Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 1 – 25
of 20966 reviews
1  2  3  ...  839 >
Sort reviews by

Tremolo Routing Templates
Tremolo Routing Templates
5 4-16-2014
time savers

any wellmade template will help save time and make cuts a lot cleaner, one thing with the ones i got, took me a hour to figure out that the countersunk holes were cut on the wrong side, good thing i'm old school and measure 6 times, cut once.

kent perry, Toad Mountain Music  Retro Tone Guitars,Pavas, costa rica Read my reviews (4)
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
5 4-16-2014
worth the price

Good stuff, lasts a lot longer than regular paper, i use it mostly for fret leveling, and i can get 20-25 fret levels out of one piece, so worth the price, and self sticking is a plus

kent perry, Toad Mountain Music  Retro Tone Guitars,Pavas, costa rica Read my reviews (4)
Ebony Bridge Pins
Ebony Bridge Pins
5 4-16-2014
Smooth and shiny

After purchasing a few sets of ebony pins over the years for myself and for customers, these StewMac pins are just about as good as they get. They are well formed, no chips, and very smooth and shiny like ebony pins should be. Even though a set of over-sized pins had a normal size pin in it, the great customer service department promptly corrected the mistake by sending a replacement.

Acoustichoral  STLouis
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
5 4-16-2014
Perfect replacement for Larrivee OEM Keys

These fit exactly on a Larrivee OMV-10 model, perfect except for the logo.

RestoGuitar  Cincinnati, Ohio USA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Saddles for Floyd Rose
Saddles for Floyd Rose
5 4-16-2014
Stewmac to the rescue

I bought a set of saddles to replace the problematic ones on my Jackson PS4 Performer. The stock factory FR licensed ones have given me problems for years, and these seem to be so much better. It is definitely a cost effective solution. They worked perfectly for me.

Carlos Santos  Cheyenne WY
Spalted Maple Top Wood for Flat Solidbodies
Spalted Maple Top Wood for Flat Solidbodies
5 4-16-2014
Great wood!

… highly curled, and wonderfully spalted… great piece of wood

Banjo980  Noumea, New Caledonia Read my reviews (4)
Mother-of-Pearl Inlay Set for Gibson® Les Paul® Custom
Mother-of-Pearl Inlay Set for Gibson® Les Paul® Custom
5 4-15-2014
Hey StewMac - how big did you say these are?

I did something that is not usually advised - which was that I routed out the pockets for these blocks on the CNC before I even had them in hand (the shipping was fast BTW). When the pieces arrived - all I had to do was to breathe on the edges with some sandpaper and in they went. I like the look but I am really impressed by the QC on the dimensions. Well done!

John Armstrong  Cambridge, MA
Dulcimer Kit
Dulcimer Kit
1 4-15-2014
Beware!

I would not buy this kit again on a bet. Poor instructions, insufficient bracing, no kerfing, shoddy peghead detail (tearout at edge of scroll required filling). Not remotely satisfied with this kit for the price paid.

Dan McCulloch  California Read my reviews (3)
StewMac responds

Dan McCulloch,
Thank you for your order and review. We're sorry you were unhappy with the Dulcimer Kit. We offer a 100% guarantee; if any item fails to meet your expectations, you may return it, unaltered, for a refund or exchange.

Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 4-15-2014
Amazing exact tone of an Original PAF

I just had the 5416-GS set of Alnico 5 at the neck and Alnico 2 at the bridge installed on my completely from the ground up upgraded Epiphone Lucille. The only hardware /wiring/switches/hand made vintage bone nut/ Gibson Deluxe tuning gears and electronics left that were stock is the strap pegs. Everything else is pure factory Gibson except these Golden Age Parson's Street pickups. I was going to use Gibson 57 Classics but my tech talked me in to these because he believed they were even closer to the original early PAF's then the current Gibson Classics. He was right. My Lucille is a whole new instrument. I have Gibson 57 Classics in other guitars and believe me, these Parson's Street pickups are alive, articulate, note definitive and so balanced note to note that they just left me amazed.

Ed Mili  Edgewood, Maryland Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
5 4-15-2014
Grover Sta-Tite tuners

Just replaced the big tuners that came on the Martin HD16R Adirondack guitar I recently bought. I have never attempted to do anything like this before & was a bit nervous about doing it myself. I own many guitars, Martins & Gibsons, but nothing cheap to practice on. All I have ever done is adjust action occasionally but decided to do it. I got the tuners from StewMac & jumped right in. I am very glad they have step by step instructions on how to go about it. I followed them to a "T" & it came out perfect. If I can do it anyone can, But I can't stress enough...follow the instruction steps & by all means TAKE YOUR TIME. I want to thank the folks at Stewart MacDonald for their help, the time they took speaking with me on the phone about the process & for having the instructions on how to do this on their site. I'm very happy with the way my gutar turned out. Time to stop writing now & do a little pickin. Bye for now. Stump

Stump  So. Glens Falls, N.Y.
Knob Puller
Knob Puller
5 4-15-2014
Handy invention

Very useful for removing knobs to clean your guitar great invention

grungejambo  Ireland Read my reviews (3)
String Cutter
String Cutter
5 4-15-2014
Must have tool

Cuts your strings closer to the machine head post a lot better than the cutters on the planet waves pro winder very useful

grungejambo  Ireland Read my reviews (3)
String Spreaders
String Spreaders
5 4-15-2014
Great invention

Very useful for keeping the strings out of the way for working on your nut or fretboard gotta love it

grungejambo  Ireland Read my reviews (3)
Montreux Step Bass Bridge
Montreux Step Bass Bridge
5 4-15-2014
Great attention to detail

I bought this bridge as a retrofit for an old Gotoh 201 style bridge on my 90s Yamaha jazz bass. I was weary of the price tag but decided to pull the trigger regardless. The bridge feels sturdy, and having the string overwrap not sit on the saddles is great. The small details like the knurled saddles and the slightly oblong string hole shape (helps maintain proper string angle without bend between string slots and saddle) make this a great buy.

AV  Quebec
StewMac Accelerator
StewMac Accelerator
5 4-15-2014
Best on the market

I have found this is the best accelerator on the market. It will not melt the finish on your guitars like the others. If you miss the pump, and prefer the pipette, get a small jar to store it in. That works perfectly!

New Era Guitars  Chesterton, IN
Scraper Burnisher
Scraper Burnisher
5 4-15-2014
Great and fast tool!!!!!!!!!!!

Great and fast tool!!!!!!!!!!!

william chetney  Lake Charles, LA Read my reviews (4)
Truss Rod Rescue Kit
Truss Rod Rescue Kit
5 4-15-2014
funciona

En 15 minutos, y sin experiencia previa, resolví el problema del alma rota, mi viejo Gibson V resucitó.

rmuniz  spain
Customer supplied image for review
Swamp Ash Body Blank
Swamp Ash Body Blank
4 4-14-2014
Good Ash

I bought a 2 piece ash blank to use for a bass guitar.

endrey  Russia
Customer supplied image for review
Five-Star 3-ply Maple Banjo Rim Blank
Five-Star 3-ply Maple Banjo Rim Blank
4 4-14-2014
Maple banjo rim, blank

Exactly what I was expecting, maybe a bit on the too-thick side, not set yet on a lathe, but I'm expecting a perfect result. Brass tone ring (flat) to go with it.

Philippe Fromont  Switzerland
Buffing Wheels
Buffing Wheels
5 4-14-2014
Stew mac's buffing wheels.

If you are going to make it easy on yourself and get reliable, quality polishing results then you need to get the right tools.For me the right tools meant a buffing arbor, two 13" buffing wheels and some fine Menzerna buffing compound. Now I am able to get reliable,professional looking finishes for my ukulele builds. I would recommend starting up the buffing wheels for the first time out in the open air against a piece of 2x4 lumber as the fluff that comes off of a new wheel makes it look like a heavy snow storm. All in all I couldn't be happier with my new buffing wheels.

Shuter Enterprises  Boise, Idaho Read my reviews (6)
Menzerna Compounds
Menzerna Compounds
5 4-14-2014
Menzerna polishing compound for nitro lacquer

I had been polishing my lacquered ukuleles with Stewmac's paste compound. I used a polishing pad on an electric drill. It sort of looked OK but I did have some problems with burn through. I bought a buffing arbor and a couple of Stewmac's 13" buffing wheels along with some fine menzerna compound. (It doesn't take much compound) I use Stewmac's recommended buffing speed and I couldn't be happier with the results. The results are very predictable if you don't rush and pay attention to what you are doing. I am getting lots of compliments from my musician friends. They are pretty impressed with the professional looking finish provided by the Menzerna compound. So am I.

Shuter Enterprises  Boise, Idaho Read my reviews (6)
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
5 4-13-2014
Classy Gold & Black

I recently purchased an all-black Jackson SLXT Soloist. The black hardware looked great, but I love the look of black and gold and wanted to add a little bling to my guitar so I ordered 2 of the gold tapered metal humbucker mounting rings, one low and one tall, from StewMac. I'd had trouble in the past with another company's rings not fitting EMG pickups, but the StewMac rings fit perfectly. I added a couple of StewMac gold dome knobs to complete the look and I couldn't be happier. Thanks StewMac!

Andy  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 4-13-2014
Shine on!

I have used many different buffing compounds available from auto paint stores. This stuff is better, I like how the tubs are in a paste like consistency and does not go flying off when I use the foam buffer. I had debated and thought all compounds were the same but these are a higher quality. Something about the type of abrasive used, think micro mesh vs standard wet/dry paper.

Gabriel's Guitar Repair  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (18)
Japanese Fret Saw
Japanese Fret Saw
5 4-13-2014
Angry Japanese Steel

This is a great saw, if you have never used a Japanese saw your in for a treat. They are crazy sharp and cut in the pull stroke, on ebony I no longer get chips outs or have to saw for days on boards. The best part is they are gauged for the stewmac fret wire. I have the traditional fretting saw and this one is my go to. For my use I wish the handle was a few inches shorter but I can modify it for my use. Don't question just get it.

Gabriel's Guitar Repair  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (18)
Emerson Paper-In-Oil Caps
Emerson Paper-In-Oil Caps
5 4-13-2014
Hands Down The Best !

I have used every cap on the market in the last 30 years including true Bumblebees and these are by far the BEST!! Very rich warm tone I will be ordering more for each of my guitars.

Tracy G  Indianapolis,IN Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 1 – 25
of 20966 reviews
1  2  3  ...  839 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce