Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 101 – 125
of 21028 reviews
< 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick
Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick
5 4-12-2014
Essential fretting tool

These things are simply amazing. After crowning my frets with a diamond file, I'll go over them with 0000 steel wool, then polish them up with one of these. I can get a full fret job/polish out of one stick. A little trick I found was when they start getting dirty, just snip half an inch off the tip and keep going. They're cheap too, so buy a few next time you place an order–you won't regret it. I can see myself ordering a handful every time I need some new tools. I haven't used them for finish touch ups yet, but they're worth their weight in gold for fretting purposes. They're also great for polishing your nails if you play fingerstyle!

Garon  Los Angeles Read my reviews (7)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 4-11-2014
color tone

great product, had minor issues with spitting droplets, one out of 7 total cans used, replacement can shipped asap

reed richards  atlanta,ga.
Banjo Tuner Knobs
Banjo Tuner Knobs
5 4-11-2014
Liked these knobs

If it weren't for these knobs, I would have passed on the 5-Star tuners. The knobs that come with them are SUPER UGLY! These made all the difference in the world. Very elegant. A little snug fit on the tuner shaft, but pulled right into position when I tightened the screw. I'd use them again.

Michael's Ukuleles  Bellingham, WA Read my reviews (2)
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
4 4-11-2014
Worked for tenor uke

I decided to try these pegs on a very special tenor uke. The customer requested geared tuners, and there are many options available, of course. (I decided against the Waverly banjo set because the cylindrical base is 3/4" in diameter.) The 5-Stars are 5/8" in dia. and require a headstock of 7/16" or more, which worked for us. The tuners work very well. The shaft does protrude a little more than usual for a uke, but in this case it didn't matter. The buttons that come on the tuners are EXTRA ugly (that's why only 4 stars), so I also ordered the ivoroid replacements. The final result was an attractive and elegant presentation on a stunning uke. I'll use them again.

Michael's Ukuleles  Bellingham, WA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Bridge Pin Puller
Bridge Pin Puller
5 4-11-2014
Handy

This little guy is as handy as a shirt pocket. I keep one in every acoustic guitar case I own.

Mycle812  Riverton, Illinois Read my reviews (7)
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
5 4-11-2014
The right tool

Having the right tool for the job sure saves me a lot of aggrivation. Not to mention ... isn't as likely to cause damage to expensive guitars right where you would see it the most.

Mycle812  Riverton, Illinois Read my reviews (7)
Pickguard Screws for Fender
Pickguard Screws for Fender
5 4-11-2014
Less Rust. More Flash.

I always replace the pickguard screws in my many Strats with Stainless Steel screws. The stock screws corrode over time and look terrible where the Stainless Screws always look like new.

Mycle812  Riverton, Illinois Read my reviews (7)
Fret Slotting Miter Box
Fret Slotting Miter Box
5 4-11-2014
Moc šikovná věc

S tímto boxem se pracuje krásně. Můžu všem jen doporučit.

miroslav hefner  chomutov, czech republic
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 4-10-2014
Amazing stuff!

I bought the 3/8's and the 1/2", both with extra bearings. The bearing that came with the 1/2" didn't slide all the way down onto the shaft. Wrote stewmac and there was another at my door the next day! That's great service!!!!! Bits and bearings both are top notch, couldn't get by without them. Word to the wise though, shallow cuts make for more consistent results. Thanks Stewmac!!!!!!!!

Hepburn  New Albany, Indiana Read my reviews (6)
Gotoh Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Oval Knob Tuners 3L/3R
5 4-10-2014
great basic tuners

They have a nice feel, smooth tuning.

Chris R  Québec, Canada Read my reviews (6)
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
5 4-10-2014
Rosewood binding

I used this binding on a bass guitar neck. The binding is very attractive with a rich color and I haven't oiled it yet. It glued well using CA.

maaark38  San Clemente, CA Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 4-10-2014
ColorTone Stain

I couldn't be happier with this product. It was exactly as described. This was my first attempt at re-finishing a guitar and it turned out great!

rico5082  Cincinnati, OH
Snark Guitar, Bass, and Violin Tuner
Snark Guitar, Bass, and Violin Tuner
5 4-10-2014
no need to unplug

This little guy snaps on the headstock and does just as good a job as the best plug-in tuner I have. Very fast, sensitive, and easy to use.

alder  NJ USA Read my reviews (17)
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
5 4-10-2014
works as advertised

So far I've just used it once, but it seems to have done an excellent job. When fretting with a hammer, I expect to have to do lots of leveling afterwards, but initial tests with the Fret Rocker show this neck is nearly perfect already. I will probably end up tapping down a few places with the hammer and then stoning the whole thing perfect before I am completely satisfied, but that's just because I am fussy about these things. I found it is easier to do a fret (especially a long one) in several steps - push one end, then the other, then the middle down hard. Much the same way you would hammer it. That also puts less stress on your drill press, which isn't really designed for this kind of thing, but seems to do it well enough. Better, faster and *quieter* than hammering. Although I must say I found the whack whack whack method more satisfying somehow. Alas, I will probably never do it that way again. The Stewmac neck caul is the other end of this rig, and is pretty much essential.

alder  NJ USA Read my reviews (17)
Bullet Truss Rod Nut for Fender
Bullet Truss Rod Nut for Fender
5 4-09-2014
I was lucky on this one

The truss rod nut did exactly what I needed to do. After having extracted the old stripped nut from a used Squier Strat (that was over-tightened), I could reassemble the instrument easily. Inexpensive, quality part, and quick delivery.

CharlieInOmaha  Omaha, NE Read my reviews (2)
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 4-09-2014
Great Book

The Repair Guide amazes me because it provides a fundamental understanding of the guitar. I have been learning far more than simply how to fix it. I now know what I need to do a thorough job. Furthermore, this book is really fun to read.

CharlieInOmaha  Omaha, NE Read my reviews (2)
Archtop Guitar Bridge
Archtop Guitar Bridge
4 4-09-2014
Bridge Adjustment

Got the Ebony bridge for my Epi ES-175. Did some sanding of the bottom but the bridge still seems high. Will take it to pro for proper setup and bridge adjustment. A very beautiful wooden bridge!

Johnny A  Phila. Pa.
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 4-09-2014
Big-boy fretwire

Needed some really big fretwire to act as a zero fret for an 1969 Zim-Gar (Teisco). This really did the trick. Too bad you don't sell it by the fret!

Bryan was taken already  Houston Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
4 4-09-2014
Learning curve

There was a bit of a learning curve (wasted fretwire) in determining what its maximum cut was - and that maximum was not big. Knowing this is important since I could not go back to make a second cut because it would mangle the crown. I would have liked to have been able to go back and nibble a little more of the tang away as needed on some frets. It's a good thing I started by the headstock and worked my way down as it allowed me to reuse some mis-trimmed frets. Still, it was a massive timesaver in my last bound-fingerboard refret once I learned its peculiarities. Some adjustment instructions would be nice as well instead of having to waste fretwire learning tool setup through experimentation.

Bryan was taken already  Houston Read my reviews (2)
Cream Plastic Binding
Cream Plastic Binding
2 4-09-2014
CREAM BINDING

I took a chance with this color. I was hoping it wouldn't be too pink or orange like some have said it is . . . well it's pretty pink/orange. This very well may be the perfect color for a vintage Les Paul but not for anything else imo. Stew Mac needs to offer a true cream binding, this should be called Gibson shell pink. I'll have to order white and tone it instead. Other than the color I have not a complaint. I've been ordering from Stew Mac for 10 plus years and I don't plan on stopping now.

J.M. Haas  RVA
Alnico Bar Magnet
Alnico Bar Magnet
5 4-09-2014
Honk instead of ice pick

For just a few bucks, this little alnico 2 bar changed the sound in an Asian HSH Strat quite pleasantly. The bridge pickup originally had an alnico 5 mag in it and BOY was it ice picky! It was a $200 guitar so what the heck. I put the StewMac alnico 2 bar in it and left it unpotted. Has a nice little "honk" to it now instead of ice picks in your ear. Didn't really lose output either. Thanks again Stew Mac.

JLane  Brackett, Texas
Toggle Switch Plate
Toggle Switch Plate
5 4-09-2014
nice

where else are you going to find one of these? Stew Mac rocks!

Papi Frazinelli  CT Read my reviews (5)
Golden Age Pre-wired Harness for Gibson Les Paul
Golden Age Pre-wired Harness for Gibson® Les Paul®
4 4-09-2014
nice idea

if you have minimal soldering skills just buy all the parts and solder them together yourself. it is a cute packaging idea.

Papi Frazinelli  CT Read my reviews (5)
Pot Cleaning Cap
Pot Cleaning Cap
1 4-09-2014
whoa

still sparys all over the place. save your money

Papi Frazinelli  CT Read my reviews (5)
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
5 4-09-2014
nice

cleaned up my pots nicely

Papi Frazinelli  CT Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 101 – 125
of 21028 reviews
< 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce