Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 126 – 150
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Fret Erasers
Fret Erasers
1 4-06-2014
Pretty lame

Not that impressed with the fine grit, which was the only one I purchased. Seems gimmicky

travis a  thornton, Co.
Schaller Roller Bridge
Schaller Roller Bridge
5 4-06-2014
Perfect fit

I recently outfitted my US standard tele with a B5 Bigsby......in order to help with the bending of the Bigsby, I ordered the chrome Schaller roller bridge. StewMac delivered once again....a perfect fit....great product....great service....thanks StewMac!

peterws  Canada Read my reviews (2)
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
5 4-06-2014
Dragon rasp

Absolutely amazing tool, as advertised. Cuts clean and fast, and easy to control.

Devonian Guitar Works  Devon, Ab. Canada
ToneRite for Guitar
ToneRite for Guitar
4 4-06-2014
Tonerite for Guitar

There is much debate about whether this device actually works, and I cannot put forth any scientific evidence to answer the question. My subjective opinion is that after a 7 day session, my nearly new Martin HD-35 does seem louder and richer. I think there has been some loss of the improvement over time; the Tonerite manufacturer states that this is likely, and suggests repeat "treatments." My "treatment protocol" involved keeping the guitar at 40% humidity, 75 degree F, while the Tonerite was operating, and then keeping the guitar in a humidified case, when not in use. I changed the strings after the "treatment." My hypothesis is that tonal change occurs due to rearrangement of hydrogen bonds within the cellulose and protein matrix of the guitar's wooden components, and that this change will be enhanced in a warm, (not hot!!!!!) moist environment. It also makes sense that such changes would be temporary. Obviously this statement is conjectural, and should not be construed as fact. For the record, I am not a chemist, and have no financial interest in Tonerite or Stew-Mac. I am an amateur guitarist of very modest ability. A sound engineer should be able to objectively test this device for efficacy, and I wish someone would do this.

Bad Pete  Salt Lake City, Utah
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
5 4-06-2014
Best thing since sliced bread...

When it comes to tele-style input jacks, there is no better solution. Easy, practical, secure...what more could one ask for?

J. Davis  Roanoke, VA
Safe Slot Nut Guard
Safe Slot Nut Guard
5 4-06-2014
Amazingly simple

This tool makes the job so much easier.It takes the guess work out of how deep the slots should be. I highly recommend this tool! It's a must have!

Tim G.  Sarasota , Fl
Gotoh Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Oval Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
5 4-05-2014
Gotoh 6 in a line oval

I have played guitar since the night I seen Hendrix play at Madison Square Garden. I recently became disappointed with the backlash exhibited by the old standby replacement tuners, and took a chance on these. I no longer have to tune my guitar between songs. These tuners are ultra tight! Now I can focus on performing without worry of de-tuning in mid-song. What a relief! Spend your money ONCE and try these tuners. It's nice to fine quality these days.

Pathfinder  USA Read my reviews (3)
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
5 4-05-2014
Gotoh - Large Schaller Style - Ultra Cool & Hold Tune!

I have played guitar since the night I seen Hendrix Play at Madison Square Garden. I have tried many after market tuners, but recently I have had nothing but headaches with backlash with the old standby tuners of the past. After installing these tuners on my resonator guitar, the problem is solved! FINALLY, I do not have to tune up the guitar between songs. These tuners hold ultra tight! Now I can focus on song writing and playing without worry! Thanks stewmac for providing a remedy for my headache! These tuners are ultra cool and will save you much grief! Spend you money once and buy Gotoh!

Pathfinder  USA Read my reviews (3)
Refret Saw
Refret Saw
5 4-05-2014
Great Tool

I've seen these for years and thought they were frivolous...until I had to re-fret a bound fretboard! They worked great. I bought the set. I started with the smallest and worked up until the fret fit just right.

TonyC  Atlanta, GA
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Snakewood Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Snakewood Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 4-05-2014
HD28 Waverly Snakewood

OK well lets just say THANK YOU STEWMAC! The tuners were great and made all the dif. in the world, they look great and are smooth in function, they make any Martin into a strateveris. The tools are a must have the Drill jig bushing press and the Drill bits with the stops, DONT EVEN try this with out them, THANKS STEW MAC!

marknelson  Dayton, Nevada
Customer supplied image for review
Dulcimer Kit
Dulcimer Kit
5 4-05-2014
Good kit but 1 minor issue

I don't usually buy kits but, as with several other Stewmac kits, I wanted to build some small instruments quickly for a local arts and crafts event that my guitar shop sponsors. The dulcimer kit went together quickly, though I found that the sides were over bent giving a very narrow waist, so I re-bent them to make the waist wider. I had to change the construction technique a little as I wanted to bind the soundboard and back. Overall this would be a very good kit for a beginner.

Jeff Jay  Three Rivers, CA Read my reviews (4)
Campfire Mandolin Kit
Campfire Mandolin Kit
4 4-05-2014
Generally good but one problem

I don't usually buy kits but I needed to build some small instruments quickly for a local arts and crafts fair that my business sponsors.
The campfire mandolin kit was generally very good but there was one significant issue - the top brace wood was cut with the grain running in the wrong way - horizontal instead of vertical! It did not cause me a problem as I always have lots of bracewood in my shop, but would have caused a serious problem to someone without a guitar shop. I did not use your method of sanding the braces. I used a simple adjustable sanding jig that I made for use when undertaking guitar repairs. Much more positive especially when sanding the rim.

Jeff Jay  Three Rivers, CA Read my reviews (4)
Orange Drop Caps
Orange Drop Caps
5 4-05-2014
Great Cap

Just follow the recommends and you'll get a great tone. A .022 bridge & .015 neck for your LP tone.

Palaver  MetroWest MA - USA Read my reviews (13)
Switchcraft Toggle Switches
Switchcraft Toggle Switches
5 4-05-2014
None Better

This is what you buy when you want a toggle switch. I'm using the short for LP builds most often, longer threading & better fit. Get the toggle wrench too.

Palaver  MetroWest MA - USA Read my reviews (13)
Soundhole Clamps
Soundhole Clamps
4 4-05-2014
No Substitute!

There is simply no substitute for these clamps. An customer purchased two 7" and one 5" clamp for me. I found recently that I wished I had another of the 5" clamps, so I ordered one. Glad I did. The adjustable feet on these allows clamping in a variety of situations--not just for bridges. Sturdy enough for medium clamping, but don't tighten too tight--they will bend sideways (permanently). Great for light to medium clamping. I do wish that they were made of a little heavier-duty metal.

theguitarmedic  Indiana Read my reviews (3)
Soundhole Clamp Cauls
Soundhole Clamp Cauls
5 4-05-2014
Helps Location Issues

Many times the ends of the bridge are just over the cross braces. These cawls allow you to clamp to that cross brace without the clamp foot slipping off. Great idea! I formerly used small pieces of oak cut in a square, but had to use double-stick tape to make them stick to the clamp foot.

theguitarmedic  Indiana Read my reviews (3)
Acoustic Bridge Locating Pins
Acoustic Bridge Locating Pins
4 4-05-2014
Locating Pins Save Extra Work

I have wanted these for a long time--ever since I worked in a shop with a luthier who had a set. They are indispensable. The alternative is to use regular bridge pins to align the bridge, then remove them after about 15 minutes (so that you CAN remove them). Then there is the issue with cleaning the slave bridge pins (they weren't dedicated for this purpose). With the silicone pins, I can leave them in, then wipe them off. MUCH EASIER. Glad I finally took the plunge. The only disadvantage is that since they're soft, the bridge (when clamped) can 'walk' more easily than when using hard plastic pins to align. However, the easier cleanup etc offsets this small issue.

theguitarmedic  Indiana Read my reviews (3)
Fret Press Inserts
Fret Press Inserts
5 4-05-2014
Very Handy

I've been performing fretwork for nearly 30 years, and no method of fret-insertion has been as successful for me as using the Jaws (4381) system with these fret-press inserts. These in combine with Jaws, the Jaws-2 (4266), the Fret Arbor Press System (4481) or the Fret Press Caul (4365) in a drill press is easily hands-down the most secure way to seat a fret in a slot. I also use the Stew Mac Fret-Bender (0350) in conjunction with the Radius Gauges (5432) first, then the Fretting Hammer (4895) to tap in the fret-ends. The Jaws and these Inserts have never failed me. I've yet to have a fret-end lift or have a fret unseat itself using this process.

uberaxe  Davie, FL Read my reviews (4)
3M Double-stick Tape
3M Double-stick Tape
5 4-05-2014
The Best Two-Sided Tape There Is

I've used several types of double-sided tapes for a number of applications, up to and including heavy-stick carpet tape, and nothing holds as firmly or releases as gently as Stew Mac's Double-Stick Tape. It's literally the perfect tape for holding acrylic, wood or MDF templates to nearly any surface securely for routing and pattern-transfer, yet is removed with a little effort by either twisting it or using a thin level for leverage leaving no damage to either the template material or even the thinnest of finishes on an instrument. There is little if any residue to clean up afterwards as well. I will only ever use this tape from now on.

uberaxe  Davie, FL Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Binding Tape
Binding Tape
5 4-05-2014
5***** Binding Tape

It is easy to use, and it is very strong. I am satisfy. Thanks

Bjarne Christensen  Løgstør Denmark Read my reviews (8)
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Dressing Stick
5 4-05-2014
A Mainstay Must-Have

These dressing sticks belong in even the most basic of fret-dressing toolboxes. Having at least four allows you to switch from one to the other quickly without having to change belts and speeds up work-flow. Regardless of whether you work with diamond files (which I do, Stew Mac's 4457 Dual-Grit Set), the Double-Edge (the 4492 set) or a good old fashion tri-cornet file (set 1600), the Fret Dressing Stick is the perfect follow-up. Their spring-action is nice and tight, and you can file a half-round groove in the tip so the sanding belt itself takes the shape of the crowned fret. Brilliant! Then you can follow that with #0000 steel wool and buffing wheels (5269) on a rotary tool like a Dremel. I never fail to get a mirror-polish on frets using that combo.

uberaxe  Davie, FL Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Scraper Blades
Scraper Blades
5 4-05-2014
Excellent tool

Easy to make sharp, and the stand time is long when I use the tools. Thanks.

Bjarne Christensen  Løgstør Denmark Read my reviews (8)
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 4-05-2014
A satisfied customer

It is easy to use, easy to set up, it runs perfect, what more can I ask for. PERFECT THANKs.

Bjarne Christensen  Løgstør Denmark Read my reviews (8)
Acoustic Strap Secure
Acoustic Strap Secure
5 4-05-2014
Brilliantly simple, effective solution

Perfect fit for my Breedlove guitar. Tremendous improvement in strap attachment security over my StrapKeeper. Hopefully, future stock will include the nickel finish, too.

Gregor  Carolina
Soundhole Truss Rod Wrenches
Soundhole Truss Rod Wrenches
5 4-05-2014
5mm Truss Rod adj.

This 5mm 4 1/2 inch reach truss rod tool is a must if you have a Martin guitar that adjusts thru the sound hole. It fits perfectly and with the soft grip handle it makes adjusting a truss rod a snap. Buy one you need this for your Martin guitar. Mine was for a DX1 model Martin.

senator151  Portsmouth, Ohio
Displaying 126 – 150
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce