arrangement with these dulcimer tuners needs to be different than the usual peg tuners. Such as, the highest string is attached to the first tuner at the bottom near the nut. You then need to continue in line to the next string and next tuner. Great solution!!

David Lawter  Peekskill, NY
Customer supplied image for review
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
5 6-13-2011
great!

easy to install, no loosey goosey!

Kurt Rosenbaum  San Diego, CA
Gotoh Hardtail Bridge
Gotoh Hardtail Bridge
5 6-13-2011
super smooth and high quality

I built a custom guitar for my shop class at school. It was made from purpleheart and maple and built from the ground up (except a few parts from stew mac).

The bridge looks amazing! And it has really good sustain; it seems longer than my dad's strat even! Thank you stew mac.

Dillon M  Michigan
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 15176 – 15200
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  607  608  609  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce