Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 101 – 125
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

TUSQ XL Nuts
TUSQ XL Nuts
4 4-09-2014
Tusk Nut

Very Happy with the Tusq nut. Easy to work with. Plays great. Doesn't bind with the tremolo

toneman662  Sonora, Ca. Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Black Pickguard Material
Black Pickguard Material
5 4-09-2014
Gibson SG Back Cover

This material is perfect to make back cover for a SG guitar. Thickness and color match. I restore many older guitars which finding and original part is impossible. Making your own parts with workable materials fills the bill.

G.L. Middleton  Abilene Texas Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass
Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass
5 4-09-2014
Bass Nut Filers

Want a handy tool in your guitar tool chest, these are a must. Great quality and very easy to use. I never realized the nut on all my basses needed to be filed down. A great find!

Lowender  St. Marys, Canada
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
5 4-09-2014
brilliant solution

Had a recurring top bulge problem behind the bridge on an extremely lightly built single O. Tried several heat/steam fixes but the problem kept coming back. The Bridge Doctor solved the problem brilliantly and improved the tone of the guitar noticeably. Fitting the drilled hole behind the bridge pins was a bit tight with the traditional pyramid bridge, but I put in an abalone plug instead of the plastic one provided and it looks great. Had to grind down the bridge pins nearest the mounting screw to fit them around the wood block, but I probably could have taken it out and knocked off the corners of the unit instead. Highly recommended. Don't be afraid of this fix.

fullwedge  Cornwall on Hudson, NY Read my reviews (21)
Humbucker Pickup Covers
Humbucking Pickup Covers
5 4-09-2014
Icing on the cake

Perfect fit for a Seymour Duncan 59 and Pearly gates. The covers look outstanding. Thanks Stewmac

Gregg F  Chula Vista, CA
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Dual Fret Scale Templates
5 4-09-2014
Works Great

Works great! I would love to see a 27", which is a popular scale length for baritones and seven strings.

Joshua Allen  Urbana, IL Read my reviews (6)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 4-08-2014
5416-S

I bought this pair 5416-2 (Alnico 5 neck, Alnico 2 bridge) to go into a Les Paul kit project I built. These pickups are just perfect! and the guitar sounds better than my other famous factory made guitars?... Quality is super for the cost (what a set should cost IMHO), and the pole screws came pre-adjusted too, as I had to do very little tweaking afterwards! Although the neck pickup sits somewhat angled with the screw poles closer to the strings (like in the pic with the goldtop) I am not sure if this intentional, or if it may be hitting inside the cavity? Anyhow I don't want to change a thing because they sound Sooooo great! What a great compliment to my Les Paul guitar project! Thanks!

Madmusiclimited.com  N. Attleboro, MA USA
Customer supplied image for review
Pyramid Guitar Bridge
'Pyramid' Guitar Bridge
3 4-08-2014
Less finished, more work than you might expect.

I bought the unslotted, undrilled version, as my little old parlor guitar had a wider string spacing than the drilled one (you would have to be lucky for that to be just right if your guitar is not standard old Martin specs). From reading the other reviews, I don't know if I got a sub-standard piece, but it was evident that it was produced on a pin router, and those grooves from end to end had to be scraped and sanded out, which took some time and reduced the thickness at the edges to barely enough. Like everyone else, I'm looking for a time-saver. For the price, I had hoped for a more finished product and a bit more time saved. Even slotted and drilled, don't expect to be able to slap it right on the guitar.

M Glickman  Frederick, MD Read my reviews (2)
L.R. Baggs iMix System
L.R. Baggs iMix System
5 4-08-2014
The best online shop I've ever experienced!

I should write two reviews: one for the seller and one for the system. The system... I've always liked the LR Baggs products and this system is really good, the combination of the i beam and the element works great! StewMac is simply the best online shop I've ever experienced. I've bought tons of things for my guitars on the web but I've never met a seller like StewMac! I had a problem with the element input in the imix. I sent an email to StewMac and they ship immediately another system. I send back the one that did't work at their expense (from Italy). Great service Thank you very much! - - - Giuseppe

Giuseppe Mascitelli  Italy
Triple-O Guitar Kit
Triple-O Guitar Kit
5 4-07-2014
Amazing experience as a first time builder

After playing for so many years I really wanted to take a stab at building my own guitar and after doing some research found the Stew Mac OOO kit and decided to go for it. I've never done any woodworking of any type and aside from the usual guitar maintenance tasks (changing strings, etc) I had never done anything remotely close to building a guitar. I followed the instructions closely, watched the DVD repeatedly as I tackled the steps and when it still wasn't clear would check online for whatever I was trying to figure out. Between those 3 things, I ended up with an amazing looking and sounding guitar and I couldn't be happier. I loved building this thing as much as I love playing it and learned so so much. I'm about to buy my next kit and I'm really stoked to start it. My biggest challenge by far was figuring out how to set the dovetail neck properly and I'll admit - it took me several attempts, but I learned from my mistakes each time and ended up with the perfect neck angle. Plus, I know how to take a glued neck off an acoustic guitar like a pro now, so that's cool. If you've ever thought about building your own acoustic guitar, I highly recommend this kit. You won't regret it and you'll probably not want to stop after finishing your first guitar.

lebadget  Salt Lake City, UT
Customer supplied image for review
Whip Tips
Whip Tips
5 4-07-2014
Perfect for use with Super Glues

Fit on the bottle nicely and worked awesome especially with the no. 10 consistency. Had to trim it for the thicker 30. Worked great.

JAT  Canada Read my reviews (7)
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 4-07-2014
Awesome stuff!

Bought 10, 20, and 30 consistency. Worked as stated. Using the applicator tips it made it super easy to repair a cracked neck and body on an acoustic I salvaged. Works great.

JAT  Canada Read my reviews (7)
Adjustable Wraparound Bridge
Adjustable Wraparound Bridge
3 4-07-2014
Only so-so

I bought this for a LP Jr. kit project, and the quality is decent considering the price. I've never had the "original" product that this is based on so I can't say if it's the same or not, but on this kit, at least, I had to modify the inserts and posts to make the bridge sit low enough on the body to get a reasonable 12th fret clearance. I recessed the insert flanges flush with the body and turned about .04" off the bottom flange of the posts to make them screw in a little further. With everything down tight it was playable but not ideal. Thinking of grinding down the saddles now. Could have been the neck angle was not to spec, but on this particular brand of kit everything else has been spot on, so I don't know. Just a heads up for others who might be thinking of using the item, be sure you check the neck angle clearance.

Steve Fillipp  Lubbock, Texas Read my reviews (4)
Jaws2
Jaws2
4 4-07-2014
Invaluable!

Although it mostly works for the last 3 or 4 frets of an acoustic guitar, there is no easy way to install them without this! And with the interchangeable cauls it can be adapted to many other unique situations! Great!!!

Bob D.  Scottsdale
Acoustic Strap Secure
Acoustic Strap Secure
5 4-07-2014
What an improvement!

The extent to which this simple part makes your day (as it did mine) will probably depend on how crappy the stock part you're replacing was. No coincidence that the last happy review was also from a Breedlove owner: GREAT guitars, terrible stock endpin jack. The indent for the strap on Breedlove's part is barely smaller than the rest of it, so it's a challenge to get a strap on it, and it's very easy for the strap to come off, resulting in disaster. It's also hard to get any kind of torque on the part so that it's securely threaded onto the 1/4" input jack itself. This little piece of hardware solves all of that. You'll probably want to thread the strap right on and leave it for good, but once it's on it's secure. The increased diameter and knurled edges means you can get a tight fit without a wrench, and makes it easier to find the input jack in a hurry without scratching/denting the guitar. Like the last reviewer, I'd have preferred nickel, but the brass is handsome on this guitar. I might even consider upgrading my tuners for an all-brass look instead.

M. Benigni  New Haven Read my reviews (2)
Knob Position Indicator
Knob Position Indicator
5 4-07-2014
Les Paul Knob Position Indicators

The postage may have out stripped the cost of the indicators which do exactly what they are meant to do. But, who'd be stupid enough to buy the set of corroded vintage indicators I saw online while I was looking for sellers of this item? Yeah! Stew-Mac every time.

Brian Snowden  Melbourne Australia
Flattop Guitar Bridge Blank
Flattop Guitar Bridge Blank
4 4-07-2014
Very nice!

Tried out a bunch of the rosewood blanks. Very rough sawn, but that doesn't matter to me. Took me 5 min to get them smooth and square. Plenty of room for mistakes. Will buy again.

Matti  Sweden Read my reviews (2)
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 4-07-2014
Very nice!

Tried these out during the weekend. I leveled and crowned 3 separate necks, and only have good things to say. If you apply too much pressure, they leave some marks. Apply less pressure and let the files do their work and you'll be fine.

Matti  Sweden Read my reviews (2)
10.5mm Round Conversion Bushings
10.5mm Round Conversion Bushings
5 4-07-2014
10.5mm Round Conversion Bushings

I've been using these as my go-to for all my Kluson tuner updates. I know they fit! no re-drilling.

Darrin  Brisbane, Australia Read my reviews (10)
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
5 4-07-2014
Worked Out Great

I bought a black pick guard for my Yairi Alvarez. The poor thing was born without a pick guard, and I've played her for so long she had a hole starting to wear through. The pick guard needed to be trimmed with a a bit larger sound hole radius to allow the pearl trim of the Yairi to show. So, I used a compass to cut out a template from a cereal box, traced the edge on the adhesive side of the pick guard, and carefully trimmed it with sharp scissors. It trimmed surprisingly neatly, but I followed that up with some light smoothing and beveling with a half round file. Once stuck on, the pick guard looked like it came with the guitar. Nice! Especially for the price!

soundog  Pacific Northwest
Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
5 4-06-2014
Good bye parrot vise

If you don't have one of these you should get one. It will save you a lot of frustration and headache.

ChuckHutchison  Herrin, IL Read my reviews (2)
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 4-06-2014
StewMac Super Glue

I have to admit, I have tried other adhesives over the years, but I believe this product from Stewart MacDonald is about the best I have ever used. The thing I like the most about it is the fact you can buy it in differing thicknesses. Excellent for most repairs, including most really tough to glue plastics. It lasts forever in it's container, as long as you remember to put the top back on, and keep it right side up. Top of the line adhesive from a company that you can count on...Stewart MacDonald.

Brett McNaueal  Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Fret Slot Cleaning Tool
Fret Slot Cleaning Tool
5 4-06-2014
Should have bought one earlier

This tool has been a lifesaver on my most recent fretboard. After binding and radiusing, it is imperative to remove all the glue and sawdust from the slots to get a proper fret seat. Razor blades and X-Acto knives work, but this makes short work of it. I agree with taking it slow. Trying to remove too much at once could chip the board. The blade fits a large X-Acto handle, so just buy the blade if you have one of those lying around.

Garon  Los Angeles Read my reviews (7)
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 4-06-2014
One of the best rods on the market

The functionality of the rod is unparalleled. However, when I received mine, there was some rust and corrosion on the two brass blocks and the adjusting nut. A few minutes with some 320-grit sandpaper took care of it and brought it back to a nice sheen. It's not enough to detract a star from the rating, but as the adjusting nut would be visible in my finished product, it's worth noting. I bought it with the router bit and routed my truss rod slot without any hassle.

Garon  Los Angeles Read my reviews (7)
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
5 4-06-2014
Great router bit

I purchased the Hot Rod router bit in conjunction with a Hot Rod for my first full build. It couldn't have been any easier to route the truss rod slot. The rod fits perfectly without any rattle or unnecessary play. Measure multiple times and cut in multiple passes and you'll be doing this in your sleep.

Garon  Los Angeles Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 101 – 125
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce