Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 126 – 150
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 4-09-2014
Big-boy fretwire

Needed some really big fretwire to act as a zero fret for an 1969 Zim-Gar (Teisco). This really did the trick. Too bad you don't sell it by the fret!

Bryan was taken already  Houston Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
4 4-09-2014
Learning curve

There was a bit of a learning curve (wasted fretwire) in determining what its maximum cut was - and that maximum was not big. Knowing this is important since I could not go back to make a second cut because it would mangle the crown. I would have liked to have been able to go back and nibble a little more of the tang away as needed on some frets. It's a good thing I started by the headstock and worked my way down as it allowed me to reuse some mis-trimmed frets. Still, it was a massive timesaver in my last bound-fingerboard refret once I learned its peculiarities. Some adjustment instructions would be nice as well instead of having to waste fretwire learning tool setup through experimentation.

Bryan was taken already  Houston Read my reviews (2)
Cream Plastic Binding
Cream Plastic Binding
2 4-09-2014
CREAM BINDING

I took a chance with this color. I was hoping it wouldn't be too pink or orange like some have said it is . . . well it's pretty pink/orange. This very well may be the perfect color for a vintage Les Paul but not for anything else imo. Stew Mac needs to offer a true cream binding, this should be called Gibson shell pink. I'll have to order white and tone it instead. Other than the color I have not a complaint. I've been ordering from Stew Mac for 10 plus years and I don't plan on stopping now.

J.M. Haas  RVA
Alnico Bar Magnet
Alnico Bar Magnet
5 4-09-2014
Honk instead of ice pick

For just a few bucks, this little alnico 2 bar changed the sound in an Asian HSH Strat quite pleasantly. The bridge pickup originally had an alnico 5 mag in it and BOY was it ice picky! It was a $200 guitar so what the heck. I put the StewMac alnico 2 bar in it and left it unpotted. Has a nice little "honk" to it now instead of ice picks in your ear. Didn't really lose output either. Thanks again Stew Mac.

JLane  Brackett, Texas
Toggle Switch Plate
Toggle Switch Plate
5 4-09-2014
nice

where else are you going to find one of these? Stew Mac rocks!

Papi Frazinelli  CT Read my reviews (5)
Golden Age Pre-wired Harness for Gibson Les Paul
Golden Age Pre-wired Harness for Gibson® Les Paul®
4 4-09-2014
nice idea

if you have minimal soldering skills just buy all the parts and solder them together yourself. it is a cute packaging idea.

Papi Frazinelli  CT Read my reviews (5)
Pot Cleaning Cap
Pot Cleaning Cap
1 4-09-2014
whoa

still sparys all over the place. save your money

Papi Frazinelli  CT Read my reviews (5)
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
5 4-09-2014
nice

cleaned up my pots nicely

Papi Frazinelli  CT Read my reviews (5)
Knob Position Indicator
Knob Position Indicator
5 4-09-2014
great

everything I've ever wanted in a knob position indicator. shiny and new

Papi Frazinelli  CT Read my reviews (5)
Montreux Step Bass Bridge
Montreux Step Bass Bridge
5 4-09-2014
Great Choice

I was getting ready to put together a Jazz Bass and was looking at bridges. I have always liked the vintage Fender bridges with the knurled saddles. When I first saw this bridge on Stew Mac's site I was a bit hesitant because there were no reviews. Then I saw it was stainless steel so I took the plunge. I can tell you this bass bridge is much better in hand than it seems looking at it on the PC screen. It is very stout and does have a little weight to it but I can tell you my jazz has fantastic sustain and I can feel the notes resonate in my thumb all the way up and down the neck. I also thought the price they were asking for this type of bridge was a little high but after getting it on my bass and playing it for a few weeks I can tell you it was well worth it. Intonation was easy. Plenty of adjustment room and the knurled saddles makes for easy placement of the strings over the pickup pole pieces. It really is a nice bridge!

Mike B.  Ontario, Canada
Customer supplied image for review
White/b/w Laminated Pickguard Materials
White/b/w Laminated Pickguard Materials
5 4-09-2014
L.P. Pick Guard

It is easy to find LP pickguard for humbucking pickups. This guitar was equipped with P90 pickup and original copies are rare to find. It is great to find materials which will allow you to make an exact copy of the original part.

G.L. Middleton  Abilene Texas Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Pickguard Screws for Gibson
Pickguard Screws for Gibson
5 4-09-2014
Keep it original.

For whatever reason, most of the instruments I receive are missing anything from one to all of the original screws. These screws are a perfect match for the original parts on a Gibson guitar. You can't tell the two new ones from the original screws.

G.L. Middleton  Abilene Texas Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
CTS Control Pots
CTS Control Pots
5 4-09-2014
Simply Superior

This is a no brainer. For a couple bucks more, you get a smooth, scratch-free, nicely tapered control.

