Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Bleached White Bone Nuts

Bleached White Bone Nuts


Read 70 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Bone's hardness and density contributes to good tone, it polishes well, and it allows more precise slot filing.

See details below

Email a friend
Bleached White Bone Nuts
 

For Fender® guitars and basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Bleached White Bone Nuts  6000  Blank
1-7/8" x 9/32" x 1/8"
(47.63mm x 7.14mm x 3.18mm)
Yes
$3.58
12 or more $3.04  
24 or more $2.58  

Bleached White Bone Nuts  6001  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.15
12 or more $7.78  
24 or more $6.59  

Bleached White Bone Nuts  6002  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.15
12 or more $7.78  
24 or more $6.59  


For Gibson® guitars, basses, banjos, and mandolins
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Bleached White Bone Nuts  6010  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 3/16"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 4.76mm)
Yes
$4.40
12 or more $3.65  
24 or more $3.16  

Bleached White Bone Nuts  6011  Shaped
1-5/8" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(41.28mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$10.95
12 or more $8.92  
24 or more $7.92  

Bleached White Bone Nuts  6012  Shaped
1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.26mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$10.95
12 or more $8.92  
24 or more $7.92  


For Martin® and classical guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Bleached White Bone Nuts  6020  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 1/4"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 6.35mm)
Yes
$4.95
12 or more $4.10  
24 or more $3.47  

Bleached White Bone Nuts  6022  Shaped; angled bottom
1-13/16" x 3/8" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 9.53mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius
Yes
$11.20
12 or more $9.52  
24 or more $8.09  

Bleached White Bone Nuts  6023  Shaped; flat bottom
1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 8.33mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius
Yes
$11.20
12 or more $9.52  
24 or more $8.09  


For Dobro® guitars. Also for vintage Rickenbacker basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Bleached White Bone Nuts  1526  Blank
2-1/8" x 3/4" x 3/16"
(53.98mm x 19.05mm x 4.76mm)
Yes
$10.54
12 or more $9.16  
24 or more $7.90  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Guitar Grease



String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Guitar Grease



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
Bone is traditionally preferred for making nuts and saddles on quality instruments.

Blank nuts have oversize length and height, for custom shaping in your shop. They're ready for trimming, filing, sanding and slotting.

Preshaped nuts will save you a LOT of work — a head start for the novice builder, and a bonus for the busy repair shop where time is money! The dimensions have been carefully researched, and minor trimming, slotting, and sanding are all that's needed to fit most popular guitars.

The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone!
What's the best material for making a guitar's nut, and why?
The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone! Read more

In this issue:
Customers ask, "What material makes the best string nut?" Erick Coleman's says it's Bone for Tone.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 70 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  7 >
5 2-13-2014
Love These Nuts!

I made my first 2 nuts using these nut blanks. I gained a lot of confidence in cutting / slotting / shaping using these. I found the process very tedious, but it was so cool to make a nut from scratch using these blanks that actually played very well. To see the finished shaped nut that was made from this material gave a great feeling of accomplishment! Great blanks guys! Nice!

Rockin' Mike Burton  Canada Read my reviews (22)
5 1-04-2014
Aww Nuts

I keep a variety of these on hand to keep from getting into a bind. They have been pretty consistant. I only wish the unbleached was cheaper than the bleached.

Hosner Guitars  Science Hill, KY Read my reviews (9)
5 8-14-2013
What can I say?

What can you say about these? They're bone nuts! You can make any kind of nut for any kind of guitar. Great.

preetcher  Beaufort, NC Read my reviews (48)
5 6-27-2013
Perfect...

Sounds great when installed easy to work with in terms of shaping and cutting slots.. will buy more again..

T Jones  Chester, MT Read my reviews (39)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-19-2013
Great

Have used these several times in my shaping and slotting attempts and they are always of great quality. Thanks!

Bgarwood  Poland, Ohio
5 5-23-2013
Nice stuff

I asked what kind of bone this was and got immediate response. I used the martin bleached blank to make two fiddle nuts. The endless pursuit of better sound. Definite improvement over ebony. Gets rid of that nasal honky sound. :)

Bugs Wisely  Maine Read my reviews (4)
1 3-25-2013
Fretboard Radius and shape does not match Gibson Nut

I just wasted 4 hours trying to install one of the pre-made Gibson nuts on an SG. The problem with these nuts is that they do not resemble a stock Gibson nut. The radius is so flat that unless you file the top to match (thereby ruining the string slots - so what is the point of a preshaped nut), by the time you lower the 1st and 6th strings to the right height, the middle strings are buzzing on the 1st fret. Do not buy these.

John3458  Denver, CO
5 3-04-2013
Great product

I've ordered a bunch of these, and they are always consistent in their quality.

Pockat  Sheboygan
5 2-17-2013
Great

I like working with these bone nuts, as opposed to delrin or plastic. They go beautifully with my dulcimers.

FountainCity  Columbus, GA Read my reviews (5)
1 1-19-2013
Bleached?

Ordered #6010 (bleached Gibson blank). Received blank with chipped ends in a natural tone. "Bleached" or not, it's not bone-white. Plan to return and not order again.

Aaron Hess  Baltimore, MD Read my reviews (13)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  7 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce