Close

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut

4.5
  • 94 Reviews
  • Write a review

“Starting with one of these slotted nuts saves me about an hour per job. And they're unbleached bone, my favorite for tone.”
—Erick Coleman, StewMac tech advisor

Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
You already know bone nuts sound better than plastic. Good news: our vintage-look unbleached bone nuts are now available pre-slotted! It's easier than ever to install a perfect, super-hard nut. That's a huge time savings—especially in professional repair shops.

The slots are proportionally-spaced, using the same method as our String Spacing Rule. This means the strings feel right all across the neck—no crowding on the heavier bass strings.

These beautifully shaped nuts are StewMac exclusives, with research and design by our repair experts. Final fitting is all you'll need to do.


from $14.98Mix + Save

Add to Cart Below
For Fender® guitars
LENGTH x HEIGHT x THICKNESS
ADD TO CART BELOW
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Fender, 7-1/4" radius

For Fender, 7-1/4" radius

1-45/64" x 15/64" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.99mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread

Item # 6001-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$14.98

12 or more $12.88
24 or more $11.09
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Fender, flat bottom, 7-1/4" radius

For Fender, flat bottom, 7-1/4" radius

1-45/64" x 15/64" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.99mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top radius; flat bottom
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread

Item # 6004-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$14.98

12 or more $12.88
24 or more $11.09
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Fender, 10" radius

For Fender, 10" radius

1-45/64" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.79mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radius
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread

Item # 6002-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$14.98

12 or more $12.88
24 or more $11.09
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Fender, flat bottom, 10" radius

For Fender, flat bottom, 10" radius

1-45/64" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.79mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top radius; flat bottom
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread

Item # 6003-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$14.98

12 or more $12.88
24 or more $11.09
+
For Gibson® guitars
LENGTH x HEIGHT x THICKNESS
ADD TO CART BELOW
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Gibson, standard string spread

For Gibson, standard string spread

1-3/4" x 23/64" x 3/16"
(44.5mm x 9.09mm x 4.80mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread

Item # 6012-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$15.45

12 or more $13.29
24 or more $11.43
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Gibson, narrow string spread

For Gibson, narrow string spread

1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.48mm x 8.59mm x 4.80mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
1-21/64" (33.65mm) string spread

Item # 6013-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$15.45

12 or more $13.29
24 or more $11.43
+
For Martin® guitars
LENGTH x HEIGHT x THICKNESS
ADD TO CART BELOW
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Martin 1-3/4" neck width, angle bottom

For Martin 1-3/4" neck width, angle bottom

1-13/16" x 13/32" x 1/4"
(46.02mm x 10.29mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-17/32" (38.86mm) string spread

Item # 6022-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$15.55

12 or more $13.37
24 or more $11.51
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Martin 1-11/16" neck width, angle bottom

For Martin 1-11/16" neck width, angle bottom

1-23/32" x 13/32" x 1/4"
(43.49mm x 10.29mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-15/32" (37.21mm) string spread

Item # 6024-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$15.55

12 or more $13.37
24 or more $11.51
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Martin 1-3/4" neck width, flat bottom

For Martin 1-3/4" neck width, flat bottom

1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.02mm x 8.59mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-17/32" (38.86mm) string spread

Item # 6023-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$15.55

12 or more $13.37
24 or more $11.51
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Martin 1-11/16" neck width, flat bottom

For Martin 1-11/16" neck width, flat bottom

1-23/32" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(43.49mm x 8.59mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-15/32" (37.21mm) string spread

Item # 6025-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$15.55

12 or more $13.37
24 or more $11.51
+
 
Total:
Qty:
Scroll to Top

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut

About This Item

“Starting with one of these slotted nuts saves me about an hour per job. And they're unbleached bone, my favorite for tone.”
—Erick Coleman, StewMac tech advisor

Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
You already know bone nuts sound better than plastic. Good news: our vintage-look unbleached bone nuts are now available pre-slotted! It's easier than ever to install a perfect, super-hard nut. That's a huge time savings—especially in professional repair shops.

The slots are proportionally-spaced, using the same method as our String Spacing Rule. This means the strings feel right all across the neck—no crowding on the heavier bass strings.

These beautifully shaped nuts are StewMac exclusives, with research and design by our repair experts. Final fitting is all you'll need to do.


Trade Secrets!

Trade Secrets!

Does this bone nut fit my guitar?

Erick Coleman answers a question that's come up a lot lately: how to find the right size replacement nut. He introduces a new Sizing Sheet that makes measuring easy for anybody.

How to fit a preshaped nut on a guitar

Tips for fitting a shaped and slotted nut. Dan Erlewine tries a preshaped nut in his own Fender Strat: it's so easy "it's almost like cheating!"

Instructions

Product Instructions

Slotted Bone Nuts Sizing Sheet

Find the right nut size for your guitar.

Customer Reviews

  • Excellent
  • Good
  • Average
  • Fair
  • Poor
Write a review
4.5
  • 4.61 average rating from 94 reviews
Sort by
Displaying 1 of 10
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
5.0

perfect nut

By
(Customer's Reviews)


I have installed quite a few bone nuts . These are perfect for tone. These nuts are visually pleasing. I have found the bone nut I will be using from now on. These bone nuts are started so finished they fit .

5.0

Drop-in for Ibanez Artcore...added sustain!

By
(Customer's Reviews)


This was a perfect fit for my Ibanez AS73 semi-hollow guitar....no sanding or filing needed (unlike the Strat bone nuts offered here). Strings ring clearer and there is noticeably more sustain.

2.0

Not one size fits all for gibson style

By
(Customer's Reviews)


I tried to use this and it was twice as narrow as the one it was to replace so even after I got the sides and bottom sanded down there was a huge gap left and the entire head would have to be moddified and routed...now that I sanded it down I cant return it... so out the 15$..this was a les paul copy i put it on from the 80's...looks like the martin one would have been more the shape...but if you have a real LP these prob work great...for me was disappointing. Make sure you measure and dont sand it unless you know for sure it will fit..

5.0

Much better than Tusq. Fantastic upgrade

By
(Customer's Reviews)


I replaced the saddle on my acoustic (1980 Sigma d35) wit Tusq and I was very pleased with the results. I initially tried to replace the nut with as well, but the slots for the strings were WAY to big (see picture) The bone nut however was nearly a drop in replacement and fits my guitar percently. I wish I would have bought a bone nut and saddle from Stewmac in the first place. Fantastic product and an upgrade for any guitar. In my photo the stewmac nut is on the guitar (I still have some shaping to do) followed by the Tusq nut and the original plastic nut

5.0

looks great

By
(Customer's Reviews)


had to lower only ,great time saver.

5.0

Great time saver.

By
(Customer's Reviews)


I've bought a bunch of these over the past few months, and they're generally a close fit for the name-brand applications. They can take a little massaging for off brands - i.e., 2016 Gibson vs. "Gibson-style" - but they're a huge time saver either way. They still require hand-fitting, so you'll need appropriate files for a professional job - it's just a lot faster than making nuts from scratch. Haven't noticed a sonic difference with the unbleached bone, but it does look cool.

5.0

Guitar bone nut

By
(Customer's Reviews)


Had to sand the backside a little to fit but it was worth it . My guitar sounds better than ever.

5.0

Perfect for my vintage Les Paul

By
(Customer's Reviews)


unbleached bone slotted nut narrow. Works almost perfect out of the package!

5.0

Fast and easy

By
(Customer's Reviews)


I bought the curved one for a vintage spec Tele neck. It dropped right in after a little sanding on the side. It is also a little longer than it needs to be so that you can sand the ends down for a flush fit. I used StewMac nut slot files to finish the job. Since its pre-slotted it came out great without any measuring for string spacing.

5.0

Replace broken Tele nut

By
(Customer's Reviews)


Great quality, saved me a lot of time in set up and I'm back Twangin' again

Displaying 1 of 10
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10


StewMac PDF Catalog, page 5 See Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
on page 5 of our StewMac Catalog PDF

12MB File

View with Adobe Acrobat Reader 4.0 or higher.
Download Adobe Acrobat free from Adobe.