Randy  Indianapolis Read my reviews (5)
Basic Wiring Kit
Basic Wiring Kit
3 4-09-2014
If you don't need much...

I love Stew-Mac in general but I think they could add about 25% more length and still make a good margin. I ran out of white a bit soon.

Randy  Indianapolis Read my reviews (5)
Grover Deluxe Keystones
Grover Deluxe Keystones
5 4-09-2014
Vintage Guitar Restoration

These tuners matach the original Gibson parts. When restoring a vintage guitar I try to keep it as original as possible. These little honeys fill the bill.

G.L. Middleton  Abilene Texas Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
4 4-09-2014
Wood quality

Great fingerboard. The wood was straight and well-radiused, but could you start quarter-sawing them? Thanks!

Caleb Lauth  Georgia
TUSQ XL Nuts
TUSQ XL Nuts
4 4-09-2014
Tusk Nut

Very Happy with the Tusq nut. Easy to work with. Plays great. Doesn't bind with the tremolo

toneman662  Sonora, Ca. Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Black Pickguard Material
Black Pickguard Material
5 4-09-2014
Gibson SG Back Cover

This material is perfect to make back cover for a SG guitar. Thickness and color match. I restore many older guitars which finding and original part is impossible. Making your own parts with workable materials fills the bill.

G.L. Middleton  Abilene Texas Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass
Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass
5 4-09-2014
Bass Nut Filers

Want a handy tool in your guitar tool chest, these are a must. Great quality and very easy to use. I never realized the nut on all my basses needed to be filed down. A great find!

Lowender  St. Marys, Canada
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
5 4-09-2014
brilliant solution

Had a recurring top bulge problem behind the bridge on an extremely lightly built single O. Tried several heat/steam fixes but the problem kept coming back. The Bridge Doctor solved the problem brilliantly and improved the tone of the guitar noticeably. Fitting the drilled hole behind the bridge pins was a bit tight with the traditional pyramid bridge, but I put in an abalone plug instead of the plastic one provided and it looks great. Had to grind down the bridge pins nearest the mounting screw to fit them around the wood block, but I probably could have taken it out and knocked off the corners of the unit instead. Highly recommended. Don't be afraid of this fix.

fullwedge  Cornwall on Hudson, NY Read my reviews (21)
Humbucker Pickup Covers
Humbucking Pickup Covers
5 4-09-2014
Icing on the cake

Perfect fit for a Seymour Duncan 59 and Pearly gates. The covers look outstanding. Thanks Stewmac

Gregg F  Chula Vista, CA
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Dual Fret Scale Templates
5 4-09-2014
Works Great

Works great! I would love to see a 27", which is a popular scale length for baritones and seven strings.

Joshua Allen  Urbana, IL Read my reviews (6)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 4-08-2014
5416-S

I bought this pair 5416-2 (Alnico 5 neck, Alnico 2 bridge) to go into a Les Paul kit project I built. These pickups are just perfect! and the guitar sounds better than my other famous factory made guitars?... Quality is super for the cost (what a set should cost IMHO), and the pole screws came pre-adjusted too, as I had to do very little tweaking afterwards! Although the neck pickup sits somewhat angled with the screw poles closer to the strings (like in the pic with the goldtop) I am not sure if this intentional, or if it may be hitting inside the cavity? Anyhow I don't want to change a thing because they sound Sooooo great! What a great compliment to my Les Paul guitar project! Thanks!

Madmusiclimited.com  N. Attleboro, MA USA
Customer supplied image for review
Pyramid Guitar Bridge
'Pyramid' Guitar Bridge
3 4-08-2014
Less finished, more work than you might expect.

I bought the unslotted, undrilled version, as my little old parlor guitar had a wider string spacing than the drilled one (you would have to be lucky for that to be just right if your guitar is not standard old Martin specs). From reading the other reviews, I don't know if I got a sub-standard piece, but it was evident that it was produced on a pin router, and those grooves from end to end had to be scraped and sanded out, which took some time and reduced the thickness at the edges to barely enough. Like everyone else, I'm looking for a time-saver. For the price, I had hoped for a more finished product and a bit more time saved. Even slotted and drilled, don't expect to be able to slap it right on the guitar.

M Glickman  Frederick, MD Read my reviews (2)
L.R. Baggs iMix System
L.R. Baggs iMix System
5 4-08-2014
The best online shop I've ever experienced!

I should write two reviews: one for the seller and one for the system. The system... I've always liked the LR Baggs products and this system is really good, the combination of the i beam and the element works great! StewMac is simply the best online shop I've ever experienced. I've bought tons of things for my guitars on the web but I've never met a seller like StewMac! I had a problem with the element input in the imix. I sent an email to StewMac and they ship immediately another system. I send back the one that did't work at their expense (from Italy). Great service Thank you very much! - - - Giuseppe

Giuseppe Mascitelli  Italy
Displaying 126 – 150
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce