Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15076 – 15100
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  603  604  605  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Black Fingerboard Stain
Black Fingerboard Stain
5 6-20-2011
Fiebings is the stuff - works very well

I was looking at my 1995 Fender American Standard V string, and not loving the color of the Pau Ferro fretboard in contrast to the black body color.

So I thought Id give this a try.
Cleaned the fretboard with Naptha, and then applied the Fiebings black dye with a q-tip. Gave it one medium coat, let it sit for about 10 mins, and then wiped off any excess.

It came out really nice, and has made the overall appearance of the Bass much better.
If you like the look of Ebony, or just a black fretboard,this is the stuff.

Word - this dye will blacken the night sky, so wear gloves, tape off well, and cover all work surfaces.

gmerriman  Mill Valley, CA., USA
ToneRite for Guitar
ToneRite for Guitar
4 6-19-2011
Tonerite w/HD28

I did the recommended 144 hours on full settings with my '96 Martin HD28. Actually, the guitar was already loud enough to begin with so I was curious what the Tonerite would do to it. What I perceived initially as loss of bass response was more emphasis on mids and highs giving the guitar a more even response rather than the somewhat bass heaviness it had prior to the Tonerite.

After a few days, it seemed to get its bass back to some degree and now it's just the way I expected -nice and full but more 'even'. I figured this as a kind of 'settling in' period after the treatment. Another thing is that the strings I used to restring were ones I've never used before (d'Addario med phosphors) -I'd normally used Martin or Martin SP+ so I'm not too sure if this had anything to do with differences before and after that I might have perceived.

Recently, I've been using the lower settings and that seems to be working well. I'll be trying it out on my electric next just to see if there'd be any benefit. It's my 2004 Fender '54 Anniversary master build. I figure if it works with it, it'll make the guitar even more like a 'real' vintage instrument!

Normhart  Guam Read my reviews (5)
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 6-19-2011
ColorTone aerosol Lacquer

Great product! My sunburst skills are sorely lacking but I can't blame it on the product. I'll be ordering some more real soon.

adsalter  Biloxi, MS Read my reviews (4)
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Dual Fret Scale Templates
5 6-19-2011
The best

I had some really old wood templates from another supplier and decided to use my table saw to speed up the process with Stew Mac's most excellent table saw blade. These templates are absolutely the best and should outlast me. I would love it if Stew Mac would make more scales available; particularly a 27" baritone and a 30" bass scale. I think you could get close with the 34 and 35" bass scale if you just cut off a fret or two at the nut end.

Bill Northwestguitar  Cottonwood, AK Read my reviews (2)
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
5 6-19-2011
grover stay tight tuners

i installed the grover tuners on my dobro d60 they look real good and work very well a plus up grade.

roger doss  iola texas
Alpha Push-pull Pots
Alpha Push-pull Pots
5 6-19-2011
Mod king

Great pot for stealth setup! Good quality!

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
Speed Knob
Speed Knob
5 6-19-2011
Speed knobs

Great for coarse knurled pots (like fenders)...WARNING: NOT compatible with fine knurled Gibson pots

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
5 6-19-2011
Great for Gibson guitars!

Fit my Gibson acoustic and Les Paul like a glove!

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
Wiring Kit for Gibson Les Paul Guitar
Wiring Kit for Gibson® Les Paul® Guitar
5 6-19-2011
Great kit

Used this to rewire an Ibanez semihollow...perfect! The wiring instructions are a little confusing (at least when you're comparing them to other pickup wiring schemes while trying to wire different companies pickups together! Whew!)

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 6-19-2011
Super Glue 20

Great glue! Used it to handle my first inlay job...works as advertised! Awesome!

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 6-19-2011
Awesome tool

Who would've thought that a simple thing like matching the neck radius to the bridge radius would be a major improvement. This little adjustment made my guitar MUCH more playable! Goodbye fret-outs and dead notes! Thanks Stewmac!

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
Gotoh Keystone-style Machines
Gotoh Keystone-style Machines
4 6-19-2011
Gotoh tuners

Nice machines. Bought these to compare them to Grovers (my usual replacement choice) as the price value was similar and I needed replacements on my Ibanez AM200. These were a direct replacement, no mods needed...due to a lapse on my part, my original Ibanez tuners were Gotoh (doh!)...anyway, we'll see how long these last...to be continued.

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
Bone Bridge Pins
Bone Bridge Pins
5 6-19-2011
Bone pins

Great product! Fit into my Martin D-16 with no modifications. Sound quality is first rate. Thanks Stewmac!

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
4 6-19-2011
3694 Screw Mount

Received the product promptly. It did bring down the bridge, but not the top. It did help the sound of the guitar.

Modrtpdlr  Doniphan, Mo. Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
5 6-19-2011
Golden Age

Great for the vintage sound, crisp, and you cannot get more "surf sounding" than these. I will add the volume mod soon because the neck pick-up looses high frequency fast as you turn it down.

Schwagdog  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
White Bridge Pins
White Bridge Pins
5 6-19-2011
5021-S Bridge pins

Quality product, received promptly, I mistakenly bought to large a size so I had to go to my local music store and buy 6 more pins that were the correct size.

Modrtpdlr  Doniphan, Mo. Read my reviews (2)
9-lug Stereo Jack
9-lug Stereo Jack
5 6-19-2011
Great!

Great quality, tough build, no noise

Cask Thomson  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (3)
Japanese Fret Saw
Japanese Fret Saw
5 6-18-2011
Thomas Lloyd Guitar making course

So impressed with it, I just had to have one along with other Stewmac products for great results.

johney  TASMANIA Read my reviews (2)
Router Bit for Binding
Router Bit for Binding
5 6-18-2011
Guitar and Uke.

Used with the excellant Dremel router attachment and guide for brilliant results. Great service!

johney  TASMANIA Read my reviews (2)
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 6-18-2011
Money well spent

Glad I spent the money on this file. Well made and very convenient with the multiple edges!

JJuk  Fullerton, CA Read my reviews (25)
Foam Polishing Pads
Foam Polishing Pads
4 6-18-2011
Nice!

Worked great! Very little spatter on me. No swirl marks left in the finish.

JJuk  Fullerton, CA Read my reviews (25)
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 6-18-2011
None more black

The prefect finish to the edge of my tobacco burst. Dig it.

JJuk  Fullerton, CA Read my reviews (25)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 6-18-2011
Saving the Gibson

This product worked very well. The spray was fine enough to be able to lay multiple thin layers in order to build up the lacquer.
The phone support and guidance was superb! They were patient and helpful.
I was at "wits end". This was a total amateur repair. Luthiers would not touch it because the amount of time due to so many thin build up layers. The spray lacquer worked fantastic.
In the picture I'm pointing to the area that was repaired. That lower bout corner was bare wood before I started putting down layers. I'm still polishing (by hand) but a professional luthier gave me the "thumbs up".
Thank you for all your help.
Richard

Richare  Visalia, Ca
Customer supplied image for review
Grover Midsize Rotomatics
Grover Midsize Rotomatics 6-In-Line
4 6-18-2011
Solid as a Rock

Excellent Quality for the money. There's no play in the knobs making for a solid hold in the tuning.

JJuk  Fullerton, CA Read my reviews (25)
Micarta Saddle
Micarta Saddle
5 6-18-2011
Worked like a charm.

This material was easy to work with and the saddle I made looked professional and perfect in every way after a little polishing with fine, wet sandpaper.

Rick VDL  Hemet, CA, USA
Displaying 15076 – 15100
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  603  604  605  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce