Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Bleached White Bone Nuts

Bleached White Bone Nuts


Read 70 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Bone's hardness and density contributes to good tone, it polishes well, and it allows more precise slot filing.

See details below

Email a friend
Bleached White Bone Nuts
 

For Fender® guitars and basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Bleached White Bone Nuts  6000  Blank
1-7/8" x 9/32" x 1/8"
(47.63mm x 7.14mm x 3.18mm)
Yes
$3.58
12 or more $3.04  
24 or more $2.58  

Bleached White Bone Nuts  6001  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.15
12 or more $7.78  
24 or more $6.59  

Bleached White Bone Nuts  6002  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.15
12 or more $7.78  
24 or more $6.59  


For Gibson® guitars, basses, banjos, and mandolins
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Bleached White Bone Nuts  6010  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 3/16"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 4.76mm)
Yes
$4.40
12 or more $3.65  
24 or more $3.16  

Bleached White Bone Nuts  6011  Shaped
1-5/8" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(41.28mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$10.95
12 or more $8.92  
24 or more $7.92  

Bleached White Bone Nuts  6012  Shaped
1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.26mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$10.95
12 or more $8.92  
24 or more $7.92  


For Martin® and classical guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Bleached White Bone Nuts  6020  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 1/4"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 6.35mm)
Yes
$4.95
12 or more $4.10  
24 or more $3.47  

Bleached White Bone Nuts  6022  Shaped; angled bottom
1-13/16" x 3/8" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 9.53mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius
Yes
$11.20
12 or more $9.52  
24 or more $8.09  

Bleached White Bone Nuts  6023  Shaped; flat bottom
1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 8.33mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius
Yes
$11.20
12 or more $9.52  
24 or more $8.09  


For Dobro® guitars. Also for vintage Rickenbacker basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Bleached White Bone Nuts  1526  Blank
2-1/8" x 3/4" x 3/16"
(53.98mm x 19.05mm x 4.76mm)
Yes
$10.54
12 or more $9.16  
24 or more $7.90  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Guitar Grease



String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Guitar Grease



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
Bone is traditionally preferred for making nuts and saddles on quality instruments.

Blank nuts have oversize length and height, for custom shaping in your shop. They're ready for trimming, filing, sanding and slotting.

Preshaped nuts will save you a LOT of work — a head start for the novice builder, and a bonus for the busy repair shop where time is money! The dimensions have been carefully researched, and minor trimming, slotting, and sanding are all that's needed to fit most popular guitars.

The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone!
What's the best material for making a guitar's nut, and why?
The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone! Read more

In this issue:
Customers ask, "What material makes the best string nut?" Erick Coleman's says it's Bone for Tone.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 70 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  7 >
5 1-04-2013
Great service

I have been a customer of stewmac since 2010, and have placed probably 15-20 orders with them since I started building. Everything I have received from them has always been exactly what they say. My first two instruments were built with stewmac kits and both turned out great. Amazing sounding instruments and I have owned an HD28, a D35, a J45(1950 which I still have, one owner bought by my dad), a J30, numerous Fenders, just to name a few. You will not be disappointed with this company. Great service, and even though I am not kit building any longer, I still count on them for any number of parts, (bridges, fingerboards, bridgepins, lots of stuff). Great customer service, and a shipping department that rivals the best anywhere.....Phil Jones. And yes, the nuts are great

Phillip Jones  Jackson, tennessee Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-16-2012
Buy a few!

I was a little hesitant to fiddle with setting action myself, so I bought some blanks figuring if I goofed I could always just reinstall the original nut with no harm done. No worries though- after a couple evenings careful work with hand tools I had a much improved custom setup and the ability to tweak it further any time I like. Now I'm doing all my guitars! Highly recommended, even for newbies- thanks Stew-Mac.

drwebb  Sellersville, PA Read my reviews (2)
5 12-04-2012
Good quality product

As expected, this bone nut blank is easy to shape with files and the polish gives a great quality finish. Fit well on my custom resonator guitar.

Michel Boissonneault  Qu√™bec, Cab Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-23-2012
Bone Nut

I ordered some bone nut blanks to replace the nut on my Les Paul and three other guitars. Now all my guitars have a bone nut and they've never sounded better! Couldn't be happier.

Derwyn  Alberta. Canada Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-20-2012
Quality blanks that worked very well

Unlike a lot of blanks I've purchased these were squared up very well on all sides. They cut and shape easily for bone with no chipping. They polished well and should last a long time now that they're in place. I plan to purchase more for future jobs.

tb  Portland OR Read my reviews (50)
5 9-23-2012
Great stuff!

I purchaced the "Bleached White Bone Nut" blank for use on a cheap acoustic guitar that had a plastic nut that was a real tone thief. The bone material is some exellent stuff that brought this cheap guitar to life.

One word of caution to the inexperienced. This stuff is rock hard and realy should be shaped with the right tools. Don't do as I did and try to improvise on your tools. You will only get frustrated and have to start over with the right tools in your kit. This bone is quite hard, as it should be, and likes to be worked with quality files that are sharp enough to do the job right the first time.

Tommys Blues  USA
5 8-22-2012
nut nut nut

great bone you will have a nice tune in your guitar, i just wish it could be like 5mm it would be nice, but still great

Ivan Souza  England Read my reviews (25)
5 7-13-2012
Great product

The nut comes almost ready to use, altough it lacks a millimiter more material on top for shaping. I taped a piece of sandpaper to my fingerboard,
between the first two frets, to use it as a "sanding caul" and shape the bottom of the nut. I had it widened to 12" radius. This delicate operation left me no bone left int the top of the nut for crowning and polishing. I had to carve shallow string grooves too. Besides this, exceptional bone quality.

Marcio Costa  Brasil Read my reviews (37)
5 6-19-2012
These look GREAT!

I use standard files to cut these into shape. They shape nice and easy. These sand and buff really nicely and are super hard. They give the guitar great resonance.

Pestvic  Sparks NV Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-01-2012
Nice Nutz

I needed an extra thick nut so I glued 2 bone nuts together. I Cut rough shape with a fine scroll saw and filed to final shape. The bone was easy to work with and sounds great.

tstell  Rockwell City, Iowa Read my reviews (10)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  7 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce