Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15151 – 15175
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  606  607  608  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Black Plastic Binding
Black Plastic Binding
5 6-14-2011
Great stuff.

I bought some binding for my fretless bass. It was my very first working with binding and no problems at all.

AZfryguy  AZ Read my reviews (6)
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
5 6-14-2011
Everything I expected and more!

For starters the fre-cut gold paper is top notch. I have compared all kinds of sandpaper to Fre-Cut and the scratch pattern from the Fre-Cut is much more uniform, and the last 5x longer. I use it with my air compressor and I rarely if ever have to change due to worn out paper. I will never use any other product to sand with. Unless I need something higher than 800 grit.

My only complaint is I wish they offered all grits. I am talking 20-2000 Gold Fre-Cut. Yes, 3M does make 20 grit sandpaper. So however they make Fre-Cut add more grits and I will buy them all!

AZfryguy  AZ Read my reviews (6)
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
3 6-14-2011
It does what it says

I bought the 14" block and when I got it, I guess warped would be the right word for it. My black seems very uneven and not very accurate. It also had a dent in it were the radius is. However, this could be me being OCD. If I ran the company I would do away with the wood ones and make the steel ones available in 3",6",10",15, and 20 inch lengths. Also if you are buying this you HAVE to buy the stikit sandpaper. I bought the sampler back and it did not work as well as thought.

AZfryguy  AZ Read my reviews (6)
Triple-O Guitar Kit
Triple-O Guitar Kit
5 6-14-2011
My Favorite Guitar to play

I built my 000 about three years ago. It never fails to amaze me how great this instrument sounds. As I use it to perform with I always get compliments on its tone. Because I was able to build it myself and size the neck to my hands it is a joy to play. I highly recommend taking the plunge and build your own.

Will Kruger  IL
Customer supplied image for review
Erlewine Neck Jig
Erlewine Neck Jig
4 6-14-2011
i don't understand..

Oui, c'est un excellent outils qui permet de travailler avec précision..mais Mr Stew and mister Mac, pourriez vous incorporer les sous titres dans vos video?*

*Yes, very good item, to do a good job..but mr stew and mister mac can you incorporated(.....) subtitles in french, deutch etc.. your videos ? :-D
Merçi (thank you)

Fred Mai  Nice, France Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 6-13-2011
sweet

these bits are very clean cutting.

Joes Guitars  Todd Mission, TX
Grover Champion Dulcimer/Uke Friction Pegs
Grover Champion Dulcimer/Uke Friction Pegs
5 6-13-2011
Great Solution for an Ailing Oud

I bought three sets of these to use on an oud. I recently bought an oud at a flea market. Oud's use pegs, not standard tuners. The pegs on my oud were slipping so I thought of trying standard tuners. I bought these tuners, installed them and they work like a charm.

For those familiar with ouds, the string to tuner arrangement with these dulcimer tuners needs to be different than the usual peg tuners. Such as, the highest string is attached to the first tuner at the bottom near the nut. You then need to continue in line to the next string and next tuner. Great solution!!

David Lawter  Peekskill, NY
Customer supplied image for review
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
5 6-13-2011
great!

easy to install, no loosey goosey!

Kurt Rosenbaum  San Diego, CA
Gotoh Hardtail Bridge
Gotoh Hardtail Bridge
5 6-13-2011
super smooth and high quality

I built a custom guitar for my shop class at school. It was made from purpleheart and maple and built from the ground up (except a few parts from stew mac).

The bridge looks amazing! And it has really good sustain; it seems longer than my dad's strat even! Thank you stew mac.

Dillon M  Michigan
Customer supplied image for review
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
5 6-13-2011
Where have you been all of my life #2!!!

Just like GSJ in another review. Could not find these pins locally, only full kits.

JB Aubry (aka BenoA)  Montreal, Quebec Read my reviews (3)
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 6-13-2011
Perfect!

Awesome tool. Small and can be put in your guitar case/gig bag. I recommend it to everyone.

JB Aubry (aka BenoA)  Montreal, Quebec Read my reviews (3)
Building Electric Guitars
Building Electric Guitars
5 6-13-2011
Lots of great ideas!

This book is great! It shows a lot of really good jigs to get around having lots of machines and shows a wide variety of construction techniques.

Ray Simonetti Instruments  Spring, TX Read my reviews (5)
Individual Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner
Individual Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner
5 6-13-2011
Perfect!

As David in a previous review of that item, here in Montreal, I could not find a place that would sell one tuner for my son's cheapo Rogue bass. One of the tuner shaft had broken. This one fits perfectly and works very well. I regret not buying 5 of these. regret

JB Aubry (aka BenoA)  Montreal, Quebec Read my reviews (3)
Electric Guitar & Bass Design
Electric Guitar & Bass Design
5 6-13-2011
Great reading!!!

I wish this book had come out a long time ago. The favorite in my guitar literature library.

Ray Simonetti Instruments  Spring, TX Read my reviews (5)
TUSQ XL String Trees
TUSQ XL String Trees
5 6-13-2011
Perfect

These things are perfect, installed them on my 72' tele deluxe reissue. I figured most of the tuning problems with that guitar had to do with the string trees, not the tuners themselves. And the tele stays in tune perfectly now. I highly recommend these, I don't think I'll ever have another guitar that requires string trees, and not use tusq.

As a side note they really compliment any cream or bone colored hardware you may have on your guitar. Even the nut looks great next to the string trees.

Matthew N  Southern California
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Oval Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
4 6-13-2011
Decent tuners

I ordered a set of these, forgetting that the Grover Midsize Rotomatics with an 18:1 ratio were actually the kind I liked. These Gotohs were OK, but I'd recommend spending the extra 6 bucks to get the Grovers. The $42 Grovers will make any guitar more enjoyable to play.

Jukebox John  Shutesbury, MA Read my reviews (8)
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
5 6-13-2011
It is a must have

Great little kit. Tthe handle is plastic but it feels solid so far. Very convenient.

Jukebox John  Shutesbury, MA Read my reviews (8)
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 6-13-2011
Worked out well on a Tele body

Like a few others have said, the can can spit gobs if you aren't careful. Remember to clean the nozzle after coats, and don't spray cold, and it should work out fairly well. Not a value judgement, but just an observation; it's darker than the Reranch black that I've used with more apparent sheen, but perhaps less color depth. In the end neither is really better, and the ColorTone looks great. I'd order two cans per body in general. To get out all of the orange peel and waves that'll give you a little wiggle room when sanding/buffing. Affordable, nice looking, and pretty easy if you're careful and take your time.

John Johnson  Chicago, IL
Flush-fit Guitar String Ferrules
Flush-fit Guitar String Ferrules
5 6-12-2011
0196 (3/8") Ferrules

I find these ferrules to be of excelent quality and I would swear that their heavier size and weight helps improve sustain. They fit my 3/8" Forstner bit perfectly. The black is a little expensive but dispite the price I still prefer the 0196's over others that are available.

Ken  Boise, Idaho Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
Pickup Kit for Tele Bridge
Pickup Kit for Tele Bridge
5 6-12-2011
Very good product

I wanted to make "noiseless" Telecaster bridge picup, I could do it with this Kit: I had cut the flatwork in 2 parts and wind two 1/2 coil of 3 pole-pieces reverse winding and reverse magnetizing pole-piece like Fender precision bass pickup, and I glued the two 3 poles coils on the steel base plate. For the coil wire io used 0.04 mm wire diameter (wire for old needle galvanometer). The impedance of each coil is 12K Ohms. For the sound see :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zX9xfG9geb0&feature=related

SGM  France
Customer supplied image for review
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Bleached White Bone Saddles
5 6-12-2011
Bone Beats Plastic

I replaced the plastic saddle, which had a plastic shim underneath, in my Yamaha 450 with a bone saddle. Big, big difference from the plastic saddle/shim. Better tone, louder, and better sustain. The difference was immediately obvious. Kinda surprising. Here’s a tip for shaping your saddle. Filing takes forever. I recommend using a fine, hacksaw blade. Get a pair of small wood clamps, a metal straight edge, and a board. Sandwich the saddle between the board and the straight edge, and use the straight edge as a cutting guide. A knife sharpening stone is good for rounding the corners and removing burrs.

Love my Snark  dallas, TX Read my reviews (2)
Binding Tape
Binding Tape
5 6-11-2011
Hand's Down the Best Binding Tape on the market!

If you want the best binding tape well here it is. You have arrived. Look no further. I recommend this product for taping up your plastic or wood binding (while the glue is drying). loren barton

Loren Barton  Bakersfield,CA Read my reviews (3)
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Ebony Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Ebony Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 6-11-2011
Great Gears for my Barton Lane Guitars!

I started The Barton Lane Guitar Company about a year ago and have used these gears on my guitars exclusively! They stay in tune like no other and are not very hard to install. I highly recommend these gears. -loren barton

Loren Barton  Bakersfield,CA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
5 6-11-2011
Great Service

Once again , STEWMAC has come through with fast service. I needed these pots ASAP, as this guitar is my bread & butter. Thanks guys for your great service.

JYG  Cocoa Beach, FL Read my reviews (2)
Snakewood Endpin
Snakewood Endpin
5 6-11-2011
A perfect fit

I got this to replace a missing endpin on a Bourgeois Vintage D. Expected to need some fitting, but it snuggled right in like original equipment. The snakewood is a nice change from ebony.

haribol  North Florida
Displaying 15151 – 15175
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  606  607  608  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce