Close

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut

4.5
  • 138 Reviews
  • Write a review

“Starting with one of these slotted nuts saves me about an hour per job. And they're unbleached bone, my favorite for tone.”
—Erick Coleman, StewMac tech advisor

Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
You already know bone nuts sound better than plastic. Good news: our vintage-look unbleached bone nuts are now available pre-slotted! It's easier than ever to install a perfect, super-hard nut. That's a huge time savings—especially in professional repair shops.

The slots are proportionally-spaced, using the same method as our String Spacing Rule. This means the strings feel right all across the neck—no crowding on the heavier bass strings.

These beautifully shaped nuts are StewMac exclusives, with research and design by our repair experts. Final fitting is all you'll need to do.


from $15.73MIX + SAVE

Add to Cart Below
For Fender® guitars
LENGTH x HEIGHT x THICKNESS
ADD TO CART BELOW
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Fender, 7-1/4" radius

For Fender, 7-1/4" radius

1-45/64" x 15/64" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.99mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread

Item # 6001-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$15.73

12 or more $13.53
24 or more $11.64
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Fender, flat bottom, 7-1/4" radius

For Fender, flat bottom, 7-1/4" radius

1-45/64" x 15/64" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.99mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top radius; flat bottom
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread

Item # 6004-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$15.73

12 or more $13.53
24 or more $11.64
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Fender, 10" radius

For Fender, 10" radius

1-45/64" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.79mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radius
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread

Item # 6002-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$15.73

12 or more $13.53
24 or more $11.64
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Fender, flat bottom, 10" radius

For Fender, flat bottom, 10" radius

1-45/64" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.79mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top radius; flat bottom
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread

Item # 6003-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$15.73

12 or more $13.53
24 or more $11.64
+
For Gibson® guitars
LENGTH x HEIGHT x THICKNESS
ADD TO CART BELOW
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Gibson, standard string spread

For Gibson, standard string spread

1-3/4" x 23/64" x 3/16"
(44.5mm x 9.09mm x 4.80mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread

Item # 6012-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$16.22

12 or more $13.95
24 or more $12.00
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Gibson, narrow string spread

For Gibson, narrow string spread

1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.48mm x 8.59mm x 4.80mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
1-21/64" (33.65mm) string spread

Item # 6013-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$16.22

12 or more $13.95
24 or more $12.00
+
For Martin® guitars
LENGTH x HEIGHT x THICKNESS
ADD TO CART BELOW
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Martin 1-3/4" neck width, angle bottom

For Martin 1-3/4" neck width, angle bottom

1-13/16" x 13/32" x 1/4"
(46.02mm x 10.29mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-17/32" (38.86mm) string spread

Item # 6022-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$16.33

12 or more $14.04
24 or more $12.08
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Martin 1-11/16" neck width, angle bottom

For Martin 1-11/16" neck width, angle bottom

1-23/32" x 13/32" x 1/4"
(43.49mm x 10.29mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-15/32" (37.21mm) string spread

Item # 6024-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$16.33

12 or more $14.04
24 or more $12.08
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Martin 1-3/4" neck width, flat bottom

For Martin 1-3/4" neck width, flat bottom

1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.02mm x 8.59mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-17/32" (38.86mm) string spread

Item # 6023-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$16.33

12 or more $14.04
24 or more $12.08
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Martin 1-11/16" neck width, flat bottom

For Martin 1-11/16" neck width, flat bottom

1-23/32" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(43.49mm x 8.59mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-15/32" (37.21mm) string spread

Item # 6025-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$16.33

12 or more $14.04
24 or more $12.08
+
 
Total:
Qty:
Scroll to Top

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut

About This Item

“Starting with one of these slotted nuts saves me about an hour per job. And they're unbleached bone, my favorite for tone.”
—Erick Coleman, StewMac tech advisor

Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
You already know bone nuts sound better than plastic. Good news: our vintage-look unbleached bone nuts are now available pre-slotted! It's easier than ever to install a perfect, super-hard nut. That's a huge time savings—especially in professional repair shops.

The slots are proportionally-spaced, using the same method as our String Spacing Rule. This means the strings feel right all across the neck—no crowding on the heavier bass strings.

These beautifully shaped nuts are StewMac exclusives, with research and design by our repair experts. Final fitting is all you'll need to do.


Trade Secrets!

Trade Secrets!

Does this bone nut fit my guitar?

Erick Coleman answers a question that's come up a lot lately: how to find the right size replacement nut. He introduces a new Sizing Sheet that makes measuring easy for anybody.

How to fit a preshaped nut on a guitar

Tips for fitting a shaped and slotted nut. Dan Erlewine tries a preshaped nut in his own Fender Strat: it's so easy "it's almost like cheating!"

Instructions

Product Instructions

Slotted Bone Nuts Sizing Sheet

Find the right nut size for your guitar.

Customer Reviews

  • Excellent
  • Good
  • Average
  • Fair
  • Poor
Write a review
4.5
  • 4.59 average rating from 138 reviews
Sort by
Displaying 2 of 14
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14
5.0

A well crafted timesaver!

By

Verified Buyer


At first the price seemed kind of steep. Bought some out of curiosity and quickly realised that my money was well spent. Granted, there are applications where these just don't work (really deep nut slots and wide fretboards) but in most cases they are not only timesavers, but very well crafted ones as well :-)

4.0

Perfect fit

By

Verified Buyer


This precut bone nuts are a perfect fit for guitars I'm building. I started off building parts guitars. Moved up to my own bodies. Now doing my own full builds but having a perfect nut is still a challenge. These nut look great, sound great, and the drop-in simplicity let's me focus on all the other details that make my guitars stand out.

4.0

The quality of the bone nut and saddle was very good

By

Verified Buyer


I bought the nut and saddle to replace an existing nut and saddle in my guitar. The old saddle was worn and needed replacing. I really believe the replacement improved the sound of the guitar.

Thanks

3.0

Bone Nut

By

Verified Buyer


I was bit surprised as how easily the material chipped and flaked off- I thought it would be much stronger.

5.0

Unbleached Bone Saddle

By

Verified Buyer


I received my Gibson style unbleached bone saddle (compensated) from Stewmac, along with the unbleached pre-slotted bone nut. Armed with the procedures provided in Dan Erlewine's Maintenance and Setup DVDs and the great tools obtained from Stewmac, I was able to set up my new guitar to play like a dream. Compensation on the saddle and accurate radius already set up saved me a lot of work, and the intonation is "perfect". Thank you Stewmac for your fantastic instruction, tools materials and great customer service!

5.0

Angled bottom nut

By

Verified Buyer


This nut replaced a plastic one on a `70s Madiera dreadnought.The angled bottom saved me time and improved the tone of the guitar! Thanks !

5.0

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut

By

Verified Buyer


I just love them! Put them in, tune up the guitar, a few corrections with gauge files - DONE - 15 min.

5.0

Bone Nut

By

Verified Buyer


This is a great product, but I'm gonna take it of my guitar because I put a bone nut, saddle, and bridge pins on the thing all at the same time. It sounds like a resonator lol. That would be great for a slide style of playing, but it's a little too much metallic sound for me...

5.0

Worked very well

By

Verified Buyer


I used this on a rebuild of a 1988 Strat. It was the right look for this guitar and fit with only minor shaping. String spacing very good.

4.0

Good

By

Verified Buyer


Bone was hard and shaping was well done. spacing was too wide for my project but I'm sure it will save me some time on another project down the road.

Displaying 2 of 14
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14


StewMac PDF Catalog, page 7 See Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
on page 7 of our StewMac Digital Catalog