Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 1 – 25
of 21051 reviews
1  2  3  ...  843 >
Sort reviews by

Waverly Planetary 5th String Peg
Waverly Planetary 5th String Peg
5 4-24-2014
Waverly Fifth String Machine for a Lefty

Recently, I built a banjo for a left handed customer but, I didn't want to merely turn a standard (right handed) 5th string tuner around. The Waverly planetary 5th string machine was a perfect solution. I replaced the the standard ivoroid button with a 5 Star type pearl button and it matches perfectly with the rest of the 5 Star machines.

John Bartlett  San Diego, CA
Snapz Bridge Pin Puller
Snapz Bridge Pin Puller
4 4-24-2014
Maybe it could be better, but it works great!

The day I got this in the mail, I put it to use on a recent-model Martin with ebony bridge pins. I was expecting the separating arms of the device to be a bit more flexible, and at first assumed it would function by my pushing it straight down onto the pin, but immediately discovered I had to kind of "walk" the device onto the bridge pins, one side first. It snapped right onto the bridge pin and pulled out as smooth as you'd please, and didn't leave a mark on the pins or the bridge! By far, this is the best bridge pin removal device I've ever used. The only reason I knocked off a star is because I feel it could probably be made a bit sturdier, and I'd like to see if one could be made as effectively utilizing metal. However, that won't keep me from buying a couple more so I can keep one at every workplace, and in my mobile workstation. Usually I'm not too impressed with cheaper tools of this sort that seem geared more towards players than professional techs, but this one is a real winner.

Todd Reich  California Read my reviews (2)
Rock-n-Roller Neck Rest
Rock-n-Roller Neck Rest
5 4-24-2014
Mod's Great

This mod is a great help. Another natural evolution of an already super useful tool or fixture. Watched the Stewmac video and ran out to the shop! Now I've sawn off the top 1.5" off mine, table sawn the holes 1" square all the way thru the bottom half and bonded in a piece of .25" flat aluminum. I already have a lock down base with a tension screw/knob set-up to hold it to my roll-around bench. I love this thing! It's the gift that keeps on giving!

Kirb  Henderson N.C Read my reviews (2)
Safe Slot Nut Guard
Safe Slot Nut Guard
4 4-24-2014
Safe Slot Nut Guard

Great idea and good for a safe start. Fret height is the true definer here. If thats not right (fret height definition too low) you got problems for the beginner. You would be wise in purchasing gauged nut saws to save file wear and breakage. Otherwise if you top the nut height right you won't have to go so deep with files. Well made as everything this company makes is. I'm still deciding on it. Don't get me wrong, Stew-mac is a guitar tech's heaven, I love tools and especially ones that speed-up work and raise quality. Thanks for the forum!

Popsdaddy  San Diego, CA
Plastic Side Dot Material
Plastic Side Dot Material
5 4-24-2014
Great little plastic rods!

It's all in the title.

Roscoe  Paris Read my reviews (2)
Pearloid Dot
Pearloid Dot
5 4-24-2014
Perfect for the job

Good quality, does what you want, nice substitute. Will be ordering the same. Used them on my lap steel-to be.

Roscoe  Paris Read my reviews (2)
De-Glue Goo
De-Glue Goo
5 4-24-2014
Good stuff!

This product works very well. Helps make cleanup quicker and easier. It's as good as promised!

s.t.williams  fresno, CA Read my reviews (2)
De-Glue Goo
De-Glue Goo
3 4-24-2014
Not quite what I expected.

Perhaps my expectations were unrealistic but I felt that this was only marginally effective and left large dark stains in the underlying wood. The glue joint was unevenly affected causing the glued pieces to split.

dkrauss  Menlo Park, CA Read my reviews (2)
Slotted Fingerboard for 5-string Banjo
Slotted Fingerboard for 5-string Banjo
5 4-24-2014
Fret board

Very nice fret board, no flaws and very clean fret slots.

smilingdog1  st. louis MO. Read my reviews (6)
Dan Erlewines Fretting Series
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
5 4-24-2014
Fretting lessons

Fretting series covers most everything, enough to send you down the right path. Sense then I have learned additional techniques as you will with practice. This is a great place to start.

smilingdog1  st. louis MO. Read my reviews (6)
Bridge Spatula
Bridge Spatula
5 4-24-2014
Bridge Spatula

Used the spatula for the first time on a Taylor. Easy to use, felt protects the finish, pliable but firm enough to do the job.

Saladis Guitar Repair  Staten Island, NY
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 4-23-2014
I don't know how I got along without them.

The title says it all.

Ralph's Guitar Service  Sandpoint, ID USA Read my reviews (3)
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 4-23-2014
I can't put it down.

I am so glad I bought this book. I use it every day. I am reading, and re-reading it cover-to-cover. I find new nuggets every time I open it. I have several similar books, but this is the best.

Ralph's Guitar Service  Sandpoint, ID USA Read my reviews (3)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 4-23-2014
A must have

I was impressed with the String Action Gauge I recently purchased from Stewmac. In the past most of my setups have been done by eye and ear. This takes the guesswork out of it. I have done six setups since getting this handy tool. All were faster, easier, and better than ever before. I don't know how I got along without it.

Ralph's Guitar Service  Sandpoint, ID USA Read my reviews (3)
Pearl Cutting Saw
Pearl Cutting Saw
5 4-23-2014
Great saw. That's why I ordered two.

Very good saw! I liked it so much I ordered a second one (so I could have one loaded with an extra fine and the other loaded with a fine). When my second saw arrived the knob that holds in the blade was snapped off. I think it was just like that in the manufacturer's box so SM didn't know. The package it came in was expertly packed and shipped so it wasn't damaged on the way. Customer service over-nighted me a replacement and made it all ok.

J.P. Hamilton  Houston, TX
Magnet Polarity Tester
Magnet Polarity Tester
5 4-23-2014
nice

this just takes the guess work out of the polarity of the pickup... i would recommend this to anyone....

gspotmusic  las vegas, nv Read my reviews (2)
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
5 4-23-2014
wow

i love these little tiny roller string retainers.. especially on my 2 fender strats, they are the only retainers that i found that wont de-tune my "g" string. i did have to lube the rollers up with plain chap stick lip balm (but that goes without saying when it comes to any metal on metal items) also i did find myself winding my "g" string backwards around the tuning machine.(suggested by the fender factory rep)...all in all, with any other string retainer the "g" string would easily de-tune... thanks stew mac for having these on hand.... i would absolutely recommend these to anyone!!!

gspotmusic  las vegas, nv Read my reviews (2)
Gravity-feed Spray Gun
Gravity-feed Spray Gun
4 4-23-2014
Gravity-feed Spray Gun

Having used many guns over the last 25 years, I must say for the price I was impressed by the quality of this relatively inexpensive gun. It sprays clear coats and tints very well. My only complaints are that the manufacturer (which is of course in China) provides a poorly written manual, although the parts breakdown is nicely done, and shows 4 different options for needles and nozzles, but has no contact information. That being the case, SM should have parts and repair kits available to make repairs and upgrades for this item.

JD's Repair  Hillsboro, OR
Precision Router Base
Precision Router Base
5 4-23-2014
Great Tool

This is a great tool for many things in my guitar building process. I feel like I have total control of the mini router. Looking forward to purchasing the rosette routing jig to go with it.

Shawn H.  Kentucky, USA Read my reviews (4)
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Bleached White Bone Saddles
5 4-23-2014
Perfect

Perfect stuff for freely sized bridges!

Leonhard Augenstein  Germany Read my reviews (12)
StewMac Ultimate Scraper
StewMac Ultimate Scraper
5 4-23-2014
Amazing

Amazing good stuff. Much better than conventional ones.

Leonhard Augenstein  Germany Read my reviews (12)
Bending Iron
Bending Iron
4 4-23-2014
Nice heating iron but slow to warm up

The heating iron is really nice itself. To me it seems sturdy and well built. I would have given it 5 stars if it didn't take almost an hour for it to reach 300 degrees F.

Shawn H.  Kentucky, USA Read my reviews (4)
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
5 4-23-2014
Great

Great Quality. I hope they will last long.

Leonhard Augenstein  Germany Read my reviews (12)
Binding Tape
Binding Tape
5 4-23-2014
The best I know

Simply the best binding tape I know.

Leonhard Augenstein  Germany Read my reviews (12)
Razor Files
Razor Files
5 4-23-2014
Smooth operator

Great files! Smooth finish. Easy to use.

Dooley Designs  Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 1 – 25
of 21051 reviews
1  2  3  ...  843 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce