Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 15076 – 15100
of 20966 reviews
< 1  ...  603  604  605  ...  839 >
Sort reviews by

Five-Star Old-Time Banjo Pot
Five-Star Old-Time Banjo Pot
5 6-16-2011
Good one...

I got mine today - a pleasure to work on! Smooth finish and precise machining.

PS: delivery to Germany was 2 days - excellent job!

Franz  Deutschland
Gotoh Midsize 510 Tuners with Black Plastic Knobs
Gotoh Midsize 510 Tuners with Black Plastic Knobs
5 6-16-2011
Great Gotohs

I was looking for good action, good finish, and no fingerprints. Got all three with the 510's and a good price.

von  rochester,ny usa Read my reviews (2)
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 6-16-2011
Bone Nut

Although I did not cut the nut myself, I was very impressed with the quality of the blank! The tech that installed the nut was curious as to where I bought it. I have purchased compensated bone saddles from StewMac and this continues my experience with high quality materials.

Scott C.  San Francisco, Ca.
Gotoh Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Vintage-style Oval Knob Tuners 3L/3R
5 6-16-2011
Replacement Tuners for 1970's MSA Pedal Steel Guitar

These Gotoh tuners are a very good replacement for Kluson tuners used on older MSA PSG's. The only modification I had to make was to enlarge the tuners mounting hole's with a #30 drill bit for clearance.

Groundswitch  Leonardo NJ USA
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
4 6-16-2011
need to be thicker

I agree with the other reviewer about the thickness. When using a template bushing, the bushing comes into contact with the wood.

Faustino Gomez  San Antonio,TX
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
5 6-16-2011
Gotoh Large Machines

I put these on my old (1970) beat-up Gibson acoustic. They made a remarkable difference. Tuning is a breeze and it stays that way. These black ones look great. It pushed me to start an upgrade and clean up the guitar and now I use it everyday.
They did require some routing to fit. Very easy. If you're going to put them on a classic guitar consider the specs first, as you may not want to do any routing.

ncatti  NY
Customer supplied image for review
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
5 6-16-2011
Pleasantly surprised

Wow. I was skeptical but as soon as I tried them on I was amazed! And then I tried the LED light! Must have for fine work.

Josh Bee  Sydney, AUS
Gotoh Aluminum Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece
5 6-16-2011
Great Piece

I was amazed when I picked this up the first time. I couldn't believe how light it was. I put it right on my Les Paul and I automatically noticed loads more sustain and resonance.

Frank B.  AZ Read my reviews (4)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
4 6-16-2011
Pretty Authentic

These pickups have an amazing tone. I got my bridge a little hotter than the average, just like Jimmy Page's configuration. I play a lot of Zeppelin and you need great PAF pickups to acquire the tone. These do the job. Stew Mac went to great lengths to replicate a PAF, maple spacers, long magnet, unpotted, etc.

Frank B.  AZ Read my reviews (4)
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
5 6-15-2011
Want something sharp? Really sharp?

I use these all day to re-hone blade tools. My pocket knives, chisels, and kitchen knives (luthier related, I contest. We all have healthy appetites...) can be sharpened to a mirror edge that can take small, controlled shavings off of finish if something happened to get into it. I use sharpened throwaway chisels to shave nuts flush or remove glue. I like to soak them in water and leave them on a glass block, and when I hit 8000 grit, I can see myself in it, and slice through anything with a remarkably clean cut. As for the numbering issue? I just keep a key on the front of my workbench because I use them so often.

JeremyB  San Francisco
Gotoh Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Vintage-style Oval Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
5 6-15-2011
Great Kluson reproduction

These are an accurate and well-built repro of the old Klusons. They work smoothly and stay in tune.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 6-15-2011
Great tone for a fair price

Pickups, especially humbuckers, are getting outrageously expensive. These are on par with the top makers in terms of construction and tone and cost way less.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Brass Pickup Eyelets
Brass Pickup Eyelets
5 6-15-2011
They do the job well

These are the right eyelets pickup making.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
5 6-15-2011
Great tuners, great price

Grover Rotomatics are the gold standard for tuning machines. Will take a beating and stay in tune. The price is good too.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 6-15-2011
Good basic fret file

I've had to level a few frets on my guitars, and this has come in handy for re-crowning them. Works great and should last for a long time.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
5 6-15-2011
The best tool for the job

This is the only toggle switch wrench I've ever used that was worth a darn. High quality and should last forever.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Eyelet Setting Tool and Bit
Eyelet Setting Tool and Bit
5 6-15-2011
Nice little tool

Works great for installing eyelets, as well as for re-setting eyelets that were pre-set in bobbins but aren't quite flush.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Pickup Coil Tape
Pickup Coil Tape
5 6-15-2011
Great stuff

I use both the cloth and paper tape. It's the right stuff for pickups and looks great. Very high quality stuff.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Fretting Hammer
Fretting Hammer
5 6-15-2011
Versatile tool

I've used this hammer for everything BUT fretwork! I use it mostly for pickup making, but I've used it around the house for all sorts of tasks that need a gentler hammer. I like that the heads are replaceable.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Pickup Kit for Tele Neck
Pickup Kit for Tele Neck
4 6-15-2011
Nice kit

This is a good kit and makes a nice sounding pickup, but the cover (brass) is a little cheap; a nickel silver cover would be better quality.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Pickup Kit for Tele Bridge
Pickup Kit for Tele Bridge
5 6-15-2011
A great kit

This is a great kit - high quality all the way around. I've built a bunch of these kits, and they always turn out really nice.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Strat Pickup Flatwork
Strat Pickup Flatwork
5 6-15-2011
Perfect dimensions.

I've built a bunch of pickups with these bobbins and they always turn out nice.

The bottom bobbin polepiece holes are a tiny bit bigger than those on the Tele bridge and neck bobbins (even though the specs say they are the same), which is nice, because it makes it a little easier to install the magnets.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Tele Bridge Pickup Flatwork
Tele Bridge Pickup Flatwork
5 6-15-2011
A great deal

Considering you get the bobbin and baseplate, this is a bargain. And it is top quality. I've built a bunch of Tele bridge pickups with these and they always turn out nice.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 6-15-2011
It's the best

This is the best shielding tape hands down. The conductive backing is extremely helpful, eliminating the need to solder every joint for continuity.

I've used this stuff for shielding guitar cavities, pickups coils, and back panels of amps. Works great!

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Pickup Spring Tubing
Pickup Spring Tubing
3 6-15-2011
A little too tight

The internal diameter of the tubing is a little too snug on the height adjustment screws. This makes it tough to get the tubing over the height adjustment screw, and also makes it difficult to turn the screws, since as the tubing compresses, the screw doesn't rotate freely inside the tubing, and the tubing twists and resists turning due to friction with whatever it is compressing against. This means the size that you cut the tubing too much be precise, otherwise you will have trouble adjusting the height screws.

If the ID were just a little larger, this stuff would be perfect.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Displaying 15076 – 15100
of 20966 reviews
< 1  ...  603  604  605  ...  839 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce