Close

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut

4.5
  • 99 Reviews
  • Write a review

“Starting with one of these slotted nuts saves me about an hour per job. And they're unbleached bone, my favorite for tone.”
—Erick Coleman, StewMac tech advisor

Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
You already know bone nuts sound better than plastic. Good news: our vintage-look unbleached bone nuts are now available pre-slotted! It's easier than ever to install a perfect, super-hard nut. That's a huge time savings—especially in professional repair shops.

The slots are proportionally-spaced, using the same method as our String Spacing Rule. This means the strings feel right all across the neck—no crowding on the heavier bass strings.

These beautifully shaped nuts are StewMac exclusives, with research and design by our repair experts. Final fitting is all you'll need to do.


from $14.98MIX + SAVE

Add to Cart Below
For Fender® guitars
LENGTH x HEIGHT x THICKNESS
ADD TO CART BELOW
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Fender, 7-1/4" radius

For Fender, 7-1/4" radius

1-45/64" x 15/64" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.99mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread

Item # 6001-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$14.98

12 or more $12.88
24 or more $11.09
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Fender, flat bottom, 7-1/4" radius

For Fender, flat bottom, 7-1/4" radius

1-45/64" x 15/64" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.99mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top radius; flat bottom
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread

Item # 6004-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$14.98

12 or more $12.88
24 or more $11.09
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Fender, 10" radius

For Fender, 10" radius

1-45/64" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.79mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radius
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread

Item # 6002-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$14.98

12 or more $12.88
24 or more $11.09
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Fender, flat bottom, 10" radius

For Fender, flat bottom, 10" radius

1-45/64" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.79mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top radius; flat bottom
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread

Item # 6003-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$14.98

12 or more $12.88
24 or more $11.09
+
For Gibson® guitars
LENGTH x HEIGHT x THICKNESS
ADD TO CART BELOW
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Gibson, standard string spread

For Gibson, standard string spread

1-3/4" x 23/64" x 3/16"
(44.5mm x 9.09mm x 4.80mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread

Item # 6012-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$15.45

12 or more $13.29
24 or more $11.43
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Gibson, narrow string spread

For Gibson, narrow string spread

1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.48mm x 8.59mm x 4.80mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
1-21/64" (33.65mm) string spread

Item # 6013-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$15.45

12 or more $13.29
24 or more $11.43
+
For Martin® guitars
LENGTH x HEIGHT x THICKNESS
ADD TO CART BELOW
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Martin 1-3/4" neck width, angle bottom

For Martin 1-3/4" neck width, angle bottom

1-13/16" x 13/32" x 1/4"
(46.02mm x 10.29mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-17/32" (38.86mm) string spread

Item # 6022-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$15.55

12 or more $13.37
24 or more $11.51
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Martin 1-11/16" neck width, angle bottom

For Martin 1-11/16" neck width, angle bottom

1-23/32" x 13/32" x 1/4"
(43.49mm x 10.29mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-15/32" (37.21mm) string spread

Item # 6024-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$15.55

12 or more $13.37
24 or more $11.51
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Martin 1-3/4" neck width, flat bottom

For Martin 1-3/4" neck width, flat bottom

1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.02mm x 8.59mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-17/32" (38.86mm) string spread

Item # 6023-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$15.55

12 or more $13.37
24 or more $11.51
+
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut For Martin 1-11/16" neck width, flat bottom

For Martin 1-11/16" neck width, flat bottom

1-23/32" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(43.49mm x 8.59mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-15/32" (37.21mm) string spread

Item # 6025-VS
In stock, ready to ship!

$15.55

12 or more $13.37
24 or more $11.51
+
 
Total:
Qty:
Scroll to Top

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut

About This Item

“Starting with one of these slotted nuts saves me about an hour per job. And they're unbleached bone, my favorite for tone.”
—Erick Coleman, StewMac tech advisor

Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
You already know bone nuts sound better than plastic. Good news: our vintage-look unbleached bone nuts are now available pre-slotted! It's easier than ever to install a perfect, super-hard nut. That's a huge time savings—especially in professional repair shops.

The slots are proportionally-spaced, using the same method as our String Spacing Rule. This means the strings feel right all across the neck—no crowding on the heavier bass strings.

These beautifully shaped nuts are StewMac exclusives, with research and design by our repair experts. Final fitting is all you'll need to do.


Trade Secrets!

Trade Secrets!

Does this bone nut fit my guitar?

Erick Coleman answers a question that's come up a lot lately: how to find the right size replacement nut. He introduces a new Sizing Sheet that makes measuring easy for anybody.

How to fit a preshaped nut on a guitar

Tips for fitting a shaped and slotted nut. Dan Erlewine tries a preshaped nut in his own Fender Strat: it's so easy "it's almost like cheating!"

Instructions

Product Instructions

Slotted Bone Nuts Sizing Sheet

Find the right nut size for your guitar.

Customer Reviews

  • Excellent
  • Good
  • Average
  • Fair
  • Poor
Write a review
4.5
  • 4.60 average rating from 99 reviews
Sort by
Displaying 1 of 10
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
5.0

Quality

By
(Customer's Reviews)


Used this for a replacement nut on my Crafter. Great material to work with and Bone definitely sounds best.

5.0

Nice string nut

By
(Customer's Reviews)


I am happy with this string nut. It looks great and is easy to size it for the neck it's going on.

2.0

OK

By
(Customer's Reviews)


These are not vintage spaced, so nothing really cool here. I still had to build my own because string spacing was much too narrow to use for vintage 1 3/4" nuts.

5.0

A must for Luthiers and do it yourselfers

By
(Customer's Reviews)


Makes changing the nut alot easier, especially if your doing it your selfer. Its a very high quality bone nut looks like it came stock on my vintage 57 goldtop reissue. Its very dense molecular structure has killer tone. Of all the nuts on the internet I'm glad I bought this from StewMac. Very pleased

5.0

Bone string nut

By
(Customer's Reviews)


StewMac is a top notch company . They always have top quality products and very quick delivery of whatever I need for the shop

5.0

perfect nut

By
(Customer's Reviews)


I have installed quite a few bone nuts . These are perfect for tone. These nuts are visually pleasing. I have found the bone nut I will be using from now on. These bone nuts are started so finished they fit .

5.0

Drop-in for Ibanez Artcore...added sustain!

By
(Customer's Reviews)


This was a perfect fit for my Ibanez AS73 semi-hollow guitar....no sanding or filing needed (unlike the Strat bone nuts offered here). Strings ring clearer and there is noticeably more sustain.

2.0

Not one size fits all for gibson style

By
(Customer's Reviews)


I tried to use this and it was twice as narrow as the one it was to replace so even after I got the sides and bottom sanded down there was a huge gap left and the entire head would have to be moddified and routed...now that I sanded it down I cant return it... so out the 15$..this was a les paul copy i put it on from the 80's...looks like the martin one would have been more the shape...but if you have a real LP these prob work great...for me was disappointing. Make sure you measure and dont sand it unless you know for sure it will fit..

5.0

Much better than Tusq. Fantastic upgrade

By
(Customer's Reviews)


I replaced the saddle on my acoustic (1980 Sigma d35) wit Tusq and I was very pleased with the results. I initially tried to replace the nut with as well, but the slots for the strings were WAY to big (see picture) The bone nut however was nearly a drop in replacement and fits my guitar percently. I wish I would have bought a bone nut and saddle from Stewmac in the first place. Fantastic product and an upgrade for any guitar. In my photo the stewmac nut is on the guitar (I still have some shaping to do) followed by the Tusq nut and the original plastic nut

5.0

looks great

By
(Customer's Reviews)


had to lower only ,great time saver.

Displaying 1 of 10
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10


StewMac PDF Catalog, page 5 See Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
on page 5 of our StewMac Catalog PDF

12MB File

View with Adobe Acrobat Reader 4.0 or higher.
Download Adobe Acrobat free from Adobe.