Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15126 – 15150
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  605  606  607  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 6-17-2011
Them bones

Easy to work with, smells like you're at the dentist. Ordered the gibson style blank and cutting and filing was not a problem just takes time and patience.

agnusguitars  champaign, il Read my reviews (28)
Customer supplied image for review
White Plastic Binding
White Plastic Binding
5 6-17-2011
Enjoyed working with it.

Ordered (3) to bind a neck and headstock on one guitar. Only needed two so used the extra piece to bind the body of another build. Easy to work with and scrapes down well, but difficult to bend the .090/.025 with your hands for tight turns.

agnusguitars  champaign, il Read my reviews (28)
Customer supplied image for review
Peghead Overlay Veneer
Peghead Overlay Veneer
5 6-17-2011
Nice piece of timber

Perfect match against the ebony fretboard I also ordered, only slight discoloration. Had enough material left over from the headstock to use the scraps for a few decorative body inlays.

agnusguitars  champaign, il Read my reviews (28)
Customer supplied image for review
Slotted Fingerboard for Paul Reed Smith and Dobro Guitars
Slotted Fingerboard for Paul Reed Smith and Dobro Guitars
5 6-17-2011
Spot on!

I received the ebony radiused and slotted which aligned perfect against a pre-printed paper mockup of my neck with the same scale. I also ordered the stewmac fretwire which worked perfectly in the grooves. Ebony was a first for me and cutting it produced chips and chardes vs. splinters.

Hard stuff. Best to use very sharp blades for a super clean cut/edge. I plan on ordering more to finish off my other builds. Thanks!

agnusguitars  champaign, il Read my reviews (28)
Customer supplied image for review
Plastic Side Dot Material
Plastic Side Dot Material
5 6-17-2011
Clean little dots

I got the 1/16 black and it works just fine. I made an error and dipped the tips in my binding cement then placed in my pre-drilled holes. This turned out to be too much cement and sort of melted the thin rod and a few fret markers came out blurry even after scrapping. Next time I'll use a toothpick or just use super glue sparingly from a fine tip to fill the holes.

agnusguitars  champaign, il Read my reviews (28)
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
5 6-17-2011
Knocked them frets out

Easy to use and wore ear plugs to ease the sound of my hammering across the frets to seat everything. Didn't damage fret wire or mark it, I like!

agnusguitars  champaign, il Read my reviews (28)
Weld-On Cement
Weld-On Cement
5 6-17-2011
It works great but you need to work quick.

Used this for my first attempt at binding. Easy to work with but felt like I had to work really fast as the change from liquid to gum was quick. Fine line between using enough to coat all surfaces and having too much to try and wipe off, maybe I will use a different application method opposed to using straight from the tube.

agnusguitars  champaign, il Read my reviews (28)
Customer supplied image for review
Binding Tape
Binding Tape
5 6-17-2011
Good stuff perfect tack and easy release

Works great for binding as advertised. Just enough tack to hold things in place for the allotted time, but can tear if you apply too much pull when wrapping across those sharp plastic binding edges.

agnusguitars  champaign, il Read my reviews (28)
Black Fingerboard Stain
Black Fingerboard Stain
3 6-17-2011
Good stuff

Works as advertised and stains with a solid consistent color. Error was on my part as I stained the fretboard and headstock veneer before working with them. Even though I removed the excess and allowed to dry over 24 hours it still kept staining my fingers and the binding work I later did. Works great but I need more practice.

agnusguitars  champaign, il Read my reviews (28)
Wiring Kit for Gibson Les Paul Guitar
Wiring Kit for Gibson® Les Paul® Guitar
5 6-17-2011
Perfect...

I've been using these wiring kits and they are absolutely pro-grade...Thanx Stewmac for providing pro-level accessories and service...

Francis  Honduras, Central America
Piloted Router Bit for Binding
Piloted Router Bit for Binding
3 6-17-2011
Good cut but bad unit

Worked perfectly in my dremel and cut the binding channel thickness as advertised. Unfortunately it was not until halfway through routing that i noticed the guide at the bottom leaving a groove in my body under the channel. Upon inspection i found the shaft slightly bent when rotating in the dremel causing a warp in the spin. Cuts great but QC for these should have better inspection.

agnusguitars  champaign, il Read my reviews (28)
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
3 6-17-2011
soft

This epoxy doesn't set up as hard as some others I have used. After even, thorough mixing, applying, and a couple of days of set up, it still feels a little spongy.

Johno  Leon, WV Read my reviews (2)
Robo-Sander
Robo-Sander
5 6-17-2011
sand-all

Purchased the 3" primarily to finish sand around my bodies which it works great for. Also used it to file the edge of frets before adding binding for those gibson style nibs as well as to shape a bone nut radius. Highly recommend.

agnusguitars  champaign, il Read my reviews (28)
Scraper Blades
Scraper Blades
4 6-17-2011
tiny but mighty

I purchased the mini oval scraper in preparation for an arched top for a solidbody electric. Much smaller than I thought it would be and very thin in thickness,... more of a touch up scraper for small detailed work or for finishing binding after paint. I recommend the larger scraper for heavy duty shaving especially when working with hardwoods.

agnusguitars  champaign, il Read my reviews (28)
Tortoise Pickguard Material for Archtop Instruments
Tortoise Pickguard Material for Archtop Instruments
5 6-17-2011
good for business

product was exactly what described. It worked well, and easy to maintain. The L-5 was back to its original look.

Reid  Texas Read my reviews (2)
Cherrywood Violin Bow
Cherrywood Violin Bow
5 6-17-2011
Super Bargain

I have purchased a lot of these cherrywood bows, and I have never had a problem with one. In my opinion, they are better than many student bows costing much more. I like them, and I recommend them highly.

Vaughn Moureaux  Eastover,SC Read my reviews (2)
Kerfed Lining For Mandolin
Kerfed Lining For Mandolin
5 6-17-2011
Great working wood

1st time mandolin builder, and the kit (from another source) did not include this. I purchased this kerfed lining and I'm glad I did. Made the top and bottom joining much easier and a stronger joint. Easy to work with.

Stevan B Music  Illinois
Customer supplied image for review
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics
5 6-17-2011
Perfect!

Excellent!

Marcelo Augusto  Manaus-AM-Brasil
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 6-16-2011
A must have!

Truly a great book!!
As a guy that is going into Luthiery and who has asked quite a few people about books and tools, they all have mentioned this book! There is so much in it and links to other books and schools........a must have!

Chris Price  Blacksburg, VA
Elite Banjo Heads
Elite Banjo Heads
5 6-16-2011
Warmed it right up!

Warmed it up, great tone and looks great. I get a lot of compliments!

Mick Downey  Debary, Fl Read my reviews (3)
Five-Star Notched Tension Hoops
Five-Star Notched Tension Hoops
5 6-16-2011
Nice

Looks exactly like the original!!

Mick Downey  Debary, Fl Read my reviews (3)
Banjo Bracket Hooks
Banjo Bracket Hooks
1 6-16-2011
Nice Hooks BUT.....

They do not come with nuts...The old ones that came off do not fit, and I did not see on the site where you can buy them, I ended up having to put the old ones back on.

Mick Downey  Debary, Fl Read my reviews (3)
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 6-16-2011
Understring Radius Gauges

Very helpful tool in setting up a guitar. Especially on a Strat or Tele. Very quick shipment. Stewmac.com is a great place to start collecting tools and getting good information on how to do repairs and stuff. Thanks guys!

Andy A  Cincinnati Read my reviews (2)
Five-Star Old-Time Banjo Pot
Five-Star Old-Time Banjo Pot
5 6-16-2011
Good one...

I got mine today - a pleasure to work on! Smooth finish and precise machining.

PS: delivery to Germany was 2 days - excellent job!

Franz  Deutschland
Gotoh Midsize 510 Tuners with Black Plastic Knobs
Gotoh Midsize 510 Tuners with Black Plastic Knobs
5 6-16-2011
Great Gotohs

I was looking for good action, good finish, and no fingerprints. Got all three with the 510's and a good price.

von  rochester,ny usa Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 15126 – 15150
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  605  606  607  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce