Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Bleached White Bone Nuts

Bleached White Bone Nuts


Read 70 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Bone's hardness and density contributes to good tone, it polishes well, and it allows more precise slot filing.

See details below

Email a friend
Bleached White Bone Nuts
 

For Fender® guitars and basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Bleached White Bone Nuts  6000  Blank
1-7/8" x 9/32" x 1/8"
(47.63mm x 7.14mm x 3.18mm)
Yes
$3.58
12 or more $3.04  
24 or more $2.58  

Bleached White Bone Nuts  6001  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.15
12 or more $7.78  
24 or more $6.59  

Bleached White Bone Nuts  6002  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.15
12 or more $7.78  
24 or more $6.59  


For Gibson® guitars, basses, banjos, and mandolins
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Bleached White Bone Nuts  6010  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 3/16"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 4.76mm)
2-3 weeks
$4.40
12 or more $3.65  
24 or more $3.16  

Bleached White Bone Nuts  6011  Shaped
1-5/8" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(41.28mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$10.95
12 or more $8.92  
24 or more $7.92  

Bleached White Bone Nuts  6012  Shaped
1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.26mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$10.95
12 or more $8.92  
24 or more $7.92  


For Martin® and classical guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Bleached White Bone Nuts  6020  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 1/4"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 6.35mm)
Yes
$4.95
12 or more $4.10  
24 or more $3.47  

Bleached White Bone Nuts  6022  Shaped; angled bottom
1-13/16" x 3/8" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 9.53mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius
Yes
$11.20
12 or more $9.52  
24 or more $8.09  

Bleached White Bone Nuts  6023  Shaped; flat bottom
1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 8.33mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius
Yes
$11.20
12 or more $9.52  
24 or more $8.09  


For Dobro® guitars. Also for vintage Rickenbacker basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Bleached White Bone Nuts  1526  Blank
2-1/8" x 3/4" x 3/16"
(53.98mm x 19.05mm x 4.76mm)
Yes
$10.54
12 or more $9.16  
24 or more $7.90  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Guitar Grease



String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Guitar Grease



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
Bone is traditionally preferred for making nuts and saddles on quality instruments.

Blank nuts have oversize length and height, for custom shaping in your shop. They're ready for trimming, filing, sanding and slotting.

Preshaped nuts will save you a LOT of work — a head start for the novice builder, and a bonus for the busy repair shop where time is money! The dimensions have been carefully researched, and minor trimming, slotting, and sanding are all that's needed to fit most popular guitars.

The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone!
What's the best material for making a guitar's nut, and why?
The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone! Read more

In this issue:
Customers ask, "What material makes the best string nut?" Erick Coleman's says it's Bone for Tone.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 70 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  5  6  7
5 12-05-2010
Quality and Service

Although this is the first time i have purchased items over the internet, i have been dealing with StewMac via fax for over 10 years. During this time i have purchased bone nuts, saddles, various frets, tuning keys, pearl and abalone dots and purflings,pickups for electric and acoustic guitars, strings, fret files, wiring kits and many other smaller items i have trouble remembering.
The quality and service i experienced over all this time is outstanding. The web shop and your magazine are very easy to use and understand. If it were not for Stewmac the two dozen instruments i have managed to make (Acoustic bass, 3 acoustic 6 strings a 12 string, 2 telecasters, 1 les paul, mandolins, dulcimers, mandolas, bazouki, and a lap steel) would never have been attempted. Thank you Stewmac for enabling me to enjoy this hobby over many years. Regards Errol

Errol  Brisbane Aust
4 12-01-2010
This is a great product

I ordered a new bone nut for my acoustic and my Telecaster. I improved the action and the tone on both guitars. This is an inexpensive way to improve a budget guitar. Here is a suggestion... Purchase the nut file set with the nut. It makes the job very easy.

SeanV  Manchester, NH Read my reviews (3)
5 11-17-2010
GREAT PRODUCT AS ALWAYS

I RECENTLY PURCHASED ONE OF THESE BONE NUTS TO REBUILD AN OLD 1913 GIBSON STLYE "O" GUITAR..THIS AS ALL OF YOUR PRODUCTS I PURCHASED FOR THIS PROJECT HAVE BEEN 5 STAR ALL THE WAY

Curt  Vienna WV. U.S.A. Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-26-2010
nuts for my cigar box guitar!

I bought some blank ones. If I posted a picture, you would see I am very much an amateur, but these worked pretty well. I think the bone comes from decapitated radioactive zombies because they are very strong and powerful.

rk  Troy, IL Read my reviews (4)
5 10-17-2010
Bone for tone

Using bone for nuts and a bridge saddles is the quickest and surest way
To achieve strong, durable and long lasting components. If you're after the truest tone from any instrument, cheap or expensive, then bone is THE way to go. Bone is totally predictable to work with, too. It shapes easily in minutes with the basic tools. There is no guess work. The finished shaped pieces may be quickly polished to a high gloss for a truly professional look.
I use bone for ALL replacement nuts and saddles in my workshop. Plastic pieces are convenient but just don't cut it.

Warren Targett  Bateau Bay NSW Australia Read my reviews (6)
5 9-20-2010
Blank Bone nuts- My first guitar nut

The bone was easier to work with than I had anticipated. My first nut I ever made was with StewMac blanks. I bought 3 blanks in case I made a mistakes I'd have extra to continue the work. I also used the StewMac nut slot ruler to measure string spacing. All worked out great.

Jr Bynum  Lutherville MD
4 9-10-2010
Good price.

Perfect for making custom bone nuts for almost any guitar. My only complaint is sometimes I get blanks with some deep pores which can be hard to get rid of. Does not happen very often.

Hackl Guitars  Denver, CO Read my reviews (9)
5 9-09-2010
Loved Working With Bone Nut Blank

I used a bone nut blank for the first time and really liked the results. Have already ordered a small supply for future builds! Excellent quality and service. Thanks StewMac.

Ronnie  Alabama Read my reviews (3)
5 8-29-2010
Great nut blanks

I buy all my bone nut blanks from Stew Mac because I know they will have consistent white color, texture, and will be cut straight and without defects/chips/cracks.

Colt

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
5 5-15-2010
What can I say?

Cheap, high quality bone nuts. Solid and consistent. I buy them repeatedly. Thanks StewMac!

xfriendsonfirex  Florida, USA Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  5  6  7 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce